Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson John, John MacArthur Study Guides

Thomas Nelson John, John MacArthur Study Guides

Ideal for individual or group study, this 12-lesson study guide features "Keys to the Text," and journaling space for personal reflection. MacArthur's spiritual and scholarly insights on the Book of John examine the role of servant-leadership in the life of this beloved disciple—and the modern believer. 128 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for John, John MacArthur Study Guides
Review 1 for John, John MacArthur Study Guides
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

lightweight

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
David Vaughn
Age:55-65
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Because it was John MacArthur I expected a study more insightful and challenging at the same time. The study is only O.K. and I wonder if it was written to appeal to students of the Bible who were fairly new?
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for John, John MacArthur Study Guides
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best study guide!

Date:March 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
sam1504
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This study guide is so great! It's teaching me so much with the readings in the book and side notes to explain more about the verses! It also challenges you to think about the verses and your views! I plan on getting another one of these guides after I finish this one!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for John, John MacArthur Study Guides
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am extremely pleased with product

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
reverendone
Location:OHIO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used other study guides by John MacArthur and I and my students find them great, user friendly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for John, John MacArthur Study Guides
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Study

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becca
Location:Blaine, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are two weeks into this study and so far it has been going really well. I compared a few other studies and selected this one because it asked questions about the scripture but also asked readers to reflect on their own life and how they view Jesus. Also, I had a non-religious friend who is a part of our study (something we love!) who came with me to compare options and this was her first choice as well. She liked how things were laid out. It does ask questions which you could answer quickly or write a whole book about. It has lead to lots of great conversations in our group. MacArthur does use some fairly scholarly language at times but I've been impressed with how our group has made an effort to look things up and then we discuss it as a group.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for John, John MacArthur Study Guides
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy S
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Senior Adult Sunday School Class loves this Bible Study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for John, John MacArthur Study Guides
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent studies!

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dani
Location:Lawrenceville, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A necessary item to have in one's Bible library for additional info to make what we learn relative to today's world!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for John, John MacArthur Study Guides
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pastor Reinhard
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very thorough bible commentary and quite usable for bible studies in congregational settings
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for John, John MacArthur Study Guides
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book for a study

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
sbpd06
Location:Chicago
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John, is the second book I have used by this author.
It is easy to use, and follow along during the readings and stdy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for John, John MacArthur Study Guides
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great features.

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vickie Obryant
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These study guides are easy to read and understand. I'd even recommend these books to high school students. I love the way the author asked us questions that reflect our personal opinions and a space to write our own reviews about the text.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for John, John MacArthur Study Guides
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sunday
Location:New York
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice study material for any serious student of the word to have
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for John, John MacArthur Study Guides
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the John MacArthur series

Date:November 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Louanne Plutt
Location:Clarkesville, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
We use all the books in the John Macarthur series in our Ladies Bible Study. They are wonderful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for John, John MacArthur Study Guides
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Alison Roth
Our Sunday morning Bible class is blessed by the study. Going through the scriptures line by line and gaining the insight of John MacArthur's Spirit led teaching is truly an inspiration to us all.The Word of God comes alive and is drawing us closer to our Lord Jesus.Alison
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for John, John MacArthur Study Guides
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barbara Jones
Monday night Bible study is very informal and this guide has been a source of preparation for me. It has created more interest and more digging for information. I would recommend it for anyone who has just become acquainted with Jesus or with a seasoned student of the scriptures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for John, John MacArthur Study Guides
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dana Mccallum
My wife and i have just started our study on john, and have found this study guide to be fantastic. My wife's comment after our first session was "wow this is really in depth" it really gives you a great picture of what life was like back then, and really goes through each word almost to give you a true feeling and look at Christs ministry. Would totally recommend it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for John, John MacArthur Study Guides
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lisa Grenier
Using book in a small group. Lots of bible reading right from the book, so no need for separate bible. Study questions vary, skimming over some areas while not touching others. Overall, good guide on some subjects.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for John, John MacArthur Study Guides
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sean Lagasse
We utilize the book of John study as a step on our "highway." We believe that God has a path of steps that HE will lead a new convert on... "IF" they are willing and "IF" the Church is intentional about Discipleship. The book of John clearly walks one thru the steps and life of Jesus and help define the one we are to emulate. I want to be more like Him. I need toi walk in the victories and power that he demonstrated! John, shows you what Jesus did in His ministry and makes it easier for you to see what you need to be doing as a Christian!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for John, John MacArthur Study Guides
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tony M
The insights contained within the study are okay, though not quite as in-depth as I hoped. He asks some good questions that make you think, but he also asks some leading questions that push his view points as well. Overall, the study is decent but not what I was hoping for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for John, John MacArthur Study Guides
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kent
We found this review very helpful in our understanding of the Gospel of John. The side notes along each reading and the additional Bible verses which can help to understand some of the questions and context behind them were what guided our group to this study guide. It suggest one open the Bible and learn more and that is the key to understanding God's intention and His ultimate sacrifice for us all. We will continue to use John MacArthur's Study Guides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for John, John MacArthur Study Guides
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kelly M
Very easy to use Bible study guide. We're using it to help a friend learn what Jesus has done for him.This is done in the classic MacArthur style. I know I'll be more learned for going through it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for John, John MacArthur Study Guides
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Danny Turner
I think john's books are very good. I will continues to order and use them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.