Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Master Books For You They Signed: The Spiritual Heritage of Those Who Shaped Our Nation

Master Books For You They Signed: The Spiritual Heritage of Those Who Shaped Our Nation

Can you identify all the men who signed the Declaration of Independence? They were men who risked everything to bring our modern United States of America into being, yet we've largely forgotten their names, states, and their lives. For You They Signed features the stories of the 56 signers-perfect for a year's worth of week-long studies as a family devotion or independent study. Each entry features an original illustration, sidebar with quick statistics, close-up of their signature, quotes timeline, chapter text on their lives, and questions for discussion. A family activity guide Companion Book is available at the publisher's website with the included use word (under "Suggestions for Using This Book"). 342 pages, hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for For You They Signed: The Spiritual Heritage of Those Who Shaped Our Nation
Review 1 for For You They Signed: The Spiritual Heritage of Those Who Shaped Our Nation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book on the history!

Date:November 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
gjoyellis
Location:Sylva, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first saw this book, I knew it was one that I wanted to read and have on our bookshelf at home. It did not disappoint when it arrived. I love this time period in our history, as it is the time when our nation was shaped. This book talks about the men who came together to form the United States, the signers of the Declaration of Independence.
Mrs. Boyer takes each individual man who signed the Declaration of Independence and talks about their character and the lives that they lead. She starts from the time they were born and continues through til their death.
Mrs. Boyer also gives several ways that you can use this book. You can use it as a Family Devotional Character study, a Self Study, a group study or even just use it as a personal read. The way our family uses it, is I will read about the men to my younger children, but I have my oldest daughter to read about them herself and then we will do the discussion questions together. I know we have learned a lot, considering we didn't know too many of the men who signed the Declaration of Independence.
Overall, our family has really enjoyed this book of history. It is one I think every family should have in their home. I feel it is important for everyone to read about the men who founded this country and why they founded it. Some may be surprised at what they read!
I was given this book by New Leaf Publishing group, in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for For You They Signed: The Spiritual Heritage of Those Who Shaped Our Nation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a treasury of information

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
April E
Location:KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an amazing resource for homeschool parents as they study the foundation of the United States of America, or for parents who want to supplement their children's education with character study from the biographies of great men!
For You They Signed covers each of the 56 men who signed the Declaration of Independence. The book begins with the text of the declaration, as well as a list of the signatures. A chapter is devoted to each man, divided by state. The chapters vary in length from 3 pages, to 9 pages, depending on the man being discussed. Each chapter contains the following information:
-quick facts about the man in a sidebar
-biographical sketch
-portrait
-character quality
-summary of his public service
-discussion questions for family use
This book can be used to enhance history studies, or family character and Bible study. It is a wonderful reference book, with a Christian worldview. Obviously, this book will not appeal to those looking for secular materials. It is clearly a Christian book. I really can't say enough wonderful things about this book ... I just want to keep looking at it and reading more about the lives of these famous men who helped form our country. It is a treasure for a Christian homeschool family.
This book was provided free for review purposes from Master Books. This review is my honest opinion; I was not required to post a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for For You They Signed: The Spiritual Heritage of Those Who Shaped Our Nation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For You They Signed

Date:August 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I need to start out by saying that I learned more about the signing of The Declaration Of Independence in the preface of this book than I ever remember learning in history class. I really knew very few names of the fifty-six of the men who signed and was surprised to learn that King George ordered his soldiers to find and execute them, thinking it would put an end to the "foolish" rebellion.
I like the way this book is presented. It is set up so that the signors are broken down by the state where they lived. We are given a brief glimpse each man which includes interesting tidbits about there lives. I think it was quite informative that what they did for public service is included in its own little box so that you can see in what other ways these fine men contributed to the country. There are also questions included after each mans bio that allow you to further learn about the individual. The illustrations in the book are very well done and I particularly liked the illustrations of homes that were included with some of the bios.
While this beautiful hard bound book would be great for home school teachers I think it is a wonderful book for anyone who is interested in learning more about our countries history and should be recommended reading for public schools. A book that will appeal to teens as well as adults, that would make a great gift. This book will be staying in my permanent library.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for For You They Signed: The Spiritual Heritage of Those Who Shaped Our Nation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Should be Required Reading

