Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hachette Book Group Fatherless

Hachette Book Group Fatherless

It's 2040 and the economic pyramid has flipped; the feeble old now outnumber the vigorous young. Seeking to revive her career by investigating this crisis, reporter Julia Davidson is plagued by nightmares about her absent father and becomes a pawn in an ominous conspiracy. Fatherless vivdly imagines a future in which present-day trends come to sinister fruition.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 out of 1493%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fatherless
Review 1 for Fatherless
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Chilling Future Action Adventure Thriller

Date:May 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. James Dobson and Kurt Bruner in their new book, “Fatherless” Book One in the Fatherless series published by FaithWords brings us into the lives of Kevin Tolbert and Julia Davidson.
From the back cover: The year is 2042, and the long-predicted tipping point has arrived. For the first time in human history, the economic pyramid has flipped: The feeble old now outnumber the vigorous young, and this untenable situation is intensifying a battle between competing cultural agendas. Reporter Julia Davidson-a formerly award-winning journalist seeking to revive a flagging career-is investigating the growing crisis, unaware that her activity makes her a pawn in an ominous conspiracy.
Plagued by nightmares about her absent father, Julia finds herself drawn to the quiet strength of a man she meets at a friend’s church. As the engrossing plot of FATHERLESS unfolds, Julia faces choices that pit professional success against personal survival in an increasingly uncertain and dangerous world.
FATHERLESS vividly imagines a future in which present-day trends come to sinister fruition.
Welcome to the future and a horrific future is what is has turned into. There are not enough young people to sustain the overabundance of elderly and this is causing a great drain on the economy. To combat this the government offers the elderly a chance to voluntarily commit suicide and pass their inheritance over to the young. Tolbert is the senator that wants to change things, Julia is the reporter assigned to help bring him down. The authors are exploring what the trend is to the view of the elderly and their needs and it is, indeed, frightening. They also explore the impact on society when the father is absent from the home. Add to this disturbing view is the role of government on society. This is social commentary all wrapped up in a fiction thriller. Make no doubt about this the lives of practically everyone are in very great danger and it gets progressively worse as the story unfolds. Danger, action and adventure are all rolled up in a very exciting read. These are wonderful characters that live and breathe on the pages and you care deeply for them. This book does not disappoint at all. I enjoyed it and I am so looking forward to the next book in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from FaithWords. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fatherless
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Definitely worth reading!

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jenny
Location:Bryant, AR
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It had been a while since I had read a book for fun and this was just the right thing for me to read. I just finished the second book "Childless" today and hate that I'm going to have to wait until this summer to read "Godless" the next book. These books were so good! If you're looking for a book that you won't want to put down, this is it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fatherless
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A potentially chilling look at our future!!!

Date:March 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Free To Thrive
By Julia Davidson (RAP Syndicate)
A friend of mine recently informed me she wants to have a child. She's not religious, but her parents are devout Catholics. They have an opinion on the matter. Actually, two opinions.
First, they want their daughter to find a partner (husband to use their word) before becoming a mom - something less than 25% of women do for good reasons I've covered in earlier columns. (Why do religious fundamentalists criticize our generation for avoiding parenthood yet complain when single women choose motherhood?)
Second, my friend's parents disapprove of a practice that has become standard medical procedure, even among heterosexual domestic partners. In vitro selection (IVS) brings enormous benefits to parents, children and society. But they've cautioned their daughter against 'engineering her child" by vetting common genetic imperfections. They believe IVS puts humans in place of God and fear we have become "picky shoppers" rather than "grateful recipients" when it comes to the "gift of life."
Caving to parental pressure, my friend postponed her selection appointment. I suppose I should celebrate the decision. One fewer carbon footprint polluting the planet. But I hate to see her give up something she wants just because her parents view technology as a moral bogeyman.
These are the facts. Eight out of ten women who wish to have a child use in vitro selection, otherwise known as common sense. In our day and age, why would anyone risk giving birth to children with costly health challenges? Women no longer have to fear receiving bad news after the birth of a child due to unforeseen disabilities and complications. Only children born to parents who opt out of the genetic vetting process risk the heartache, burden and expenses associated with the most common disabilities and age-related illness. Those expenses, by the way, will end up hitting federal and state budgets as "faith children" survive their well-intentioned but misguided parents. You and I will inherit costly care and medical obligations associated with our aging parents and grandparents.
If my friend decides to have a child, I hope she will give the baby the freedom to thrive by eliminating the risk of unnecessary disease and disability. I only wish we could give the same freedom to those of us already burdened by both." (excerpt pg 81-82.)
It's the year 2042 and while the world struggles to come to terms with a failing economy in every country, they notice that this is the first time the scale are tipping downward. This is the first time that senior citizens outnumber the younger generation. This places a burden on not having enough productive hands necessary to maintain the standards of productivity while the high cost of caring for seniors is skyrocketing. The only solution is to provide transition services to those who have become more of a debit than an asset to their families and society. They can opt out of life through volunteering to transition and leave their wealth behind to their families. But surely something like this is only for fictional novels right? Or is it?
Best selling author and speaker of Family Talk, Dr. James Dobson has teamed up with Kurt Bruner to write the novel Fatherless, which was inspired by the foretelling of the ominous trends discussed in this novel by the late Chuck Colson. They use this information to write a very chilling story of what could happen when the very old outnumber the very young. With a decline in marriage and parenthood fueling an unprecedented drop in fertility, then the growth in global population will soon end, then reverse. We are already seeing this happen in places like Japan and Russia. Just what importance is there in a world where growing up with the protective love of a father becomes the exception rather than the norm? I think these two brilliant authors have given us a taste of what may lie ahead of us in the future if we continue this pattern.
I received Fatherless by Dr. James Dobson and Kurt Bruner compliments of Faith Words, a division of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are my own unless otherwise noted. While this is a fictional based novel, we are seeing more approval for physician assisted suicides among the terminally ill or aging that simply want a way out rather than liquidating all their financial assets. What happens then when people stop having children or opt to avoid getting married when they can have a baby in a lab and thus move on with life without the benefits of the family unit. Through a variety of characters this is the premise of Fatherless. This is the first book in the series with Childless and Godless being added to the series. Just the opening and closing stories alone are chilling in their future implications. I easily give this a 5 out of 5 stars for every single person to read, especially believers who know the truth that comes when light is revealed in dark places.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fatherless
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very believable

