Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Shiloh Run Press Raptor 6 - eBook

Shiloh Run Press Raptor 6 - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.82 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 out of 39100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Raptor 6 - eBook
Review 1 for Raptor 6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another heart pounding summer read. Raptor 6 grips you at the start and doesn't let go until you are done.
A book that makes you question what you would do and forces you to look at our world, our military and the people who really exist in the midst of war.
The cost is very high and Ronie Kendig does a wonderful job of portraying war, life, death, politics, family, faith, strength and dignity in the presence of chaos.
This is a series to watch and an author to pay attention to as more books come out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Raptor 6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

amazing!!!

Date:June 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Evelyn F
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow it's been a while since I last read a book where I could feel the adrenaline and where I couldn't put the book down! Raptor 6 is filled with tension, suspense, and even some romance. I loved it! The author writes believable characters with struggles that I can identify with. I can't wait for the following book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Raptor 6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Action packed up-all-nighter!

Date:May 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
SusanP
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again Ronie Kendig knocks it out of the park in full combat force. I won’t re-tell the story – you can read the blurb on the book for that. The emotional depth of the action, drama, and sleep depriving suspense will make you beg for more. Kendig has a gift of making you feel like you are watching a movie unfold before your eyes, and you cannot bear to look away. You feel as deeply as the characters as you read. Dean knows love isn’t for him, especially in his profession. So why does everything about Zahrah tug at his heart and mind? You laugh with the team members as they fight and tease like a family. (I really love the dynamics between them all) Tattoo anyone?
We are brought into the bowels of war and reality of human depravity without any sugar coating. I really love how Kendig makes the story real and gritty but not overboard. The thread of the characters finding their places with God and surrendering their hearts and lives to Him is deeply moving. Each secondary character is written seamlessly and only adds to the whole spell binding tale. Obviously I cannot recommend it highly enough. I am waiting NOT so patiently for the next book – I must know how it continues!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Raptor 6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another excellent story by Ronie Kendig

Date:July 1, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My fifteen-year-old daughter grabbed this one as soon as she found out I had it. Her first question when she was done was, "When's the next one coming out?"
I had a hard time getting into this book, but I persevered because I KNOW that Ronie Kendig is an excellent writer. After the first chapter or so, I was hooked, as I knew I would be. Ms. Kendig managed to take us into the dark places we rarely think about--and would prefer not to experience--to give us what I assume is a fairly accurate portrayal of life as a special forces serviceman/woman. In her typical manner, she showed us the dangers they face every day as they fight for our freedom.
Kudos to Ronie Kendig for another excellent book, though the romantic in me would have preferred a bit more romance. :)
***I received this book from the author/publisher in return for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Raptor 6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Special Ops action and a passion for others!

Date:June 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Doc Hilton
Location:Horseshoe Bend, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The heart doesn’t choose an appropriate moment to stake its claim.
That much Captain Dean “Raptor Six” Watters finds out in one big hurry. He and his team are situated in an area where tensions are high, and millions of lives hang in the balance. Ten military super-secure computers have “gone missing,” and the military intelligence contained in their memories is close to being on the open-market.
Zahrah Zarrick, a missionary teacher to Afghan children, is the unwitting key to this modern-day Pandora’s Box. While her heart is on her sleeve for the children she’s teaching, her expertise in quantum cryptology makes her the prime target for the hackers who are committed to the downfall of the United States.
Raptor Six and his team are playing catch-up, as Zahrah disappears before they can make contact. With the clock ticking, Dean is finally coming to grips with the stakes that are at hand in this game – and the fact that his heart is “all in” just makes this one hand he cannot afford to lose.
Ronie Kendig writes with a passion for Special Forces and their cause without reservation or apology. While some of the foreign language words and phrases are difficult to grasp at first, and with no a glossary dedicated only to military terminology and acronymns, it was a bit difficult for me to get a handle on some of the communication. However, the context eventually sorted it out for me; it just takes a little work. Which compels the dedicated reader that much further into the book. With Ronie Kendig at the helm – is this really a bad thing?
5 stars for Special Ops action, suspense and a passion for others by Ronie Kendig!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Raptor 6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a fantastic Christian military novel!

