Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Master Books World of Science

Master Books World of Science

Behind every law of science is the foundation laid out in wisdom by a loving God. From His design of the smallest atom to the most distant star, His insight unfolds throughout these six detailed sections and the fun and informative hands-on science experiments included. The marvels found in these pages will inspire children to reach for new discoveries that will honor our Creator.
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for World of Science
Review 1 for World of Science
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The World of Science Book

Date:November 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjoyellis
Location:Golden, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The World of Science is published by My Father's World and Master Books. Master Books is a division of New Leaf Publishing Group.
In this world, it is hard to find books that talk about and teach science from a Creation point of view. New Leaf Publishing has published a book that does just that, The World of Science.
This book is hardcover and has 240+ pages with over 800 colored pictures in it. It has 7 sections in the book; Matter and Chemicals, Energy, Motion and Machines, Electricity and Magnetism, Light and Sound, Earth and Life, Space and time, with the final section being science experiments that you and your children can do together.
As I mentioned before, this book teaches science from a creation point of view. However, it isn't an apologetic's book. It just blatantly states that God created everything in the beginning of the book and I like that. I also like how it includes the scientists that discovered certain things, for example, Benjamin Franklin discovering electricity.
The experiment section in the book has over 60 experiments that you can do. A lot of the experiments use items that you can find right in your own home. Which makes it a lot more fun and easier to do. We have tried a couple of them ourselves and enjoyed doing them.
The World of Science book is one of our favorite science books to look through and read. I find the kids looking at it often and checking to see if we do have the right items to do the experiments. I highly recommend this book to families to read together.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for World of Science
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Eye-catching and Informative

Date:June 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
seekingmyLord
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a Christian homeschooling parent, I find my beliefs are at odds with many resources in the various fields of science available to teach my daughter, but World of Science is exactly how I think science should be represented. This book is not apologetics; it does not try to prove God existence through scientific means. Instead, it states God created everything straightforwardly and then details our limited understanding of the wonders of His creation, which is what science really should be. For example, under the subtitle "Converting energy," it reads: "Energy cannot be made or destroyed except by God. It can only be converted...."
Still, God is not really mentioned much throughout the book. This text focuses on the science, not the religion. It is more about what it does not include, than what it does that matters the most to me. There is no mention of "millions of years" or evolution theory often presented as fact in comparable books. When covering the five kingdoms of living things, it does not suggest anything about their development over time. Perhaps, the first paragraph in the introduction explains it well enough: "'In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth.' From its very creation, the Earth was formed with guidelines established by our Maker."
The book has seven sections: Matter and Chemicals; Energy, Motion, and Machines; Electricity and Magnetism; Light and Sound; Earth and Life; Space and Time; and Scientific Experiments relating to each of the previous six sections. Although not highly in-depth, it has all the elements of over 800 photographs and bright illustration arranged attractively among snippets of reading information, which are so poplar with modern science reference books and textbooks.
This hard back book of 248 pages is high quality with an eye-catching holographic picture integrated on the cover. I believe it is best suited for children in grades 4 to 6, but it could easily be used for grades 3 to 9. An added plus, many of the 60 experiments can be done with household items on hand or easily found at local stores--no need for fancy equipment!
I received this book for free from New Leaf Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for World of Science
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Missy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressed with this book! So nice to have such an imformative science book without the evolutionary teaching!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for World of Science
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sparks of Interest!

Date:February 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
mamamitasee4
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a resource that is packed with important concepts that must be learned but yet with a Biblical View right from at the Intro. The layout is wonderful, details and facts are explained well and each page holds your attention. Some science books are hard to follow but this book shows pictures for each concept to help further explain in depth.
Plus Section 7 is loaded with fun easy projects or experiments that is perfect for any child that learns better with hands-on. Materials are simple items most would have on hand at home so inexpensive as well.
I would reccomand this book to others that are looking for a all around science book that covers a number of important science concepts with God as the Creator. It's so nice to hand my child a book that honors God as the Creator of it all.
This book was given to us as a complimentary copy from New Leaf Press for this review. A positive review was not required and the opinions written here are my own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for World of Science
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really like this book!

