Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Greater Love - eBook

Thomas Nelson Greater Love - eBook

As a result of her first-rate work as a law clerk, Tami Taylor's been offered a coveted position as associate partner in one of Savannah's oldest and most prestigious law firms. Though her strong faith and convictions are valued by the firm's partners, Tami struggles to discern if God's will for her career is elsewhere. Meanwhile, Tami must protect a young client named Jessie who is on the run from some shady characters, which puts Tami in mortal danger.
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Greater Love - eBook
Review 1 for Greater Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

liked the end

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandra Dean
Location:ct
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice ending. Did'nt expect the content. Enjoyed the full story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Greater Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Babi
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All three books in this series were great. Good story, with wonderful Christian references. I pass my books around to folks I know will enjoy them and they all said this was a real great story and was told in a way that kept us captivated.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Greater Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tides of Truth Series

Date:May 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shannon Terese
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutley loved this series! Mainly, for the emphasis on conservative values and how one may remain pure, even unto marriage, in today's society and culture. It is extremely relevant and inspiring for this generation as Tami has a passion for Christ, following Him wholeheartedly yet living and working in the modern culture. This is a great example of how we as Christians can be set apart, stand for Truth, remain pure and holy, love God and others, and live a full abundant life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Greater Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

End of a Series

Date:May 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This week I read the third and final installment in Robert Whitlow's Tides of Truth series -- Greater Love. This was an OK series, but not my favorite.
The story begins with Tami Taylor struggling to make a couple of major decisions in her life -- (1) which law firm's offer to accept for her first employment after passing the bar and (2) whether she should choose between the the two men vying for her heart, or whether God's plan for her involves neither of them. After finally making her employment decision, Tami receives a court-appointed assignment and ends up in the middle of a case where there is much more danger and intrigue than what is immediately apparent. Along the way, she learns important lessons in "greater love" and suffers the loss of someone close to her.
Once I started this series, I wanted to finish it to see how things turned out for Tami and her friends/family. Some things, though, kept it from rising to the top of my favorites list. Many elements of the plot were drawn out and slow moving. The spiritual elements -- although generally something I very much enjoy and appreciate in a novel -- were just a little too "out there" for my comfort zone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Greater Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

