Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for New Leaf Publishing God's Amazing Creatures & Me!

New Leaf Publishing God's Amazing Creatures & Me!

Supplement your science lessons---and encourage spiritual growth---with this unique devotional! More than 40 animals, birds, fish, and bugs display principles for youngsters to follow as they learn more about God's kingdom---and themselves! Each "meditation" includes information about God's creation, a Bible lesson, reflection questions, and a memory verse. Ages 6 to 10. 95 pages, 6" x 11" spiralbound softcover from New Leaf.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God's Amazing Creatures & Me!
Review 1 for God's Amazing Creatures & Me!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

9 year old likes it so far!

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
June2
Location:Des Moines, IA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my son's 9th Birthday. He seems to like it so far....just got it this month. He will come and tell me what he learned in the story after he reads it....so that tells me he's interested in it. Plus he loves animals! The devotionals are short and full of interesting facts about the animal in the story and then that is tied into how that relates to God, His creation, and us...interesting concept....and understandable for my son. Plus a bible memory verse and questions for him to answer to reinforce what was being taught.
I like the sprial bound book (lays flat which will make it easier for a child to read without it closing on him/her)....seems pretty durable and the pages are plastic coated...so should hold up well with lots of use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God's Amazing Creatures & Me!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mom of 3
I just finished this devotional book with my three kids (ages 7, 5, & 3). All three of them loved it. They enjoyed learning about the animals and how they relate to God's word. I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God's Amazing Creatures & Me!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda
my grand children love this book! Excellent for my 8 yr. old grandson to read to his brothers and sister. Just what I was looking for in a devotional book. Great for either boys ao girls!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God's Amazing Creatures & Me!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judy
We just finished going through this book with our boys and absolutely loved it! Each day's lesson about one of God's creation helped to grab our boys' attention, and I really appreciated the story or passage from the Bible that went along with the story. Great thought/application questions at the end of each lesson, too! Wonderful book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God's Amazing Creatures & Me!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Patterson
I purchased the book for a gift and was so excited about it I purchased one for my granddaughter, who loves animals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God's Amazing Creatures & Me!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cristina Berry
A good devotion book, especially if your child likes to learn about all that God has created.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God's Amazing Creatures & Me!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michelle Schackow
My children and I really enjoy it. Science, Bible lesson, and a memory verse. My two and five year old like to hear the story too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God's Amazing Creatures & Me!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Malinda Edgell
Wow! Great book, my little guy loves it! What a way to introduce him to God's amazing world
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for God's Amazing Creatures & Me!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amy Almond
Bought this for the boys in my church for sunday school graduation. Very nice for the price, and the boys liked it, b/c of the animals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for God's Amazing Creatures & Me!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amy Almond
Bought this for the boys in my church for sunday school graduation. Very nice for the price, and the boys liked it, b/c of the animals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for God's Amazing Creatures & Me!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christy AStin
Loved this book we did it twice within 2 years. Best thing was to play 20 questions about the animal. Son 6 Daughter 11.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for God's Amazing Creatures & Me!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cindy
My 9 year old son loves this book. It describes an animal, has a related a Bible passage. and then has thought provoking quesitons for the reader. There is also a Bible memory verse.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for God's Amazing Creatures & Me!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Helen Arbuckle
Nice idea! Appealing to children but also useful to adults as material for childrens talks. It would be worth 5 stars if the pictures were in colour as there is reference to the colours of the creatures which children can't then see in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for God's Amazing Creatures & Me!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sheri Rogers
My 7 year old granddaughter could not put this down. I enjoyed it as much as she did, and I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for God's Amazing Creatures & Me!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2004
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
I just bought this to use with my 5 yr. old. She LOVES animals & nature. This devotional is perfect for her.There are 45 creatures discussed in this book. Each devotion starts off talking about a creature and it's habits. Then, that info is used to correlate it to what the Bible says about that particular behavior. The next section asks about that aspect in the child's life. Lastly, a memory verse accompanies each devotion.Not only are you learning a memory verse, having self reflection, doing character building, and learning what the Bible has to say about various traits and behaviors, you are also getting a lesson in nature and science. Even I am learning things about God's creatures that I didn't know.This book wins hands down over any other devotional I've looked at. The reading is easily understood by children; it's not too deep for them. I think it's awesome having a book like this that discusses things readily available in our world/environment, and it seems that children can easily relate to the creatures behaviors/traits being discussed. It uses simple, curious traits of God's creatures to grab everyone's attention.I'm using this along with several readers I have to accent our science lessons, character building, and Bible study in our homeschool curriculum.I can't rave enough!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for God's Amazing Creatures & Me!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2003
Customer Avatar
Sherry
This is the 1st devotional my 7 year old son enjoys. Reading the bible and devotions were like pulling teeth. With God's Amazing Creatures and Me, he looks forward to devotional time and always wants to look ahead to the next day's animal. I am amazed how he remembers the point from previous days. This is a great way to reach your kids spiritually.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.