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Salina
Location:Sinton, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book in the mail from the New Leaf Publishing Group. It's a hard cover book with 247 pages. This book is awesome! I really like the way on page 8 which is the Introduction, the book talks about God being the creator of the universe. I mean come on you don't see science books like this in public schools so to me that's a plus. My son and I really like this book, even though he is 5yrs old we are using it as a homeschooling science book. The contents in this book start with Section 1: Matter and Chemicals all the way to Section 6: Space and Time. What I found interesting is in the back of the book there are actual science projects for kids to do so that way you don't have to go around looking for books at the library for projects.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for World of Science
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic science reference book for the Christian

Date:February 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
OhioSarah
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It seems like lately all I've done is post about science related happenings - such as our field trips to the science museums in our area and now this, The World of Science published by Master Books. This is a beautiful hardcovered book that has 256 pages that are beautifully illustrated - which in my estimation could be a hard thing to do when discussing the things of science.
If you're like me then you want to make sure that you are giving your children books that agree with a Biblical worldview as well as scientific data and you will get this in The World of Science. Showing God's creation as well as other areas of science like matter and chemicals, electricity and magnetism, earth and life, science experiments and many more areas. The science projects are probably our favorite part of the book from the time tested mold experiment to making your own hot air balloon there are many hands-on projects to make learning science fun and memorable.
The information is written so that even a young child could understand but gives enough information that an older child can easily use it for reference material for reports or a jump off to more in depth research. I like the information given about famous scientists that helped the areas of study in that particular section of the book. There is so much going for this book that it will be great for families who homeschool and even those who just want a godly book on science.
**I was given a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review, no other compensation was given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for World of Science
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Christian Science Book

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Happy Homeschool Mom
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
World of Science explores God's creation all around us from the furthest star in the Universe to the smallest atom under our feet." This hard cover book contains over 800 illustrations and photographs and includes over 60 science experiments. The book contains an introduction, 7 sections, glossary, scientific units, and an Index within its 240 pages. The sections are:
Matter and Chemicals
Energy, Motion, and Machines
Electricity and Magnetism
Light and Sound
Earth and Life
Space and Time
Science Experiments
I thought the introduction answered the question Why Do Science? so well. It states, " Science can help us see the intricacies of God's creation allowing for enormous advancements in our world." Later it says, "Without restraint or godly wisdom, science can become a tool of devastation." There have been many scientists who have seen God's handiwork in the world around them. That's why I think it is important to teach science to our children, to show them God's handiwork is in all things and to raise up a generation that will come at science from a Christian perspective in whatever field they are working in.
The layout of World of Science is very easy to read through or find exactly what you are looking for. Each page Each page is full of illustrations, photographs, charts, and a science discovery on the topic. The book is engaging and interesting for children to read. Younger siblings who cannot yet read can enjoy looking at the pictures.
One of the best things about this book is the experiments included in the back of the book. There are over 60 experiments listed. Each one is written out in an easy to understand format with pictures to show you what it should look like. Each experiment has a list of what you will need and anything you need to be cautious of like, "Be careful with the mold. If you touch it wash your hands afterwards."
The World of Science would make a wonderful elementary science curriculum or great addition to your homeschool library.
I received a complimentary copy of World of Science from New Leaf Publications for the purpose of writing a fair and honest review. I received no other compensation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for World of Science
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Child Friendly Science Reference Book

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
brigonia
Location:albuquerque, NM
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
World of Science is an illustrated science resource from a Christian perspective, for children, which includes a glossary and scientific units charts. This 248 page, fully indexed book contains 7 sections; Matter and Chemicals, Energy, Motion and Machines, Electricity and Magnetism, Light and Sound, Earth and Life, Space and Time, and Science Experiments. Each topic is given two pages full of illustrations and info boxes. Many of the topics include diagrammed illustrations to help the child visualize the topic.
The science project section will be popular with most children. The experiments are clearly explained and include photographs to help the child follow the steps correctly. Each experiment includes a reference to a page in one of the other sections which explains the topic further. My 11 year old daughter chose a few experiments to try the first time she looked through this section.
You could use this book as a science spine in your homeschool, just choose a topic to teach, read the relevant pages in the book and look in the experiment sections for one to go along with the topic. If your children are especially interested in the topic you can do further exploring online or at your library.
This is a child friendly science reference book. My children enjoyed looking through it and we will use it to supplement our weekly science lessons or as an introduction to a topic to study more in-depth. I like the layout of the pages and the many photos and illustrations used to make each subject clear. I think lots of pictures are important to younger children studying science. The science discovery feature used throughout the book is an easy way to add some history and spark interest in scientists and their discoveries.
I received a free copy of this book from New Leaf Publishing in order to write this review and have shared my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for World of Science
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Little Scientists