Date:June 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Debbie Wilder
Location:Salinas, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Ronie has created an incredible cast of characters for this novel. When I first looked over the list she included at the front of the book I felt very overwhelmed by the number of individuals that are integral to the story. But when I pushed that aside and started reading the story I was able to follow who was who simply by the wonderful way she introduced each one and described them. It was presented slowly as she needed to over the course of building the intricate plot in this story.
She has a marvelous talent for describing surroundings and action that put me in the middle of things. The plot was very carefully woven with enough twists to keep me guessing as to where it was going.
There were a handful of times that the point-of-view would change and I would deal with some momentary confusion as to who was talking. Backing up to the beginning of the section and re-reading was all it took to sort it out though.
I’m looking forward to finding out the next segment of the overall story in the next book of this series.
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Raptor 6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Read

Date:June 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Digging4Pearls
Location:Shippensburg, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Special Forces, Dean Watters, is dedicated to his mission and his team. When hackers steal ten military, highly secure computers he finds himself tangled up with a local - Zahrah Zarrick. With no desire to fall for a pretty face, he keeps a business barrier between them.
Zahrah Zarrick, daughter of a retired military general, finds herself in harm's way as a missionary teacher to Afghan children. Her degree in quantum cryptology makes her a prime target for terrorists. It's Captain Dean Watters' mission to rescue her when she goes missing, but what he doesn't plan on is getting emotionally attached in the process.
This was my first book to read by Ronie Kendig. Even though it wasn't a genre I typically pursue, I found Raptor 6 to be a riveting tale that kept me turning the pages. Now I'm hooked and can't wait to read the second tale in this saga.
This book was provided free for review by Shiloh Run Press, 2014.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Raptor 6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down until I finished it!!!

Date:June 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Captain Dean Watters made a vow that he would remained 100% dedicated to his team and not allow himself to get emotionally involved with anyone. It would be better this way, especially now that he was carrying the guilt for doing just the opposite with him that weighed on his heart more than the weapons and pack he carried into his missions. What he wasn't planning on was his heart following its own path when an American missionary teacher, Zahrah Zarrick, witnesses someone she wasn't supposed to see when her school is bombed. But there is simply more to her than simply being an attractive woman. Her file doesn't provide the missing clues that his superiors expect him to find on his own and the longer it takes the more danger she will be in.
To make matters even worse is the fact she is also the daughter of a four star retired general who will make sure that Dean will serve in the most isolated and desolated places on earth is any harm comes to her. Zahrah is torn between wanting to convey all her secrets to Dean but the strict religious and cultural upbringing of her family forbid her to be alone with any man. All she knows is that with the bombing of her school, she will have no where to teach the young girls who want an education. She just didn't expect to lose one to Taliban terrorists who are stealing military computers in order to gain top level secrets that will expose men like Dean to the terrorist organization. All they need now is the perfect hacker to break the codes that will expose the military best kept secrets, codes, and organizations without destroying the computers.
While Dean attempts to convince Zahrah to leave the county and head back to the United States, she lets him know she is here on a mission from God and when He tells her it's time to leave than she will. What she doesn't realize is just how much danger she is truly in and what terrorists will do to a woman who refuses to cooperate. But will Dean and his team known simply as Raptor 6, be able to locate the missing computers in time or will he be faced to revisit his haunted past that will put him to the ultimate test of his own faith and endurance once again?
I received Raptor 6 by best selling author Ronie Kendig compliments of Shiloh Publishing and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions here are strictly my own. This is the first novel in The Quiet Professionals Series, and I can't wait for the next one. Before you begin this novel, a warning! You won't be able to put it down once you start, so you need to set aside some time where you won't be disturbed. Chores won't get done, dinner will be late, and the phone will have to wait until you get to the last page. The action is fast paced and does not stop until the final page, leaving you breathless wondering how it will all play out. For me, personally, this is one of Ronie's best novels to date and I can't wait to go back on tour with the Raptor 6 team! Hands down a well earned 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion and a MUST READ for fans of Special Forces fiction!!! I can only pray someone will make a movie out of this novel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Raptor 6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:April 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
chris
Location:Selma OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very intense Fast-Paced Military book. You will quickly get drawn into how intense and how totally crazy war with terrorists is. Then The Raptor 6 team and Captain Dean meet Zahrah and it gets more intense
especially when they realize they have a mole spying on them........ I especially liked seeing Zahrah depending on God in the midst of the craziness You will thoroughly enjoy this book
I was given this book by Barbour Books for my honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Raptor 6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Deadly Danger, Romance Action Adventure Thriller

