Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Master Books Adams Chronological Chart or Map of History Foldout

Master Books Adams Chronological Chart or Map of History Foldout

Based on Ussher's The Annals of the World and featuring colorful artwork representing people and events from creation to the late 19th century, this vintage biblical and historical timeline was originally published in 1871. Post it on your walls and let it inform your kids' imaginations as they learn. Features 21 foldout 13" x 28" panels.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adams Chronological Chart or Map of History Foldout
Review 1 for Adams Chronological Chart or Map of History Foldout
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anne English
Location:Madison, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is exactly what I've been looking for although it is larger than I imagined. There is a great timeline beginning with Creation and continuing through Biblical history coordinated with secular world history. It is nice that it is not a scroll but folded into book form. You can open the entire chart at once or just look page by page.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adams Chronological Chart or Map of History Foldout
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If you are a teacher in a Church. This is a must!

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kelly Forrester
Location:Chesapeake, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are a teacher in a Church, this is a must have for your personal library. I have teached SS/Discipleship classes for over 25 years, and this chart is a must have for showing where and when things happened in the Bible, and have a cross reference to world History.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adams Chronological Chart or Map of History Foldout
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This chart is very educational!

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Busy Bee
Location:Sabina, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The chart is very thorough and very interesting. I didn't want to put it away. It puts Biblical times into perspective with the rest of the world.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adams Chronological Chart or Map of History Foldout
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Timeline

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Declared Unto Him
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very colorful educational piece, fully equipped with detailed historical events, and it a shares a biblical timeline right from Creation. A perfect resource for home learning or for anyone looking for an accurate timeline of world history. A priceless resource to our home library!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adams Chronological Chart or Map of History Foldout
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Puts the puzzle of time into perspective

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rochelle
Location:Ballston Lake, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This timeline shows the most important points in history in a way that actually makes sense! Instead of mixing history from different parts of the world into one line, the lines are parallel to each other, so you can see what's going on in different parts of the world at the same time, yet retain the context and progression of each major culture's unique history. Only the first 100 years of U.S. history is shown, so this is clearly world history, however, the fact that U.S. history is just a smidgen of time compared to the rest of the world also enhances perspective.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adams Chronological Chart or Map of History Foldout
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Timeline I've Seen

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
PastorRob
Location:Painesville, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best historical time line that I have ever seen!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adams Chronological Chart or Map of History Foldout
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was actually quite surprised at how quickly I got the book, and how big and pretty it was. I bought it as a gift, got one for my dad and one for my homeschooling sister in law, they both loved it and poured over it for a long time while we celebrated Christmas.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adams Chronological Chart or Map of History Foldout
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A lot of information for a little price.

Date:December 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Phytz
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for a Christmas present for my father who is a minister. I saved this gift for him to open last. It was a good thing I did because he wanted to spend a lot of time with it after he opened it. Very educational.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adams Chronological Chart or Map of History Foldout
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus Book Club
"Adams' Chart of History" is a full-color timeline chart based on James Ussher's chronology. It's 28 inches tall and folds out nearly 23 feet. In the bound form, you can view the chart without unfolding it by turning the "pages" (the panels). The chart is printed on a heavy paper, so it holds up well to repeated use. You can also remove the chart from the binding or buy an unbound chart to put on a wall, like in a Sunday School room. The large panels are great for easy viewing on a wall, but they're a tad unwieldy when trying to view the chart when holding it. It helps to have a cleared table or bed to place it on.The timeline shows world history from a Biblical perspective, starting with Adam and Eve. It shows the rulers and major events for all the major world civilizations up to 1878 AD. There are illustrations of the various events (like the Tower of Babel) and commentary in the free spaces. In the free space below the beginning of the timeline, there's a world map of the eastern hemisphere and information about Stone Age artifacts, eminent historians throughout history, the Rosetta stone, and similar topics.There's a 64-page booklet packaged with the chart. It gave a key to the chart, though I'd already figured it out from a few minutes study of the chart. It also gave information about the author and summaries of the people and events on the timeline for each major world civilization.There's a very similar timeline published by Barnes and Nobles in 1995 titled "The Wall Chart of World History" by Edward Hull (ISBN 0-88029-239-3). It's smaller in size (15 panels that are each 12 inches wide x 17 5/8 inches high), so the text is smaller but it's also easy to hold and carry around. That chart ends in 1990 AD instead of 1878 AD.I'd recommend this chart to any Christian who enjoys seeing how the events in world history relate to each other and to teachers (church or homeschooling) for use in their classrooms.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adams Chronological Chart or Map of History Foldout
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Steve Reed
Based on the work of Archbishop James Ussher as well as other historically sound sources, this chart is simply stunning. You have to see it to believe it. Its scope is staggering. Starts with the creation of man and continues up to the year 1870. As the included booklet states, time is represented on a line drawn down the length of the chart, which, by the way, is huge. Over 8 feet long huge. I digress. Years are represented horizontally with events drawn above and below. The illustrations are excellent, and representative of the time period from which this book came.What floors me is how easily you get an instant overview of the people that lived at the same time. This is demonstrated in the family tree of Adam. Once I looked at it, I realized how many people detailed in the Bible lived synchronously with him. There were generations of people who learned about Gods incredible role in humanity directly from the man who brought sin and death into the world. Adam got to live and see the damage hed chosen for his posterity. Thats a heartbreaking moment. Migrations, inventions, empires and disasters are all right there in front of you to see how they laid themselves out in history and caused our present to come to be. For me, this turned out to be far more helpful than Id anticipated. It somehow put it all together for me in a way that took things from a fuzzy concept to a reality, because I didnt have to do the mental math anymore. Thats a huge step.As far as quality of materials and construction go, this chart is top-notch. The cover is nicely styled and heavy enough to keep the interior pages protected, and the fold out pages are heavy, well made and beautifully illustrated. This book will last a lifetime, which is how long youll want to keep it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adams Chronological Chart or Map of History Foldout
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susan Sinelnik
This book is wonderful for the serious history student. It allows you too see what was occuring all over the Western World at the same time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.