Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Higher Hope: Tides of Truth, Book 2 - eBook

Thomas Nelson Higher Hope: Tides of Truth, Book 2 - eBook

Tami Taylor faces impossible challenges in life, law, and love--until she discovers a higher hope. In historic Savannah, Georgia, a prestigious law firm assigns law clerk Tami Taylor to a libel case against a humble street preacher whose disciples claim she has uncanny prophetic abilities. Taylor's strict religious upbringing proves to be the firm's ace-in-the-hole as the case grows increasingly complex.

When Tami begins to date one of the firm's lawyers, her convictions and litigation skills are put to the test. Turns out this case will require more than legal maneuvering, but also the summoning of a greater hope than Tami has ever known.

Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Higher Hope: Tides of Truth, Book 2 - eBook
Review 1 for Higher Hope: Tides of Truth, Book 2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Unlikeable characters, slow and unsatisfying plot.

Date:May 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
B. P.
Location:Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I kept hoping this book would get better...and then was kicking myself that I wasted the time on a false hope.
That its slow-moving plot never goes much of anywhere is only the beginning of what makes this book so disappointing. The main character, a young woman who demonstrates a measure of courage and integrity in her workplace, loses all self-respect the minute she travels home for a weekend with family, bringing a young man with her. Her parents treat her friend with suspicion, despite his clearly honorable intentions and godly character. And they treat Tami like a child, which doesn't seem to be a problem for her. She unquestioningly accepts their narrowly-defined standards of piety and their self-righteous judgments of others. And worse, rather than intelligently and prayerfully examining those standards, she entreats her potential beau to conform, because of what others (her parents and church congregation) might think. (He stays home from church so people won't be offended by his ponytail.) High standards, and striving for godliness: good. Legalism pretending to be godliness: not so good. And this, not even the primary plot, takes up nearly the first 11 chapters.
There is too much unnecessary detail that neither adds to nor moves the story forward, and of the multiple subplots, none come to a satisfying resolution by book's end. Which of her suitors will win her heart? Will she take a job at the law firm? Will the old woman she cares for die without accepting the Lord? Will her co-worker come to see Jesus as her Messiah? What will happen with the client whose lawsuit is the primary focus of the story? Sadly, there's not enough here to make me want to read the next one to find out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Higher Hope: Tides of Truth, Book 2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good read

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandra Dean
Location:ct
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy this man's writings. The storyline was interesting, the plot was intruiging. Agood read, light
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Higher Hope: Tides of Truth, Book 2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An "OK" read

