Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Matthew Henry's Concise Commentary on the Whole Bible

Thomas Nelson Matthew Henry's Concise Commentary on the Whole Bible

Matthew Henry had the rare ability to express profound spiritual insights with simplicity and eloquence. Over the years his writings have been read for both their scholarship and devotion, and none more than the classic Commentary of the Whole Bible.This commentary uniquely offers Matthew Henry's outlines in today's languages, which allows you to develop lessons and sermons as well as highlight the organization of each book and chapter. Additional maps and charts provide an overview of the New Testament, Christ's ministry, and that of the apostles who followed Him. Features:
  • Prophecies of the Messiah-biblical markers that help you see God's plan
  • Harmony of the Gospels-side-by-side accounts of all four biblical books
  • 12 pages of Indexed Maps-a guide to the cities and regions that witnessed the Bible firsthand
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Matthew Henry's Concise Commentary on the Whole Bible
Review 1 for Matthew Henry's Concise Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The product has been a great help to me.

Date:August 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Queen
Location:Philadelphia, Pa.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A truly good product. Well organized. A valuable assest to any Christian who is study the Bible and any Sunday School teacher.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Matthew Henry's Concise Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Vallejoan
Location:Vallejo Ca
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for help getting a deeper understanding of scripture so I wanted an all inclusive commentary. One or two books weren't sufficient because I read all over the bible. This commentary has met and surpassed my expectations. I love it. It has been really helpful.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Matthew Henry's Concise Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
poodie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent meet my expectations. I have been using it from the moment it arrived.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Matthew Henry's Concise Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Older read, but another good spiritual source

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
RAKu
Location:TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use this book weekly to get another spiritual perspective.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Matthew Henry's Concise Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
pastor
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
purchased this for one of my parishioners and he says its very good for him.
thanks
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Matthew Henry's Concise Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
carole
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this book helped me understand the Word of God better, since I am legally blind/visually impaired and have a hard time reading and re reading what I am studying, now I read once and can activily take part in the Bible disscussions while in class.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Matthew Henry's Concise Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Willie Solomon Moore
Location:Snellvile, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the most knowledgeable(interpretative) commentaries that I have ever read. His ability to make scripture more understandable(teaching vs. preaching) is very refreshing. I will recommend this book, Matthew Henry's Concise Commentary of The Whole Bible, to anyone interested in learning more about GOD'S WORD. Novice or Layman.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Matthew Henry's Concise Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pam Broussard
Matthew Henry's spiritual perceptions have opened my eyes and have inspired me to read the Bible all over again. I'm learning so much as I'm reading his commentary and the Bible side by side. I especially enjoy the Prophecies of Jesus listed in the back of the book. This book is a great addition to my Bible study library!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Matthew Henry's Concise Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Phyllis Willhite
A full set of Matthew Henry's Commentaries was given to me by a retired pastor. I have used that set countless times. I purchased two of Matthew Henry's Commentaries to give to my children as gifts. This is an awesome study and gives much help for home study. My children are excited about this and one of them made the comment, "I have been looking for something to go along with my study and this is great." I thank you for your choice of items that you offer.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Matthew Henry's Concise Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Crisleyda Noury
Excellent commentary, The way it is written makes it easy to read and understand. It is a very helpful source to study the Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Matthew Henry's Concise Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Julius Brown
Very informational book. I am very happy with the purchase of this book from Christianbook.com. It was very reasonably priced, as I checked several places. Thanks a lot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Matthew Henry's Concise Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kelz
Matthew Henry is always good and trustworthy. I prefer the Unabridged edition, especially the six volume one. However, this is a great volume to give to graduating students and to families for their devotion times, in addition to the Bible. I give it 4 1/2 stars because it is abridged, otherwise it would be 5.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Matthew Henry's Concise Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Nelson
I have found this Commentary to be exactly what I needed to round out my scripture reading. When I get stuck on something, I check it out in the commentary and gain better insight into God's word. Excellent help!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.