Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Hardcover

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Hardcover

For years, the spiritual lives of countless men and women all over the world have been strengthened with the help of The MacArthur Study Bible. This all-in-one spiritual library contains Dr. MacArthur’s personal study notes below the full-length Bible text. Virtually every Scripture has a matching study note with detailed information, explanation, and helpful insight. The notes are based on Dr. MacArthur’s verse-by-verse approach to the Bible and nearly forty years of careful study. His goal is to let the Bible speak for itself—nothing more, nothing less.

For the first time, The MacArthur Study Bible will be available in the English Standard Version (ESV). An "essentially literal" translation, the ESV Bible combines “word-for-word” accuracy with readability, literary excellence, and depth of meaning. More than 100 of the world’s leading Bible scholars and teachers were involved in its creation. Timeless, trustworthy, and relevant, the ESV has become the fastest-growing Bible translation and the trusted choice of millions of Bible readers, students, teachers, and preachers worldwide.

The ESV MacArthur Study Bible is an essential resource for growing Christians. It can transform your personal time in God’s Word by clarifying difficult passages, bringing unseen cultural and historical details to life, and helping you understand and apply biblical truth.

Features
  • Complete ESV Bible text
  • Nearly 25,000 explanatory notes from Dr. John MacArthur
  • Bible text in 8.7 point type, 7.6 point study notes
  • More than 140 two-color maps, charts, timelines, and illustrations
  • Complete introductions to each Bible book
  • Concise articles on How We Got the Bible, How to Study the Bible, and Introduction to the Bible
  • 80,000 cross-references
  • An extensive concordance
  • Bible reading plans
  • Index to Key Bible Doctrines
  • Outline of Systematic Theology
  • Presentation Page & Family Record Section
  • Center-Column References
  • Timeline of Old Testament Kings and Prophets
  • Timeline of New Testament Chronology
  • Harmony of the Gospels
Average Customer Rating:
4.758 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(128 Reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (128 reviews)
5 stars
108
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
113 out of 11896%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Hardcover
Review 1 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Study Tool

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Read the Word
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I follow the teaching and preaching of GTY and John MacArthur. Reading the great commentary and insightful notes from the ESV MacArthur Study Bible is a great way to start the day. Spending time in the Word is a great blessing and having access to the insights and study of Dr. MacArthur just helps with better understanding the reasons and details of the inspired Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not a Bible for anyone with vision problems.

Date:October 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mary M. Wood
Location:Jefferson City, MO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am learning to use my MacArthur ESV Bible so I can't give it a complete review. However, I am amazed and disappointed that it is unavailabe in large print. For the elderly or those with vision problems, this Bible is a real challenge. Additionally, I wish it was "tabbed". It is irritating to be scrambling for a book when the pastor calls for you to turn to it and while you're looking for it he continues with his sermon. (That, admittedly, may be partaly the pastor's fault, but there are certainly other instances where you want to be able to turn to a book quickly and tabs would be so helpful.) My biggest concern, however, remains the small print.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

You cannot beat John MacArthur

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jack
Location:Ulsan, S. Korea
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked it so much that I actually bought it for a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a very nice Bible.

Date:June 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
debchuckr
Location:Johnstown, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice hard cover Bible. The font is easy to read and not too small. It has many study guides and features which are nice. The notes on each verse by MacArthur are very interesting and informative. It's a little on the big side to carry back and forth to church but if you want a good study Bible, this is one to consider.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Ratings are for the book manufacturing.

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
SONshine
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's cheaply made but the content is priceless. I feel like I have to be careful when I turn the pages. The thumb dividers are not worth the extra money and neither is the engraving. It was not centered properly for my name. That said. I would recommend the content to anyone who desires more "meat" in their spiritual diet. The notes and references are excellent.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommend this!!

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbi
Location:Arcade, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I had purchased a Life Applications bible and found some things I didn't think were accurate in the notes, so bought this one for myself and I LOVE IT! John MacArthur has studied the Bible for over 40 years and is a true believer in the Lord Jesus Christ. His commentary/notes have been invaluable to me as I study, giving history, geography, customs, clarification with backup for that interpretation and references, explanation of language, syntax, dialects, etc. The most comprehensive and trusted commentary I have ever seen. Bought one for a friend who also loves it, and will be buying for my son and daughter in the near future. Great resource for a new believer who is serious about learning the scriptures, or a seasoned believer who wants to dig even deeper.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

'Tis Alright

Date:January 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jonathan Becker
Location:Blue Springs, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This Bible has a number of positives and negatives.
Positives:
-The ESV translation is both accurate and readable.
-The footnote format is extremely accessible.
-Most difficult passages have an in-depth explanatory footnote.
-Written from a commited evangelical point of view.
Negatives:
-MacArthur often does not give opposing views the time and consideration they deserve (Dear reader, John MacArthur is not inspired).
-Scholarly viewpoint are often misrepresented ("Scholars now know...").
-The hardback is (for me) less portable and more cumbersome than a leatherback.
With these things taken into consideration, though much good is to be said about this Bible, I cannot endorse it fully, and would recommend a study Bible with multiple commentators of various backgrounds to ensure balanced perspectives.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ESV Macarthur Study bible