Date:June 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ronie Kendig, in her new book, “Raptor 6″ Book One in The Quiet Professionals series published by Shiloh Run Press takes us on a thrilling adventure with Captain Dean Watters .
From the back cover: His mission. His team.
Captain Dean Watters keeps these parts of his life in laser-like focus. So when hackers threaten both his mission and his team, Dean’s Special Forces training kicks into high gear. Ten military super-secret computers are missing–which if opened, would give America’s enemies a blueprint of U.S. military intelligence. Failing to stop the hackers isn’t an option.
Zahrah Zarrick is a missionary teacher to Afghan children in Mazar-e Sharif. She’s also a target. Her expertise in quantum cryptology makes her an unwitting pawn in the hacker’s deadly game. They’re coming for her, and Dean and his team must stop them.
Before the team can get to Zahrah, she disappears. Now Dean must race to rescue her and stop the hackers from unleashing terror on millions across the globe. But to do so, Dean will be forced to crack open the steel box around his heart– a move that might come at the highest cost.
Hackers, military computers and potential global terror these are just some of the elements the Raptor team has to deal with. And they have to deal with it in war-torn Afganistan. Not only are they up against a clever enemy they have to find and protect Zahrah while trying to keep alive. I started reading “Raptor 6″ already on the edge of my seat and Ms. Kendig did her level best to keep me there. This is a thriller as all the heroes lives are in great peril. On top of everything “Raptor 6″ is also a romance. Nail biting suspense in a wonderful page turner that will keep you up late at night. I am so looking forward to the next book in this series.
If you missed the interview for “Nightshade”, of the previous series, and would like to listen to it and/or interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Raptor 6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Raptor 6 by Ronie Kendig

Date:June 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
RAPTOR 6 by Ronie Kendig is an exciting, heart pumping Inspirational Military Suspense. #1 in “The Quiet Professionals” and what a beginning! WOW!!
Fast paced, filled with action, romance, faith, secrets,hackers, a disappearance, danger, suspense, a bit of romance and lots of high-octane military-stye action.
Meet, Zahrah Zarrick, a missionary teacher in Mazar-e Sharif,she teaches Afghan children and Captain Dean Waters(Raptor 6), ex-military Special Forces team.
Engaging characters, high-octane action, and a plot to die for, literary with a sweet romance on the side. Just one reminds me of the “Nightshare” series, which I loved, by the way.
Ms. Kendig, will grab you on the first page and not let you go, even on the very last page. She has done the Military proud with her true to life stories, and the way she honors their heroism, and their fight for freedom. I can’t wait for the next installment. You know by the ending, this is NOT the ending, just, the beginning! A must read Military Suspense! Well done, indeed! Received for an honest review.
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Raptor 6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Start to a New Series!

Date:June 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Raptor 6 is the first in a brand new series called The Quiet Professionals and I have been anxiously awaiting its release. In this book, we follow Raptor Team, headed up by Captain Dean Watters, code name Raptor 6.
Once again, the author has brought us a story that is so authentic and makes you feel like you are really right there in the action. She has set up such a great start for what promises to be a very exciting series, full of complex team members and intensely dangerous missions.
I have to admit that I did not instantly connect with the main characters in Raptor 6. I think this is due to the situation they were in when they first met and the way Dean feels about romantic relationships. After a little while of watching where the story was taking me and seeing the connecting tendrils coming together, I found myself completely and totally invested in the lives of Captain Dean Watters and Zahrah Zarrick. And then, the author blew me away with the direction the story took! Absolutely powerful!
I love that I can pick up one of Ronie Kendig’s books and immerse myself in a totally unique experience, full of danger, heroes, and the military. I can’t wait for the next book!
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher, through Litfuse Publicity, in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Raptor 6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intense Military Action with Romance

Date:June 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This book was definitely outside the norm of the kinds of stories I usually read, but I'm really glad I decided to give it a try.
From the first page to the very last page of Raptor 6, Ronie Kendig keeps the action going at a very intense level. The details are not all pretty or pleasant, but they are extremely engaging and intriguing. I was appreciative of the list of acronyms at the beginning of the book and referred to them frequently to better understand the workings of the special forces and their operations.
I would think that a wide variety of readers could enjoy this story. From exciting military action, to an enjoyable level of romance, all infused with a healthy dose of faith, there is something for almost everyone. The story was not a quick, easy read but was definitely worth sticking with. Be forewarned that not all the loose ends get tied up at the conclusion of the story, so you will likely be left with a need to continue reading as Ronie adds to the Quiet Professionals series.
Thanks to Litfuse Publicity Group for providing a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Raptor 6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Action and Suspense Galore