Date:July 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mountaineer Country
Location:West Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I was in school, I learned about The Declaration of Independence. I learned that Thomas Jefferson wrote the words and John Hancock was the first to sign his name and he did so really large so King George could read it. I knew Ben Franklin and I learned sometime later that a nearby college was named for one of the signers, Richard Stockton, but I don't think I ever saw a picture. Honestly, that was all I needed to pass the test.
When I received this book, I was impressed. I thought I was only getting a book to read. I was pleasantly surprised that this was an actual, living book that I could use in our school day to teach my daughter about our Founding Fathers that signed the Declaration of Independence.
In fact, according to the suggestions for using this book, you could use this book as:
--A year's worth of family devotional character studies.
--A pick-up-and-go complete resource.
--A self study.
--A group study.
--Inspirational general reading.
The book is set up by colony. Then, each signer is introduced separately. In an introductory sidebar, is the signer's name and a character trait exhibited by the signer. For instance, Benjamin Franklin's says, "Productive Patriot." Then, a biblical verse is suggested which is exemplified with the character trait. Ben Franklin's suggested verse is Proverbs 10:4. You can look up the verse in your own Bible, which I think is quite nice. A quote follows, as does normal biographical information (birth, death, marriage, etc.).
Next to the sidebar in the main heading, is a picture of signer as well as an image of his signature as it was written on the Declaration. A summary of his life follows. A timeline of the signer's public service record is included in the summary. Each lesson concluded with questions for discussion.
One of the things that I especially liked about this book was that in the summaries, the author tells of the sacrifices these men made and the tragedies that sometimes resulted from the signing of the Declaration of Independence. For instance, Richard Stockton was imprisoned for signing. Then, all of his property was destroyed by the English Army. One of the richest men in all of the colonies, had to ask for money and assistance from friends, after he was released, because he had nothing. Even his personal history, in many ways, was just deleted due to the devastation of property. No where else have I read about the personal suffering that many of these men had to endure because they signed this document. Obviously, since I was a product of the public school system, I also never knew much about the faith in God these men had, either.
I discovered a wonderful little perk with this book when I read the suggestions. A 180-page companion activity guide is available free of charge, which includes coloring pages of all of the signers, character trait definitions and Bible verse memory cards, and quizzes. The website and the password is included in the text.
I highly recommend this book. In fact, I think it should be required reading. I can't help but think of the disservice done to the memories of these 56 men, because the information taught is lumped into a few miscellaneous facts. It's time that we honor them and learn their history.
**I was provided this book free of charge in exchange for my HONEST opinion. No other compensation was received.**
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for For You They Signed: The Spiritual Heritage of Those Who Shaped Our Nation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Resource to have for home and school

Date:July 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
SFaith
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Going through, Marilyn Boyer's, "For You They Signed", I really liked the layout and how the author, has the signers,first broken down by state and after a brief biographical introduction to the signer, it is quickly followed by discussion questions, that allows the reader(s) to not only discuss, but provide a guide to further supplemental information that can be expanded on.
Well bounded, richly illustrated and accompanied by Scripture, parents and students, would enjoy having this edition in their homes; The book,"For You They Signed" is recommended for Young Adult, but I take it, that this book can be used starting around 3rd grade, though for even younger students, this makes a great introductory curriculum, that for homeschoolers, can be expanded on, throughout the different grade levels.
Filled with pertinent background about each of the signers, "For You They Signed" is a very heavy bounded book that makes a great addition for any home library.
Included in the details are things such as public service, relevant dates that are important to the individuals and the time period suggested, and in the appendixes, further material that can be used for not only character virtue studies, but the references, expands to further reading material to further explore the people who signed the Declaration of Independence.
I was just impressed with the details, the chapter study, the discussions that even lead off to ideas to supplement studying the signers of the Declaration of Independence, just the overall quality of the book and how this doesn't focus on just historical figures, but lends itself to expand on corresponding Scripture for memory, and incorporating the study and application of character virtues.
This is a book, that any home would be blessed to have as an addition to their study material and something that is well worth looking into.
~~Thank you to New Leaf Publishing for the opportunity to read and review the book in exchange for my honest opinion.~~
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for For You They Signed: The Spiritual Heritage of Those Who Shaped Our Nation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Been wanting this book and glad we got it

