Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Master Books Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs

Master Books Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs

Dragons are often key characters in myths and fairy tales, but were they ever real? To help you discover the truth behind their lives and legacy, this fascinating journey into the past tracks their presence through cultures in Asia, the Americas, and Europe---and reveals dragons' direct connections to the last living dinosaurs. Includes hands-on features. 24 pages, hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.655 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 2997%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs
Review 1 for Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book!

Date:May 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jess
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are lots of flaps and pull-outs in this book. Little ones should be supervised while reading it so nothing gets lost or damaged. This book is a fun resource and my kids loved pulling out the different packets of information. Beautiful pictures and high quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

unexpected excellence

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wendy Hoffman
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Much more wonderful than i thought it would be. Lots of neat extras. A museum in a book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
Location:ATOKA, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first glimpse of Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs was from the Master Books catalog/website. Second was on recommendation of finding it in the Veritas Press catalog. Third was in conversation with my sister when she said that this would be an excellent book for her oldest son. I just knew even before I got my hands on it that this was going to be something full of fascination. I am not disappointed and not surprised to find something so great from Master Books and New Leaf Publishing Group.
This is a special book and not one to leave out with the little ones. There are fragile bits with envelopes that open and present the letters they are hiding as well as lift-the-flap type doors and booklets. Your eyes will be treated to a feast with all the different shapes and textures on each page in addition to the fabulous illustrations of dragons, dinosaurs and similar lore. While this book is a juvenile non-fiction, I would aim at around six or older with a child that can know how important it is to be very careful with all the bits within to make it last for years to come. (My three year old can enjoy it, but I wouldn't leave her alone with it. She might get carried away and misplace a letter or internal document that is half the fun.)
Content ranges through out the book with many different topics. The size of the book makes looking maps or large pictures very attractive. From geography to archaeology the details are awesome. This book could be used to spark an interest or as a whole resource if you're not delving terribly deep into the history of dragons and dinosaurs. From full page double opening spreads to illustrations and artifact photography there is plenty to please your vision.
A dragon timeline provides very neat information that would make designing a spring board for jumping into fictional accounts easy. Learning about translations of accounts and even a page with dragon names in various languages is fun for the mind. I love now at my age, but I know my young-self would have loved this! Ending the book with a questions and answers page on dragons in the Bible is great and a wonderful way to leave it off.
I have yet to see anything that quite compares to this book. It is really incredible and you have to see it in person to really get the full effect.
*Thanks New Leaf Publishing for providing a copy for review.*
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impressive...

Date:September 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bday buyer
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gift for my son who loves dragon/dinosaur stuff.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I like the pictures

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heri
Location:Faroe Islands
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good to hear about legendes from different places
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
little mother
Location:Corona, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't say enough about the quality and content of this book. EXCELLENT!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lorne
Location:Richmond BC Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really bought this book for some young relatives and have not pursued it in depth myself but it looks great, very professional, lots of good features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is awesome

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brianna
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome book. It is PACKED with information. Both adults & children couldn't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dragons Galore

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
lesleighb
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the book for my 9 year old grandson. He loves the book and will probably do his next book report on it. I love the book. It's a wonderful dragon book and includes a Biblical perspective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Graphics are great!

Date:December 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
michelle
Location:Red Oak, Tx.
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the way this book was illustrated. I also like how it shows that the stories were very much the same all across the globe while still individual and not copied from one another. Much of the world today is so misled to believe a biased view by scientists who focus only on the information which would prove their point of view while burying any that would contradict it. I am thankful that this book is getting the message out that there is evidence to disprove evolution.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Christian Dino Book!

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the best dinosaur book for Christian kids! My kids love it so much that we bought a copy for friends who also love dinosaurs! It has some wonderful stories as well as fun pull out features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Engaging!

