Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Participant's Guide

Zondervan If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Participant's Guide

Join John Ortberg with this participant's guide to If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat Video/DVD Curriculum. It's filled with insights, questions for discussion, and applications that will help you connect a new way of thinking to actual deeds and a different approach to life. Out on the risky waters of faith, Jesus is waiting to meet you in way that will change you forever, deepen your character and your trust in God.
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Participant's Guide
Review 1 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Participant's Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good solid message

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jeff
Location:California
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The content allows for a good solid study. My only observation is that you cant explore everything in the guides and allow for group discussion in the time we alloted. Our group study mission was to explore the message and biblical backing, as well as develop growth and group discussions pertaining to practicing these principles in every day life. We had group of 12 members, committed 1.5-2 hours per meeting for 6 weeks. If this material were used for a more in depth look of 12 meetings for 2 hours, I think it would be better. Overall though, the message is real good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Participant's Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Location:Pittsburgh
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome study. We are now focus on our gifts from God to enhance enjoy and perfect our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Participant's Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nancy
Location:Broomfield, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are really enjoying the DVD (which the church had) and the book is a great resource to lead us in discussion at the meetings and for personal work at home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Participant's Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Risk and Reward...

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
RubisMom
Location:Colorado
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great study...would highly recommend this to any small group!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Participant's Guide
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting study

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
dcwuellner
Location:Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Takes an in depth look at Peter's walk. Too much fault is assigned to Peter and yet nothing is assigned to those who stayed in the boat and made no effort to walk with the Lord. It is the purpose of this study to get your compadres out of the boat and walking with the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Participant's Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Making a Difference!

Date:November 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
JanetM52
Location:St Louis, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our study group is just beginning this book study, but we can already tell how hopeful and encouraging this book will be to our Christian walk! It will definitely make a difference in our lives!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Participant's Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Betty Lewis
a real help to help us moove out of the famillure. great study.it is a chalange to moove . it give indept chalange.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Participant's Guide
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rev. Phillip Grant
The DVD is vital to this study package. The course is basic and easily understood. I believe that each lesson has too many segments to it. Much of the book I skipped in order to keep interest high.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Participant's Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tim Farrell
Excellent series. Well received by Sunday School class. Takes more than one class to get a lesson in, but it is worth the effort.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Participant's Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Emily Bright
My husband and I are participating in a group at St. Paul's Anglican Church for lent using John Ortberg's Video/DVD, book and workbook, If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat. This is a great series and we are benefiting greatly learning to review our gifts from the Holy Spirit and recognizing the need to use our gifts to honor God and benefit our church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Participant's Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Joanne Laframboise
We have not yet completed our study of this book at church but we are thrilled with it to date. John Ortberg adds great humor that causes us to see ourselves realistically. We would highly recommend this study to other Bible Study groups or to individuals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Participant's Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kenneth Passno
An absolutely wonderful DVD! I enjoyed the way John Ortberg presented the lessons for small group study. It has been a blessing to me and I'm sure whoever purchases this product will get a lot out of it as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Participant's Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Beautiful Savior Lutheran Ch
Since using this study with one church group several years ago, numerous other groups have used it, all by word of mouth. Ortberg is superb in leading Christians to get out of their comfort zones to serve Christ in this creative and practical curriculum.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Participant's Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Hutchinson Mike
This book is very good it will challenge you to get out of the boat and into the game. If you have the disire to be a disciple of Christ this will help you take the next step. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Participant's Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debbie Coxson
Ver good at discussion starters. Our Bible Study Group is really enjoying this study. We would highly recommend it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Participant's Guide
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Julia Juedes
This is a different format, but so far the video is leading to great conversations in our group. The illustrations used are thought-provoking, and lead to self examination! We are enjoying!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Participant's Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
Amber
This is a fabulous book! It get's you thinking, and makes you realize that you're not the only one. :) It's definitely something to try reading, at least.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.