Date:November 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa Hodgen
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’ve been wanting this book for quite a while, but it hadn’t made it to my order list yet, since we are currently in our Ancient World studies, and won’t return to the Founding of America studies for a while. But when my dh said he’d heard of a book, on one of his political talk shows or websites, that he wanted to get, I was excited to tell him it was on its way. Teaching our children of the Spiritual heritage we have in this nation is important to us, and knowing the Boyer’s and their writings, we knew this book would be another to help us toward that goal.
For You They Signed is a book about the Signers of the Declaration of Independence. Each Signer is devoted a short chapter that gives general information about him and his life, as well as his role in the Founding of our nation. Through first hand stories about them and their own quotes, we are able to clearly see the importance of Christianity as the foundation of our nation. In addition to these primary source quotes and stories, the author has included a timeline overview of the life of each Signer and follow-up questions which encompass general factual questions as well as spiritual application in their lives, and ours. She has identified a character quality each Signer possessed and a Scripture representative of their life, making this book not just a factual informative book, but also a character instructing book also.
We are loosely following the author’s recommendation and using the book as a year long character, family devotional. Each day we read a bit of the Signer’s story, and narrate it, then review with the questions after completing the chapter. We are utilizing the downloadable Family Activity Guide, available free to each purchaser, which contains pictures of each of the men, as well as the character definitions and Scriptures for each. With the pictures, our children are recording the basic facts of their lives and copying the Character Definition and Scripture, and a quote when available, for each Signer.
We are on our third Signer, and even though we have read and studied much about America’s Founding, and our Christian Heritage, we are learning even more about each individual Signer and their faith, and how God used each one’s unique individuality to forge our nation. We are really enjoying this book and think if you are interested in learning more about the Spiritual Heritage of America, you will too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for For You They Signed: The Spiritual Heritage of Those Who Shaped Our Nation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For You They Signed, by Marilyn Boyer