Date:June 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
kriswrite
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Among creationists (scientists and laymen who believe in a literal biblical account of creation) there is the thought that stories of dragons actually refer to real dinosaurs. That's what Bill Looney's Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs is all about.
In this interactive volume, kids explore what truth there might be behind old stories of dragons. First, the author introduces dragon legends from around the globe, including those from Greece, China, North America, the United Kingdom, and South America. Photographs of ancient art depicting creatures who can only be described as dinosaurs is also included. An attached mini book offers eyewitness accounts, including those from Marco Polo, John of Damascus, Alexander the Great, and the biblical book of Job. There is a two page spread on dragons in the Bible. (Did you know the King James version mentions them repeatedly - and not just in reference to Satan?) The authors even speculate on how dinosaurs fit in with Noah's ark. Another section deals with famous dragon slayers, including St. George and St. Margaret of Antioch. Toward the end of the book, the author questions whether accounts of such creatures as the Loch Ness Monster could really be stories of living dinosaurs.
What I Like: There are lift the flaps, attached envelopes with papers inside, attached mini books, and other interactive features all over this book, making it perfect for reluctant readers. The topic is also fascinating - even for adults. All in all, this is a beautifully put together book with engaging and often colorful illustrations and photographs.
What I Dislike: There are some delicate features in this volume. For example, it was tough for me to open the attached envelopes without tearing them. And the papers inside? I can see how they might easily get lost.
Overall Rating: Very good.
Kristina Seleshanko, Christian Children's Book Review
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wish I'd had this as a child

Date:June 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs" is a juvenile nonfiction book about the ancient eyewitness accounts of dragons and how their descriptions match those of dinosaurs. The book is illustrated with full-color pictures--mainly of dragons and dinosaurs--and contains information in pull-out cards, fold-out pages, attached booklets, and more. Kids will enjoy the interactive nature of this book, but the removable parts could potentially be lost if the reader forgot to return them to their envelope on the page.
The book covered topics like the various dragon legends from cultures around the world, preserved eyewitness accounts about dragons, the connection between dragons and dinosaurs, dragons in the Bible, sea-serpent legends, and answers to several Christian questions about dragons (like when were dragons created, what did they originally eat, etc.).
As a child, I loved dragons but wasn't even interested in dinosaurs. If only I'd known the connection between them! I'd highly recommend this Christian book to children (and adults) who are interested in dragons and/or dinosaurs.
I received this book as a review copy from the publisher.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kristenph
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone knows that dinosaurs lived millions of years before humans, right?
If humans and dinosaurs had lived at the same time there should be some evidence and there isn't...or is there?
What exactly are dragons?
Are they a mythical creature that never really existed? Or could they be (or have been) real?
Dragons - Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs published by Master Books, seeks to answer these questions. This book describes various dragon legends from around the world and historical eyewitness accounts. It also shows where dragons are mentioned in the Bible as well as in several Biblical commentaries.
From that description alone, I would be interested in reading this book, but I haven't mentioned the best part.
The sturdy, over-sized book is filled with flaps to open, envelopes containing removable documents, and miniature books. It is completely irresistible for a child! (I highly recommend keeping it out of young children's reach for that reason. You're not going to want this book damaged.) The illustrations are beautiful, and the text is full of interesting facts about both dragons and dinosaurs.
It is a fantastic resource and I highly recommend purchasing it for your home library.
Disclosure: I received a copy of Dragons - Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs to review. I was not compensated for this post. All opinions expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angel
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs is a gorgeous hardcover book. It contains lots of pockets to explore, fold out poster sized pages, and stunning drawings. My son, and even my husband were captivated by the book, as well as friends who saw it on the coffee table when they came to visit.
I love that it approached the mystery of dragons and dinosaurs in a Biblical way, dispelling the myth of evolution. Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs tells us that the stories of dragons are actually true, and that dragons and dinosaurs are one and the same.
I was disappointed by the amount of information contained in it though. It felt like I was reading the same thing over and over, and didn't learn anything new. I know that I am extremely picky with books, but this did not earn a place on our shelves.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from the New Leaf Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. My thoughts and opinions are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for kids and discussions

