Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Master Books Passport to the World: Your A to Z Guided Tour

Master Books Passport to the World: Your A to Z Guided Tour

Travel the world, and learn some common phrases along the way! Each country's two-page spread features the words for hello, goodbye, thank you, & peace, fast facts about the country, money images, a proverb, pictures of both modern & traditional dress, interesting facts, and a geographic picture. Twenty-six languages are covered, including Armenian, French, English, Cherokee, Dutch, Turkish, Hebrew, Yoruba, Oriya, Zulu, Mandarin, Ukrainian, and more. Written from a Christian perspective, the introduction explains how language differences developed from the Tower of Babel, and the note from each country comments on the religious makeup of the country. As students move through the book, they can fill in the included "passport" with the passport stickers in the back of the book. 64 pages, hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Passport to the World: Your A to Z Guided Tour
Review 1 for Passport to the World: Your A to Z Guided Tour
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Engaging Language-Based Journey

Date:March 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Passport to the World is a unique journey around the world based on languages. Opening with an account of the tower of Babel where the world's one and only language was split into a wide variety of language families, the book then goes on to cover one language and a focus country for each letter of the alphabet.
There is a map-based table of contents in the front identifying all of the included languages and focus country names with page numbers. English is assigned to Australia, Cherokee to the United States, Welsh to the United Kingdom, Xhosa to South Africa, and so on. Clearly, the assigned country isn't the only place these languages are spoken, nor is it the only language spoken in that country, but again, the focus is on language groups and not as much on geographic divisions.
If you'd like a list (and can't guess from the flags on the front cover – don't worry, I don't know them all either!) we have:
Armenian in Armenia, Bengali in Bangladesh, Cherokee in the United States of America, Dutch in the Netherlands, English in Australia, French in France, German in Germany, Hebrew in Israel, Icelandic in Iceland, Japanese in Japan, Korean in South Korea, Lithuanian in Lithuania, Mandarin in China, Norwegian in Norway, Oriya in India, Pashto in Afghanistan, Quechua in Bolivia, Russian in Russia, Spanish in Mexico, Turkish in Turkey, Ukrainian in Ukraine, Vietnamese in Vietnam, Welsh in the United Kingdom, Xhosa in South Africa, Yoruba in Nigeria, and Zulu in Swaziland.
The inside cover of the book includes a 'real' passport book that your child places a sticker of a passport stamp in once she has made a visit to each country (stickers at the back of the book). She can date the stamp with the date she read each country's entry.
Each language is given a two-page spread featuring the demographic facts of the country it is being associated with in the book. A colourful picture a child (or children) from today who speak the language is included beside a map of the country, an image of its flag and other photographs of interest (a special favorite here is the picture of someone in traditional or historical costume). Facts on currency, special foods, interesting facts about the language, other languages in the country, geography tidbits, etc. Are also given on each spread. My children's favorite parts were always the 'Speaking' section where the same four words were given along with a pronunciation guide: hello, goodbye, thank you, and peace and the part of the page where a proverb originating from the culture was given.
The back of the book comes with “Country Facts at a Glance” section, giving demographics for population, life expectancy, literacy, square miles, internet users, and monetary unit for each country for each comparison. It also includes two quiz pages for practicing the names of the flags of all the countries and identifying them based on their shapes. A page of resources for learning about and caring for children in other countries around the world is also included at the end of the book.
We've used this book as a free exploration resource in our homeschool, just having it available for the children to enjoy (and oh, they have enjoyed it!) The pictures of other children their ages, the exotic languages and foods, the different types of money, it's all been so engaging and intriguing. The glossy, visual appeal of each country's two page section has really drawn them in.
My oldest daughter has loved this book! I think the key that has really kept my oldest coming back for more as she moved through the book is the passport and stickers. I only wish I could buy additional stickers and passports for it for her younger siblings. While she was reading through it, she would approach me on a daily basis to try out her new vocabulary words, show me pictures of the children, and tell me about what she was learning.
Passport to the Word has been a lovely, language-centred jaunt around the world that focuses not as much on a unifying theme as it does on a unifying format.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Passport to the World: Your A to Z Guided Tour
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Author Amanda Beth
Location:MI
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 10 yr old daughter loves this book. She's been keeping a journal of everything she learns from each country. She especially loves the passport. I'll probably buy another copy for each of my kids just for the passports. The pages are colorful and easy to read. My daughter enjoys learning about the different currencies and languages. I highly recommend this book!
Amanda Beth - author of "You Can Have a Happy Family - Steps to Enjoying Your Marriage and Children"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Passport to the World: Your A to Z Guided Tour
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Let the Journey Begin!

