Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Foundation Publications Inc NASB In Touch Ministries Bible, Genuine Leather, Burgundy

Foundation Publications Inc NASB In Touch Ministries Bible, Genuine Leather, Burgundy

"Over the course of more than 50 years of study, I have used nearly every available version and translation of the Bible. While there are features from other editions that I enjoy, there is no moe accurate translation than the New American Standard Bible. That is why I have used it as my primary teaching tool in the pulpit for more than 20 years. I am excited to join The Lockman Foundation in creating the In Touch Ministries Edition of the NASB." Dr. Charles Stanley
  • Presentation page
  • 10-point type
  • Double-column format
  • Concordance
  • 8 Full-color maps
  • Unique binding that allows the Bible to lie flat
  • Smyth sewn binding
  • Expanded margins of 1" for extensive note taking
  • Imported high quality French paper that doesn't bleed through
  • Reinforced spine for increased durability
  • Deluxe leather lining enhances flexibility
  • Specially cornered cover adds beauty and elegance
  • A lifetime guarantee
  • Size 10.00" X 7.00" X 1.50"
  • Gilded page edges
  • Two ribbon markers
  • Burgundy calfskin
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for NASB In Touch Ministries Bible, Genuine Leather, Burgundy
Review 1 for NASB In Touch Ministries Bible, Genuine Leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Date:February 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jim C
Location:Pa
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent Bible if your looking for a literal translation with no opinionated notes or even cross references, quality paper with wide margins for your own note taking, with no bleed-through, 10 point text for easy reading, smyth sewn and a calfskin cover... you've found it. Out of the box it laid flat when opened to Genesis 1 and the soft calfskin is a real pleasure to hold. To top it off, the Lockman Foundation will replace it if it gets worn out from normal use or manufacturer's defect for life. A deal at $100.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NASB In Touch Ministries Bible, Genuine Leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an EXCELLENT BIBLE!

Date:July 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Steve
Location:MN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased two of these bibles a year ago...a His and Her copy for my wife and I. We were very please then and even more pleased after a year. The bible is a pleasure to hold; it is soft and supple to the touch. The wide margins are perfect for taking notes and the paper is of excellent quality. I wanted a bible that was not filled with others thoughts, I wanted to hear from the Lord myself and make notes that reflected my study of His Word. It is perfect and I would highly recommend it to anyone!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NASB In Touch Ministries Bible, Genuine Leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for a true student of Gods Word

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brad
Location:Pgh, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I choose this bible for a several reasons:
1. I only wanted GODS Words in my bible and nothing else. I have tons of bibles and I got to the point that I no longer wanted study notes, cross references, pastors opinions, life principles, life applications or anyone elses opinions in my bible. They are a huge distraction from what God has intended for me to read sometimes & most often not in the correct context anyways. That stuff wasn't in the text when it was originally written and I don't need it in mine either.
2. I wanted Double column, verse by verse format in a larger font. The larger font is perfect and super clear and easy to read. I don't care if it isn't cool to have a larger font but I'm a Christian & Christians are NOT cool. If I was Cool by the worlds standard or even most Christian standards then I'm probably not following Jesus according to the bible. So..Font is PERFECT!! LOVE IT!!
3. I wanted a high quality leather bible that was plush and soft to the touch. This bible is very plush and very pliable.
4. I wanted a bible that didn't have "bleed through" or "ghosting" (where you can see the words on the other side of the page). And this bible is hands down the best of any bible I have ever read from. This paper is the highest quality out there. There is almost no bleed through. It is on point with "R.L. Allen"& "Cambridge" quality for the paper,,, maybe even higher.
5. I wanted a bible with wide margins so I could actually take some notes in my bible. I believe it is perfectly fine to take notes in the bible. I can tell the difference between Gods Word and my handwriting so all is fine. My notes help me remember the growth I am making as God transforms me into who He made me to be and having that in my bible is awesome!
6. And lastly I wanted a bible that is the most word for word translation available besides reading from the hebrew and greek. I know there is the "interlinear" but even that is sketchy in places and only had one translator. The NASB is most word for word translation that you can read in ENGLISH. People will argue this back and forth all day. My suggestion is simple, learn hebrew and greek and then you can talk, until then you are wrong. The ESV is a great translation too, although less word for word in its translation...
In Conclusion this bible is everything I wanted and more. Although I wanted it in Black or Blue, the Burgundy turned out to be amazing. The pictures on the website are accurate and the color is a dark brown burgundy. I recommend this bible to anyone who is looking for a bible to fit what I listed above.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NASB In Touch Ministries Bible, Genuine Leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The treasure I've been searching for