Date:April 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Ten years ago Captain Dean Watters endured six weeks of captivity and torture at the hands of a ruthless assassin. He was left with physical, emotional, and psychological scars that shaped his future but ultimately made him stronger. From that experience, he made several life decisions, not the least of which was to avoid marriage and a family. Until he meets missionary and schoolteacher Zahrah Zarrick, this decision has never been challenged. However, with a SCIF in the hands of terrorist and an obvious security breach from an unknown source, Dean has little time to process his attraction to Zahrah—that is until she is kidnapped by the same terrorists who are dangerously close to compromising the US military’s secure network. With action and suspense galore, Raptor 6 is a gritty, edgy novel that could quite possibly land Ronie Kendig a second Christy award.
Raptor 6 starts a little slow, but not so much as to frustrate the reader. The story is fairly complex and the main plot takes some time to come together as the various players are introduced and the different components set in motion. However, the book steadily gains speeds and by the time it hits the halfway point, the various pieces are clicking into place and the story really takes off.
Kendig has never shied away from tough subjects and Raptor 6 is no exception. I have doubt that she’ll make a few readers uncomfortable and perhaps upset some others with her courage in presenting the atrocities committed by ruthless, brutal individuals. There are scenes that are difficult to read and while they are tempered and not taken to gory extremes, they do create some very vivid imagery. However, these scenes are not empty and gratuitous. Instead they set up opportunities for the reader to better see courage and faith in action.
Like the action and combat sequences, this book also has some hard-hitting spiritual content. Kendig has a knack for presenting strong Christian messages that demands the reader to listen. For example, one of my favorite lines in the book comes from Zahrah. She’s been kidnapped for several weeks and says, “I’m not a prisoner…I’m right where God wants me.”
The spiritual content is established early on by good storytelling and loveable characters. Dean is so strong and yet so broken that he makes the perfect hero for this story. On the other hand, Zahrah has her own enviable strength and brokenness. These two characters combine to carry a story that has a great mystery and fantastic suspense.
I’m a bit surprised by how Raptor 6 doesn’t end. While I won’t say it’s a cliffhanger, it’s definitely far from being a tidy ending and the mission over. Instead, it looks like things are just getting started. Which means, it’s a long wait till Hawk…
Review copy provided courtesy of Barbour Books
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Raptor 6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alright, it's time to say it: Hooah! Or perhaps "Oorah!"
Either way, I think it means we support Ronie's stories.
Raptor 6 is the first Ronie Kendig book I've really read, and the first one I've owned a print copy of. I found myself really focused on the plot, digging deeper into the story, and flipping pages back to savor dialogue and re-enter an intense scene.
Imagine if someone was accessing the U.S military's secure computer system, about to compromise every operation, every code, every base.
(Hint: we get to hear the hacker's very thoughts, first person!)
Remember Captain Dean Watters? He was called "Watterboy" in Ronie's MWD series. He's back. And he's right on the edge of discovering this computer hacking situation and breaking it wide open. Dean is known for one thing: loyalty to his people. If you're his, he's got your back and he won't let you get lost.
He's also about to discover Zahrah... the daughter of a General, half-American, half Afghan. She's a passionate Christian and a teacher, and her path keeps on crossing his.
So he's a man with angel wings and a dagger tattooed on his back, she's a woman with a will of steel, and both of them are in a war zone.
So... prepare yourself for adrenaline charged Special Ops missions, a look into the heart of a dedicated woman who accepted her calling to Afghanistan and never looked back, and a tender subplot unfolding back Stateside.
I don't know where Ronie got that second storyline, but it's a good one.
Great on several levels... as adventure, as suspense, as international intrigue.
Thank you Litfuse Publicity!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Raptor 6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
thecraftyhome
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Raptor 6 is the first book in The Quiet Professional Series by Ronie Kendig. Captain Dean Watters is the lead of a special forces team. He is laser-like and completely closed off to relationships. He is stationed in Afghanistan and focused on his teams mission.
Zahrah Zarrick is a missionary teacher in Afghanistan who is an American with a mother who was from Afghanistan. The problem is she is a target not only because she is an American women, but because her degree is in quantum cryptology.
This book is a riveting, fast based military suspense novel written by Ronie a former Army brat. The book had me reading and finishing it in two nights. It was fabulous! The writing is well done and you can tell that she did her research. It is gripping and leaves you wondering what will happen next. However, I did expect it to all clean up nicely and for the next book in the series to be just another book about a different character who is a quiet professional. But no, this books leaves you with a big ole cliffhanger. You know like the kind at the end of a TV drama season. I can't wait for the next book in the series. This is a must read.
I received a free copy of this product from Litfuse in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. All opinions I have expressed are my own or those of my family. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Raptor 6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Prepare for a little Shock and Awe!

