Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles Hear the Word: ESV Audio Bible on CD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Crossway Books & Bibles Hear the Word: ESV Audio Bible on CD

A beautifully clear expression of God's Word! Ideal for commuters, people on the go, and the visually impaired, this audio Bible conveniently captures more than 70 hours of Scripture on 59 CDs. Each fully searchable disc helps you locate the exact chapter you're looking for. Comes in a sturdyzippered case for easy transport. Narrated by David Heath.

David Heath is veteran stage actor, performing in more than one hundred productions. He has recorded many audio books, including Christian classics by Thomas a Kempis, Francis Shaeffer, and John Piper.

Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hear the Word: ESV Audio Bible on CD
Review 1 for Hear the Word: ESV Audio Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for me.

Date:May 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
aml27
Location:Midwest USA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this narration. I reviewed every audio Bible I could find on the web before purchasing one because if I am going to listen to someones voice for 75 hours it needs to be a voice I like. Many of the audio Bibles are dramatic narrations with music and sound effects and some have different voices for different people, which is great if that's what you want. it is not what I wanted. Others have just one voice but the narrator has a heavy accent or he uses a lot of different intonations. What I wanted was a very simple, plain, easy to understand, clear voice with some emotion but not a lot. David Heath does an excellent job in my opinion of doing just that. I am so glad I kept searching until I found one that I liked. I wasn't really looking for the ESV translation at first - but I actually like it and am 100% satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hear the Word: ESV Audio Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT AND OUTSTANDING

Date:November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lin S.
Location:NE
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT! IT IS TRUE TO THE DESCRIPTION AND TO ALL OF THE OTHER COMPLIMENTS FROM THE REVIEWS! ONE PERSON SAID THEY FOUND IT BORING - IN MY OPINION IT IS ONLY BORING IF YOU ARE EXPECTING SOUND EFFECTS AND DRAMATIZED READING. YOU CAN ALSO LISTEN TO THE SAMPLE BEFORE YOU BUY. I WAITED FOR YEARS TO PURCHASE AUDIBLE BIBLE BECAUSE OF THE OVERDONE VOICES AND EFFECTS OF THE OTHERS THAT WERE AVAILABLE. I STRONGLY, HIGHLY AND GREATLY SUGGEST THIS TO ANYONE WHO WANTS AN AUDIBLE BIBLE. (EVEN IF YOU'RE STUCK ON KJV LIKE I AM) THIS ESV READ BY HEATH IS OUTSTANDING AND WELL WORTH HEARING. I REALLY CAN'T SAY ENOUGH POSITIVE ABOUT IT. I'VE BEEN PRAISING GOD AND THANKING DAVID HEATH AND ALL WHO MADE THIS POSSIBLE EVER SINCE I PUT THE FIRST CD IN. IT IS ONE OF THE BIGGEST BLESSINGS AND BEST PURCHASES I HAVE EVER MADE. THANKS EVERYONE!!!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hear the Word: ESV Audio Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kyle
Location:GA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good set. I was worried that it might would be boring but for the most part it really keeps my attention.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hear the Word: ESV Audio Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for learning in your car

Date:March 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lester Cote
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife is constantly on the road and finds this CD series a wonderful helpful blessing to her day.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hear the Word: ESV Audio Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Miltenberger
I recently received the Hear the Word: ESV Audio Bible on CD for a birthday gift, and I am enjoying it very much! The voice of David Heath is clear and soothing and the translation of God's word is easy to comprehend. I love that while traveling in my car I can listen to scripture!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hear the Word: ESV Audio Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michael Overd
David Heath's voice & expressions;for my wife & I are the best we've ever heard for an audio Bible.We love the ESV translation & read by this man just caps it all.I would have given 5 stars but it lets itself down sligthly by not having all the chapter information on the discs itself.You get a pamphlet that gives you the OT & NT disc numbers with the chapters on. It's only a minor negative but when I used to have the audio Bible in a KJV version; all the discs were marked up with all the info you needed to know exactly what was on it.Like I said;it's a minor point.Don't let it put you off buying this version.It's more a point perhaps for the producers.God bless you all.To His soon coming.Michael.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hear the Word: ESV Audio Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Ahmadi
This is an outstanding product! I didn't realize what a difference and blessing it is to hear the Word of God read, and this recording is beautifully done. No distracting background music, no dramatic British accent. Just a clear, meaningful, text-honoring presentation of God's Holy word. Some of the other audio Bible samples seemed very slow in tempo, which perhaps has its place. But this recording's tempo seems just right and is great for getting the flow of each passage. I am very thankful for the Hear the Word:ESV Audio Bible!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hear the Word: ESV Audio Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
mark
this is the best audio Bible i have ever listened to. Cochran's voice is amazing for reading! plus, i love the version.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hear the Word: ESV Audio Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ben Steinke
Very, very good quality narration!! His clear, not overly-dramatic voice lends a simple, yet listenable narration. His unpretentious style is really easy to listen to, and the slow, patient pace allows for retention and memorization.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hear the Word: ESV Audio Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
carrie
I think this version is clear and simple without any pretense - the way Jesus was! It also has warmth and heart. When I listen, I can picture sitting in my own dad's lap as a little girl as he read it to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hear the Word: ESV Audio Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
leanne
This is the most boring narration I have ever heard and the cost is much higher than any other audio ESV. I am sorry I purchased it and will return it.
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.