Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Study Bible, Larger Print

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Study Bible, Larger Print

The ESV Study Bible includes more than 20,000 notes, written specifically for the ESV Study Bible. These notes focus especially on understanding the meaning of the text, giving answers to frequently raised questions, and providing theological, historical, and archaeological background—all for the purpose of helping readers to understand the Bible in a deeper way.

The ESV Study Bible also provides a wealth of additional resources. Thus the introductions to each book include essential information about the author, date, and place of writing; an extensive chart of key themes; a summary of how the book fits in with the rest of the biblical storyline; a description of literary features; an outline of the book; and a large full-color map showing the setting of the book.

Another unique feature is the inclusion of over 50 helpful articles on topics such as the authority and truthfulness of the Bible, reading the Bible for application, the Bible in worship and prayer, the reliability of the biblical manuscripts, the relationship between archaeology and the Bible, an overview of biblical theology, and many more.

Other key resources include a system of 80,000 cross references and a concordance (which together facilitate easy location of important words, passages, and biblical themes). In addition, over 200 color charts, located throughout the Bible, provide clear, concise presentations of essential information.

View a complete list of editors, contributors, and articles.

Free—includes free access to the ESV Online Study Bible

Features

  • Set in highly readable 10.6-point type, in a single-column, book-text format, with 8.55-point double-column note.
  • Section summaries are highlighted for easy location throughout the notes. Summaries provide an overview of each main section and correspond to the outline shown in the introduction for each book.
  • Over 200 full-color maps printed throughout make events and places in the Bible come to life.
  • Over 25,000 notes focus especially on understanding the Bible text and providing answers to frequently raised issues. Words from the Bible text are printed in bold for easy reference.
  • Over 80,000 cross-references provide easy access to key words, passages, and themes throughout the Bible.
  • Numerous diagrams bring fresh understanding to key places and events in the Bible, based on the best, most recent historical and archaeological research.
  • Over 200 charts provide concise, "at a glance" summaries of important themes and teaching.
  • Presentation page
  • Family Record pages
  • Black letter text
  • Smyth-sewn binding
  • 11.25" x 8.25" x 2.25"
  • Free access to the ESV Online Study Bible
Average Customer Rating:
4.594 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
19 out of 2190%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print
Review 1 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the LARGER PRINT!

Date:September 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Growing in God Mom
Location:Arden, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love all the footnotes. It seems like there's a footnote for almost every verse, and the footnotes almost always answer my question. I'm losing my vision-- please pray for healing :-) -- so the LARGER PRINT is absolutely wonderful! GOD BLESS YOU!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Growing older and lossing some eye sight-

Date:September 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
JKH4Him
Location:AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I examined several Large print Bibles (yours was one of the largest type sets) The space set is fairly easy for me to track with has I study. Also I was beginning to think I would be giving up having study not etc.. But you really came through for me. Yes, this is not one of those Bibles you carry to church- It is big and somewhat heavy. But I use it at home everyday. Thank-you for listening to our needs.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lot of information

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
PEGLEG
Location:OXFORD PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read many translations but the E.S.V. study Bible is easy reading plus there is so much more information on each page. I can use the maps for better understanding and I like they are on the page i am reading, instead of looking at the back of Bible to find maps. I am now rereading the Bible again with the E.S.V. and learning so much more. I look forward to my nightly readings.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gerry
Location:Pine City, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great commentaries; makes for clear understanding. . .
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Product

Date:May 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
BOBANDHAM
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is what I expected. It has good notes and great Biblical insight. It certainly met my expectations. It did not get a 5 star review because it is not as sturdy as I expected, and the front pages do tend to wrinkle. I like the product and would recommend it to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Notes too small

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
tnpopeye
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had hoped that the "note" or reference section would be larger print. I cannot read the informative notes.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Diana
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wanted a new version of the Bible to read through from start to finish again and had been referring to ESV online so knew I'd like the version. The charts and maps interspersed throughout are a big help as are the notes. As the dimensions will tell you, this is a very big Bible. Not one you're going to want to lug around to church or Bible studies unless you're the Jolly Green Giant. The print is larger but I could use even larger print. My biggest concern is the thinness of the pages and how they're going to hold up. I've owned a lot of Bibles over the years and none have pages this thin. I assume the publishers didn't want it to be any larger in size than necessary but it's so big already I'd rather have more substantial pages in it. It wouldn't make that much difference in size. But the reason I bought it was for the content. And I could never do anything but praise and be thankful for the truth of the Word of God and the freedom we have to read and study it.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ESV Study Large Print Bibble

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bren
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I previously purchased the ESV regular print bible and gave it to a family member. I missed it so much, I had to repurchase it for myself, but this time in the large print.
I really love this bible as it is so detailed more so than the other versions I have, and trust me, I have almost every translation there is.......laughing.
It is very weighted, which is the only drawback, which is why when I'm studying I tend to be at a desk so that I do not have to hold it. Other than that, it is truly my favorite bible
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This bible is very large.

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
suzy
Location:Phila. PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I do enjoy the ESV version of the bible and love the large print but the size is difficult. I hope that is would come in a soft cover for easier handling,
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
snoopy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this item for my husband for Christmas. He absolutely loves it. So nice to have the large print and study bible. It's pretty big and heavy but he wanted one to keep at his desk and study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible is an excellent teaching tool

Date:December 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tony
Location:Wollongong, Australia
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I teach Biblical theology at a high, lay-level, and require up to date authoritative interpretive guidance. This version and product deliver. The large print is necessary for easy reading to an audience.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

The commentary part is very biased

Date:July 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Huntingtown Church Of Christ
Location:Maryland
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The commentators inserted their own beliefs and did not stick to what God had written
-14points
6of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow!

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
S Hills
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thank you to ALL the people who worked so hard and gave their lives to give us the English Standard Version. Wow! I use this with the New King James Version and the King James Version (for Strong's Concordance/Hebrew & Greek tools).
Yes it's large and a great work. I can actually read the print!
Again, thank you to all who have with integrity produced the English Standard Version.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the Commentary & Cross References

Date:May 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:Hampton, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Large Print Bible is big and weighty but an excellent home study Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Too big and heavy

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Roch
Location:Washington
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If the description had indicated that this book weighs over
5 pounds, I would never have ordered it. The large print may be helpful for poor eyes, but the size and weight are not for someone with arthritic hands. I returned this book.
It seems that the previous reviews did not distinguish between the study bible and the regular bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible for a great price!

Date:May 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The print is comfortable enough that I can read it on my lap. Considering the size of the original Bible, they did an awesome job make it in a larger print.
Nice middle of the road notes. Great overview of doctrine for anyone--new to the faith or walking with our Savior for years.
This is a fantastic Bible!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product really has great features

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
broehr
Location:Almond Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
The bible is a great value and is loaded with notes that are useful for theological study, not the fluff some study bibles come with, the notes are concise and very useful.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very pleased with my ESV large print Study Bible

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Roger
Location:Zeeland , Mi.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I especially appreciate the ESV 's commitment to accuracy when translating the Hebrew and Greek text. The English text is readable , memorable and accurate. All qualities that I value and expect in a Bible translation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an excellent Bible

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
omaralex
Location:Orlando, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The resources which are included in this bible are really great. I would highly recommend it to anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
bompatasefa
Location:va
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a good product but there is more room for improvement.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>