Date:March 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This week I finished reading Higher Hope, the second novel in Robert Whitlow's Tides of Truth series. This book was an "OK" read, but not one of my favorites. As was the case in Deeper Water (the first book in the series) the story moves slowly and in some places gets bogged down for a while.
In a story that continues from the first novel, readers find that Tami Taylor works as a summer law clerk in a Savannah law firm and during her off-work hours serves as a live-in caretaker for elderly Mrs. Fairmont. She also struggles with mixed romantic feelings for two young men in the firm, one an associate and the other also a summer clerk, with romance being a totally new experience for Tami. Tami (or Tammy Lynn, as she is known back home) is from a very strong, fundamentalist church and family, and works to stay true to her beliefs and and the expectations of her parents. Those beliefs earn her both scorn and respect from those she works with and under at the firm.
It is because of those very beliefs that one of the firm's partners finds Tami to be just the person to work on a case involving Sister Dabney, "an abrasive, outspoken preacher who is either a prophet or a lunatic." As the case progresses, Tami struggles with the challenge of balancing her career choice with her belief and even questions whether the two are compatible.
As I said, this series is slow-moving and reading it is at times drudgery. With that said, though, I am interested enough in Tami's story that I do plan to read the final book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Higher Hope: Tides of Truth, Book 2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
RaeRae
Location:PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book! Second in a series of three and all of them were outstanding. Wish there were more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Higher Hope: Tides of Truth, Book 2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mildred Sandstrom
I am thoroughly enjoying the "Tides of Truth" book series and can't wait until the next book comes out. Tami's faith is so real and I can relate to her from working in law firms as a secretary and working for summer associates. She is brilliant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Higher Hope: Tides of Truth, Book 2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Esther Canaan
Excellent read. Believable characters. Robert Whitlow has captured an interesting slice of conservative Christianity. My only complaint is that I have to wait until Spring 2010 for the third book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Higher Hope: Tides of Truth, Book 2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Heidi
I expected this book by Whitlow to be a legal thriller, written in the style of John Grisham. Well, the book did not fulfill that expectation. The legal aspect of the book was not the main thrust of the book; rather, the development of Tami, the book's heroine was the primary plot. While the book was not fast paced and action packed, I did leave "hooked" on Tami and her growth as a person. Overall, a book worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Higher Hope: Tides of Truth, Book 2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lisa Taylor
I'll start by saying I didn't realize it was book two in a series, the Tides of Truth series. I thought I would never be able to know what was going on without reading book one but I was wrong. You can keep up and the book was very good.Higher Hope by Robert Whitlow (who by the way reminds me of John Grisham) is a crime drama and a christian fiction book.book descriptionTami Taylor faces impossible challenges in life, law, and love--until she discovers a higher hope. In historic Savannah, Georgia, a prestigious law firm assigns law clerk Tami Taylor to a libel case against a humble street preacher whose disciples claim she has uncanny prophetic abilities. Taylor's strict religious upbringing proves to be the firm's ace-in-the-hole as the case grows increasingly complex. When Tami begins to date one of the firm's lawyers, her convictions and litigation skills are put to the test. Turns out this case will require more than legal maneuvering, but also the summoning of a greater hope than Tami has ever known.This is a very good book and I plan on buying book 1 and reading the others as they come out. I highly recommend Higher Hope by Robert Whitlow.Would you like to review a book...or two? Visit Thomas Nelson and find out how.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Higher Hope: Tides of Truth, Book 2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Reed
I really love this 2nd book in the series and can't wait for the next one. After the first one, I was hooked. I feel like Tami Taylor is a personal friend! The legal plotline, as well as the spiritual convictions are extremely interesting and insightful. Tami Taylor's strict religious convictions border on legalism, but I certainly admire the way she doesn't let anything compromise her beliefs. The twists and turns of her relationship with the other summer law clerks and the legal cases make this book a real page-turner, and hard to put down! I've enjoyed every Robert Whitlow book. I like the way he combines legal and spiritual themes. His own faith and knowlege of the law, as well as his knowledge of life in the South, are very evident and compelling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Higher Hope: Tides of Truth, Book 2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joann
Robert Whitlow is one of my favorite christian authors. I enjoyed reading this book although it was not up to his normal standards. This one leaves you hanging waiting for the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Higher Hope: Tides of Truth, Book 2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2009
Law stories are give and take with me. They are either written extremely well and explain everything to a newbie or they are too convoluted in lawyer-ish jargon, cliches and stereotypes. So I was pleasantly surprised when after reading this book. By portraying Tami as a law student helped to ease the reader into the story, as she's a learning newbie too. Books that tackle legalism issues always interest me. Since I don't agree with many of the issues that is involved with legalism, it's always fascinating to read exactly how the author will portray them. It is possible that readers who agree with those issues might be reading the book, so the author has to handle them in a certain way and be respectful even if they don't agree with them. Tami is a character that has broken away from her strict religious background but is still respectful of her parents and their decisions. Meanwhile her parents may not agree with her decision, but neither have they banned her from the house or are angry with her. The entire situation involving Sister Dabney was very interesting as it neither portrayed her as being delusional or being absolutely right at the end.My only qualm with the book was that a felt the ending to be rather disappointing. After so much buildup throughout the rest of the book, I was expecting an explosive or at least confrontational ending. As it turned out, it was very underwhelming. It sped by and I felt like I had missed it completely. Other than that, I did enjoy this book very much. The writing is crisp, engaging and was a page turner for me. This was my first book from the author so not only am I going to go back and read the first book in the series, I'm planning on checking out his entire back list. It's always nice to find a new author who surprises you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Higher Hope: Tides of Truth, Book 2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2009
