Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Literary Study Bible--soft leather-look, brown/parchment

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Literary Study Bible--soft leather-look, brown/parchment

The ESV Literary Study Bible approaches the Bible as literature and shows how the application of literary tools of analysis helps tremendously in reading and understanding the Bible. Readers are introduced to the literary features of each book of the Bible and to each section within each book. While traditional Bibles are reference books, this is a reader’s Bible. The format and commentary make it ideal for private devotional reading, for preachers and Bible teachers, and for use in group Bible studies.

Features:
  • Introductions to each Bible book
  • Introduction to 12 litereary features of the Bible
  • Extensive notes by a literary expert and a Bible expositor
  • Tips for reading and analyzing each passage
  • Glossary of literary terms
  • One-year Bible reading plan
  • Free trial access to online edition
  • Free ESV Bible Resources software download available
  • Words of Christ in black
  • Ribbon marker
  • Size: 9.50" x 6.50" x 1.75"
  • 8.5-point type
Average Customer Rating:
4.059 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
5 out of 862%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for ESV Literary Study Bible--soft leather-look, brown/parchment
Review 1 for ESV Literary Study Bible--soft leather-look, brown/parchment
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A few minor defects

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Matthew Bulfinch
Location:Mansfield, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recall one reviewer who said the book was basically falling apart. I don't have the problem, although one of the pages was cut incorrectly (a little extra paper was sticking out, it was easy to cut off with scissors). I didn't think I'd like the fact that there was only commentary at the beginning of the books of the Bible, but since I'm in an English 101 course, I'm actually finding it quite useful. I wouldn't use this for "hardcore" study, but it's a decent Bible overall. The study notes relay more to the literary features of the Bible (i.e. genre, archetypes, and the literary definition of "rhetoric"), NOT study notes per-se. If I've just confused, you, think if it this way: this Bible would be a great Bible for a literature class (or the English 101 class I'm in now)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Literary Study Bible--soft leather-look, brown/parchment
This review is fromThe ESV Literary Study Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
marikay
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it I use it for bible study thank you for offering it
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Literary Study Bible--soft leather-look, brown/parchment
This review is fromThe ESV Literary Study Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love It!! Highly Recommend This Reader's Bible!!

Date:October 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
J Wilson
Location:Rickman, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was given to me by a friend, and I am so thankful.
First of all I love the single-column format, it reads more like a book.
It doesn't have thousands of notes...a point which I like. In-depth notes have their place, but can tend to be rather distracting from the Word. The short commentary is just before each book and chapter, so it doesn't distract as you're reading the text. Great for reading straight through.
The print size is great for me, even though I wear glasses.
The overall size is not too bulky and big, just right to carry to church or wherever.
The quality seems good, especially for the low price.
I just received this bible, but believe understanding the literary style will really help in understanding the text.
Overall I would highly recommend this bible to anyone that is looking for an excellent reader's bible.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Literary Study Bible--soft leather-look, brown/parchment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Purchased as a gift, presented beautifully

Date:June 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
auntie
Location:K.C. MO area
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A lovely tool to assist growth and knowledge. It is a gift for my husband and he is enjoying it.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Literary Study Bible--soft leather-look, brown/parchment
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Reprint with larger type,white paper- Excellent

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Evylen
Location:Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Information- Excellent
Appearance - Stylish
Reading - Fine in day light - very difficult at night with lamp light - yellow pages do not contrast well with fine black print
Online- 30 day free - great - easy to read and use.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Literary Study Bible--soft leather-look, brown/parchment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simplicity

Date:November 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
dcinmadison
Location:Madison, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this version of the ESV for about 2 weeks. What I like are: the one column reading format, minimal intrustions by notes and information boxes, minimal interpretive material, the literary helps. What I don't like is the font size - this is an age issue.
In a couple of uses, the notes on the literary structure and genre have been just enough to get me on the right track for my own study. For example, I went to Isaiah 64 for the Advent Lectionary and was directed to the structure: Isaiah 63 and 64 are a unit representing a lament by the Prophet, and chapter 65 also can serve as a response by the Lord.
What is often lacking in study bibles is awareness of literary structure, this is what the ESVLB provides in a brief and helpful way.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Literary Study Bible--soft leather-look, brown/parchment
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Features in this product are not as good

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Maxi
Location:Connecticut
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The features in this product are not as good as anticipated. Very little information is given. If I could, I would return the product for a credit on something else more beneficial. Definitely would not recommend this product to anyone else.
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Literary Study Bible--soft leather-look, brown/parchment
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

disappointed...