Date:December 27, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kids take after my husband in the science department. I'm not a huge science person. I always made good grades in science but it's a little too.....messy for me! Plus I just don't think my mind operates the way "scientists" do. I found a Science cheat sheet though! World of Science is a big ol book of scientific facts based on Christian principles! It is filled with section after section of eye catching pictures and mind filling information. Given the chance, Hubby would sit and read this cover to cover!
Apple and Speedy love science. They go on walks with Hubby and learn all kinds of little intricate information about rocks and leaves and the sky. Now they can reinforce all that information with this book! While we are totally enjoying the Science co-op we are in this year, the curriculum we are using is fantastic but it isn't all inclusive since it is for a range of ages. Now when Apple asks one of intense science questions, I can look up the answer in minutes! I'm so thankful for the extensive index in the back.
World of Science is divided into section and includes science project ideas and more. Learn how sharks sense electrical signals and how the North Pole moves. This is a terrific resource for homeschoolers, families, or just those more scientifically inclined than I!
I received this book from New Leaf Publishing for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for World of Science
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great General Science Book for your Home Library

Date:December 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisa K
Location:Ctrl, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have children there are a few reference books that you simply MUST own!
To facilitate curiosity or help with current studies a good home library should at least include:
*A book of Bible facts
*A book of History (in a time-line format)
*A book of General Science facts
*A book of Animal facts
World of Science is filled with photos, descriptive illustrations and interesting facts. This would make a wonderful addition to your home library!
Why do science?
Why should science be studied? Science can help us see the intricacies of God's creation, allowing for enormous advancements in our world. Various deadly diseases have been eradicated, harnessing electricity has allowed us to better regulate our environment, and we have developed devices that can enrich our lives, such as mobile phones, cars, planes, computers and the Internet. Most people live longer, more comfortable, healthier lives than ever before.
Without restraint or godly wisdom, science can become a tool of devastation. Throughout the past several hundred years, there have been those like Isaac Newton, Louis Pasteur, and Francis Bacon who saw God's handiwork in the world around them. Their scientific discoveries brought both glory to God and benefits to humanity.
May an inspired new group of young scientists rise up today.
This 248 paged book is broken down into 7 sections:
1 - Matter and Chemicals
All substances, matter and chemicals - from a pin-head to a star-are made of atoms. The atoms join or bond together to form molecules. Atoms and molecules can separate and then join together in new combinations. This is chemical change. Matter exists in three main states: solids, liquids and gases.
2 - Energy, Motion and Machines
Energy is the ability to make things happen and cause changes. It exists in many forms, such as sound, light, electricity and chemicals. Moving objects also possess a type of energy, kinetic energy. Using energy and principles of mechanics and movement, we combine simple machines, such as levers and wheels, into enormously complex ones.
3 - Electricity and Magnetism
Electricity is a type of energy based on the movement of bits of atoms, called electrons. Magnetism is a mysterious and invisible force that can push or pull. Electricity produces magnetism, and magnetism produces electricity. Together they are the basis of innumerable machines, from motors to computers.
4 - Light and Sound
Some types of energy are in the form of up-and-down waves. They include sound and light - but the nature of their waves is very different. Sound is moving atoms and molecules. Light is combined electricity and magnetism. Both are sensed by the body, and are used to convey information.
5 - Earth and Life
Our home is a giant ball of rock, 7,930 miles across, spinning through space. It's surface is constantly changing. Daily, weather patterns move over seas and land. Yearly, volcanoes erupt and earthquakes split the landscape. Over the years, rocks buckle into mountains and great continents drift around the globe.
6 - Space and Time
Away from daily life here on Earth, the Universe is a weird and truly wonderful place. Stars are born and explode. Star clusters, called galaxies, fly away from each other. Straight lines are really bent, and time goes faster or slower. Modern science explains some of these mind-boggling events - but not all.
7 - Science Experiments
The scientific method involves devising an idea or theory, making a prediction from it, and carrying out experiments to test it. By trial and error we discount old theories and develop new ones, gradually moving toward greater understanding. The practical work of projects, tests, and experiments is central to scientific progress.
Experiments include: Plants & Animals, Chemistry, Air and Flight, Water, Sound, Light, Energy & Forces, Electricity & Magnetism.
As a bonus, Master Books has teamed up with My Father's World homeschool curriculum for this reprint. This book is part of their 4-8th grade science curriculum (although it may be used with younger and older children as well).
There was only one small part of the book I didn't agree with and that is the presentation on page 166-7 regarding Greenhouse Gasses and Global Warming. I should also comment that there is mention of Scientist Stephen Hawking and some of his achievements. No mention is made of his religious views.
I received this book free of charge in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for World of Science
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Resource

Date:December 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
WriterRani
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My thoughts-
I really enjoyed looking at and studying this book. I have always enjoyed learning about science and World of Science discusses different areas of science to help me show my children the basics.
The kids and I had a lot of fun picking out the sections we would read and also learning about the scientists who were involved.
The most exciting part about the book was the selection of experiments we could choose from. It will be fun in future years to read sections of the book and the do the experiments that correspond.
I highly recommend World of Science to homeschooling families as a resource or to children who love science and want to learn more.
Disclosure of Material Connection- I received World of Science for free from Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for World of Science
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Family Library and Homeschool Must-Have

