Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Hear the Word Audio Bible (MP3)

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Hear the Word Audio Bible (MP3)

A beautifully clear expression of God's Word! Ideal for commuters, people on the go, and the visually impaired, this audio Bible conveniently captures more than 70 hours of Scripture on 7 MP3-CDs. Each fully searchable disc allows you to locate the exact verse you're looking for. Comes in a sturdy zippered case for easy transport. Narrated by David Heath.

David Heath is veteran stage actor, performing in more than one hundred productions. He has recorded many audio books, including Christian classics by Thomas a Kempis, Francis Shaeffer, and John Piper.
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for ESV Hear the Word Audio Bible (MP3)
Review 1 for ESV Hear the Word Audio Bible (MP3)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Gift

Date:March 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
HSpike
Location:Catskill Mountains, New York State
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ESV is a very easy to understand version of the Bible add David Heath's excellent narration, which is clear and easy to understand, and the ESV comes to life. I have a friend who works long hours; I got this for him as a gift. He loves it and listens to it for hours a day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Hear the Word Audio Bible (MP3)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gift

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Linda White
This purchase was a gift to my grandson who was very excited to receive it. I have not had a chance to ask him how he likes it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Hear the Word Audio Bible (MP3)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent voice

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
S Hills
Location:Westerville, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent! It's read so that I can follow it. Not too fast, not too slow but just right. Great voice and linguistics with feeling towards the listeners. Great blessing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Hear the Word Audio Bible (MP3)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melie
Location:australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy listening to this as I do housework. It is a great price and ESV is a true translation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Hear the Word Audio Bible (MP3)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for me.

Date:September 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dakota
Location:Winston Salem, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every morning I walk for 20 minutes per PT's intructions. I really enjoy listening to the ESV bible I downloaded to my MP3 player. It is easy to transfer and I have the whole bible my mp3 player (4G). I have lots of empty space left for audio books.
I like how David Heath reads. He is clear and doesn't add extreme emphasis, like a scoursby reading. But I do love listening to scoursby read my KJV, too. I am using my ESV more often these days.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Hear the Word Audio Bible (MP3)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent,Excellent,Excellent

Date:July 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alley cat
Location:Asheboro,NC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is what I have needed for a long time. I'm not a fan of reading. I am more of an audio person. I'm learning stuff that is new to me and there are no background fill-ins to distract me. Just the Word. Great for driving,working and gardening. Thanks,
K. Scott
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Hear the Word Audio Bible (MP3)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pleasant to the ears

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
BGHer
Location:LI, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hoping to use this for Scripture memory. The clear reading is very nice to listen to.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Hear the Word Audio Bible (MP3)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best audio Bible I've heard

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tom McMillion
Location:Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible. I just wanted the to listen to the Word of God without the dramatization of added music and other audio tid bits. This one is exactly what I wanted. The speaker has an excellent voice, his pronunciations of words is excellent, and he has an incredible ability to change his tone slightly when quoting different characters in a conversation within passages of the 4 gospels.
Very well done! I would HIGHLY recommend it. Excellent price also for what you get. The entire Bible in MP3 format on just 7 discs. Can't beat it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Hear the Word Audio Bible (MP3)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very good version, great speaker

Date:December 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
geoff
Location:Murfreesboro, tn
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been looking for an audio version of the bible to listen to during my hour commute to work.
I was not familiar with the ESV, but after listening to the new testament, I can say that I really like the version. It is similar to the NAS, which I am used to using, but does have some differences. I think that the ESV tends to flow a little better than does the NAS, but so far as I can tell, is still a very literal translation.
The reader is excellent. He uses normal speaking inflection without inserting excessive drama. His voice is very clear and easy to understand, even over traffic and other car noises.
My one disappointment is with the track naming. The tracks all have numbers for names, like 02.mp3. That makes it difficult to hunt down a specific book or chapter without listening to find out where you are.
I plan to take a little time and rename the tracks like
01 Genesis 01
so I can keep the books in order and still find them on my player. It will take a little time, which I am a little short of this time of the year.
But over all, this was an excellent purchase and would recommend it to anyone looking for an audio version of hte bible.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Hear the Word Audio Bible (MP3)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Normal Narrator Voice

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stubbs
Location:Hudson, WI
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome Audio bible, we wanted something that was ESV that had a narrator that sounded semi-normal, and this is the one :-) The fact that it's MP3 discs was great as well, simply because there were so many less discs.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Hear the Word Audio Bible (MP3)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ralph Bortnem
David Cochran Heath's reading is appropriately calm and measured and humble. His diction is superb. He reads plainly. He reads as if he were sitting next to you as a friend. His reading sets a very high standard that can be emulated by those wishing to speak with excellence. For these reasons, I recommend this reading for children. I can listen to this reading for hours.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Hear the Word Audio Bible (MP3)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Henderer
I really like this recording. I think it's the best available today in the ESV, and this is a good price.David Heath's voice is easy to listen to not grating, nor overly pompous-sounding as some of the others out there. ... I really like the ESV translation, and Heath does it justice. At times, however, I wish he would give the reading a bit more feeling, perhaps as Alexander Scourby's classic audio KJV Bible.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Hear the Word Audio Bible (MP3)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Howard Reller
Great item for those whos eyes hinder reading God's Word and for us who can read along
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Hear the Word Audio Bible (MP3)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gary Bowman
Dave's heart for God comes through his reading of God's Words--clear, hopeful, powerful. You can feel God's working, and almost see as Dave reads.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Hear the Word Audio Bible (MP3)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Richard Wildhirt
This is a winner if you like just the bible read to you with no annoying background music or sound effects. David Heath's voice is engaging and not over-dramatic. MP3 format makes it easy to transport and easy to find selections.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.