Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Classical Academic Press Songschool Latin

Classical Academic Press Songschool Latin

A new way to introduce Latin to your little ones! Whether you plan to go on to study Latin in-depth, or want them to gain a basic understanding of one of English's root languages, Song School Latin will suit your needs. Children will learn the Latin alphabet (writing & pronunciation), discover related English words, fill-in-the-blank stories, questions, written exercises and songs to help them remember it all! The included music CD contains both classical and ecclesiastical pronunciations for all songs. A glossary and some reproducible activities are given in the back of the book. 31 weekly lessons including 7 review chapters. 135 pages, softcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Songschool Latin
Review 1 for Songschool Latin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Already Learning

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Learning Every Day
Location:Northeast Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We only just started this, but my young children (3 and 5) are already using the Latin words they've learned from listening to the CD in the car. The songs are fun and catchy and my sons beg me to "turn on Latin!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Songschool Latin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cammie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children love this program! It's easy to teach and the kids remember everything. We're having a great time learning together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Songschool Latin
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
light1
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it is a very easy and fun way to get the kids to learn latin
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Songschool Latin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Way better than I expected

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Geekmom
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay, if you're reading this review, chances are you're as geeky as I am, and wanting to start your young ones out on Latin. You may, like me, even be enough of a language freak to have studied some Latin in the past, and you want to make sure your kids get the real deal, not some poofy song and dance thing. I reviewed Latin programs for almost 2 years before I decided my kids were ready to start one. I passed on Song School Latin over and over because I thought it would be useless fluff (okay, the dancing monkey kind of threw me off, but Mom always said, don't judge a book....). I had decided to move into Latin For Children because I really like the enjoyable ways they have of presenting Latin to young people. I mean, let's face it, you can find someone to converse in most languages that you learn, but you can't exactly Skype Marc Antony for your Latin practice, so the creative ways of reinforcing the learning really appealed to me. Song School Latin is the primer for the series. It would actually make a great primer for young children regardless of which program you end up going with. I bought it for my Kindergartner and first grader, and they absolutely love working on it. The songs are actually catchy and pleasant and we really enjoy them. You will NOT want to rip your ears off after listening to it, unlike a certain Spanish audio Cd I've checked out. Over all, I'd say if you have any kids under about 8 that you would like to introduce to Latin, don't even consider buying the "real" program without starting here. It is well worth your time. If you have a language background (particularly in Latin) you can probably get away without buying the Teacher's guide, but there are some exercises in there that are not in the student book.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Songschool Latin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simple and fun .

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gabby
Location:Dallas , Tx
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children love singing and this is just another way for them to have fun and learn at the same time .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Songschool Latin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great product!

Date:November 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Missy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This really is a great product! This is an excellent, gentle introduction to Latin. My 8 and 6 year olds are loving it! My 13 and 11 year olds also enjoy listening to it as the songs are very catchy. Thanks to the authors for all their hard work!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Songschool Latin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
momof2
Location:Thompsons Station, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 5 year old and my 7 year old both love this! It teaches Latin in a gentle way that is both fun and effective. It is great for those parents (like me) who don't have any Latin in their background. I would highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Songschool Latin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
DH
Catchy little tunes, totally helps learning beginning Latin. We really like it! It has been a great addition in our homeschool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Songschool Latin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Angie
As a homeschool mother of 5, ages ranging from 13y - 4y, we all loved the very elementary basics of Latin taught in this curriculum. I highly recommend this book and the accompaniment CD included. Beware some of the songs are "corney" but they get the point and the pronounciation across effectivly. Surprisingly my 4y has done as well as the older kids in learning his latin just from listening. Our whole family really incorporates the Latin taught into everyday use whether it is to ask a question in Latin such as, to be excused from the dinner table (in Latin), or to help with understanding our own native language of English. I did suppliment some of the suggested testing but only because this curriculum is 2ng grade based and I was testing 4th - 8th graders. I highly recommend this for anyone young and old that is interested in the very basics of learning Latin. I personally knew nothing about this language before I picked up this book and started teaching it. LOL
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.