Date:December 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With its holographic cover, the book World of Science does far more than just look appealing. It's a great homeschooling resource with an easy to follow layout that discusses physical, chemical, and biological sciences. (248 pages)
Sections include: Matter/Chemicals, Energy/Motion/Machines, Electricity/Magnetism, Light/Sound, Earth/Life, Space/Time, and (last but not least) Science Experiments.
A few things stand out to me. I love that the introduction begins with, "In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. From its very creation, the Earth was formed with guidelines established by our Maker...."
We familiarize our children with evolution and do the best with the resources we have to teach them how (and why) to defend Biblical Creation. One of the reasons we chose to homeschool our children was because our (once in public school) 1st grader came home one day telling us about how many millions of years old the dinosaurs were that lived before people existed. Knowing that World of Science is using the same scientific evidences we all share without a slant towards the theory (not fact) of evolution makes me breathe easier. I don't like having to scour books for false information before my children read it.
Another thing that sets this book apart is having the science experiments in the back of the book. I prefer having the experiments all grouped together in one section as opposed to scattered through chapters. It makes my planning easier.
My Father's World has paired up with Master Books to get this wonderful science book into the hands of discerning parents and educators. Knowing what we do of the excellent curriculum resources that My Father's World offers, I was thrilled to receive a free copy of this book for review. As soon as I started flipping through the pages, I knew this was a book that I would have purchased for our family/children.
World of Science is an excellent resource for elementary school students. Even if you don't homeschool your children, this would be a wonderful way for your children to read about areas of science that they're interested in (or help them become interested in). As a Christian family, it is a wonderful book to add to your library; a book that focuses on science, not an evolutionary theory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for World of Science
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for everyone!

Date:November 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
SC2424
Location:Vermont
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
World of Science is a wonderful book in so many senses! It’s a great science book written with a Christian perspective—very clearly, beginning with the introduction which starts with Genesis 1:1. One quote from the intro, “Why do science? Why should science be studied? Science can help us see the intricacies of God’s creation, allowing for enormous advancements in our world.” I like that—very nicely said.
After the intro, the book moves logically from atoms, elements, molecules, and such—to matter—to energy/motion—and on through sections on electricity/magnetism, light and sound, earth and life, and space and time. The last section is science experiments! Great fun projects to illustrate concepts explained throughout the book.
So—readability—is it just a textbook? No way! Yes, it can certainly be used as a textbook—as a side note, I was happy to see that it’s co-published by My Father’s World, which is the home school program we use—however, it is a really interesting book to just read or flip through! My children love this type of book—the colorful illustrations are beautiful and attention-grabbing and just invite children and adults alike to read the accompanying text bits that give the information. You notice I said adults also? Yes—it really is appealing to adults too! Even my husband was flipping through the book pointing out things to us, and saying things like, “Wow!” or “So that’s how that works. . .”
This book is awesome!  It’s a great book to have as a part of a school or public library, your home library, your child’s classroom, Grandma and Grandpa’s house, I could go on and on! How many kids do you know who love science? This book is perfect for them! This is a wonderful purchase that you won’t regret!
I was given a free copy of this book by New Leaf Publishing Group for the purpose of this review. I was not required to write a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for World of Science
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Resource!

Date:November 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Declared Unto Him
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great, biblically based, science resource that is filled with a ton of information, complete with detailed illustrations and bright colors, but the best part for this mom was the no evolution or millions of years sprinkled throughout it's pages.
The World of Science book would be a great addition to any home learning library, and it is definitely one to spark an interest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for World of Science
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful science projects!

Date:November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Children will love exploring science with this new edition from Master Books. This 248 page encyclopedia style book features over 800 full color illustrations. It is divided into seven sections: Matter & Chemicals, Energy, Motion & Machines, Electricity & Magnetism, Light & Sound, Earth & Science, Space & Time, and Science Experiments.
The book begins by quoting Genesis 1:1 and describes the scientific method, real science and the fields of science. From there each section gives tons of “bites” of information in vivid, exciting detail that is concise and easy to digest. Topics such as molecules, crystals and machines bring excitement to learning as well as exploring space, volcanoes, electricity and much more. The section of over 60 science experiments is absolutely wonderful information for homeschoolers and science fair projects. I love the layout and the way this book can be used as a text book or unit study book as well as a general reference book.
I received this complimentary copy from New Leaf Press for this review. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.