Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FaithWords Until We All Come Home: A Harrowing Journey, A Mother's Courage, A Race to Freedom

FaithWords Until We All Come Home: A Harrowing Journey, A Mother's Courage, A Race to Freedom

When Kim de Blecourt and her husband decided to adopt a child from Ukraine, they knew that the process might be challenging. Nothing, however, could have prepared de Blecourt for the twisted nightmare she would endure. During her year-long struggle to extricate her newly adopted little boy from that post-Soviet country's corrupt social service and judicial systems, de Blecourt was intimidated, physically assaulted, and arrested. Worse, her months of loneliness, worry, and fear drove her to the brink of spiritual despair. But God had no intention of abandoning de Blecourt or her family. Her amazing story-culminating in a spine-chilling race to freedom-offers dramatic proof that God's light shines on even in the deepest darkness.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Until We All Come Home: A Harrowing Journey, A Mother's Courage, A Race to Freedom
Review 1 for Until We All Come Home: A Harrowing Journey, A Mother's Courage, A Race to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a Thriller--God's Sized!

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Indio, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this book; it kept me on the edge of my seat, holding my breath, and hurting for Kim's struggle. This is a modern day Bible story that shows God's power and care for the hurting. My own faith grew to see how God strengthens us for all of life's challenges even when they are beyond our own ability to handle. I highly recommend this book. Even though I received my copy in a publisher give-away, my comments are my own and I enthusiastically say: "Read this book! You won't want to put it down!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Until We All Come Home: A Harrowing Journey, A Mother's Courage, A Race to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Could not put this book down

Date:July 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Millstreetreader
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
n recent years, I've read several international adoption stories. Each one was an emotional tale of anticipation, hope, setbacks, and love that grew so quickly and went so deep, that nothing could stop the determined parents, not even foreign governments. Until We All Come Home is another such story. From the time Kim de Blecourt and her husband decide to adopt to the day mom and new son Jake arrive in Michigan, it is over four years. The first years were spent finding an adoption agency, saving the necessary money, and preparing their young daughter. Kim was delighted when she found an agency that worked in the Ukraine partly because she had accompanied her church on a mission trip there years earlier. However, I doubt she had any idea just how difficult their new journey would be.
When Kim, her husband, daughter Jacey, and father-in-law arrived in the Ukraine in May 2009 they felt their hearts were ready to accept a new son, and they even felt they were prepared for the careful maneuvering necessary in a country that had an "on and off again" foreign adoption policy. They were not prepared for a single government official determined to stop their adoption at every turn.
Until We All Come Home tells the story of corruption and fear vs. the force of a mother's love and her ultimate trust in God. As weeks turn into months and still the final paperwork is denied, Kim's family returns to the United States, leaving her alone with young Sasha, whom they rename Jake. As the family's life savings is used up, church members and new friends help. A young Ukrainian woman Kim had met years earlier on that mission trip becomes her translator, alleviating some of their problems. But it seemed as soon as something helpful happened, a new and more devastating problem arose to take its place.
Reading this book as been described as being plunged into part spy story and part mother's diary. I cannot agree more. Descriptions of hiding behind closed doors and frequently moving to avoid being discovered are interspersed with memories of Sasha's first experiences on a playground and the first time he teases his sister. Just like the best thrillers I've read, Until We All Come Home demanded my full attention until I read the last word. For me, that meant staying up until 2:00 a.m. No sleep until I
knew the final answers, and now that I'm finished, I highly recommend the book.
I received a copy of this title from the publisher Faith Words for review purposes. All opinions are mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Until We All Come Home: A Harrowing Journey, A Mother's Courage, A Race to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Didn't want to do anything else but read this book

Date:December 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lelia
Location:Lincoln, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
When I got my hands on this book, I had to force myself to engage in my daily activities in my life. I didn't want to stop reading. From the first to the last page, Kim takes your attention captive. You cry with her, hurt with her and even laugh with her. My emotions jumped from relief to fear within paragraphs of each other.
Kim has a way of sharing her story that makes you not have a better understanding of the way God allows things to unfold in our lives, but rather possess a deeper desire for Him.
"Where are you, God? You got me here and you told me to be patient, and now...where are you?" This is a time when she released her anger at God and her situation for the first time. I love Kim's honesty and I believe that God does too.
This is a book you want to pass on to others to read, but then get it back so you can read it again. It's that amazing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Until We All Come Home: A Harrowing Journey, A Mother's Courage, A Race to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating and Inspiring

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
jsunne
Location:Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Until We All Come Home is a gripping account of the de Blecourt family's journey to bring their adopted son home from the Ukraine. The family's roller coaster experiences sorely tested their faith. And author Kim de Blecourt doesn't hesitate to share this struggle, as well as the Lord's steadfast presence, with her readers.
In her wonderful book, Kim writes with refreshing openness and honesty about the times she lost sight of God in the trials of adopting little Jake. Stuck in a post-Soviet society still reeling from the effects of communism, she was assaulted, ridiculed, and ultimately arrested. Yet she never gave up on her son just as God never abandoned her.
Over the long lonely months of isolation, raised expectations, and dashed hopes, Kim periodically questioned God's presence. These compelling scenes of her despair and God's faithfulness bring an incredibly inspiring aspect to the de Blecourt's adoption story.
Until We All Come Home is a book you'll be reading long into the night. It is a story of adoption. It is a story of trials and celebrations. It is a story of perseverance and faithfulness.
Ultimately, it is a story of God's love in action, and it is told by the de Blecourt's for His glory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Until We All Come Home: A Harrowing Journey, A Mother's Courage, A Race to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Poignant and Captivating