As usual Whitlow has a good read with this one

Date:March 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Billie Rayborn
Location:Pascagoula, MS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Greater Love is a good read. Characters are well developed, the plot is easy to follow and moves swiftly, and there are timeless values presented that we all need to be reminded of frequently. I recommend this and the other two in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Greater Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jaime Beagle
Location:Visalia, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book, great series! Will definitely read more form this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Greater Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
True Grit
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really looked forward to reading Greater Love, after reading Deeper Water (not realizing this was the 3rd & not 2nd book) but was very disappointed. Part of it was a feeling of missing out on something from the second book. I plan to read that as soon as I get a chance; then I will reread this one. I highly recommend you to read these books in order.
One of the things that really drew me to the series and to Tammy herself is her conservative values and homeschooling background. (okay, I am prejudiced because I was schooled at home and I teach my own children)
It is very refreshing to have a book that draws on those things in a (book)world where just about anything goes, even within the Christian market.
I will try other Robert Whitlow books to see if I enjoy them.
I believe overall you will enjoy them as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Greater Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeri Hunt
Completely enjoyed it. If you haven't read any of Robert Whitlow's books, you should read them all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Greater Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2010
I just devoured all three books in this series. I do not like series because when one vol. goes out of print - the connection is gone. As one reviewer said, the first two left one hanging. The language is clean, so I should give this 5 stars, but...I think the first is the best of the three, the 2nd the least liked. Why? 1. No longer the King's English Bible. NIV leaves out too much that is vital to let a person find and accept Christ. 2. A woman preacher. (What happened to God's order that the preacher be "the husband of one wife"?) 3. Tami - name change not "up front", [carried over from 1st book] a little out of character?; waffles way too much on choices she has to make. Though it's neat to have her confer with and accept her parents. 4. The ponytailed lawyer does not seem to know his Bible too well.All this may sound picky to whoever. But because of the clean-ness of the writing, I intend to read more written by Mr. Whitlow. I think The Trial is the only other book I have read and I liked it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Greater Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laura
Greater Love by Robert Whitlow is the third book in the Tides of Truth series. This book continues the story of Georgia lawyer, Tami Taylor. Tami comes from a very strict Christian family and is now faced with the realities of the world. Tami joins a law firm in Savannah and has to defend a young girl named Jessie. Jessie has run away from home and has many secrets she is hiding from Tami. Tami and her landlady take her in and show kindness she has never had before. When Jessie is kidnapped, Tami thinks she has run away again and she is worried for her safety. Tami also has her own problems to worry about. Her landlady has a form of dementia and her health has declined. Tami also must figure out who she wants to spend the rest of her life with, Zach or Vince.This book shows us what many lawyers have to go through everyday at their jobs, and the hard decisions they must make in their cases so that they do not compromise their Christian principles. Greater Love could be read as a stand alone novel, but I would recommend reading the first two books in the series, Deeper Water and Higher Hope, so you could read Tamis story from the beginning. I received a free copy of this book to review from Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Greater Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Valorie Schofield
This is the third book of the series and each one I think has been better than the last. Besides the legal issues are character convictions and interactions which add to the storyline. I really enjoyed this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Greater Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rhetta Holland
This book was awesome. As always, Robert Whitlow has written a story that keeps you interested from the very first page to the end of the book. I do enjoy the romance that is intertwined with the legal story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Greater Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joan Kegley
Robert Whitlow is my favorite author!!! This is a page-turner! I relished every word of Greater Love!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Greater Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
E Dunn
I could not stop reading this book. I just had to keep reading to see what would happen next. Greater love was shown though out this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Greater Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Trina
Greater Love by Robert Whitlow is the third book in A Tides of Truth series. I did not know it was the third of the series until I received the novel, but it can be read as a stand alone book. I probably would have enjoyed it more is I had read the first two. It is a great Christian/legal mystery/fiction novel about a girl named Tami who has to choose between two guys and two law firms to work for, and working a case for a teen-aged girl named Jessie, all without compromising her religious beliefs. The flow of the story was strong enough that it kept me wondering what was going to happen next. It started to pick up more quickly about 3/4's of the way through and then it was hard to put down. The book left me hanging as to the final details of Jessie's and left out details of several months of Tami's courtship. I think there is room for another novel that finalized details about Jessie and more storyline for for Tami and the man she chose, as well as Mrs. Fairmont and the firms. This book is very well written. I have a lot of respect for Tami in staying true to her beliefs and standing her ground. What a strong woman! I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Greater Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Courtney M
My most recent read from the BookSneeze program is Greater Love by Robert Whitlow. Not knowing, until I received the book, that this was the third book in a series - I was really looking forward to reading it. Once I received the book and learned about its predecessors, I was a little skeptical that I wouldn't enjoy it fully. And, I was right. I wanted to know the backstory of Tami and her relationships with the other people in the storyline. Although it was 'followable' I would have liked to have read the other books first. So, I recommend doing that if you can!Overall, the book was well written and the story line was pretty solid. I didn't really admire Tami's overachieving sense of politeness the entire way throughout the story because I think it is unrealistic. It was a little annoying at times and seemed like the author was forcing this characteristic upon Tami's character. Certain aspects of the story are pretty cliche and parts of the story are extremely predictable. It wasn't the most fantastic piece of fiction that I've ever read, but the ending didn't leave me wanting more and it wasn't disappointing.Definitely read the first two books first if you can. Otherwise, if you have some spare time and don't have anything else to read - I think Greater Love can be your ticket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Greater Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa Hall
I love the series.. I really enjoyed the faith that they had and i must say i love the ending..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Greater Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
As one who did not know (until receiving the book from Thomas Nelson) that this was the third book in a series, I found that I was actually able to follow along fairly well without knowing the backstory. Had I known the events of the first two books in the Tides of Truth series, I would have understood Tami Taylor's relationships with the other characters in this book. But this lack of knowledge did not diminish the story of the book. Tami is preparing to take the bar exam and has job offers from two different law firms. One is a prestigious establishment and the other a new firm just starting. After prayerful consideration and the advice of family and trustworthy friends, she chooses the new firm. Maggie Smith, the senior partner, doesn't understand Tami's beliefs and Julie Feldman just mocks them, but Tami handles everything gracefully. Her "souther charm" upbringing is considered unusual in Savannah, Georgia. I greatly admired how much Tami held to her relationship with God. That is a rare thing to read about and a rare thing to see in real life. The strength of that relationship helps her through the ups and downs of life as a new lawyer. Overall, a good story even without having read the first two books. To anyone who has just discovered this series, I'd suggest reading them first (just like any other series) to get the backstory. This book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Greater Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sherry Welch
Greater Love, the 3rd of the Tides of Truth series by Robert Whitlow, is good reading. It neatly ties the three books together while telling a completely new story. I admire Tami Taylor for her basic integrity and the way she talks to important people in her life who she considers to be wise, i.e., her parents. Tami never wavers from her principles. Her life is a good example especially for young readers. I would recommend this series to anyone, including my teenage granddaughters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Greater Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2010
As I pick up the third book of this series I am eager to find what is now new in Tami's life. Tami is a woman with a passion for law, and set on following Christ through each path He has chosen for her. Again we find Tami with many decisions to make. Which law firm should she invest her time in, and which young man is the Lord calling her to spend sweet life with? Tami has values and a life style that others stop and take notice. They know there is something different about this young woman with a passion to reach others. We are able to see her family again in this book, and how Tami still values her parents wisdom. She has a quality that carries her far, a greater love than herself.We find the story wrapping around a young girl, Jessie, a run away in need of greater love, who came from a home with anything but. As this young girl is on the run she meet up with Sister Dabney, a strange but loving woman on fire for the Lord and a purpose of bringing others to Him. As young Jessie finds herself in trouble Sister Dabney is there to guide her through and leads her to Tami. Tami takes on her case and finds herself with more decisions to make.Again we have sweet Ms. Fairmont blessing Tami's life as Tami is staying with her again as she begins a new life with a new firm. Tami has many in her life looking for and giving greater love to others. We have Zack, patiently waiting for the woman he loves, Ms. Fairmont who seems to give all she has no matter the cost, Julie, Tami's partner in the firm who is seeking and giving a greater love selflessly. We all need a circle of people as Tami has surrounding us, lifting us up. I loved this book just as I loved the first two. Robert Whitlow has a gift to place us right there in the midst of his stories. This book was a gift by Thomas Nelson for its review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>