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
amyl
Location:Alaska
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just received this bible today. I am sad to say that it looks to be of poor quality. The first and last few pages are not glued in properly, they don't match the rest of the pages. The last page is crinkled. There were several bits of glue stuck to the outside of the closed pages. I was hoping for a better quality. I haven't decided whether to send it back or not yet. Love the idea of a literary bible... I do like the color of the cover, as well as the off-white, creamy pages. Hope this helps someone!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Literary Study Bible--soft leather-look, brown/parchment
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Richard
Please note - this negative review is not pointed at the ESV Literary Study Bible specifically, but the build quality of the leather brown/parchment edition of it. I think the build quality of this Bible is, by far, the worst I have ever seen. The pages are so fragile, you have to be very careful turning the pages. I intend to return this item, and replace it with the hardcover edition.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Literary Study Bible--soft leather-look, brown/parchment
This review is fromThe ESV Literary Study Bible.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
tricia connell
I think the literary study bible is great as for as the way it is presented but the yellow paper and the tiny print makes it very hard to read if your not under alot of light. I am very disappointed because I really like this bible.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Literary Study Bible--soft leather-look, brown/parchment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lezli Hall
This Bible is a gift for my daughter, which she specifically asked for by product number. I looked through it and it looks like a nice Bible. However, I got it personalized and it looks a bit strange with the gold print since the cover is such a light color. I would not recommend getting this Bible personalized for this reason.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Literary Study Bible--soft leather-look, brown/parchment
This review is fromThe ESV Literary Study Bible.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2009
We got this Bible for our son as a gift after he earned his Masters' Degree in (French) Literature. He took to it like a duck to water.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Literary Study Bible--soft leather-look, brown/parchment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Carmichael
I bought this Bible for myself after buying the hardcover for my daughter. I prebought it, so I didn't have the luxury of seeing the colors. I was pleasantly surprised: the pages are an antique white so it gives the impression that this book has been around a while - which it has. I received it only two days ago so haven't had much time to peruse. What I have read in my daughter's and so far in my own Bible, I am very pleased with the form, and literary notations. I am looking forward to studying and reading from this version. My previous Bible was a Ryrie NIV I received as a gift in 1987. The only negative is there is no concordance in this Literary version.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Literary Study Bible--soft leather-look, brown/parchment
This review is fromThe ESV Literary Study Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dr Paige-patric Samuels
This is a readers Bible, ideal for teaching the Bible as literature. Also it has excellent notes and side bars, explaining the text within the context of biblical narrative. This will be an ideal tool for any student of Biblical literature, who desire too engage in biblical narrative.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Literary Study Bible--soft leather-look, brown/parchment
This review is fromThe ESV Literary Study Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Boge
If you have a hard time comprehending the events of the Bible and making sense of the entire message God has given within it's pages, then this Bible is for you. It is an excellent readers Bible, the commentary doesn't detract from the written Word, allowing any reading level to fully grasp God's message of salvation. Highly recommend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Literary Study Bible--soft leather-look, brown/parchment
This review is fromThe ESV Literary Study Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gary G Johnson Sr
The Literary Bible is all that and some more. It is so clear and enjoyable to read. I have a daily reading plan where i read a little each day, this Bible is so good it makes me want to keep reading!!! I really love this Bible! If you don't have it pick it up NOW! you won't regrete. Thank you Jesus for inspiring Leland Ryken and Philip Graham Ryken for putting this Bible together.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Literary Study Bible--soft leather-look, brown/parchment
This review is fromThe ESV Literary Study Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
J R Taylor
I really love the organization of this edition and how it matches the reading plan. The plan is similar to the DJ plan which I've used the past two years, but it is broken up in a much better way. The ESV translation combined with literary (rather than theological or hermeneutical) notes allows the text to speak directly to the heart in a clean and fresh way. I highly recommend this as a reading Bible.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.