Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson His Name is Jesus: The Promise of God's Love Fulfilled - eBook

Thomas Nelson His Name is Jesus: The Promise of God's Love Fulfilled - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.771 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for His Name is Jesus: The Promise of God's Love Fulfilled - eBook
Review 1 for His Name is Jesus: The Promise of God's Love Fulfilled - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best gift to the ones you care about

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
briantech
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book and I praise God for the inspiration He gave to Mr. Lucado to write about Jesus Christ in a way never written before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for His Name is Jesus: The Promise of God's Love Fulfilled - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love everything about "His Name is Jesus"

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shar
Location:KS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
His Name is Jesus by Max Lucado is an amazing book, just as is Max Lucado himself. I first purchased this book for myself and have now purchased three for friends. I will probably send for more. Every home would benefit from this book.
Would make a great Christmas gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for His Name is Jesus: The Promise of God's Love Fulfilled - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful presentation! Powerful text!

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Craig Pitts
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first thing about this book is the way it is bound and presented. The photos are breathtaking, homey and inviting. But the real beauty of the book goes far beyond its first class look. The text comes in brief poignant snippets, sometimes displayed in gorgeous calligraphy. Max Lucado's insights are powerfully human yet deeply divine, which is exactly what we know about Jesus but are seldom able to reconcile or express. My wife and I have purchased a number of these books to give as gifts to our doctors, pastors, friends and colleagues. This is one book that will never be tucked away out of sight on the shelf. We will open it often. Every page has its own unique reward!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for His Name is Jesus: The Promise of God's Love Fulfilled - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book written with passion and conviction!

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
RonnieD
Location:Plano, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have never read any of Max Lucado's books, you owe it to yourself to get one. This particular book brought tears to my eyes several times when reading it, and believe me, that doesn't happen alot. Max always brings out something you never saw or heard before in a passage of scripture, even though you have read it or heard it preached a 100 times in your life. He has a fresh way, a down to earth way, of presenting the gospel in real life expression. Get this book. If it doesn't move you, then you just can't be moved.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for His Name is Jesus: The Promise of God's Love Fulfilled - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
barb
Location:Clayhurst, BC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has great photos with excellent presentation and is a beautiful book. I gave some as gifts and would recommend this book to everybody!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for His Name is Jesus: The Promise of God's Love Fulfilled - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Answer to Prayer

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
ChrisR
Location:Northern KY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been a christian for over 30 years, but for some reason I always felt like I never really experienced the full meaning of the crucifixtion. You know.. the personal revelation of that day. I prayed that God would help me to understand why Jesus would die for us and a view from our Lords perspective. By the time I finished this book I was in tears. This book made me look through the eyes of Jesus like I never have been able to. Highly recommend this read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for His Name is Jesus: The Promise of God's Love Fulfilled - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value for a timeless Lucado book

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marilyn Saxon
Location:South Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Max Lucado has compiled this amazing book with all his different writings about our Lord Jesus Christ. From His birth to resurrection you will get chunks of Lucado's writings and at the bottom of each page the book that each came from. It is beautifully illustrated with a special collectors cover. This is a gift book to be read many times. I recommend this book to all Christians and to those who are seeking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for His Name is Jesus: The Promise of God's Love Fulfilled - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely awesome!

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeanne
Location:Ponca City, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son gave me this book for Christmas and I loved it so much I wanted to buy some for gifts. I found it on your website and am more than pleased with the complete transaction. So much that I have passed the word and friends have also purchased this book through your website. This book so eloquent and lovely is a wonderful testimony of the gospel. I bought a couple just to pass around among my friends. Thanks!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for His Name is Jesus: The Promise of God's Love Fulfilled - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful, insightful, encouraging

