Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Life Lessons: The Book of Romans

Thomas Nelson Life Lessons: The Book of Romans

Life Lessons with Max Lucado are twelve week studies with Reflection questions, a Bible Reading section with text in both the NCV and NKJV, Discovery questions to help you explore the Bible, Inspirational thoughts from the writings of Max Lucado, Response questions for discussion, prayer, and room for journaling.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Life Lessons: The Book of Romans
Review 1 for Life Lessons: The Book of Romans
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carol Campbell
Location:Saratoga Springs, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Max Lucato puts scripture in a format that even new believers can understand. I highly recommend his Bible study books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Life Lessons: The Book of Romans
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This was the "Pick of the Litter."

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
John1
Location:Hagerstown, MD
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had selected several study guides for our class on Romans. I showed all of them to a representative group, and all but one chose the Lucado study book, and for that lone dissenter the Lucado was her second choice.
Our study begins in October, but I am beginning my preparation and it looks like an excellent choice. I like the questions particularly because they are insightful and to the point. I'm looking forward to a meaningful 12-week study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Life Lessons: The Book of Romans
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
pharmboy
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Max Lucado is possibly the best Bible teacher. He brings out insights, without getting too "technical."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Life Lessons: The Book of Romans
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda V
Location:New Hampshire
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are enjoying the study and getting what we wanted and expected from it. We were surprised that there is not a study GUIDE with the books for a leader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Life Lessons: The Book of Romans
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
josh
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think the price was good, and the material has been pretty good, but there have been some things that he has not addressed in Romans which I thought was a disappointment. Josh Ellis (Bible Study Leader for Blended I & II)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Life Lessons: The Book of Romans
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Max Lucado's Romans study

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have yet to find anything Max Lucado does lthat is less than wonderful, and this study on the book of Romans did not disappoint me. I am using it with a gal I am discipling and it is laid out in such a manner that it works wonderfully for this purpose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Life Lessons: The Book of Romans
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alberta Kenworthy
We have just started this Bible study and have found it challenging and enlightening. I recommend this for a study with mature Christians as it is challenging to study Romans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Life Lessons: The Book of Romans
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kaybee
Haven't started yet, but looking forward to the study. The class did his book on Mathew and loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Life Lessons: The Book of Romans
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deb Pederson
Overall, I was pleased with this study, particularly the thoughtful, excellent questions and further study of scripture verses outside of Romans. It works very well in a small group, especially one that has both new Christians and more mature Christians in it. It is neither too easy nor difficult, so everyone can gain from it. My one disappointment was that the chapters are based on topics, and the author omits chapters five, seven, and nine, plus parts of other chapters from the study. This probably isn't an issue for most study groups. However, I'm leading a group of mature Christians who want to study Romans in its entirety. I solved the problem by using John Macarthur's study of Romans to supplement the material in Max Lucado's book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Life Lessons: The Book of Romans
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sue Keeling
Our small group is using Max Lucado's study book on Romans. Max's use of scripture and good questions are excellent. This study can be as simple as you want it to be, or dig deep for mature believers. I am loving it. It delivers content, while easy to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Life Lessons: The Book of Romans
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Annette Chamberlain
This is a really good study guide to Romans. We are using it in our Sunday School class.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Life Lessons: The Book of Romans
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Peggy Cauthen
I had done 3 previous Bible Studies by Max Lucado and was very pleased. I am doing the one on the Book of Acts now and will get to the others after finishing this one. I love to study the Word and Max Lucado helps me to apply the Word to my inner most being. Anything he does is great and these are no exceptions. I have recommended them and Christian Book.com many times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Life Lessons: The Book of Romans
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Shirley French
Our Sunday School class uses the Max Lucado Life Lessons - we are now up to Romans and we enjoy them very much. They are very helpful in getting discussions going.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.