Date:January 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lynda Ackert
Location:Littleton, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a new book to spark adventurous learning, Passport to the World can open the door to many exciting new cross-curricular journeys.
What type of cross-curricular journeys can you create? Lessons in History, Geography, Math, Language Arts, Music, Science and even cooking can all stem from Passport to the World.
It begins at the beginning, the beginning of the dispersal of people upon the earth - at the Tower of Babel. God created multiple languages to confuse the people and they dispersed and began to cover the world, living in vastly different places and speaking different languages.
From there, the book will take you on a journey (A to Z) through 26 different destinations throughout the world and chosen by the language that is spoken. From Armenian to the Zulu language, children and students will learn how to say hello, goodbye, thank you and peace in 26 different languages!
At each stop along the way, you'll find interesting facts about each country in which a particular language is spoken. Photos of currency, traditional and current dress, food items and more fill the pages alongside many different facts about each destination. There's even a passport with visa stamps included for the journey!
As an experienced public school educator and a veteran homeschooler, I give Craig Froman's new book 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Passport to the World: Your A to Z Guided Tour
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Travel the world with your children ...

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
April E
Location:KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Passport To The World takes children on a journey through 26 different languages and the countries they're associated with. The book even has its own passport inside the front cover so you can add a passport stamp as you study each language. (Stickers provided at the back of the book.) The passport has a proverb from each language group so you know right where to place the sticker, and learn another tidbit about that culture. There are additional boxes in the back of the passport, which can hold future stamps as your family studies additional countries not covered in this book.
Each letter of the alphabet covers a different language, the country it belongs to, the fast facts about that country, 4 key words in that language, photos of the country and its culture, and several trivia facts about the country or language. The fast facts about each country include its population, size, literacy rate, monetary unit, life expectancy rate, and a map of its location. With that information and the cultural photos included with each country, the children can travel the world in their imagination.
Passport To The World is a colorful book with quality photographs and maps to help our children learn about 26 different countries and languages. They may never actually travel to India and hear the Oriya language, but they can still learn about India and its culture. Each country's traditional folk dress is pictured, along with a person wearing modern clothing, so children can understand that they won't see wooden shoes on the feet of every child in Amsterdam.
My children greatly enjoyed Passport To The World. We left it laying on the coffee table, and I frequently found children flipping through its pages. "Hey, did you know ...?" punctuated the family conversations as children shared facts that they had read. Passport To The World lends itself well to a structured study, as well as a more casual learning experience. Elementary students could use it to cover one country a week, supplementing it with books about the country, its culture, and its folk tales.
Passport To The World is a valuable resource for Christian families and homeschools. Though it is written for children in the 9-12 age-group, all of my children enjoyed it. My 15 year old read it, my 7 year old read portions of it, and my 4 year old flipped through the pages, asking questions as she went. We give this book a Seal of Approval!
(This book was provided free for review purpose, and no other compensation was given. This is my honest opinion.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Passport to the World: Your A to Z Guided Tour
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book for Homeschool Geography

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mountaineer Country
Location:West Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are having so much fun using this book as part of our geography lessons.
This book is a systematic introduction to 26 different counties, languages, and customs.
Each brightly colored two-page spread introduces the language spoken, the outline map of the country with surrounding countries, the flag, facts about the country, a child from the country explaining common customs, a picture of the money from the country, and translations of the words hello, goodbye, thank you, and peace. Even though the reading level of this book is suggested for older elementary aged children, I think much younger children would also be interested in this book as a read aloud.
There is a passport included with sticker "stamps" for each country that you "visit". In the back of the book, you will find unlabeled outline maps of the different countries and unlabeled flag pictures.
The way we have been using this book:
I have my daughter read about one country at a time. She looks at the map of the country and the surrounding countries. She also looks at the flag. I have my daughter put a small star sticker on the particular country on the map on the wall. We discuss any pertinent map information together. I then have my daughter read the information on the two pages. We discuss the information and the pictures. Then, we flip to the back of the book together and she locates the country she just read about. At this point, I have her identify the surrounding countries on the unlabeled map. I then have her identify the country's flag on the unlabeled flag page. Finally, I quickly quiz her on one or two prior countries and flags. This whole lesson takes about 15 minutes.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Passport to the World: Your A to Z Guided Tour
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angel
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family received Passport to the World by Craig Froman to review from New Leaf Publishing Group.
We really enjoyed it. My two boys, ages 6 and 10 thought this book was great! It was a helpful geography resource that was a lot of fun for them to go through. We did 1 letter per day, and ended each lesson by making the flag from the country listed.
I loved that it was set up with one language for each letter of the alphabet. It helped to include my 2 year old who was reviewing the alphabet in the lessons. I was pleasantly surprised in the introduction when it said 4000 years ago we all spoke the same language, instead of a million years ago... I was even more pleased to see that Genesis and Revelation were quoted in the introduction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Passport to the World: Your A to Z Guided Tour
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for homeschool, library, or gifting!