Date:November 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
kasarhema
Location:Tennessee, USA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
My review of For You They Signed, by Marilyn Boyer
I've enjoyed the thoroughness, the attention to detail in noticing God-honoring character in each of the 56 men, and the quotes shared, by Marilyn in her book For You They Signed. She has done a superb job in writing this book!
I would recommend it to anyone, from grandparents to any home-educated students who are willing to read this book and appreciate it for the invaluable life studies it contains. It's a great book to read through, or skip around in, to learn as much as we are willing to tackle, in one sitting. Why? Because it's hard to put it down!
Marilyn Boyer has packed so many goodies into her book, and so much that's helpful for us to know about these 56 men, that I am quite inspired by just being allowed to read through it. I am glad to get to learn all I can from her research on the lives of these men, who put their lives on the line for our sake, for the sake of their children or the children of others, and for the sake of those in their home towns and colonies, in order to draft and then, later, discuss and sign the Declaration of Independence.
As I began reading, I realized that some of the 56 men were men about whom I knew nearly nothing before opening up this book! This book has also taught me more than I ever knew about this worthy & honorable group of men! Many of these men had families who had to run the farm while they were away. Their wives and children were more than willing to sacrifice quite a lot, just so these husbands and fathers could participate in this process. Their families (of the married men) knew
the men felt compelled by The Lord Almighty to be a part of this process, so that they could help form a nation where men could live by the "unalienable rights" that our Creator has "endowed" each one (citizen) with.
What an exciting, challenging, yet life-endangering, process! Yet they weighed the risks they took and believed what they were doing was right, under God!
For You They Signed will enable me to do many more studies about these men whose lives exemplify character I’d like my sons to emulate. I have home educated my children. My children are getting the blessed benefit of becoming acquainted with men of high moral character: men who feared God more than a tyrannical king who had been their earthly authority; men who wanted to acknowledge what they believed to be their "necessary" duties in dissociating themselves from the one to whom they were previously "bound," and who wanted to "assume, among the powers of the earth, the separate and equal station to which the Laws of Nature and of Nature's God entitle them."
How do you sum up a 50-year (or an 80-year) lifespan in only a few paragraphs? Marilyn has used her God-given gifts to accomplish this through the cameos she’s written so well. I hope to continue to share with my children from these cameos to fill our coming year with inspirational readings we can all benefit from! We'll be able to learn so much more, by taking it a piece at a time, so we can digest it well.
In Marilyn’s book, the artistic elements she used (shaded areas for some quotes) and well-drawn sketches by her illustrator, plus the areas in which she shared information about place of birth, education, occupation, etc., all helped to give an artistically-balanced look to this book. For artist-type moms or children, this element of her book
helps hold our interest while reading it.
Having also been given the privilege of learning about some of our Founding Fathers through David Barton’s ministry, WallBuilders, I am so glad to see that Marilyn used David’s inspiration to lead her to write such a helpful book, for educators, parents and children to all gain wisdom & Godly character lessons from!
My 16-year-old son told me "this book is thorough, and it is interesting."
The questions at chapter ends will provide for some great family discussions! They require much thought and
show how carefully Marilyn planned this book to help our children develop their thinking abilities. Thank you, Marilyn!
Marilyn's character sketches on the lives of Matthew Thornton, Richard Henry Lee and George Wythe opened my eyes to much I wish I had known, about them, long ago. However, please understand how hard it is not to list quite a few more names, here, of those men whose lives can inspire our sons to greatness!
I'm so thankful to New Leaf Publishing Group (New Leaf Press) & Master Books for giving me the opportunity to review this book! wow! Thank you, New Leaf Publishing Group! What a great book to get to review!
The accompanying activity book (180 pages in length) will be enjoyed by anyone who has a teachable attitude. I especially like the cards that link a Bible verse and a character quality to each of the 56 signers of the Declaration of Independence! This activity book is available for free to anyone who purchases _For You They Signed_. When you have received your copy of this book, you will be able to find out "how" you may obtain the activity book.
~ I receive this book free, from New Leaf Publishing Group, in exchange for my honest review of its contents. ~
I hope you will purchase a copy of Mrs. Boyer's book! You will be glad you did! It is in hardback form, so it should last a long time!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for For You They Signed: The Spiritual Heritage of Those Who Shaped Our Nation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very inspiring book

Date:November 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tina Brown
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For You They Signed, written by Marilyn Boyer, contains details about each signer of the Declaration of Independence. Did you know there are fifty-six of them? Unfortunately, I could only remember two. The book includes their dates of public service, when and where they were born, who they married, how many kids they had, what their occupation was, their age at the signing and when they died.
If you want to learn more about these men who made such huge sacrifices, I highly recommend this book. It is a great resource. It makes you appreciate the sacrifices these men made for freedom.
I received this book for free from New Leaf Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for For You They Signed: The Spiritual Heritage of Those Who Shaped Our Nation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Read-Aloud Book!