Date:December 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Valerie Garrett
“It was compassion that opened our hearts to adoption and it was love that made us stay, but it was God who brought us home.” - Kim de Blecourt
Each adoption story has its own challenges and joys, perhaps none more so than Until We All Come Home, uniquely wrought with stark and racking experiences as it recounts the powerful tale of the de Blecourt family’s adoption of their Ukrainian son. As the reader is drawn along with Kim de Blecourt for her year-long stay in the Ukraine, it’s difficult not to wonder just how much more one family can withstand. At each turn, however, the faithfulness of God is highlighted and lifted up. In essence, while Kim is the writer, Until We All Come Home is really God’s story of care for one orphan, one mother, one family, and the global network of people He placed around them to be His hands and feet when they were each most deeply in need.
Until We All Come Home is poignantly and captivatingly layered with fear and protection, need and provision, heart rending sadness and life altering joy. It is a fast-paced tale woven in such a way as to cause the reader to feel it a privilege to share in this very personal part of the de Blecourt family’s story.
Against the grey backdrop of Ukraine, God’s faithfulness shines. Until We All Come Home inspires the reader to resonate with Kim’s mother-heart, to treasure the orphan, and to delight in God’s care of His own. Pick it up; you’ll be glad you did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Until We All Come Home: A Harrowing Journey, A Mother's Courage, A Race to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Story of Never Give Up

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Location:Fredericton, NB
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This is the true account of one woman’s struggle to bring home to the USA the Ukrainian orphan she and her husband want to adopt.
Having fallen in love with little Sasha, the paperwork for his adoption goes horribly wrong when the Ukrainian government moves the goal posts. Where others would have given up, author Kim de Blecourt decides to stay and fight.
Almost single-handedly, she takes on a regime still creaking under the weight of former Soviet socialism. Through dogged endurance and her deep trust in God, she finally triumphs.
Woven into the pages of this book are encouraging little signs that the Ukraine is undergoing a transformation. She visits a new kids’ paradise called Pinocchio and a cool café. Austerity is melting and there is a chink hope for a brighter tomorrow for the whole country.
This is an exciting story of one woman and one little boy. Its message, however, is far-reaching for it confirms that the heart of the individual is stronger than a system that would eclipse the needs of the individual purely to sustain itself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Until We All Come Home: A Harrowing Journey, A Mother's Courage, A Race to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thrilling and inspiring read

Date:November 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stacy
Location:WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received an advance copy as part of her launch team. I was very curious to read it read it and I was captivated from the first page. It was hard to put down because the story was so intriguing. It was very suspenseful and eye opening.
I never would have guessed that anyone would ever have to go through such an ordeal to adopt a child. She writes it in such a way that the reader feels like she is right there, going through the ordeal with her. This is a real story of courage and perseverance!
It's also very inspiring because it reminds us of how much God loves us and how much He went through to adopt us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Until We All Come Home: A Harrowing Journey, A Mother's Courage, A Race to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

True story that reads like an action thriller

Date:October 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
jgumm
Location:Phoenix, Az
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Until We All Come Home" reads like an action-packed suspense novel but the knowledge that the story was lived out by Kim and her family makes this book astounding. Kim writes with honesty and emotion that will put you on the edge of your seat one moment and leave you feeling emotionally exhausted the next.
As an adoptive mom I am not naive to the complications and complexities of international adoption. But Kim's story is unlike any other. Her determination and courage in the fight to bring Jake home no matter the cost is inspiring. Her faith, and God's hand throughout her time in the Ukraine is a testimony to His love for the fatherless and us.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Until We All Come Home: A Harrowing Journey, A Mother's Courage, A Race to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A compelling fast-paced read.

Date:October 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
ValerieSGarrett
Location:Wayland, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
User submitted photo
“It was compassion that opened our hearts to adoption and it was love that made us stay, but it was God who brought us home.” - Kim de Blecourt
Each adoption story has its own challenges and joys, perhaps none more so than Until We All Come Home, uniquely wrought with stark and racking experiences as it recounts the powerful tale of the de Blecourt family’s adoption of their Ukrainian son. As the reader is drawn along with Kim de Blecourt for her year-long stay in the Ukraine, it’s difficult not to wonder just how much more one family can withstand. At each turn, however, the faithfulness of God is highlighted and lifted up. In essence, while Kim is the writer, Until We All Come Home is really God’s story of care for one orphan, one mother, one family, and the global network of people He placed around them to be His hands and feet when they were each most deeply in need.
Until We All Come Home is poignantly and captivatingly layered with fear and protection, need and provision, heart rending sadness and life altering joy. It is a fast-paced tale woven in such a way as to cause the reader to feel it a privilege to share in this very personal part of the de Blecourt family’s story.
Against the grey backdrop of Ukraine, God’s faithfulness shines. Until We All Come Home inspires the reader to resonate with Kim’s mother-heart, to treasure the orphan, and to delight in God’s care of His own. Pick it up; you’ll be glad you did.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.