Date:January 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Loretta Hutchins
Location:Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the bible but it is VERY heavy. I didn't realize it would be that heavy. I have a problem with my thumb joint on my left hand so have trouble holding it in my hands and have to set it on something to enjoy it. Otherwise it is a great Bible!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I needed

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
KDU2
Location:IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
We recently moved and somehow the bible that I had for years full of notes and personal markings was misplaced or lost. I was intentional in seeking out a study bible and this one is perfect. Missing years of notes and reminders in the margins, if I find myself asking what a verse is saying, I just look to the bottom of the page for a thorough explanation and additional verses to look up. Each chapter begins with an excellent historical overview. There are maps, chronological charts, and more information that is helpful contained in the pages.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than I expected!

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
simon94
Location:The Netherlands
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An amazing ESV Study Bible from Mac Arthur indeed! I already had the ESV Study Bible and was very pleased with it, only sometimes it skipped commentary on some verses that I wanted to know more about. What I love about the Mac Arthur ESV are the amazing commentary from Mac Arthur and the use of a lot of charts to help the reader understand! ESV has always been my favourite English translation and this Study Bible is great!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The product has great study guid.

Date:November 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
mhae
Location:canada, alberta
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really liked and enjoyed reading my new study bible. Its give me new insights about every verses I read.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent! Excellent! Excellent!

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
wesley
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This study bible surpassed all my expectations that I had for it. The notes that Pastor MacArthur has supplied for the scriptures are very in depth and helpful when studying. The maps are also an invaluable tool to get oneself oriented with the events that took place.
An excellent tool to be had.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ct12
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been the best purchase I have made in months.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MacArthur Study Bible is one of the best I've used

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris Hildebrandt
Location:Morton Grove, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The MacArthur Study Bible is one of the best study Bibles I've used. It is more compact than most study Bibles, which makes it easy to carry along to church and Bible studies. The introductions for each book are more detailed than most study Bibles and contain an outline of the book. The notes are easy to read and understand, drawing the reader into a deeper understanding of God's Word.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Support Religious Studies

Date:August 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
WomanofGod
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have several study biblies. I add on study biblies as I review them for content and quality. Each one offers something different on biblical application and understanding, yet the message is always the same. They have been benificial in my new role as Minister.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
DeVonna
Location:Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
The MacArthur Study Bible take verses that can be somewhat difficult and offers explanation making the content many times easier to understand. I find the footnotes informative and helpful sharing background of the verse, historical information and provide meaning of a word(s).
As I started reading in Mark I saw a page showing THE MIRACLES OF JESUS, listing verses for each miracle. Each book starts out with notes on author, dates, the setting, themes and challenges which is helpful and opens up my understanding of the particular book.
2 Chronicles shows a map of Solomon's trade routes showing his vast source of wealth and locations of his various goods such as horses, spices, gold, precious stones, peacocks, to name a few.
Ecclesiastes has a 'box' listing 'The Vanities' along with the verses so I can refer back to them as I read the chapters. Again, the footnotes at the bottom really help in understanding or getting a picture of what was going on in the lives of the various people on the OT & NT. i.e. Ecclesiastes 2:8 says "many concubines" and cross references the reader to I Kings 11:3 but at the same time lets the reader know "many concubines" is actually 700 wives & 300 concubines. On a more serious note, several pages over, is Solomon's conclusions (in a 'box' which is easy to read) as he ponders life and man's sin.
The intro to Philemon gives insight regarding slavery of those days letting the reader know although slaves were many, the relationship between master & slave could be very close, even offrering geniune friendship which is not how we, as North Americans typically view the word 'slave'. The footnotes help boost the reader's understanding in seeing why Paul wanted Philemon to accept Onesimus back with love and forgiveness. This makes studying the Bible so enjoyable and applicable today!
I could go on and on but these are just a few examples of some of the great helpful tools in The MacArthur Study Bible. I am very pleased I bought this Bible and have the feeling it will fast become my favourite study Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reitzgirl
Location:Princeton, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the John MacArthur Study Bible! Great price also!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wincey
Location:Whiteville, Tennessee
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this Bible when I study and I love it.
However, I would love to see it in a much larger print. I have to wear strong glasses to be able to read it. Thank you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The notes on verses and sections are excellent

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Baron
Location:Dayton, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this inexpensive MacArthur Study Bible for evaluation. It is exactly what I wanted. The font size of the notes is small. Therefore, in time, I intend to buy the same Bible, which will be leather bound and have larger print.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent study notes and ESV's readability.

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ken K
Location:Greensboro, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ESV combines the readability of the NIV with the accuracy I wanted as found in the NASV. The study notes are great; not only giving historical insight but also the theological/pastoral wisdom of Dr. John MacArthur. This is not a red letter Bible and the pages are very thin. If the pages were thicker the Bible itself would seem too large/thick. I would have liked red letter for my boys but I myself am content with the black letter which is also easier on my eyes. The font type is adequate for these tired old eyes as well.
I love the Word and this is a great form to get it in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345 ...7Next >>>