Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Healing Waters - eBook

Thomas Nelson Healing Waters - eBook

Lucia Coffey longs to feel good about herself and her body . . . but she can't get the negative voices out of her head. Lucia has always lived in the shadow of her sister Sophia, a charismatic ministry leader with a huge following. She doesn't feel worthy of her sister or her husband, and her own dreams of being a dancer have long since gone by the wayside. As her self-esteem and self-worth plummet, her struggle to keep her weight under control soars.

But then she meets Sullivan Crisp, the decidedly unorthodox psychologist who is well-known for his quirky sense of humor and incorporation of "game show" theology into his counseling sessions. He sees the beauty hidden in Lucia and sets about trying to help her find it for herself. Lucia longs for the faith to walk on water. And with the endlessly creative ways God uses our meager efforts to bring hope and new life, she just might find the path that leads her there.

Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Healing Waters - eBook
Review 1 for Healing Waters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book!!

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hersheyreader
Location:Hershey, PA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the Sullivan Crisp novels. This is the 2nd in the series...I suggest starting with #1 before reading this one, but it could stand alone. Sully and his game show antics are my favorite! I hope you enjoy this as much as I did!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Healing Waters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Above my expectations - Heart touching - Soul felt

Date:December 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
KarenLee
Location:Hubbard, OHIO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
Well when I began reading Healing Waters I really was'nt
expecting to be able to relate to it as much as I did on many different levels. It made me do my own soul searching and helped me to see even more clearly, that true beauty is from the inside out!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Healing Waters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Irene Thibodeau
Even though this is #2 in the Sullivan Crisp series, you do not need to read #1 to appreciate the story. The characters are believable with honest emotions and realistic situations to deal with. The story flowed, my interest was held tight, I was right there with them!I can honestly say that I not only enjoyed a good story, I really feel I better understand how God can work within our lives. I can actually relate to some of the situations (in slightly different variations), and hopefully have learned better coping tactics for having read this book. I would recommend this book for everyone. It left me feeling .... good :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Healing Waters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia Gorham
I read the first book by these authors and it felt like my own incredible counselor was teaching me as I read. I did not want it to end and was ecstatic when I discovered they are written the next two in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Healing Waters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Merilatt
I have read all of the Sullivan Crisp series. There are three books: Healing Waters, Healing Stones and Healing Sands. I have enjoyed them all. The plots are interesting, as are the characters. I enjoy the psychological discovery about all of the players as well. There is an excellent sub=plot thru the books as you discover about Sullivan Crisp's past. You will enjoy!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Healing Waters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2009
Sullivan Crisp and his authors do it again in a book that deserves more than five stars. Lucia, Sully, Bethany, and the rest of the characters are drawn with such depth that you know they could be real people. Meanwhile, their conflicts definitely do not come from your average "oops, I forgot to pray" Christian Fiction Conflicts shelf. Therefore, the way everyone deals with and solves their conflicts also comes across in a poignant, yet realistic way. Also, once again, Nancy and Stephen do a great job with their antagonists, Chip and Sonia. The former, you might never suspect of what he ultimately did (nice job on the suspense!) As with Estes and St. Clair in Healing Stones, the latter is a Christian, but has clearly received and given some toxic messages about God in her lifetime. Altogether, these elements make for a seriously fantastic book that actually made me cry. Looking forward to snatching up Healing Sands in November!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Healing Waters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lisa
This was a good book. It kind of dragged for me in the middle when Sonia was constantly in denial over her burns and appearance AND was busy ordering everyone around. It was hard to watch Lucia, once again, cower to her demands and lose any shred of self esteem that she had. However, the book did pick up as Lucia met Sullivan Crisp, who is a really great character. Through his own pain, he helps Lucia by being kind and understanding. I was impressed by his character...he was pretty brave for having the low-key personality that he did to go after two people that came to the house unexpectedly. What a guy! If you stick with the book, you will enjoy it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Healing Waters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2009
Like the first book in the Sullivan Crisp series, reading this book was not like reading your normal Christian fiction book. If you're expecting safe, happy endings, everyone gets along in your fiction, keep moving. From the get go, this book has unhappy people who are frustrated with life and question their faith in God. Lucia is a character that you instantly feel sympathetic towards. As the story progresses and she tells her past to Sullivan, the reader will react the same way he does. It was heartbreaking to read about what type of a life she had to live due to her sister. Thus, there were times throughout the book when I felt like Sophia got what she deserved. I did not like her character at all. The way that she treated people was just uncalled for. Her faith did seem very fair-weathered and it was interesting to see her finally being tested to practice what she preached.That whole storyline is something you don't normally see in Christian fiction. It's edgy because you wouldn't think to see Christians question the faith of those who believe in the power of healing. We also learn more about Sullivan's family throughout the story, as to what really happened to his wife. I will admit that sometimes these parts were a little show and interrupted the flow of the main story. However I am interested to know if he will ever confront the psychiatrist who gave his wife the faulty advice. That should make for a very interesting meeting. His insight throughout the whole story was a great way to see the plot from a different point of view. Like the first book, there is also a mystery storyline that runs throughout the book. It is very well played out and adds to the complexity of the story.Overall I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is not everyday that a Christian book questions the faith of a Christian in such a frank matter. I totally loved it and I am eagerly waiting the release of the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Healing Waters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carrie Turansky
I wish there was a way to give more than five stars for this book. I laughed and cried and couldn't wait to see what would happen to Lucia and all the characters in Healing Waters. The story included some surprising twists and turns that kept me guessing to the end. The relationship between Lucia and her niece Bethany was very touching. The truths about faith, healing, and God's comfort through the pain touched me deeply. I highly recommend this book. It will challenge you to think more deeply about your faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.