Date:November 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Urailak
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For You They Signed combines history and character-building into one convenient resource. The author presents biographical summaries of 56 brave men who signed the Declaration of Independence. This book helps readers see the character and Christian faith of these men who risked so much in order that we could enjoy freedom. Their firm faith, courage, and sacrifice are truly inspirational. I love what William Ellery of Rhode Island said: "I was determined to see how they all looked as they signed what might be their death warrants. I placed myself beside the secretary, Charles Thompson, and eyed each closely as he affixed his name to the document. Undaunted resolution was displayed on every countenance." (page 57) Undaunted resolution! Undaunted = not discouraged or disheartened, fearless! It was a matter of life and death; yet they were undaunted because (I believe) they placed their lives in God's hands as they sought freedom.
It's suggested that this book can be used as a family devotional, a complete resource for a single mom to teach her children Bible, character, & history, a self-study for students to work through on their own, a group study/a unit study, or an inspirational general reading for junior high age through adults. I use it as our read-aloud book in our homeschool. I have been reading it to my three children (9, 12, 17). This thick hardcover book looked somewhat intimidating to my kids :). They feel that lots of sentences (from many quotes) are long-winded (probably due to the style of writing back then :)). However, lively discussions take place during and after reading about each signer. Many interesting tidbits stand out. My 17 yo daughter noted, "I like Matthew Thornton's work ethic since I can identify with him. Once he didn't change his clothes for ten days while working on starting the New Hampshire government. To me, this shows dedication. As a result, New Hampshire was the first of the 13 colonies to create their own government apart from Great Britain." When you purchase this book, you will find a code in the book for a free download of a Family Activity Guide online. The activity guide includes coloring pages, weekly character qualities with verses for memorization, and fun quizzes. I ask my kids questions and reward them with chocolate for correct answers. That helps motivate them to pay closer attention while I read :).
If you love history (which is really His story), you will enjoy this book. If you like character-building material for your kids, you will appreciate this book. If you want accurate, thoroughly-researched American history and a faith-exemplifying & character-building resource, you will treasure this book.
~I received this book for free from New Leaf Publishing Group in an exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for For You They Signed: The Spiritual Heritage of Those Who Shaped Our Nation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kristenph
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was recently given the opportunity to review an excellent resource that put a wealth of information about our Founding Fathers into one accessible volume. For You They Signed, by Marilyn Boyer, contains biographical information about each of the signers of the Declaration of Independence. The book is arranged in the way the Declaration was signed: by colony. Included for each signer is a sketch, a table of basic information, a timeline of public service, and several pages of biographical information. Also included for each signer are Questions for Discussion. There are questions that focus on facts in addition to those that point to each man’s character.
There are several suggested ways to use this book:
* A Year’s Worth of Family Devotional Character Studies
* A Complete Resource for a Single Mom
* A Practical, Life-Changing Self-Study
* A Group Study Designed to Make a Difference
* Inspirational General Reading
In addition to these ways, I think it makes a great supplementary resource for American history study. I do not intend for my children to grow up with the same dismal knowledge of history that I had! And among the many benefits of homeschooling, I get to learn alongside my children. I look forward to using For You They Signed with my family for years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for For You They Signed: The Spiritual Heritage of Those Who Shaped Our Nation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thankful For These Men