Date:June 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
IVLeague
Location:Cabot, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prepare for a little shock and awe - Raptor 6 was a thrill to read! From cover to cover Ronie Kendig’s “Rapid-Fire Fiction” will keep you turning pages. This was my first experience with the Christian Suspense genre and Ronie Kendig knocked my socks off. Kendig knows a thing or two about military operations and culture and she has clearly done her research for Raptor 6. She delivers a well constructed novel with nail-biting suspense, pulse-pounding action, and heart wrenching drama.
Raptor 6 is a highly trained Army Special Forces team. I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know each member of the team over the course of the book. Each man had an assigned specialty and a unique personality that contributed to the cohesiveness of the unit. The banter between them was “clean” and the occasional use of expletives were done using made up phrases. I laughed out loud at the humorous ribbing that they gave one another. Their playful joking worked nicely to break up the tension in the more suspenseful moments.
Captain Dean Watters is a born leader who inspires esprit de corps among his men. I grew to admire him as a man of strong character who is committed to his country and his team. He is a precision instrument of war - intelligent, focused and controlled. His desire to control circumstance and provide for the safety of others stems from a past that the author does an excellent job of revealing over time.
Raptor 6 is more than military might and maneuvering, there is a romance that evolves between Zahrah Zarrick and Capt. Watters. Missionary Zahrah Zarrick won me over with her BOLD faith. She is a woman who is on fire for Christ and has completely surrendered herself to His service. Her resolve to trust God for her protection despite the turmoil around her baffles Capt. Watters. He lets himself believe that he is merely covering his six, looking out for retired General Peter Zarrick’s daughter, but there is something about Zahrah that he can’t escape.
Keep in mind that this novel takes place in present day Afghanistan during a US military war on terrorism. These characters fight monumental spiritual battles as well as a physical dangers. The book has violence to include violence against women that may be difficult for some to read. Kendig does a tactful job of incorporating these egregious acts into a redeeming storyline.
Ronie Kendig honors those who serve(d) in our military and has won a new fan. I strongly recommend Raptor 6 to men and women for it’s intricate plot and powerful message. I anxiously await the next book in The Quiet Professionals Series and give this Christian military suspense novel 5 stars! Buy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Raptor 6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reviews From A Man's Perspective

Date:June 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’ve read practically all of the novels that Ronie Kendig has written, so I will say that I’m never disappointed once I crack open that cover. Today, I’ll finally put pen to paper and spent a couple of minutes and tell you what makes her writing so great.
As expected, Ronie Kendig delivers a book that is easy to read, easy to follow but very hard to put down. She writes dialogue that is humorous, honest and banter-filled. Her characters have depth and leave you rooting for them to succeed against all of the bad that she throws at them. The description of the surroundings makes you feel like you are right there with them and seeing things through their eyes. All in all, this book is everything you could ask for in a great adventure novel.
Is this a "guy's book"? This book is a true “guy’s book”. Between the military might and muscle, the continuous show of force, explosions, gun-fire, WHEW!!! There’s enough action and adventure in this book for any guy to enjoy.
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Raptor 6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Liz R
Location:Tuscaloosa, Al
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Ronie Kendig has proven time and again that she is a master of suspense and Raptor 6 is no exception! Fast paced action and swirling intrigue pack a big punch in this new series starring an elite team of black ops soldiers.
Zahrah Zarrick is a missionary with a calling to teach young Afghan girls. As the daughter of a retired U.S. general, Zahrah has a few secrets of her own as well. Dean Watters is a seasoned Captain who has seen his fair share of hardships and constructed a wall of steel around his heart. The clock starts ticking down when they find themselves involved in an international terror plot to obtain secured military intelligence.
Ronie Kendig really knocked it out of the park this time! The characters are captivating, the story will draw you in instantly and you will not be able to put the book down until you reach the thrilling conclusion. Not to mention an ending that will leave you craving more.
This is my favorite of Kendig’s books so far and I can’t wait to meet the rest of the team! I’d recommend this novel to fans of military action and suspense. Also, fun fact about the Quiet Professionals series, all the guys on the covers are actual veterans!
***I received a copy of this book from Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own. ***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Raptor 6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A roller coaster read!

Date:May 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Retired
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ronie Kendig is one of my favorite authors. I love reading her books because of the military theme to them, as my husband and I have both served in the U.S. Army. But, wow, she has hit the ball out of the park with this new release, Raptor 6, the first book in The Quiet Professionals series. You can read the blurb for the story plot. Let me just say that I absolutely loved this book – can you guess? The characters are well developed and believable; the action starts on the first page and is relentless until the last page. Be warned, it is heart wrenching to read some of the book, but it is about a war, after all. I must say the ending surprised me, but I can live with it. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>