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
SFaith
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs" by Bill Looney is a hard to put down book with a little bit of everything for both the older kids and the younger kids. Looking into the many stories in mythology and world cultures about dragons, both younger and older children will be fascinated in learning about the common theme of "dragons" that have permeated in all cultures stories.
Filled with beautiful illustrations, interactive, hand's on facts that for little kids, encourages them to be hands on in the book, and for the older kids, a look into both historical facts and fables,"Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs" by Bill Looney, was a book that was most requested and on demand for everyone to gather together and go through.
The family will enjoy dispelling the myths from fact and filled with scriptural references to large beasts that could only be that of dinosaurs, this will guarantee to create insightful discussions with the kids.
The book is a hardy hardcover (helpful with young hands) and yet, not belittling for older kids, who would enjoy going through and learning about rather dragons and dinosaurs are one and the same and why.
Surprisingly for the younger kids, although the information is rather detailed, just from the illustrations, familiar scriptures, parents will be surprised how their attention are not only held but drawn to the book, but then again, who doesn't like dinosaurs and with,"Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs", parents can help kids learn more about how dragons may not be so mythical after all.
A great addition for creationist studies of dinosaurs,"Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs", is a great addition for the household.
There really isn't any drawbacks to the book and the author does an excellent job of sharing from a biblical basis, with interactive mini-flaps and side stories, a look into,"Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs".
**This was a complimentary copy from New Leaf Publishing, in exchange, for my honest opinion and review of this book and has not been edited by anyone."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Dragons! For all ages.

Date:May 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Maverick Hampton
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Who wouldn’t love a book about Dragons. Upon receiving it I couldn’t get for a few days, because my children would not let me have it. This book is full of little pockets, flaps, attached booklets, a big centerfold of a dinosaur; and windows of pictures. It is very engaging for the 5-years old and up. The art work was a bit to be desire. But aside from that.
It is biblically sound. It comes from a creationist worldview. This book would be a great supplement for science; and if you are homeschooler, this could be a great unit study. I think this book is intended to be read by an elementary audience but because of the advanced vocabulary you will definitely need to read it to your children. I had my younger one coming back to me asking me to read her this book.
For us adults it is an entertaining read. It could be a wonderful addition to your church or local public library.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from the New Leaf Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. My thoughts and opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great gift book for tweens/teens!

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
STheis
Location:Central Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since we have started reading the DragonKeeper Chronicles by Donita K. Paul, my children have become dragon lovers. They are always talking about dragons--this trait or that trait. Their exposure to dragon lore has been limited up to this point to fiction, so when I saw this book and had the opportunity to review it, they were all saying "Yes! Please get it!"
This book is where legend breaks out of modern fiction novels and explodes throughout history, digging to separate fact from fiction. Could dragons have really existed? One interesting point is brought up immediately: cultures all over the world have dragon legends from their history. How did this come to be?
The pages of the book begin by looking at common elements of dragon lore. The authors say, "taking the supernatural elements out and sticking to clearly defined accounts and historical records, there is a logical explanation for the worldwide prevalence of dragon legends." What are dragons and how could they possibly have existed? Well, I don't want to spoil the story for you, but maybe the full title of the book has already given it away.
Beautifully illustrated, and interactive, this book is engaging and inviting. There are envelopes with papers to pull out and read, mini pop-up type books, fold-out pages with more information (did you know that "dragons" appear 22 times in the Old Testament in the King James Version of the Bible? You'll want to have your favorite translation on hand to compare!). It is as fun as a children's book, but it is not a children's book! The text is at a reading level that will challenge your tween/young teen. It is built on documented facts and well-written. Research is compiled in a collective order, but is not watered-down. Your child can read this book again and again, digesting and learning more each time. The book makes an excellent gift for a child who will respect and take care of it. (Hint: it needs to be kept out of reach of my 4 year old and 2 year old, who will simply rip things open, lose parts, etc.)
Perhaps this book demystifies dragons a little bit. Does that take the fun out of reading dragon stories? Nah. I think it is incredibly interesting to read dragon legends from around the world, and this book introduces and puts names to them for further research. Secondly, it is also interesting to connect dragons to dinosaurs and explore from there. One of my favorite pictures in the book is on the last page: a dragon, with a castle in the background, is peering into a still pond of water. His reflection looking back is simply a T-Rex. Sweet!
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from the New Leaf Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. My thoughts and opinions are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book Review - Dragons: Legends And Lore Of Dinosau

