Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook My Giving Bank

David C. Cook My Giving Bank

The Bible teaches that God is the true "owner" of everything and that we are simply stewards or managers of it. Children need to be taught this concept early in their lives, because their natural tendency is just the opposite--"MINE!" That's why it is so important they understand both the value of money and how to handle it in ways that are pleasing to God. My Giving Bank is a practical tool that makes learning about giving, saving and spending money fun! As you help your child decide how much money to designate to the church, bank and store, you will be developing important habits that will serve him or her for a lifetime. The enclosed literature will give you valuable tips and suggestions on how to make money management a rewarding adventure from childhood through adolescence to adulthood. Recommended for ages 4 and up.

Molded blue plastic, sturdy construction, easy to apply decals provided., gift boxed, 8" x 12". Semi-transparent to allow kids to view their money in the bank.

Average Customer Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(114 Reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (114 reviews)
5 stars
76
4 stars
22
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
5
25 out of 2889%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for My Giving Bank
Review 1 for My Giving Bank
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Instills good habits

Date:January 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
lonniesgal
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the idea behind this product! We need to teach children the life-long principles of giving back to God (tithing), saving for the future, and spending a little along the way. It is a very sturdy bank and should be a lot of fun for the kids to watch their money grow. Helps them develop good habits of how to handle their money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for My Giving Bank
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marys
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is excelente for teach the childrens how You give 10% por God. And You always have sabe money for emergency
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for My Giving Bank
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

bottom plugs fall out!

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kori
Location:Niles, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought four of these for our kids. At first, they were great. After a few months and accumulated funds, the bottom plugs started falling out. The kids had a very hard time pushing them back in themselves, but even a meager amount of change pushed the plugs out. We finally had to abandon them altogether. We were disappointed to have spent so much on banks only to have them be lemons. The bottom plugs should be a twist lock like so many quality kids banks have now.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for My Giving Bank
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

As expected from the description

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
raymond
Location:Portage, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bank was as described in the description. The decals placed in the box were easy to place on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for My Giving Bank
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Wife
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such an awsome giving tool & it's perfect for any little one! It comes without any stickers attached, which gave my 4 year old the opportunity to personalize it himself. Each Sunday morning, he is asked to go in his room & remove a dollar to place in a church envelope. My son is more than eager to do so! The round stoppers at the bottom are very pliable & they do work their way inside the bank sometimes, so caution should be used here.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for My Giving Bank
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

useful teaching product

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
mrsmom
Location:Northeastern PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this bank before and it makes teaching about tithing and saving much simpler. The child knows where to put his money and how to use it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for My Giving Bank
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful product for children!

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
LOST
Location:Lula, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third bank I have purchased and I am just as pleased as I was with the first one. This really is a great teacher for children about how money should be alloted to God, savings and themselves. Thanks you for continuing to carry this product. All children should learn this lesson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for My Giving Bank
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great training tool!

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
SusieQ
Location:Collierville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loved his bank. He had fun decorating it with the stickers provided and could not wait until he received some coins to put in to it. This will be a great tool to use to help him understand tithing and saving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for My Giving Bank
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jody
Location:Lenoir, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product for Teaching Biblical Money Principle. I have 2 young children & don't want them to have the same money problems when they get older so many people have. God first, money is just a tool.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for My Giving Bank
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
GrimesFamily
Location:Lakeland, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
perfect for teaching about giving, saving and spending.
Gave to my 7year old and 3 year old as christmas presents. They had fun adding the stickers to decorate it. Heavy duty construction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for My Giving Bank
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent tool!!!

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Daughter of the King
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought "2 giving banks" for my children for this coming Christmas. My girl is 7 and my boy is 6. I can't wait to give them and can see them using the banks for many years to come. These would make perfect birthday gifts for kids in your Sunday School class. They are an excellent teaching tool. I had wondered how easy it'd be to take the money out and each slot has a separate opening on the bottom. My children "tithe" on Thursdays at their christian school so the tithe section will be awesome. We pay our children allowance weekly in coins so the "giving bank" will be a tangible way of seeing that not all the money is for toys/spending. Very thick and sturdy plastic (durable).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for My Giving Bank
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Teaching Tool

Date:November 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this bank is a great tool to teach children how to be good stewards of their money. It's easy to understand and fun to use. I bought one for each of my grandchildren!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for My Giving Bank
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angela
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered a bunch of these for Christmas presents. I plan on giving the children 10 single dollars so they can practice distributing the money between the church, savings and spending sections. They look great to me. I'm glad I opened them up because I went ahead and had to apply the stickers that went on the front of the bank. I anticipate the children being happy with them!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for My Giving Bank
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:October 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sheryl
Location:Andover KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product three years ago and recently bought three more for my family's kids. Not only is this a very durable product, it is such a great learning tool for children. What better way to teach about giving, saving and spending? Plus they get to decorate it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for My Giving Bank
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Makes learning about money visual and experiential

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth
Location:Pensacola, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bank to use with my 4 year old who has high functioning autism. She currently functions at about a 2 year old level. We took the pennies off of her chore chart from the week and divided them between the 3 sections. Then we took the pennies from the church compartment to church to give to God. Then we took the pennies from the store compartment to the dollar store to let her buy a toy. When we got home, she told me that we needed to go to the bank! I guess we will have to go to the bank and open up a savings account now! Great product! She loved the stickers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for My Giving Bank
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

daughter loves it

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
eabmom
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I was looking for a product to help teach my 5 yr old about tithing, saving and spending. Best option I found during online search. She liked putting the stickers on and likes dividing up the money and getting her money out each Sunday for church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for My Giving Bank
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
christianmom
Location:riverside, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my daughter loves it! This product helps her to learn about responsibility
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for My Giving Bank
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
nana
Location:MS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandchildren use this bank for their coin change. The two year old grandchild even knows how to use this bank. I gave this bank to an eleven year old who had never had a bank before. He was delighted and quickly put the decals on it. I recommend this product to every child learning about proper stewardship of money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for My Giving Bank
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
shani
Location:Bangor, Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Excellent concept and it is cute. My son immediately put it to use and loves it. Unfortunately, it is narrow and tall so it tips over easily.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for My Giving Bank
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Bank for Us

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Momof5
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Each of my five children has received this bank around the age of 4 years old (when they were assigned chores and started receiving allowance). No other bank communicates so clearly that we need to give money to God/church, not just a charity, as well as spending and saving. Although the bank's plugs ARE difficult to open and close, this hasn't been a deterent for us--the kids aren't pulling out their money constantly anyway!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.