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Aaron
Location:Hudson, New Hampshire
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like many customers reviewing this product, I was searching for a "lifetime" Bible that I could keep, mark up, and treasure until the day I die. Since I've come to regard the NASB as my preferred translation, I was hoping that there would be a NASB that matched three criteria:
(1) It must be wide-margin for taking copious notes and recording my spiritual progress as a follower of Christ (Col. 1:28-29)
(2) It must be text-only, without external notes that tend to distract one's mind and preempt personal, inductive study of the text [Acts 17:11]. I wanted Bible where I could consult others' wisdom in study versions only AFTER wrestling with the text and forming my own initial conclusions. This meant, as well, having a black-only edition of Christ's words, because in my experience red-letter editions tend to skew one's integrative reading of the whole Bible.
(3) It must be genuine leather, to last a lifetime. (And to put what I deem a fitting touch on my personal copy of divine revelation.)
This Bible more than met all of the above criteria. Four months after getting it, I can still smell a whiff of fresh calfskin on the front cover. Besides its space for note-taking, the pages are thick and very durable. (I can't vouch for highlighting - I only use pencil, so that I can erase /edit earlier notes if I want to.)
I, too, was initially put off by the fact that this was an "In Touch" Bible promoted by Charles' Stanley's ministry. Regardless of what I think of Dr. Stanley, I dislike when men or organizations stamp their names on versions of God's Word, as if one person/organization could contain the fullness of divine revelation. However, for those who share this reservation, I can honestly say that for once the label turns out to be just that - a label with no practical ramifications. The opening letter from Dr. Stanley is tucked away at the front of the Bible, and I never see it when I'm back and forth between Bible passages. I would never even have remembered it's a "denominational" Bible if I hadn't spent so much time searching for a Bible.
In addition, when compared to some other genuine leather Bible editions, price-wise this Bible was a real deal.
God has spoken. I used to take that for granted. I don't anymore. (Deut. 4:32-37). One of the best ways I believe I can honor His revelation is obtaining an edition of that revelation that I can really treasure as mine - an edition that I can pore over, pray over, agonize over, and record my race of faith (2 Tim. 4:7) and His faithfulness in until I meet Him in glory (2 Tim. 4:18).
For any brother/sister hunting for that "lifetime" copy of God's Word, I would HIGHLY recommend this treasure!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NASB In Touch Ministries Bible, Genuine Leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Charles F Stanley

Date:April 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bruce
Location:Ma
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good bible that Dr.Charles f Stanley and the Lockman Foundation put out. I am a BIG fan of charles stanley avery saturday or sunday on TV. Like him i've read many translations mostly the N I V. Becouse of the changes in modren tanslations and thanks to DR. stanley. i now read from NASB. Just a note of one of the changes.
( 2 corinthians 11:3 Leaves out SIMPLICITY.)
this changes some of the meaning.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NASB In Touch Ministries Bible, Genuine Leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's a thing of beauty!

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
KRW11
Location:Parkersburg, WV
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used a Thompson Chain Reference NIV Bible for years and years; so much that I was afraid to take it out of the house as the pages were falling out and the cover was worn to a thread. I wanted a wide margin Bible in the NAS version, for note taking and I researched Bibles for several months before landing on this one and I can say that it exceeded my expectations. I have never felt a cover as soft as this! It is ready for use right out of the box, the margins are wide enough for many notes and the pagers are thick enough to prevent bleed through and it is simply GODS WORD! No references, no opinions, when you study this Bible it is just you and GOD.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NASB In Touch Ministries Bible, Genuine Leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
john raly
Location:Palatine IL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was apprehensive in or, dering this bible as I could not really examine it physically before hand. I relied mostly on other reviews all of which responded quite favorably. It is not a Study Bible so one has to get used to not having any references which actually turns out to be a good thing because there are no distractions.
The quality of this Bible is absolutely excellent, it is a pleasure to hold in your hand and the paper appears to be of the finest quality. It would be difficult to make notes in the binder section but the margins are more than adequate. I also appreciate the fact that this is not a red letter edition which I havenever liked nor owned. The type size is perfect in my mind. Pertaining to the translation itself, if you are not used to a literal translation as opposed to a dynamic eqivalency (i.e NIV) it may take a little getting used to. Overall I am quite happy with the purchase
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NASB In Touch Ministries Bible, Genuine Leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This has been the Bible I've been looking for.

Date:November 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Larry White
Location:Pyeong Taek, South Korea
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am completely satisfied with this purchase. The friendly size print (for us older folks) and the clean easy to read layout is perfect for my study of God's word. I enjoy not having the extra info found in study Bibles. I have enough of them.
I highly recommend this Bible to those that want to spend time with only God, the Holy Spirit and His word. No other distractions. Thank you for offering a Bible such as this one. God Bless you all :)
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NASB In Touch Ministries Bible, Genuine Leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Terry
This Bible is beautiful ~ just as promised. The calfskin leather cover "melts in your hands". The pages were so fresh and crisp, and once they were individually separated, the Bible was ultra-flexible and laid flat as mentioned. My only "issue" involves having my name imprinted on the front. Because the calfskin is so "detailed", the imprinting is not as crisp and clear as a perfectionist would like. But it's fine.... just something to think about if details such as that would bother you. All in all, I could not be more pleased and look forward to many, many years enjoying God's Word through the pages of this beautiful edition.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NASB In Touch Ministries Bible, Genuine Leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Janet
Most beautiful Bible I've ever owned! The leather is buttery soft. The texture of the leather is not smooth as I expected, but it's still very soft and pliable. Actually better than completely smooth as it won't show scratches, etc. over time. The paper has a quality feel, too. It's just a wonderful Bible. I've been searching for the "perfect" Bible for years. I finally found it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NASB In Touch Ministries Bible, Genuine Leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
mark Barrett
I bought this bible in 2000 and it is tough. Fell off my motorcycle at 70-mph and survived... 5 years of seminary with tons of notes and I am still using it almost 9 years later! It is well worth the price and will survive whatever paces you put it through! If you're looking for a wide-margin bible that is built to last this is it. Lack of cross ref hasn't been an issue for me. God is good!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.