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
STheis
Location:Central Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book has a great layout and interesting format that will easily capture kids' attention. This will not be a book that you would need to "assign" to a child to read--I'm almost certain that the child would want to pick it up and read on their own. The layout includes a consistency of information provided from language to language that allows it to be easily adapted to lessons or any other type of use in your school or homeschool. The consistent format allows the teacher to easily develop resources for review. The layout engages readers' attention and keeps them turning pages. My favorite features were the "Do You Know" section and the "Country Fast Facts" section (because I'm a numbers person). The photography is excellent and the colors are well-chosen. I highly recommend this for your school library, personal library, and/or homeschool. The book also includes a "passport" and stickers in the back to be added to the passport as each language is completed. This feature makes the book a very nice gift book to give to a child.
The book is organized by language not by country. This could be a confusing point if you weren't prepared for it. However the title does say "Your A to Z Guided Language Tour". :) The beginning of the book includes a 2-page spread with the "History of Languages" which includes the story of the Tower of Babel from Genesis 11. Aside from this 2-page spread, I find references to religion to be historical in context and no more than you would expect in a "secular" book. At the end of the book is a page titled "Breaking the Language Barrier." I wish this page had been included in the free .pdf. It is a short description of 10 different organizations where you can help and quotes James 1:27. Some organizations listed are www.achildshopefund.org, www.unicef.org, www.thewaterproject.org, www.compassion.com, and www.worldvision.org.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from New Leaf Publishing Group. I was not required to write a favorable review. My thoughts and opinions are my own. Thank you for the opportunity to share this with you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Passport to the World: Your A to Z Guided Tour
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grab your Passport and Explore 26 Countries!

Date:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sarah A.
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“So the LORD scattered them from there over all the earth, and they stopped building the city. That is why it was called Babel — because there the LORD confused the language of the whole world. From there the LORD scattered them over the face of the whole earth.” Genesis 11:8-9
Passport to the World: Your A to Z Guided Language Tour by Craig Froman
Get ready for your little ones to travel the world… well at least learn about 26 different countries! In what is sure to be a classic, Craig Froman takes us on a guided tour to 26 countries in which we learn 26 different languages (from Armenian to Zulu). Children will learn about different ethnic groups, their cultures and customs and have fun at the same time! With a passport on the inside cover, your child will truly feel like they have traveled to some far away land and have a sticker for their passport to prove it!
In each “country”, your child will learn the following…
1. Language (sometimes the primary tongue, sometimes not)
2. Fast Facts (i.e. flag, population, location, size)
3. Welcome Note (a note from a friend about the country)
4. Speaking the Language (learn how to say four words)
5. Money (see images of the currency used)
6. Proverb (a common saying from the nation)
7. Traditional Picture (of traditional style clothing)
8. Did You Know? (interesting facts)
9. Geographic Picture (landmark picture)
10. Current Picture (depicting current style)
This is a great starter book for children to begin to look beyond their own culture and learn about the vast world God has created! This is by no means an in depth study of the individual countries, but will definitely wet the appetite of young one’s minds! A potential great tool for the home schooling family!
Overall, I would give this book a 4 out of 5 stars.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher, New Leaf Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Passport to the World: Your A to Z Guided Tour
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
SimpleLittleHome
Location:NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this book has been put together exceptionally well and I can assure you that it will have a spot on the bookshelf in this homeschooling family's home for many, many years.
To start, the cover is bright, engaging and and you immediately have an idea about the subject matter of the book. One of my (many) pet peeves in regards to educational children's books is when a child cannot tell just by looking at the book what it's about. Children are very visual, so I feel that this is an important - and too often overlooked - aspect of book design and publishing.
The first thing you see when you open the cover is a little pocket inside that holds a 'passport' for your child. What a truly original concept! Even my 3 year old was excited to learn about the different countries and languages so that he could place the sticker 'stamp' for each location on the pages of his very own passport. I was so impressed by not only the idea, but the execution of it.
Now, a look at the inside pages. Again, I was very impressed by the execution. Very engaging, very fun. I hate to see a book meant for elementary aged children that is laid out like a Dictionary. Those tend to be boring and children lose interest far too quickly - such is not the case with this book. The pages are colorful, full of fun pictures and are really just about as interactive as you could want in a book. I particularly loved the local proverbs on the visa picture in each spread.
Each language - and the primary country where spoken - has a 2 page spread which covers Country Fast Facts (Population, Life Expectancy, Literacy Rate, Internet Users, Internet Code, Monetary Unit, Square Mileage and a comparison to a similar sized U.S. State), A 'Letter' from a child which speaks the featured language which includes sample language phrases (the same phrases for all languages - Hello, Goodbye, Thank You and Peace), a picture of the local currency, their most common food items, a local proverb, landscape photos, a photo of traditional dress, and some interesting trivia in regards to the language and country being represented.
At the end of the book you will find a ages for important facts, name that flag and name that country. I felt that this was a nice reference addition to the book and should prove to be useful to my children in the future. It was also a very nice way to wrap up the book.
All in all, stellar book. I highly recommend this book - and anything else in the future from Craig Froman. Go buy it and I promise you will not be disappointed.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher, New Leaf Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Passport to the World: Your A to Z Guided Tour
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Passport to the World!

