Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Compact Bible--soft leather-look, chestnut with diamond design

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Compact Bible--soft leather-look, chestnut with diamond design

The Deluxe Compact Bible takes the features that have earned the ESV Compact Bible such popularity and enhances them for even more user-friendliness.

Its slightly larger trim size, larger font, and double-column format allow the Deluxe Compact Bible to retain its classic portability while improving its readability. This Bible will be a favorite anyone who likes to take God's Word wherever they go: from daily commuters to faithful students, world travelers to busy moms.

Features:

  • 4" x 6"
  • 6.4-point type
  • Sewn binding
  • Concordance
  • Introductions to each book
  • Double-Column format
  • Ribbon marker
  • Presentation page
  • Diamond cover design
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 out of 2893%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ESV Compact Bible--soft leather-look, chestnut with diamond design
Review 1 for ESV Compact Bible--soft leather-look, chestnut with diamond design
This review is fromESV Compact Bible, Trutone, Royal Blue, Eternity Design.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quality control issues

Date:April 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Deanne Hunt
Location:Montrose, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
For the most part, this little Bible fills the need for which I bought it. But that said, it has some problems. The outer margins vary throughout both testaments and in Psalms, some text is lost due to text being offset to the outside. Sadly, it makes me long for the day when materials were still regularly printed in the U.S., not in our major debt-holder!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Compact Bible--soft leather-look, chestnut with diamond design
This review is fromESV Compact Bible, Trutone, Royal Blue, Eternity Design.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice looking. Type is small.

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill
Location:Fayetteville, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible looks great! I thought it would be a great Bible to put in a purse and I guess it is but the font size is extremely small so it will be hard to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Compact Bible--soft leather-look, chestnut with diamond design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Bible, just what I wanted.

Date:March 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
avallea
Location:Flordia
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible met all the requirements I was looking for. I love the texture of the trutone and it's just a beautiful bible. Its the perfect size for carrying around in your back pocket or tossing into a backpack. I was looking for an exceptional translation that is easy to read and yet doesn't make you feel dumb, and I needed a small compact size that could easily fit into my pocket so I could carry it at work. The concordance is slightly lacking, but that is common for small bibles anyway, but other than that it is the perfect bible. I would highly recommend this product to anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Compact Bible--soft leather-look, chestnut with diamond design
This review is fromESV Compact Bible, Trutone, Royal Blue, Eternity Design.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This bible met our expectations

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
DMcMan
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this bible for an Old Testament class our daughter is taking. The bible curriculum uses the ESV so this made the class easier for her to understand.
We also love the compact size of the bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Compact Bible--soft leather-look, chestnut with diamond design
This review is fromESV Compact Bible, Trutone, Royal Blue, Eternity Design.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Bargain

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nancy Russell
Location:Louisiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice looking, compact, good value to give as a gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Compact Bible--soft leather-look, chestnut with diamond design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
0225wilson
Location:Corbin, KY
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for my nephew, I really wish that they made this color in the thinline, because my husband love it and the design only he want the size different. However, my nepew said he would be able to take this with him more places because of the size. Truly an awesome buy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Compact Bible--soft leather-look, chestnut with diamond design
This review is fromESV Compact Bible, Trutone, Royal Blue, Eternity Design.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunshine
Location:New York
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This compact Bible will great for my son when he goes traveling and doesn't have access to electronics.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Compact Bible--soft leather-look, chestnut with diamond design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Bible - good quality

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
dianne2love
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the Bible is made of good quality, sewn binding and not glued and the print is readable, it's overall an awesome Bible!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Compact Bible--soft leather-look, chestnut with diamond design
This review is fromESV Compact Bible, Trutone, Royal Blue, Eternity Design.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Compact bible

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mari Lendor
Location:Silver Spring, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Font is a little smaller than what I was expecting, but the size, cover material, color, and summary at the beginning of each book, makes it a great compact bible worth to buy.
Overall I'm happy with it... and enjoying all the readingtoo!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Compact Bible--soft leather-look, chestnut with diamond design
This review is fromESV Compact Bible, Trutone, Royal Blue, Eternity Design.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
bjcd
Location:Mt. Pocono, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price, good value. Purchased as a gift for son-in-law. Size is convenient for pocket.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Compact Bible--soft leather-look, chestnut with diamond design
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Attractive cover, but the type is small

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Iowa Mom
Location:Iowa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Attractive cover, but I wish the personalization would have have been scaled to fit-- it looks really large and a little silly on the tiny cover. Also, the text is so very small -- headache/eyestrain comes to mind, but it was a gift for a younger set of eyes so... we'll go with that. But the text is small enough to hinder extended study, though handy to take a long to youth group for quick references.
I will likely have to buy a second Bible with bigger type for my daughter to use for study, so I it doesn't seem like a very good value, dollar wise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Compact Bible--soft leather-look, chestnut with diamond design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
pepper
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is stylish, compact and a great deal. Love the soft leather-like feel to the cover.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Compact Bible--soft leather-look, chestnut with diamond design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent buy!

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
terry0013
Location:Bradford, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bible was exactly as I wanted and expecting. Perfect size for on the go!
Crown design is an awesome plus!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Compact Bible--soft leather-look, chestnut with diamond design
This review is fromESV Compact Bible, Trutone, Royal Blue, Eternity Design.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Pocket Bible

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
pastorG
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these for myself and my wife, it is a perfect Bible for everyday. It fits in my back pocket but is not so small that I can't read it well. Quality product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Compact Bible--soft leather-look, chestnut with diamond design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful!!!

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Location:New York, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bible for my son's 21st B-day and I was very pleased. I got the brown leather with the thorns (crown) on the cover. I also asked for his name to be engraved, which the 1st time it came without it but as soon as I contacted them they replaced it and send it via UPS-express at no cost to me. Overall my son loves it and takes it with him to church every Sunday. Thanks CBD!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Compact Bible--soft leather-look, chestnut with diamond design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for everyday use

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:State College, PA
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible has a nice size, a nice feel, and it's easy to carry around in your backpack or in your coat pocket. The print is 8.5 which is just fine. The brown cover with the diamond design is attractive in a subtle way and everyone who sees it wants to pick it up and handle it for themselves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Compact Bible--soft leather-look, chestnut with diamond design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Replacement for my previous ESV compact.

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Solidbrim
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product to replace my previous ESV compact. I have had the original ESV Compact Bible for over 5 years and the binding is still holding strong. It is inevitable that I will need to replace the current compact I use so I chose to go ahead and purchase this replacement for future use. My original one is the first line that was produced. This newer version has a few changes that are indeed useful. The chapter summaries are a nice added touch. The print and overall feel of the small Bible is on par with the original one I purchased years ago. The selection of cover prints are a nice feature. On this one i chose the crown of thorns because I felt it was unique. The ESV translation itself is very accurate and I love it for its clarity and accuracy. If you are looking for a compact ESV bible this one is able to serve you for years to come. If you study the Bible often the lifespan of wear on this Bible will not disappoint.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV Compact Bible--soft leather-look, chestnut with diamond design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Greg
Location:Plymouth WI
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bible for my son, Josiah, and he likes it very much. The translation along with the size was what he was looking for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV Compact Bible--soft leather-look, chestnut with diamond design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very good choice

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
mike
Location:Corsicana, Tx
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good version, small and easy to carry, yet it contains the esv quality of accuracy to the original word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ESV Compact Bible--soft leather-look, chestnut with diamond design
This review is fromESV Compact Bible, Trutone, Royal Blue, Eternity Design.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
emilygrace15
Age:18-24
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smaller than I expected it to be but it was loved by the person I gifted it to
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>