Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Master Books Big Book of History

Master Books Big Book of History

Securely-bound for years of use, this is a comprehensive timeline from Creation to present day. Color-coded and organized for easy reference, The Big Book of History will be a go-to resource, whether you use it for educational activities or simple enjoyment! It's the perfect visual aid to help parents and teachers set the foundation of their biblical worldview. This colossal chart can be stretched out to its full length of 15 feet or examined page-by-page. Quickly scan those events and people who made history, following the timetable from Adam to the discovery of the atom and beyond!
Average Customer Rating:
4.773 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 2286%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Big Book of History
Review 1 for Big Book of History
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Big Book of History

Date:November 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjoyellis
Location:Golden, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Big Book of History is a 15 foot fold out time-line. You can use it like a book and flip through the pages, or you can fold it completely out. It is a time-line that covers from Creation to the time that it was published. It as 4 different lines and each line represent 4 different events. You have Biblical events, inventions, world events and civilizations and empires.
This time-line book isn't just a bunch of dates on a line. It has pictures and little comments through out the book to help explain the dates that are mentioned. The biblical events listed are some of the major events that happened in the bible. It also lists the major inventions, world events and civilizations/empires that have made a huge impact on our world.
The Big Book of History is colorful and very easy to follow. You can keep it compact in a book shape or you can fold it out completely and hang on the wall.
Overall, the kids and I really liked the Big Book of History. It has a lot of information that led to some great conversations. The kids enjoyed folding out the book and comparing when events happened. I see us using this often on our homeschool. It is definitely a conversation piece with my children and I.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Big Book of History
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Some profound Biblical errors, otherwise excellent

Date:August 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Big Book of History" is a timeline of earth's history that measures 14 inches tall and 15 feet long. It's folded up inside a hard cover book to protect the chart, but it can also be looked at inside the cover a "page" at a time. It covers history from 4004 B.C. for Creation to 2010 A.D.
The timeline covered significant Biblical events, world events, inventions, and beginnings of civilizations and empires. The date for each event is easy to spot, and the timeline is easy to follow. The events selected are important and interesting ones. The pictures and sidebox comments about timeline events were colorful and engaging.
The timeline seemed to use 3 or 4 different sources for the dates, though, including secular dates. This led to a few odd and incorrect entries. For example, we're told that the Great Pyramid was finished around 2500 B.C., and the Great Flood is listed after that at 2347 B.C. and the founding of Egypt is given after that in 2188 B.C. So we have the Great Pyramid built before Egypt. We have Solomon made king in 1015 B.C., the Divided Kingdom (which happened after Solomon died) as 975 B.C., and Solomon building the temple after that, in 957 B.C. The temple was actually started in the 4th year of Solomon's reign, not after he died and the kingdom divided. We have Jesus born in 4 or 5 B.C., his baptism in 26 A.D., the temptation that happened immediately afterward as happening in 27 A.D., and both John the Baptist and Jesus dying in 33 A.D. This is much longer than the usually quoted 3.5 years from baptism to crucifixion.
It's too bad that the obvious errors weren't caught and corrected as otherwise this would be an excellent timeline.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Big Book of History
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Kid Friendly Time Line!

Date:August 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
csam
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AWESOME! I am so excited to have found this time line. All the time lines I was looking at were so overwhelming for my children. This one is packed full of information but in a kid friendly way. We LOVE that it folds out. It is incredibly sturdy with thick pages, so it will not easily tear. We look at it all the time! I want to hang it on the hallway wall but dont want to tear it out of the book, because I like it that much! My kids really love to see where they are learning 'on the timeline'. It is broken up nicely between ~Biblical ~world events ~inventions and technology ~civilization and empires. It worked out perfect this year because my oldest needed it for civilizations and my youngest daughter needed it for Biblical. Yet both kids got to see it as a whole for what was going on in that period of time in all aspects! This book is so boldly colorful but not too much. The pictures are good size and don't get lost on the time line. Since it is in book form, we also sometimes just 'read' it for fun. I am thrilled I purchased this book. We are definetly planning on putting it to further use this year also!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Big Book of History
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Colorful Snippets of History for Children!