Date:November 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debs
Location:Brandon, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I was first asked to do a book review on For You They Signed, I wanted to participate because I figured it would be an interesting book. After only a few minutes of reading the book I realized that “interesting” was a huge understatement. My vocabulary quickly changed to intriguing, fascinating, and captivating. I would get so engrossed in these men’s lives that it was as if I was transported back in time and could visualize their surroundings, know their character and feel their passion for what they believed was “the best and most glorious cause”, which was what Charles Carroll called the struggle for independence.
In today’s society we enjoy freedom, we celebrate the 4th of July and we talk about how our patriotic fathers signed a document declaring the freedom of a nation. But if you randomly ask people who signed the Declaration of Independence, most will very quickly say “John Hancock, Benjamin Franklin or Thomas Jefferson”, and then they might be able to name a handful of others. I think, however, that it would be safe to say that most people don’t even know how many signers there actually were or what sacrifices they made and what they had to lose by penning their signature on a piece of paper. I certainly did not know these things and must admit that I really didn’t give it much thought, until now.
My fifteen year old son has been reading this book also and has been equally enthralled with it. At times I’ll be reading it and get so excited about a certain fact that I would go to him and start telling him something about one of the men and he would finish my sentence before I had a chance to. I’ve been amazed at how this book has held his attention and how he’s retaining the information. He has such a deeper regard for the adversity, danger and hardship that these men went through that Marilyn’s writing makes so vividly clear.
Marilyn Boyer’s book has inspired me to learn more about our country, it’s beginnings and the people that made it possible. I found a love for history that I never knew I had and a deep respect for all fifty-six signers.
The author has also included a free companion guide with the purchase of the book. It’s a one hundred eighty page activity book comprised of coloring pages, scripture verses and fun quizzes to use along with the lessons. You can find out how to get this wonderful tool at the beginning of the book on the page titled “Suggestions for Using This Book”.
I originally thought that this book would be great for homeschoolers so that they could teach their children the truth about the men who signed and the principles that founded our nation, and while I do believe that it is a superb teaching tool, I do not want to limit my recommendation to just homeschoolers. I believe that every American family should have this book. It is so rich in detail and facts and portrays such a beautiful picture of what this country was and should be all about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for For You They Signed: The Spiritual Heritage of Those Who Shaped Our Nation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Resource!

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen O
Location:North Woods, NH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Of all the eras of history, the early American period is my absolute favorite. So, it was with great anticipation that I awaited the arrival of Marilyn Boyer's new book For You They Signed.
I can honestly say that it was well worth the wait! My first thought, upon the book's arrival, was that this beautiful, hard backed book would be well suited to a place on my coffee table. Of course, it is so much more than a conversation piece. From cover to cover, it is packed full of useful and intriguing information as well as lovely artwork.
With the turn of every page, Mrs. Boyer gives a glimpse into the character and the lives of the men who helped shape our nation - the signers of the Declaration of Independence.
For You They Signed is set up so that it can be used in a variety of settings. From personal reading, family devotions, small group study or homeschooling, the possibilities are endless. Purchasers of this book are also given the opportunity to download a companion guide free of charge! As a home school mom, this book has been a welcomed addition to our history curriculum.
The study of each signer is concise enough so as not to be overwhelming, yet packed full of information that will keep the readers interest. In it, you'll discover the answers to such things as:
* Which signer had his house burned due to his support for the Patriots?
* Who instigated the Boston Tea Party?
* Which man secretly imported weapons for the army largely out of his own resources?
* Who was the first signer to die?
And so much more!
I applaud Mrs. Boyer's efforts in writing this book and her hard work has certainly paid off. The end result? A resource that any person with an interest in history and our godly heritage should not be without.
----------------------------------------
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from New Leaf Press/Master Books as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for For You They Signed: The Spiritual Heritage of Those Who Shaped Our Nation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book!

Date:November 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
HSMOM448
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When David Barton recommends a book, I pay attention. So when the author of For You They Signed mentioned that Mr. Barton inspired her to write this book, I was intrigued. I too watched a program where Mr. Barton asked the audience if they recognized more than three signers in a painting depicting the signing of the Declaration of Independence. Sadly, I did not; however, I was determined to learn more about them. Much to my delight, I was asked to review For You They Signed.
All the information I sought was conveniently and cleverly presented in one book and the discussion questions were thought-provoking. Mrs. Boyer designed the material to function for both individual and group study which enables more families to enjoy learning about the signers. Both my daughters, found the text interesting and easy to understand. The activity guide is a wonderful companion to the book. We each chose a separate signer and then discussed whom we chose:
“I studied Stephen Hopkins, and one thing I noticed was that he, although a Quaker, knew he was supposed to fight and win this Great War with guns. He was willing to set aside his personal convictions for the freedom of his people. The discussion questions reinforced what I learned about Hopkins.” Lizzy, age 15
“I studied Lewis Morris and found that he was a selfless man who dedicated his life to the needs of his country.” Ellyn, age 13
I chose Josiah Bartlett. His patriotic enthusiasm spilled over and engulfed New Hampshire and its delegates, and he tenaciously pursued the freedom for which he believed belong to his fellow man.
Reading about the experiences of the individual signers, I became fascinated with their personal sacrifices and hardships yet realized throughout their struggles, they consistently mentioned their prayers seeking guidance from their Supreme Ruler. They found it not only just a personal choice, but a duty to serve God and the people by leaving a free nation for generations to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for For You They Signed: The Spiritual Heritage of Those Who Shaped Our Nation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Refreshing read in light of current politics

