Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Life Lessons: The Book of James

Thomas Nelson Life Lessons: The Book of James

Life Lessons with Max Lucado are twelve week studies with each lesson including Reflection questions to begin your study, Bible Reading section with text in both NCV and NKJV, Discovery questions to help you explore the Bible, Inspirational thoughts from the writings of Max Lucado, Response questions for discussion, a prayer, additional questions, and room for journaling.
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Life Lessons: The Book of James
Review 1 for Life Lessons: The Book of James
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great bible study

Date:April 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marie
Location:Shakopee, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fast and easy way to find/purchase good, wholesome faith-teaching and "walking the walk as well as talking the talk" literature from true believers and followers of Jesus Christ. This is a strong, in-depth study of the Book of James and brings out excellent points.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Life Lessons: The Book of James
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not what I expected

Date:February 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nick
Location:Brick. NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Max is a great author, but these study guides are a bit of a let down
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Life Lessons: The Book of James
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the 8th time we have purchsed these series

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joe Esenbock- Jr
Location:Lexington, KY
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great lesson simple and thought provoking. A good tool for Sunday school lessons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Life Lessons: The Book of James
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Max Lucado Study Books

Date:January 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sharon Brackin
Location:Bear, DE
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Life Lessons: The Book of James by Max Lucado is very well done in the way that it makes you compare life today to life in Jesus' time. This is the second Max Lucado study our small gourp has done...we find him to be an easy read and very inviting in the way he writes. We would definitely recommend this book and his book, In The Grip of Grace!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Life Lessons: The Book of James
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Sunday school material

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
tomc
Location:Centralia, Il.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I teach an adult Sunday school class, with an age range of 30-60. This will make an excellent bible study lesson book for my class. I am also a big fan of Max Lucado.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Life Lessons: The Book of James
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
EKrizman
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am studying the book of James with a friend and am really excited to have this awesome tool by Max Lucado to help guide us.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Life Lessons: The Book of James
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a very useful product

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
coolgramsof6
Location:Grangevilole, Idaho
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I do like this book on James - I do, however, wish that there was a bit more detail. I am using a couple of other comentaries to go with it. You can't go wrong with this study. There are lots of discussion questions and it is good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Life Lessons: The Book of James
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent study for large group.

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book is written for any level of understanding. The large group had adequate study questions with Biblical references to express their thinking. It took just the right amount of time for daily study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Life Lessons: The Book of James
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

User friendly

Date:February 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
BFGH
Location:Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this study to be thought provoking and easy to use. It would work well in personal Bible study or in a small group setting. I enjoyed it, and will probably buy more from this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Life Lessons: The Book of James
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great for our LIFEgroup discussions

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
corinne
Location:CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The questions and insights by Max Lucado have really helped our LIFEgroup go deeper into the book of James and been a great launching point for great discussions. I especially like the additional scripture references at the end of each session...don't skip these!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Life Lessons: The Book of James
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dale Miller
Our small bible study group was led to this study and we started it 3 weeks ago. We have been very impressed by the flow of the lession and the descussions that have developed from it. We have never done a Max Lucado study before and we are really enjoying it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Life Lessons: The Book of James
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
K Wells
I am currently using this book to lead a Sunday School class studying the book of James. As a group we have found it to be well organized and very thought provoking. It has led to great discussion within our group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Life Lessons: The Book of James
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Teachenor
As always a Max Lucado work is so down to earth and understandable. I'm enjoying the study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Life Lessons: The Book of James
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bettye Selby
This was ordered for a small group's study and we have finished the first chapter. We all agreed this is going to be a wonderful study. James is a very provoking book anyway and the study questions and readings have stimulated very productive thought and discussion. We have found it very pertinent to life today. Interestingly, the first chapter of the book and of James addresses being prepared for difficulties and coming to Him for guidance through turmoil. We all could identify and felt His guidance in our study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Life Lessons: The Book of James
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marilyn Bullman
Our Bible Study group is using Life Lessons to facilitate our study and weekly discussion times. We've found that the reflection questions and journal entries have led us to a deeper understanding and application of the Scripture passages. Many of our group members testify that this is the best discipleship group study format they've ever had the opportunity to participate in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Life Lessons: The Book of James
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Charlotte Koon
Great study that encourages you to search your heart as you apply the verses of James to your daily life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Life Lessons: The Book of James
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
rick
Max Lucado is by far one of the best in delivering GOD"S truth in books today. These books by Max are essential to the contemporary Christian what a blessing to read and see the simplicity of Max's teaching.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.