Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Personal-Size Reference Bible, soft leather-look, Mahogany with Trellis Design

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Personal-Size Reference Bible, soft leather-look, Mahogany with Trellis Design

Having a Bible that can travel anywhere—in a briefcase, purse, backpack, glove compartment, or computer case—is especially helpful in these busy times, which is why the Personal Size Reference Bible is ideal. Just right for men, women, and students on the go who will appreciate its variety of cover options. The scriptural text is conveniently offered in a user-friendly, single column paragraph format, allowing you to read it like a book.

Features:
  • Introductions to each book
  • Cross-references
  • Single-column, paragraph format
  • 7.4-point type
  • Ribbon marker
  • Smyth-sewn binding
  • Free ESV Bible Resources software download available
Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ESV Personal-Size Reference Bible, soft leather-look, Mahogany with Trellis Design
Review 1 for ESV Personal-Size Reference Bible, soft leather-look, Mahogany with Trellis Design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good value

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
disi82
Location:Ottawa, On Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price this is a great Bible. It should serve me for a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Personal-Size Reference Bible, soft leather-look, Mahogany with Trellis Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Portable, Practical and Very Stylish

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
YorkRose
Location:Elizabeth City, N C
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is accurately described as an "on the go" Bible. I was looking for a "full-size" Bible to carry on my travels, and this one suits my purpose admirably.
The single column format is easy to read, and the main font is clearer than others in this size range. The footnotes and cross-references are on the small side, but then this is not intended to be a study Bible.
I love the cover. It has a nice "hand-feel" and is richly elegant. The colour was more red than I expected, but I love it. The Tudor Rose design was a wonderful bonus.
My only suggestion for improving the product would be the inclusion of a map section. Aside from that, I'm very satisfied with both the price and the quality of my purchase
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Personal-Size Reference Bible, soft leather-look, Mahogany with Trellis Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Esv Single column with concordance

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nelli
Location:Malaga, Washington
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these Bibles this past year. One for my hubby and one for me. We like the single column for ease of reading just like a regular book but we also like the concordance in the Bible. The size is fine for our pleasure reading but would be small for a study Bible. The cover even though an imitation is of excellent quality. The Bible paper is only slightly less that the high cost/quality Bibles and again meets our needs for the occasional use Bible.
We are both very please with these Bibles and since we purchased them on sale the Price was Perfect!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Personal-Size Reference Bible, soft leather-look, Mahogany with Trellis Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

exactely what I wanted

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Russ
Location:Chicopee, MA.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been waiting for a Personal size Bible to carry with me as we have the esv study Bible for the right price and this one is it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Personal-Size Reference Bible, soft leather-look, Mahogany with Trellis Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
cmayes
Location:Bullard, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I bought this for my son for his birthday and he loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Personal-Size Reference Bible, soft leather-look, Mahogany with Trellis Design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Almost perfect!

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Denninger
Location:Surrey, BC, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I REALLY like this Bible except for one thing that could be improved. That is the darkness of the print. The font itself is small, but other Bibles in the "personal-size" that have the same size font have a darker printout and it's easier to read. I notice that my other ESV Bibles also have the same "lightness" to the fonts. It seems strange to me that the publishers (or whoever makes that decision) decided to do the printing that way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Personal-Size Reference Bible, soft leather-look, Mahogany with Trellis Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bible

Date:November 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jodie
Location:Gainesville, Tx
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excelant version & good quality.My pastor uses this version.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Personal-Size Reference Bible, soft leather-look, Mahogany with Trellis Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunshinerose
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is just what I wanted to carry with me at all times. Small, ESV, cross-references
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Personal-Size Reference Bible, soft leather-look, Mahogany with Trellis Design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful – just what I wanted!

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
luluellen
Location:Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible, and I'm very glad I purchased it.The mahogany color is beautiful, as is the delicate trellis design, and the soft-leather feel is exactly what I wanted. Some reviews mention that the text is hard to read, but I'm used to compact Bibles with microscopic text, so this is a step up. I like the paragraph 1-column form, too as it makes it easy and natural to read. The personal size is a good step in between the compact and the standard, and although the spine is a bit on the thicker side (1 1/4 inch), it's easy to carry around and in most spots will lay open on its own. My only observation (I won't call it a complaint) is the overall quality of the Bible--I wanted something inexpensive, so I wasn't looking for high quality, but I've noticed that the pages tend to curl quickly (they are very thin), and in some places the paper that is glued onto the back of the cover is lifting. As I said, this doesn't bother me too much, and otherwise it is a beautiful Bible, easy-to-read, and portable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Personal-Size Reference Bible, soft leather-look, Mahogany with Trellis Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
annfuller
Location:Dayton, Oh
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is an excellent bible to read and a study tool. I'm very happy with the purchase of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Personal-Size Reference Bible, soft leather-look, Mahogany with Trellis Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Personal Size ESV Bible

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
CharlieD
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent personal size Bible by Crossway. Even though it does not have a leather cover the texture is very nice and supple. Some of Crossway's True Tone Covers are not near as nice, smooth and has a gentle gloss texture like a smooth broken-in leather. I could believe the price at roughly half of the recommended retail. Print is a little small, but for a small Bible it's adequate.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Personal-Size Reference Bible, soft leather-look, Mahogany with Trellis Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect size!

Date:August 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vicki
Location:La Mirada, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been using a very small ESV Bible, but it was really too small, including the print. This is just the right size, and very pretty also. I am very happy with the features including the format.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Personal-Size Reference Bible, soft leather-look, Mahogany with Trellis Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good product

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
RBOW
Location:Parachute, Co
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is good for travel and reading. I like the binding and the text is just large enough to read without eye strain
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Personal-Size Reference Bible, soft leather-look, Mahogany with Trellis Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
AmyC
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this Bible. Great price, beautiful cover, love the single column text.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Personal-Size Reference Bible, soft leather-look, Mahogany with Trellis Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful format for readers

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Creig
Location:Stevensville, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderfully designed and formatted Bible for readers who want to read the Bible in a book format without the distractions of typical Bible formats. It's become my Bible of choice, actually, for its ease and enjoyability of reading as much as I want and as quickly as I want. As with most Bibles, the verses in this Bible are numbered, but you can "ignore" the numbers much more easily than in the typical format. I also like the all-black text, which also improves the "flow" and ease of reading. Love this Bible!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Personal-Size Reference Bible, soft leather-look, Mahogany with Trellis Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very pleased with this purchase.

Date:July 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
buff
Location:Normal, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This ESV bible surpassed my expectations. High quality all the way through. Excellent value.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Personal-Size Reference Bible, soft leather-look, Mahogany with Trellis Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent version and size.

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Thomas Geb
Location:Grafton, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with my ESV Bible. I like the size, it is so easy to hold while reading. I find the version very understandable and easy to read. I love the cross-references and the concordance. I did not think I would like the single-column paragraph format
but I find it so much easier to read and study a page at a time. The value and quality is excellent!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV Personal-Size Reference Bible, soft leather-look, Mahogany with Trellis Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beth Anne Bonetti
The Bible was beautiful. The burgundy color is very rich and the trellis design makes it very attractive. I had my name imprinted on the cover which was a nice touch. I always buy all my Bibles from CBD--you can't beat the quality for the money. This is my first ESV version and it is an easy read, so unlike the old KJV version.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV Personal-Size Reference Bible, soft leather-look, Mahogany with Trellis Design
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sheri Russell
The reference is printed too close to the spine. You really need to splay open the book to read any of the references. It does not fall open nicely (close to the spine the pages buckle). The size, and print are great for reading - not too small as most personal size Bibles are.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.