Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print The Life You've Always Wanted, Large Print

Christian Large Print The Life You've Always Wanted, Large Print

The heart of Christianity is about transformation---about a God who isn't just concerned with our "spiritual lives," but who wants to impact every aspect of living. It's about realizing that God meets us not in a monastery but on Main Street. Now expanded to include an added chapter on prayer and discussion questions designed to help small groups make the journey together, this bestseller offers modern perspectives on the ancient path of the spiritual disciplines. But this is more than just a book about things we should do if we want to be good Christians. It's a road map toward true transformation, compelling because it starts not with ourselves, but with the object of our journey---Jesus Christ. Large print edition.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Life You've Always Wanted, Large Print
Review 1 for The Life You've Always Wanted, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for group study

Date:September 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lang
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I lead a Bible study group (lay leader) and we have used a number of different books as part of our discussion group. We chose this book specifically because of a previous book by the same author "(If You Want To Walk On Water, You Have To Get Out Of The Boat"). John Ortberg writes a stimulating narrative that is a great catalyst for discussion. He challenges you to broaden your Christian perspective.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Life You've Always Wanted, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
George
Location:New Mexico
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very enjoyable and easy read on spiritual disciplines for ordinary people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Life You've Always Wanted, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Awesome book.

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Allison
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Love the book, but the quality of the physical book is very cheap.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Life You've Always Wanted, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

many gems of wisdom mined from scripture

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
brother george
Location:New Jersey
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Life You've Always Wanted
by john Ortberg
Publisher Thorndike Press (large print) 2006
ISBN-13: 978-1-59415-083-8 / Christian Growth
The author asks, are you missing the life that you were appointed by God to live ? Are you having the life you always wanted or are you in need of a life that is worth living ? By giving God the best time of your life, you could have the life you have always wanted.
What is keeping you from growing closer to Christ and having a joyful life ? john Ortberg reveals the Christian life is about more than being forgiven and more than getting to heaven. The goal of this book is to help you grow spiritually and become much closer to God.
Ortberg shares many gems of wisdom mined from scripture, other Christian writings, stories his friends relate to him, and his own personal experiences. This author sometimes bends a few words or a phrase as a liberty of a writer to maintain the readers attention.
God’s purpose in guidance is not to get us to perform the right actions. His purpose is to help us become the right kind of people. Guidance only comes to those who have made the decision to be guided. Each of your thoughts will take you further from God or closer towards God. You have the choice of who will lead your thoughts and which direction you will travel. Knowing scripture is very good, however the knowing of the spirit frees us from the desire to sin. You must arrange your life so that sin no longer looks good to you.
Ortberg likens the metamorphosis of a caterpillar to a butterfly to the transformation by renewal of your mind. Understanding the difference between training and merely trying is the key to the transformation in every aspect of life. Spiritual growth is not a matter of trying harder, but of training wisely. This author uses the example of a marathon runner training consistently to strengthen his endurance for the long run. As we need to practice our spiritual disciplines consistently as exercises to strengthen our endurance for our life long run.
Ortberg refers to the story of Snow White; Each of us have tasted the forbidden fruit, We all have fallen under the curse. But the Prince comes to free us from the curse and when that happens; “Sleeper, awake rise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you.” If you do not have God in the central role of your life, then you have refused to "let God be God"
The kind of servant hood Jesus calls us to; is helping others for our own sake. The true indicator of spiritual well-being is growth in the ability to love God and people. A act of service to another demonstrates that you value them. The Life you’ve always wanted is a life of humility.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Life You've Always Wanted, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spiritual Disciplines for everyone!

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best book I've read on the subject.
I'm giving it out as gifts now!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Life You've Always Wanted, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book: Transforming your life thru Christ

Date:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chris Aldrich
Location:Albany NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this is a great book that helps you move forward in your relationship with Christ so that you allow God to transform you through his life-changing power.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Life You've Always Wanted, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robert Mouilton
Possibly the most well-balanced book on spiritual disciplines I've ever seen. Very practical. Appended study notes make it ideal for an adult or late-teen study.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Life You've Always Wanted, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Maria Leal
This book help me to start again my relationship with Jesus,"with a new vision". because sometimes I think that I can not do.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Life You've Always Wanted, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kennedy McGowan
Another excellent work by Ortberg. It takes the at times complex thought of Dallas Willard, and summarizes it in ways that are more accessible yet still faithful to the core ideas. In addition, it is full of practical applications of Willard's ideas, Ortberg's trademark humor, and his ability to convey in very moving and helpful ways how we might indeed morph into the people that through Christ's power, we can be.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Life You've Always Wanted, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
C Henry
Our men's group really made progress as a result of Ortberg's challenging study. His humor and straight forward approach to probing our spiritual walk led to great discussions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Life You've Always Wanted, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Reviewer
Ortberg is a wonderful writer who not only writes about the disciplines, but gives examples from his life and also shows the reader ways that they can apply the spiritual disciplines. I hope to read more quality books from Ortberg!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Life You've Always Wanted, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
Doug Rouse
This is the most helpful book to my Christian life, apart from the Bible, that I have read in a long time. Ortberg made every chapter fresh, alive, and applicable. If you want to go deeper in your life with God, I heartily reccomend this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Life You've Always Wanted, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2005
Customer Avatar
Dr. Robert W. Kellemen
In "The Life You've Always Wanted," pastor and author John Ortberg calls Christians back to the basics. In fact, you could think of his book as "Spiritual Disciplines 101," or "The ABCs of Growing in Grace," or, as Ortberg himself mused, "One of my private working titles for this book was 'Dallas for Dummies' (referring to Dallas Willard's works on spiritual discipline). His subtitle says it well, too, "Spiritual Disciplines for Ordinary People." Ortberg did not write to duplicate the thorough work done by authors like Willard, Richard Foster, and Donald Whitney. Rather, he wrote to "explicate" their writings--to provide an easy-to-read and apply approach to the spiritual disciplines for the Christian life. His intent may frustrate some readers or reviewers, but it really does not need to. Throughout Church history, God raised up deep thinkers and deep relaters/doers (Aquinas and Bernard of Clarvaux being one such historical pairing). Every generation needs both. Ortberg's approach is hopeful--it leaves the reader with the belief that, "I understand the spiritual disciplines and I could even discipline myself to practice them, even with my busy lifestyle and scattered life." Thus motivated, readers just might discipline their minds to then also read and apply Willard, Foster, or Whitney. Either way, their much better off for having read Ortberg. Reviewer: Dr. Robert W. Kellemen, author of "Soul Physicians" and "Spiritual Friends."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Life You've Always Wanted, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2003
This work is the second title I have read by John Ortberg. The first title, "If You Want to Walk on the Water..." was impressive, and this second one certainly was not disappointing. I am eager to read his latest release, "Love Beyond Reason."Perhaps the best way to describe this book is to parallel it to Dallas Willard's classic work on spiritual formation. Willard's writing is profound and powerful, yet is often difficult for an average layperson to follow. Ortberg comments in his preface, "...one of my private working titles for this book was 'Dallas for Dummies'."The author here introduces the concept of spiritual disciplines. He then describes several disciples in easy-to-understand, entertaining language. Ortberg includes the practices of celebration, slowing, prayer, servanthood, confession, guidance from the Holy Spirit, secrecy, and reflection on Scripture. He concludes with comments on a well-ordered heart and the importance of Christian endurance.This book is simply excellent. I recommend it wholeheartedly to all Christians, leaders and laity alike. Don't pass on this one!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.