Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Liberty Press Phonics Readers: Grade K

Christian Liberty Press Phonics Readers: Grade K

Help your new readers master the basic sounds of the English language with this colorfully illustrated series. The first two books emphasize single-syllable short vowel sounds. The other two cover long vowels and build vocabulary skills. Simple consonant blends are introduced throughout the series. One to three pages in length, each story honors God and teaches Christian values. 27--59 pages each, four softcovers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Phonics Readers: Grade K
Review 1 for Phonics Readers: Grade K
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Is a very good reading book.

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
paint
Location:Nebraska
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Children love these books, also has key words that you can use for spelling words.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Phonics Readers: Grade K
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Would definitely recommend!

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Location:Whidbey Island, Washington
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These books are so wonderful for a beginning reader. We did not use them in conjunction with Christian Liberty Press phonics, but they worked great with our own system. It was easy to have my daughter read the story that was in line with whatever phonetic combination we were learning. The stories are very systematic and progress at a perfect learning pace. My daughter enjoyed the pictures and characters, and never got bored with these. She even read them outside of school time. She got through all these in Kindergarten. They are very distinctly christian, which was a huge plus for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Phonics Readers: Grade K
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Colorful, Motivating, Fun

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
JK Turnage
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These readers are a MUST HAVE with the Adventures in Phonics program, but really work well in any phonics program. I LOVE how colorful the readers are and how engaged my daughter becomes in reading them. There is a review of the new words and word families on each 'lesson' and then a little story for the child to apply the new words. I like (except for a few sight words) how the readers stay with the progression in the book with the phonics....short vowel sounds, then silent e words, etc.
These readers have given my daughter such confidence. She proudly totes her reader around as her 'book' she's 'reading' (like her older sisters who are reading larger fiction works).
I supplement the program also with the AIP flash cards, the explode the code flash cards, and a sight reading flash card set to include all the 'extra' new words from each lesson. I wish I had used this phonics curriculum with all of my children! It is cost-effective, simple, and engaging. I do highly recommend it and especially these readers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Phonics Readers: Grade K
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great learn -to- reads

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Jolly
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter never could get into the other books I was teaching her. A friend suggested we use these and she Loves them. We got the whole set. They are easy and interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Phonics Readers: Grade K
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anna Worley
These are great first readers. They work concurrently with Adventures in Phonics but are great on their own too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Phonics Readers: Grade K
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
ST
My son is learning to read with these books. They are brief, progressive lessons that don`t feel too babyish. They also provide lots of repetition which is good, and the colorful pictures seem to hold the attention of an active boy. I have attempted to teach my son to read with other programs but none worked. This is the first one that seems to work with my son. I also like the Christian reinforcement from the material. Try it especially if you have a struggling reader. The price is low so you don`t have much to lose if it isn`t helpful but a lot to gain if it works!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Phonics Readers: Grade K
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Flora Ting
I bought it for my 6 years old son in Kindergarten to help him develop reading skill. He likes it and is not rejecting reading with me. The content is very appropriate for beginning reader to help them develop confidence in reading. I am very happy with them and highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Phonics Readers: Grade K
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mandy
My 5 year old is using these books for kindergarten and they are wonderful!! He loves them. I am so happy that I bought them and I would recommend them to anyone who wants to teach their little one to read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Phonics Readers: Grade K
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Heather D.
I love these books. My four year old reads one page each day and she's doing great. She loves connecting the characters in the story to their picture at the top of the page. I love that She can do a little each day and steadily progress in her reading. We supplement the books with sight word lists that I got off the internet. I had Bob books but these are better!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Phonics Readers: Grade K
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Melissa
We are currently about a third of the way through the first reader and Adventures in Phonics A with a dyslexic child. The readers work WONDERFULLY with the phonics book, and the program is really clicking with him! The only issue I have had with the readers is that they introduce words that do have phonics rules much earlier than the rule is taught (ex: "see" in lesson 2 when long vowel words have not been introduced, "work" and "go" in lesson 5 when the child has not done r-controlled vowels at all and still hasn't done long vowels, etc). I have found, however, that though the words are introduced much earlier than I would prefer them to be, we have not yet struggled in the least when reading a story, and he is always so interested in reading the stories! He's been begging me every day to read ever since we started the reader two weeks ago, and will read the same thing over and over happily for me, which he balked at in every other reader set we've tried so far!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Phonics Readers: Grade K
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lynn Mitchell
Oh my gosh...BUY THESE BOOKS! We have searched high and low for phonics books that our five year old would respond to. We tried the BOB books by Scholastic, and although he could read them, he was more interested in looking at the pictures and trying to 'guess' at the words. These books are so simple and sweet that my son looks at the picture just a few times and then he refocuses his attention back to the actual words. I think what makes these books so brilliant is that the entire phonics lesson takes place on one page- so there is no diversion in turning pages and new pictures. I only wish they made more! Great value and great teaching- worth every penny and every minute you spend reading with your child!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Phonics Readers: Grade K
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2007
These are wonderful readers which present a logical order and progression of reading difficulty. The stories in these readers are interesting and make sense. My son preferred these over BOB books, which, because of their extreme simplicity, made him confused.The CLP Readers, however, introduce new words much more quickly. But don't be afraid! With the excellent way the books are laid out, it's easy to master these new words. Each lesson has, on the left hand page, new words, arranged by phonetic similarities. The book tells you to have your child master these words, over the course of a day or two, before attempting the story.Each story contains only words from previous lessons, and the words from the left-hand page.These work well along with Adventures in Phonics, an excellent phonics program. However if you are using Phonics Pathways, Alpha Phonics, or First Reader, (or just about any other phonics program) these are still the best beginning readers I've seen.The content is Godly but not preachy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Phonics Readers: Grade K
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Christine Jelinek
These are lovely readers which work so well with the Adventures in Phonics series. It is amazing that there are so many wonderful Christian lessons in these little readers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.