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mark Evans
Location:Appleton WI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ending made tears come, since my Dad would be a 'candidate' for transition. How cold Janet's transition was at the end of the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fatherless
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Realistic story but disappointing writing

Date:February 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Actuary Lady
Location:Norcross, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have very much appreciated the writings of Dr. Dobson and Kurt Bruner in the past, but I realized those books were all nonfiction. In "Fatherless", these authors seem to have a struggle telling what could be a compelling fictional story about a disabled life being not precious, but throwaway. The writing is a bit plodding and the scenes do not connect well. I do desire for readers to be able to wade through the style and come away with a statement underscoring that all life is God-given. I hope the rest of the series is a little more engaging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fatherless
This review is fromFatherless - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read!

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maddog
Location:Hayes, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very interesting read, with cliffhangers at the end of every chapter! I couldn't put the book down and read in only two days! Dr. Dobson does a great job paralleling the dangers of a society that turns away from God. I can't wait for the next book in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fatherless
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Very Relevant, Not so Riviting

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
mattparks35
Location:Carthage, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
James Dobson and Kurt Bruner create a futuristic world in which the sanctity and dignity of life is at stake. In this controversial clash of traditional versus postmodern values, the authors seek to lay bare the long-term effects of fatherlessness and the devaluing of the human life. The most striking feature of this book is that it is a prediction born out of current trends in the economy and cultural direction of morale. The message of this book is a scary yet very plausible scenario. If America does not carefully examine what they stand for and the direction they are heading, the reality of this book could appear sooner than expected. Initially, I was hooked by the first chapter, then I had a difficult time staying with it. It seemed to build and build and then not really resolve. Up until the last few pages, every detail mattered and then in the end it seemed to hastily fizzle out. I know that this is only the first of three novels, so hopefully the others can stand alone a little better. I received a free copy of this book from the publisher and was not obligated in any way to write a positive review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fatherless
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

intriguing, compelling, and intense

Date:April 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
crystal
Location:indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
as i read the semi-surreal stories of the characters, i wonder, "how can they act this way?", " doesn't God matter any more?", "when did this become acceptable?". then my mind recalls the talks at the office between coworkers, the actions of kids at the grocery store and the latest tv shows. what seems like a surreal future is beginning in today's real life.
dobson and bruner have created a potential future, one i don't wish to see become reality. i recommend this to everyone and look forward to the series. a bit disappointed that i have to wait a few months to get back into these characters' lives.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fatherless
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It took me awhile to get into the story

Date:March 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It took me awhile to get into this book. I understood what the authors were trying to accomplish by writing this but the story just did not thrill me. The book is fictional which is obvious from the beginning. It takes place when life really doesn’t mean anything to anyone. It is a sad book with spots of happiness. I gave this book 4/5 stars. I enjoyed the creativity of the storyline but felt the story itself was not that enjoyable. If you enjoy science fiction novels or end times type novels you may enjoy the story better than me.
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fatherless
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Couldn't get into it

