Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles German Luther/English ESV Parallel Bible

Crossway Books & Bibles German Luther/English ESV Parallel Bible

German and English are two of the most-spoken languages in the world. This German-English Parallel Bible is ideal for native speakers, bilingual readers, and those who are learning either language. This Bible positions two columns of Scripture on each page: the widely used Luther 1984 German text (Die Bibel Übersetzung Nach Martin Luther) on the left, and the ESV English language text alongside it on the right. It also features textual notes for both translations in the back and is bound in a durable hardcover format.
  • 2,432 pages
  • Double-column, verse-by-verse layout with German and English side by side
  • Textual notes in both languages
  • Weights & measures in both languages
  • Black letter text
  • Ribbon marker
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for German Luther/English ESV Parallel Bible
Review 1 for German Luther/English ESV Parallel Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great for german ESL

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
pastorjw
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this for a member who is from Germany, not only does it help her learn English but it also allows her to stay engaged with the sermon on Sunday.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for German Luther/English ESV Parallel Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Study Tool...Some improvements could be made

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
FWL Searching the Bible
Location:Southeast Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like the side by side text. It helps me in my Bible study to see the Scriptures in both German and English and is a must have in my household. I have not found another parallel Bible to compare it to. It would be nice however if this parallel Bible were available in #1. soft cover leather. & #2. KJV in addition to the ESV.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for German Luther/English ESV Parallel Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

missing content

Date:March 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
In Germany Now
Location:Germany
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am still pleased with this bible and use it daily. However in my copy the following are an issue:
Verse Mark 11:26 is missing
Verse Math 17:21 is missing
I would urge potential purchasers to view the bible before accepting it or be prepared to return it if the above is true for their copy as well. We have been moved to Germany by the Lord and I must think about the possibility of being in a discussion and not having a bible which is complete.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for German Luther/English ESV Parallel Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

German Luther/English ESV Parallel Bible

Date:June 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gregory Findlay
Location:Wichita Falls, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bible specifically for my mother-in-law, a German immigrant. During the course of a Bible-study with her, she understood the scriptures better by reading it both in German and English. I should have bought one of these Bibles for her many years ago.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for German Luther/English ESV Parallel Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible for those learning German

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kaity
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am really enjoying this Bible! It has very easy to read print and is a very nice Bible overall. The reason I purchased this Bible is because I am learning German. (Since I am not yet fluent in German I still wanted to have the English to read as well). This Bible is a great value; I like the sturdiness of the cover (I have always used Bibles with soft-leather covers). This Bible is somewhat heavy and feels like a very big hymnal. The ESV is my favorite English translation so it is super to have the ESV in parallel with Luther's German Bibel. I decided to purchase a Bible/book cover for this Bible to prevent any more pages getting accidentally bent inside the Bible. The pages are very thin so be careful when underlining your favorite verses--sometimes the even ballpoint pin ink can bleed through. Also, I got my name printed on the front of the Bible. (I am really glad I did because there is no presentation page in this Bible where you can write your name into).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for German Luther/English ESV Parallel Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to read.

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fritz
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the hardcover and the nice bigger print. It's easy to read and understand. The German is sometimes not grammatically correct but I can live with that. I like how close the ESV text is to the KJV.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for German Luther/English ESV Parallel Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quality product for great value price

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ed Venable
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this parallel version to help me learn to read German. This Bible is well made with easy to read font. The parallel ESV/German Bible assists me in learning the German language with the primary purpose of reading the Bible in German and reading other German theological works. A wonderful avenue for learning to read God's word in German.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for German Luther/English ESV Parallel Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Luther/ESV Parallel Bible

Date:December 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
OldSandown
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality of this book is excellent. I personally prefer the ESV translation over my other bibles and I was delighted to find this German language Luther parallel version. This along with my ESV study bible and my Art Scroll Leningrad codex Hebrew/English Tanakh are my primary study resources. I recommend all these books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for German Luther/English ESV Parallel Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
memememe
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this product to a friend who also spoke or was studying German, for obvious reasons.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for German Luther/English ESV Parallel Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alan Westcott
I bought this to help me in my review of German, which is over 50 years old. I was delighted to find that the Bible is beautifully printed and bound with high quality paper. It is wonderful to open God's Word in a volume such as this. The parallel columns of 1984 German and ESV text are a delight to this former student of German.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for German Luther/English ESV Parallel Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Thomas Schuckman
Just what I always wanted for many years and so glad to have it at last! Worth every penny!I may have preferred the German to English bible-- NASB, but I am not going to complain.Thank you fine people for supplying me with all my needs. God Bless you all!Regards,Tom Schuckmantschuckman@aol.comDisabled Vietnam Veteran: 68-70Jesus is Lord.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.