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Berry
Location:West Plains, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful way Max Lucado has with words! He brings the Heavenly Father right into our daily lives. The beauty of the artworks lifts our souls and brings a certain peace! Just what we all need more of now!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for His Name is Jesus: The Promise of God's Love Fulfilled - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rosa Manzari
Max Lucado never disappoints. He is a great Christian writer. This book would make a great Christmas gift because of the way it is packaged. I love it! Rosie M.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for His Name is Jesus: The Promise of God's Love Fulfilled - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marilyn Finkbeiner
This is a beautiful book for gifting. I bought it as a gift for myself. Max does such a superb job with all of is publications. He is a real joy to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for His Name is Jesus: The Promise of God's Love Fulfilled - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Alberto Balderramos
Easy to read with powerful words, they really got to me, i love books like this one, i will highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for His Name is Jesus: The Promise of God's Love Fulfilled - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
alisa
I have read several little kid books by Max Lucado, and really enjoyed his parallels to real life situations along with Christian themes. I especially liked how in this book not only did he share different stories from the life of Jesus Christ, but also included beautiful photography and fonts to look at. A couple parts that I really enjoyed are how he helped me understand once again how Jesus Christ can be a personal Savior for each of us. I especially liked his telling of when Jesus calmed the seas and the woman who touched his robe, favorite scripture stories of mine. I also liked how he asks poignant questions that made me think what would I do in this situation. Though some of the theology of Lucado I dont agree with, overall, I found this book moving and especially beautiful to read. I read it in a couple of days so its an easy book to read in a couple of hours, or to just take little sections or even one story at a time to think more deeply about. Overall, this story increased my love for my Savior Jesus Christ and made me think harder on how I can have a better relationship with Him.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for His Name is Jesus: The Promise of God's Love Fulfilled - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
HeidiPA
This is a beautiful book! I enjoy anything by Max Lucado, and this book is certainly no exception. His Name is Jesus is actually a compilation of several of Max's other books, including some of my personal favorites - A Gentle Thunder (the first Max Lucado book I ever read), Traveling Light, and He Chose the Nails.Unlike Max's other books, this book is a showpiece - not just the kind of book you sit down and read, but the kind that you actually LOOK at. It's filled with lovely, soothing illustrations that leave you with a peaceful feeling. The book will take you through the sequence of events in Jesus life, with separate sections for His Birth, His Mission, His Death, His Resurrection, and His Legacy. You'll want to lay this book on your coffee table, or someplace with prominence in your home - you'll pick it up often. Pick up several copies - you won't want to share yours - and His Name is Jesus will make a beautiful, keepsake gift for anyone on your gift-buying list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for His Name is Jesus: The Promise of God's Love Fulfilled - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Kershaw
I really enjoy this book. It gives me inspiration and I use it to help bring Jesus ina real way to the nursing home patients I minister to every week.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for His Name is Jesus: The Promise of God's Love Fulfilled - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tannia E. Ortiz-Lopes
His Name is Jesus is a compendium of Jesus' humanity, based on key events that shaped Him as a human being, prepared Him for his ministry, and transformed Him into our door to Heaven.Max Lucado takes us in a journey to explore Jesus' life from his earthly beginning to his divine resurrection. He shares with us his insights and shows us a very human Jesus, without overlooking his divinity. The book is divided in five sections and within each section, the author highlights Jesus' most significant moments. Each section and meditation is accompanied with an illustration to allow the reader to relax and meditate on its message. Mr. Lucado profound comments and easy to follow narrative style enable the reader to understand the promise of God's love fulfilled in Jesus. The book ends with an exhortation to accept Jesus' invitation to carry our own cross and follow Him to Paradise.I highly recommend this book for readers searching for a simple way to understand Jesus' divine humanity and His purpose for our lives. Member of Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program (http://brb.thomasnelson.com/)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for His Name is Jesus: The Promise of God's Love Fulfilled - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
LC Kerr
His Name is Jesus by Max Lucado is a beautiful 192 page book that combines excerpts from several of Lucados previous books along with new insight to narrate Christs life. Included is breathtaking art and Scripture references that tie everything together just right."Jesus was, at once, common and not; alternately normal and heroic. One minute blending in with the domino players in the park, the next commanding the hell out of madmen, disease out of the dying, and death out of the dead." Lucado has such a beautiful way with words he makes the read feel like they are there, that they can feel, taste, touch, hear or see whatever he is describing with such color. This book is a wonderful gift for the classic Lucado reader who like me has every other book he has written, but it would also be a wonderful book to introduce someone to Jesus. It would make a wonderful addition to your library or even your coffee table selection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for His Name is Jesus: The Promise of God's Love Fulfilled - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
julie
His Name is Jesus by Max Lucado.The book is a mix of prose and poetry all about the life of Jesus. It is written in a very modern style, you could read a page a day or sit and read the whole thing at once. It could be read aloud in a bible study setting.I generally love this author's work, even his children's books but I just didn't like this one. If I was not already familiar with the story of Jesus perhaps I would enjoy the book more. I can see how this book would be great for those who are new to the story of Jesus and the Christian faith.I loved the photographs throughout the book. The pictures were just beautiful. A great reminder of the world that God made for us.It would be a nice coffee table book or gift book for a friend.I am a member of Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program: http://brb.thomasnelson.com/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for His Name is Jesus: The Promise of God's Love Fulfilled - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Liesl Kruger
What a lovely book! I was won over at the mention of Lucados name! Besides being an aesthetically beautiful book, it is also superbly compiled. The pictures captured me, the words, even though they are excerpts from other books Lucado has written drew me in as I again encountered the birth, life and death of Jesus. This book is captivating to any age. Even my 2-year-old sat quietly with me as we paged through the book and read about Jesus.This hard cover gift book is beautifully presented. It comes complete with a sturdy slide-in cover to keep it protected. While I know the story of Jesus life, I was reminded by this book of how completely human He was. It is easy to read, and is nicely laid out so that one could read it in short pieces or as a devotional. While this is definitely a beautiful coffee table book, it meant far more than I expected to me. Its a non-threatening journey of Jesus life which even skeptics would be tempted to delve into a little. I honestly loved this book and would recommend it as a gift for anyone at any age.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for His Name is Jesus: The Promise of God's Love Fulfilled - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy Robinson
I didn't think this book was as good as other Max Lucado books. However, I does cause the reader to think about Jesus as a man.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>