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ricky Kirk
Location:South Point, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Marilyn Boyer has produced an excellent resource in For You They Signed: The Spiritual Heritage of Those Who Shaped Our Nation. Providing character studies, illustrations, quotes and arranged in a devotional format, this is one book any student of our nation's Christian heritage should have.
Each of the signers (56) of the Declaration of Independence receives equal treatment, providing detailed information into their personal lives (date of birth, birthplace, education background, occupation, marital status, number of children, age at signing of the Declaration and date of death), an outline of their public service and each chapter concludes with discussion questions.
This resource can be used in the home as a family devotional, a resource for teachers in the classroom, or as an aide for pastors and other religious teachers. It provides a breadth of knowledge that is lacking in our schools and churches regarding the spiritual heritage of our nation. Too often we hear some of the negative information (and stereotypes) of the few deists, without understanding the spiritual lives of the majority of the signers. In addition to being a well written book, For You They Signed was a refreshing read in light of our current political situation.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the New Leaf Publishing Group book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for For You They Signed: The Spiritual Heritage of Those Who Shaped Our Nation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Book Every Home Should Have

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa K
Location:Ctrl, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ever wonder about the lives of the 56 signers of the Declaration of Independence?
Are you then overwhelmed thinking that it would be too time consuming to track down and compile all that information?
Well, author Marilyn Boyer has taken the hard part out of studying our founding fathers in the book For You They Signed .
I had the opportunity to hear Marilyn speak at the 2010 Florida Parent Educators Association Convention. She has 14 kids ages 11-35 and has been homeschooling for 30 years. She's one Mama who REALLY knows what she's talking about!
She stressed the importance of relationships with her children and building character through the use of scripture. That real education comes through books and real life experiences.
This book is no exception.
For You They Signed is a 342 page wealth of knowledge detailing each signers life. More than just the biographical information, this book is meant to be used as a character building devotional/study. Each signers section is broken down with a scripture, character trait, personal information, illustrations and thinking questions.
Designed to study one signer a week, there's enough scripture, history and character lessons for a whole year.
For example, do you know:
****Which signer did not live to see independence come to fruition?
****Which signer was also a physician in Philadelphia who saved many lives during an outbreak of Yellow Fever all the while acknowledging the Lord in the routines of everyday life?
****Which signer was actually helped by unknowing British troops across the Delaware River during the siege of Wilmington, Delaware?
****Which signer fled into the Virginia interior to avoid being caught and hanged by the British?
****Which signer exemplified truthfulness?
****Which signers were home educated?
Also available is a downloadable Activity Guide complete with fun, family quizzes (to be done every other week), coloring pages and scripture/character printouts.
You will learn many facts about each of the 56 patriots and the struggle and sacrifice many faced in the their livelihoods, possessions, social standing and even their lives. These brave men sacrificed all for our freedoms.
Reading this book clearly shows the struggle our young nation faced and why we still need to be vigilant in guarding our freedom today.
In our family of 6, our children range in age from 12 years to 12 months. All members have enjoyed using this wonderful book and I highly recommend it for every home!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.