I always enjoy Whitlow's books - though I wish I'd re-read book one to brush up on details before I read it. This book was an enjoyable read, a bit heavier on "character development" than story-line. Left me wanting to read book three to tie up details.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Higher Hope: Tides of Truth, Book 2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
William Bryson
Excellent story with strong emphasis on Christian values. Nothing make believe should be read by every believer with great guidelines on how to live the walk with Jesus. Covers parental respect, courting, living to reach the lost, Christ first in business ethnics but most of all Christ first in our lives. The lessons go on. This is the second book in the series, read the first one first, because they are really one story. Cant way for part 3.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Higher Hope: Tides of Truth, Book 2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
scott
Ive enjoyed Robert Whitlow since I read The List. The last couple of his books have been a little less to my personal taste. Higher Hope picks up the story of a young summer law clerk on the heels of her adventures in Deeper Water.Tami Taylor is the product of a ultra conservative upbringing and the stories hinge mainly on her struggles with remaining faithful to her strong faith while operating in the big world of law in Savannah, GA. As a conservative homeschool father myself, Ive appreciated Whitlows portrayal of this particular homeschooler in such a positive light, even though I disagree with some of the legalistically fundamental beliefs and practices of her family. The struggle to remain true to your faith in a world that ridicules your beliefs, family, etc. is one that many of us face on a daily basis; and Whitlows stories highlight those difficulties in a helpful way.However, I didnt enjoy Higher Hope as much as previous works for two main reasons. One, too much time was spent on the inner turmoil of a burgeoning love triangle as Tami finds herself being pursued by two young men. I know the market is aimed more at female readers, but for those of us who enjoy the occasional escape by Grisham-esque authors like Whitlow, the dominance of the romance was a little hard to take.And two, the main plotline (other than romance) in this story centered on a old woman preacher/prophet who was calling out the sins of a particular business developer who is trying to purchase her church property. Without going into detail, there was much in the theology of that story line that I had personal issues with. Others may not find it as bothersome, but Whitlows positive portrayal of someone I consider to be on the fringe of biblical orthodoxy and orthopraxy made the story less enjoyable for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Higher Hope: Tides of Truth, Book 2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
R.jill Teske
Interesting story. The image of religion without judgement from the author was a delicate witness. I will read everything whitlow writes. he write with integrity and insight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Higher Hope: Tides of Truth, Book 2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judy Henry
The best book I have read this year, can't wait for the book #3. I really like the way the author's abilitie of knowning the law and how christian beliefs play into the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Higher Hope: Tides of Truth, Book 2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Maureen
This is book 2 in the Tides Of Truth Series and it is so good that it is going to be difficult waiting until 2010 for the next book. Very well written. I give it 2 thumbs up! Don't miss book 1!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Higher Hope: Tides of Truth, Book 2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jenn
When I first received this book I didn't think I would enjoy reading it. I normally don't read books that have legal plotlines. As a matter of fact this was my first one! As I read the first couple of chapters, I started to wonder if it would be a pain to try to finish the book. There was one character in particular that had what I view as fanatical religious ideas and characteristics. However, I didn't want to give up on the book and I continued on. I'm glad I did! I really enjoyed Whitlow's writing style. Plus, it had just enough romance in it to keep my interest piqued. It soon became hard for me to put the book down. I didn't agree with some of the character's convictions, but that made the book all the more interesting for me. I would
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Higher Hope: Tides of Truth, Book 2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
sara
This book is a court drama following the life of a law clerk, Tami, and the people in her life. Tami is a person with high morals and beliefs. Her beliefs are very important to her and she lives her life that way. Tami is working as a summer clerk and has 2 men interested in her. You get a lot of insight to her life when she takes one of these men home to meet her family. A very interesting visit keeps you wanting more.Due to these high beliefs, Tami gets the opportunity to be a part of a high profile case. There is a preacher who is thought to be crazy and have strange ways of reaching people. In a sub story, you get to see the life of this preacher and understand her. As the story unfolds, you find that while you think you might have it figured out, you seem to change your mind throughout.I think the author did a really good job of keeping the flow going and giving good insight to the characters. When I started reading the book, I found myself a little confused, and thinking I wouldn't enjoy the book. I was surprised to find that I really got into the book and had a hard time putting it down.I enjoyed how you were able to see both storylines. I gave you an understanding of why the characters were the way they were.I would recommend this book and look forward to reading the other books in this series, and other ones by the author
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Higher Hope: Tides of Truth, Book 2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2009
Higher Hope by Robert Whitlow is the second book in his series Tides of Truth. This book follows the first book, Deeper Water. I have not read Deeper Water, however I still enjoyed this book and did not feel lost while reading it. I will definitely go and read the first book in the series now, as Whitlow drew me into Tami Taylors life. Whitlows style of writing is very enjoyable to read and allows the reader to feel as if s/he is actually experiencing the story with the characters and a part of their lives. This story ties in family, romance, suspense, uncertainty, and excitement making this book a great choice to read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>