Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Emerald Pointe Books Then Came Faith, Civil War Trilogy Series #1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Emerald Pointe Books Then Came Faith, Civil War Trilogy Series #1

The War Between the States may be over, but America is still in turmoil. Determined to show mercy to the ravaged South, Boston abolitionist Elizabeth travels to New Orleans, where she falls for the handsome Andre---a naval officer, and a Confederate through and through. Given their opposing loyalties, does their love stand a chance? 384 pages, softcover from White Stone.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Then Came Faith, Civil War Trilogy Series #1
Review 1 for Then Came Faith, Civil War Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
What an excellent book. This is Christian Fiction at its finest; it convicts your heart to question your deepest-held beliefs and to allow God to show you the truth. I cried as Andre, who had always considered himself and his family Christians, came to understand the horror he had inflicted upon his slaves. What a beautiful story, and so well done. One of my favorite books in a long time! Can't wait to read the next one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Then Came Faith, Civil War Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2007
Deep Fiction in the Deep South ..."Then Came Faith" was my first Louise Gouge novel, and what a treat! Maybe it's my obsession with "Gone With the Wind" and any story related to the era. Or maybe it's the fact that Louise Gouge has crafted a deep and moving novel about this country's turbulent times following the Civil War and the after effect on the lives of a beautiful but stubborn abolitionist and a handsome but embittered Southern gentleman. The richness of the writing, the depth of historical research, and a magnetic love story laced with haunting spiritual truths makes this book a must-read for historical romance lovers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Then Came Faith, Civil War Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Johnette
I had never read a book by Louise M Gouge before this one. I love historical Christian fiction, and the cover looked like something i would enjoy. I will tell you I am really impressed with this author and this book. I love it and read it in one night. I couldn't put it down. I wish I could rate it a 10 or higher. If you enjoy historical fiction, you will love this...especially the civil war era.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Then Came Faith, Civil War Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Diana Sanchez
This was truly an incredible book to read. I have never truly thought about the after math of the Civil War and the effects it had on the many relationships between the North and the South until I read this book. This book depicted the struggles of people trying to rebuild their lives and also the citizens of the South were told the way they were living for hundreds of years was wrong. I enjoyed the fact that there was some romance between Andre and Juliana which appealed a lot to me. Truly this book was enjoyable from all aspects.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Then Came Faith, Civil War Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
I'm impressed with this book. I'll tell you why. I remember growing up in the 1970s and watching several "mini-series" at that time. One was The Holocaust, and the other two were Roots and North & South. Remember those? I also read the books Roots and Queen by Alex Haley at the time. They were fabulous.Then Came Faith brought all of those memories back and with them came the emotion that coexists with reflecting on such trying times. I loved Juliana and Andre. They made an interesting couple--especially because of their extremely conflicting beliefs--even though they were apart for the majority of the book. The author did a fabulous job showing the hearts of both abolitionists and confederates at the time of reconstruction in the deep south.This story had some grit, yes, but it wasn't overly done. I especially loved it when Juliana went to confront the slimebag Dupris in his bawdy house and tried to help Gemma escape. That was priceless. Of course, the Civil War era books aren't realistic without a few Klan scenes. Those guys in the white hoods just make me sick, but without them the story doesn't feel as authentic. There was just enough to give you a sense of the internal and external conflict the characters experienced, but not enough to seem excessively dramatic.I thoroughly enjoyed Then Came Faith and am looking forward to the next book in the series. This is one of those stories that you hate to have end. The faith element was very well done and the change of heart amongst many of the characters was heartwarming and sincere. I also must add that I really enjoyed getting to know Andre and experiencing the doubts regarding his culture and the way he grew up believing that "chattels" as he referred to them, were not equal to whites, yet he loved Cordell like a brother, so he saw the contradiction even within himself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Then Came Faith, Civil War Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Narelle Mollet
Then Came Faith is an American civil war era tale about the usual protagonists, Juliana, the Northern abolitionist and Andre, the Southern slave owner. The difference with this novel is that it is set after the conclusion of the war and describes the issues and points of view of both characters with great clarity.Juliana has moved to New Orleans with one goal - start a school for the children of former slaves and be a part of the South's recovery. Andre harbours great bitterness in his heart due to the shattering losses his family experienced at the hands of the Northern Army and the murder of his father by his best friend, a Southerner but Northern sympathiser.Andre and Juliana's attraction is immediate yet upon hearing her Boston accent, Andre's instilled manners desert him and he vows never to speak to her again. Circumstances arise which bring Andre and Juliana into regular contact and despite the heated disapproval of their fledgling friendship by her confidant, Amelia, and Juliana's own reservations their romance blossoms. That is, until the realities of their moral and cultural differences interfere. Threats are made, people are murdered and deceit abounds which drives a wedge between the two that may be insurmountable.Louise M. Gouge writes a fascinating tale of this period of reconstruction in the South and brings it alive in the reader's mind. Her characters are well developed and the secondary characters contribute much to the flavour of the book. The romance developed a little too quickly and initially felt somewhat contrived but this passed and I ended the book feeling the author gave a clear picture of the social tragedy of slavery while not over-demonising the position of the Southerners. The thread of mystery surrounding Andre's father's death wove in well with the romance and added substance and appeal to the story. This is the first in a series and I would recommend it especially to lovers of historical novels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Then Came Faith, Civil War Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lail Morris
I can not rate this book high enough.It is one that when you start reading it , you can't put it down. Please hurry and get the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Then Came Faith, Civil War Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
Gwen
A very good book,I enjoyed it very much.I can't wait for the sequel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Then Came Faith, Civil War Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2006
Customer Avatar
Janet Perez Eckles
The Story of Julianne and Andre in "And Then Came Faith" hooked me, drew me and captivated me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.