Date:March 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
cheerfulheart
Location:Conover, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got about 1/2 through this book but just couldn't get into it. I was really disappointed. I guess it just wasn't for me.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fatherless
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

on Moral Decline and a Nation in the Lurch

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
theTRu
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There's enough truth, logic, and/or reasonable possibility in the pages of this book to make it mildly depressing. Set in the near future, Dobson and Bruner paint a rather bleak future of the world, with a few rays of hope sprinkled in for good measure. The media serves as something of a mouthpiece for the political agenda of the day and the pressing issue at hand revolves, unsurprisingly, around the sanctity of life. The twist, however, is the debate has shifted from life's beginning to the end.
Due to an ever-growing national deficit, citizens are treated as assets and debits. Productive members of society live as they do today, but the elderly, sick, and disabled are labeled as burdens. Burdens are encouraged to participate in a booming national program, known as transitioning. The transition process, which is essentially assisted suicide as a business model, is marketed as a responsible, even heroic action to take, because it will free future generations from the financial constraints of caring for you in your decline.
The book opens with a transition gone awry. An 18 year old boy who had struggled with severe disabilities his entire life consents to transition in an effort to provide financial and emotional relief to his family - mother and brother. During the procedure, however, his mother, who doesn't agree with his decision, breaks into the clinic and tries to prevent the transition from occurring. In a scuffle with security staff, she hits her head on some equipment and is killed, losing her life in a desperate struggle to prevent her son from sacrificing his. A lawsuit ensues and the story begins to unfold.
Dobson and Bruner weave together several lives from across political and societal boundaries. There's a young congressman making a name for himself with a controversial agenda and his family, for whom this agenda is personal. There's a famous reporter-turned-columnist trying desperately to salvage her career while battling personal demons that may or may not relate to her career. There's a young man, caring for his ailing mother, hoping to attend college, aspiring to be a professor someday, and pondering life's most difficult questions. And tying it all together is the single storyline of a nation facing an economic crisis and a moral dilemma.
Keep in mind, this is a grown-up book, engaging in a grown-up conversation. As such, the content addresses the nature of these themes and reflects the decline of moral values across the board. I don't read romance novels (of any flavor), so I don't have the best baseline, but I was surprised by some of the vividly detailed "romantic" sequences included in the book. Though, not erotic by any stretch, I was taken aback, almost like a child covering his eyes during a movie, complaining about a kissing scene.
All in all, FATHERLESS is a compelling read offering a (sadly) realistic look at a near-future reality. It contains a bit of everything, something to quench the tastes of most any reading appetite. Intrigue, suspense, theology, romance, and heart-wrenching "Hallmark" moments. It's all there and it paves the way nicely for the (now-anticipated) sequels scheduled in the nearer future: CHILDLESS and GODLESS.
- from TRudATmusic[dot]com[slash]raw (2/7/13)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fatherless
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Let's hope this is fiction!

Date:February 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
GodBlessAmerica
Location:Hills of Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life changing. Wow. Every now and then a book comes along that is entertaining and at the same time so close to the truth that it makes you wonder how soon we will wait to see this very thing happen in America. FATHERLESS by Dr. James Dobson and Kurt Bruner is that book. It is the story of America gone to extreme in that the old, disabled and children are no longer the norm. It is about a country that is an "all about me" world were men are no longer men and women are no longer women as God created them. This book gives the reader much to consider. I look forward the the other books in this series, which are CHILDLESS and GODLESS, which will be released later this year.
I received this book from Net Galley and FaithWords for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fatherless
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating book!

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill S
Location:Rockwall, TX
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Once I started, I couldn't put it down! The book is absolutely captivating with interesting characters, intriguing issues, and a well developed plot. I can't wait for Books 2 & 3!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fatherless
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Let's hope this fiction stays fiction!

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every so often I read a book that leaves me feeling like the plot is entirely too possible, and I shudder to imagine that it might come true. Fatherless is just such a book, depicting a not-so-distant future where it becomes routine for an elderly person to end their burdensome life, where the average man doesn't even bother to have children but instead remains the eternal playboy, and where the concept of marriage is simply laughable. I found the plot to be fascinating, and needless to say I was hooked from the first sentence and held captive to the last page. Dobson and Bruner are a dynamic writing team, and have created unforgettable characters who will draw you in to their complex lives.
The book is sure to appeal to a wide audience, as there's no real violence to scare off readers used to more gentle reads. However, the plot is absolutely action-packed and filled with every day people working through deep ethical issues, ones that we are already facing on a much smaller scale. I can't even imagine what it would be like to live in a world where helping someone die because they are elderly and disabled becomes viewed as something heroic! I pray God saves us from such a future.
Fatherless is an excellent start to a series that is bound to not only entertain, but to leave you thinking about where our world is headed in the near future. I encourage you to pick up this book and journey with the characters through some frightening possibilities that will make you thankful that we're not living in that world - yet. 5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Hachette Book Group Canada, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.