Date:December 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa K
Location:Ctrl, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even as a little girl I have enjoyed looking at maps and studying other cultures. It's no wonder that Passport to the World caught my eye. It's an informative, enjoyable read filled with geography facts and wonderful pictures of 26 language groups from Armenian (Armenia) to Zulu (Swaziland)
Each two-page spread is broken down into facts about the language, country, country fast facts, greeting from a friend, speaking the language, money, country proverb, traditional picture, "Did you know?", geographic picture, current picture and images that are specific to that country (Or as I call it, the fun icing on the cake!).
At the beginning of the book, an overview map is shown with with the languages represented highlighted and pages numbers for your reference along with your very own Passport to be filled with the supplied country stickers as you complete each country.
Next is a very well written history of languages from the Tower of Babel to the present day.
This really is a beautifully done book. My school aged children are 12, 9 and 7 years of age. Each one of them enjoyed this book and picked up many interesting tid-bits along the way. We especially enjoyed learning about places that have biblical significance (Mt. Ararat in Armenia, Cappadocia in Turkey for example) and learning how to say phrases in many different languages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Passport to the World: Your A to Z Guided Tour
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kristenph
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kids, especially the younger ones, are geography nuts. And though I consider myself to be fairly knowledgeable about geography, their interest is mainly because of my husband. His enthusiasm for the subject is contagious!
When I saw Passport to the World as a book available to review from New Leaf Publishing Group, I knew it would be a great book for my kids. I was definitely not disappointed!
Passport to the World is unique in its focus on the spoken languages. The book is arranged alphabetically with one language representing each of the 26 letters of the alphabet.
For each language featured there are:
* Full-color 2-page spreads
* A small map of the country where the language is spoken and chart of vital statistics
* How to say Hello, Goodbye, Thank you, and Peace
* Interesting facts
* Photos of people and places
Also included are a removable “passport” in the front of the book with stickers to be used as each language/country is “visited”. The book is written from a Biblical world view, beginning with the history of language at the Tower of Babel, and ending with suggested websites that provide assistance to needy children around the world.
This is a great book to use as a springboard for other study or to read alone. I can’t tell you how my kids like it because once I saw it, I decided to wrap it up for them. Shhh…
Disclosure: I received this book for free as a member of the Book Reviewers for New Leaf Publishing Group. I was not compensated for this review. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Passport to the World: Your A to Z Guided Tour
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a fun book!

Date:December 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
brandycormier
Location:Wyoming
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Passport to the World is a book that will whisk your lil’ ones across the globe, learning about new languages and cultures. Don’t let the age group for this book scare you away from getting it for your younger ones. It’s listed in the 9-12 age group, but Gabriella understood everything perfectly fine and LOVED this book.
In fact, a review in her own words: “I thought it was wonderful. Very good. I liked and loved it a lot. It told about people all around the world. I will definitely read it again!”
Flipping through this book this morning, I found a couple of nit-picky things:
I don’t know about in other copies, but in our copy, when you look at Mexico, it doesn’t give the life expectancy in years. It gives some other weird number that has nothing to do with anything else written for Mexico. If you flip to the back of the book, though, you can see what Mexico’s average life expectancy is.
I didn’t really like how they highlighted Cherokee for the United States. No, let me correct myself. I LOVED that they highlighted the Cherokee language for the United States. I just wish more of the facts were connected to the Cherokee themselves and not the United States as a whole. But that’s just how Jason and I felt.
Overall, though, this is a pretty good book that I’m glad to have in our library. Gives a nice overview of several languages and cultures with lots of interesting pictures. Thumbs up, for sure.
{I was given a copy of Passport to the World, free of charge, from New Leaf Publishers in exchange for my honest review}
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.