Date:April 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeff Randleman
Location:Mountain View, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Legends of dragons have always fascinated me. As a kid, I read dozens of books about dragons, some fictional, others reportedly true. And I loved every word.
My passion for early earth history, as recorded in Genesis, has lead me to many stories and reports of man encountering these incredible creatures. This makes sense from a young earth point of view, because God created most of the dinosaurs on Day Six, along with the rest of the land animals. Of course, aquatic dinosaurs would have been created on Day Five...
But the word “dinosaur” wasn’t coined until 1841 by Sir Richard Owen. What were these creatures called before the word dinosaur was invented?
Dragons.
Master Books has put together an incredible summary of dragons in many different cultures around the world, called Dragons: Legends and Lore of Dinosaurs. Piecing together eyewitness accounts and multi-cultural stories, along with many other evidences, they’ve created an extremely interesting account.
Dragons are found in dozens of cultures around the world. They are mentioned in many ancient texts, including more than two dozen references in the Bible alone.
Along with this evidence, there are many archaeological finds that have dragons depicted on them.
How did so many diverse societies develop such similar creatures. Mythology isn’t enough of an answer. There had to be something more. That these people saw such creatures is the only possible explanation.
I’ve read much of the information and stories presented in Dragons: Legends and Lore of Dinosaurs before. However, there were a few places where I read something new.
Dragons: Legends and Lore of Dinosaurs kept me fascinated the entire time I perused it. It will make an excellent resource to keep on my shelf with the rest of my creation materials.
This book is incredibly interesting. I suggest you read it today!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful for Kids & Adults

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
RollTideGirl
Location:Alabama
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is great for children of all ages yet written well enough that even adults will enjoy it too. I've actually read this book without the kids several times. It contains beautifully illustrated pictures, mini-booklets, lift the flaps, accounts of well-known dragon slayers, pockets of facts and much more. This book contains factual collections that show evidence that dragons were not only very real but quite similar to the animals we know as dinosaurs. One thing I really liked about this book is how it shows that not only are dinosaurs and dragons mentioned throughout the history of the world but they are both recorded in the Bible as well which can only mean that they not just mystical creature but were real creatures that physically lived on the earth just like the dinosaurs did.One of our kids favorite pages was the "Legends from around the Globe" which contained envelopes representing different countries throughout the world. Inside each envelope, is a dragon legend from that particular country of the world. Dragon legends are compelling in their sheer number and similarities across the globe making them seem more than just imagination or fiction. The kids loved reading the different stories and seeing that people wrote about their encounters with dragons in cultures all throughout the world and how today these stories survive as legends. The most compelling part of the book for our family was the Biblical evidence for dinosaurs and dragons. It begins with the early Biblical story of sin and Satan and then goes into the exact Hebrew and Greek texts of the words used in the Bible that translate to the word "dragon". The kids loved discovering the places in the Bible where dragons are mentioned (Jeremiah 51:34, Deuteronomy 32:33, Nehemiah 2:13 & "Leviathan" in Job). It also taught them neat dinosaur facts like dinosaurs were originally vegetarians (Genesis 1:30) and that the largest dinosaur egg ever found so far was just a little larger than a football!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>