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
seekingmyLord
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big Book of History: A 15 Foot Fold-Out Time-Line from Creation to Modern Computers is a Christian-based child-friendly timeline marking interesting events with colorful illustrations designed for ages 7 to 12. This high quality hard cover measures 14.5 x 9 inches and the inside folded page is made of a very high quality paper similar to the cover of a paperback book.
There are actually four color-coded timelines running parallel to each other: Biblical/Christianity, World Events, Inventions/Technology, and Civilizations/Empires. The snippets of history begins with the God's first day of creation dated 4000 BC and ends with 2010 AD with "President Barack Obama declares the U.S. is no longer a Christian Nation." This fold-out sweeps with broad strokes across history, but is a nice presentation of events that is not too overwhelming for young minds. I recommend it as a wonderful visual supplement to any history curriculum or just to spark interest in historical events.
I received this book for free from New Leaf Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Big Book of History
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great reference tool for any Homeschooler!

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Noelle the dreamer
Location:US
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently reviewed this book in a different format (soft cover/envelope) (here) and received this hardcover edition to review as well.
Based on the Old and New testaments this is a 15 foot fold out book filled with wonderful photographs, timeline and colour charts taking you instantly to Biblical/Christianity/World events as well as Inventions, Technology and Civilizations/Empires.
Well conceived, this is a wonderful reference tool for any homeschool family or budding history major!
Recommended for age 7 thru 12, it is available now both in the soft cover/envelope original format and the hardcover and well worth a recommendation to anyone who needs a quick reference!
Worth 5 stars!
I received this book free from NEW LEAF PUBLICATIONS as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not asked to write a positive review and the opinions expressed are entirely my own.
I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Big Book of History
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a nice addition to own.

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:Butler, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received Big Book of History to review. I think this was a nice and something very interesting to read and look through. This reminds me almost of when you get a Guiness Book of World Records or a Believe it or not book. You sit down and read and pour over it and enjoy it. But as for using it as homeschool curriculum like I had wanted to, it didn't really impress me. It was something we looked at once and my daughter skimmed through it. So for about half an hour she was interested and then that is about it.
If I was writing my own studies for the year I could use it better and actually pin point sections to study that went along with this time line. But I don't do that :)
It was impressive to unfold and see the size. But even that was a little overwelming with a 3 year old who kept stepping on it and we had to keep yelling - GET OFF! So for older kids only homes - probably a better situation. For us - it just made me crazy.
I received this for review and was not obligated to give a positive review. Thank you New Leaf.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Big Book of History
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Olivelady01
Location:WA. state
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend this book for ANYONE at ANY AGE!
An education at a glance!! Awesome gift giving idea; can't say enough good things!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Big Book of History
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Timeline and More!

Date:January 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Happy Homeschool Mom
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Big Book of History is a fold out 15 ft timeline from the first day of Creation to the present day. In this book your child (recommended ages 7-12) will discover:
the birthdates of conquerors, kings, inventors, scientists, and famous men of God
wars and wonders of ancient and modern worlds
the 969 year old man who shared the true history of the world with Noah
the first ancient inventions and discoveries of chocolate, yo yo's, batteries, movies and so much more
Through a color coded timeline with yellow marking Biblical/Christianity, orange marking word events, red marking civilizations/empires and green marking inventions/technology, plus interesting facts and photos, your child will love using this book just for fun or as an educational resource.
"The Big Book of History is a really cool book!" That's according to my son Nicholas (9.) As soon as we opened the box he had to open it up and start exploring. And of course we had to unfold the whole thing to see how long it really was.
The Big Book of History is right up my son's alley. He loves history and loves timelines. This book presents a lot of fun and interesting facts and figures many of which you wouldn't find on a regular history timeline or even in most history textbooks. You do not have to unfold the entire book in order to read it. It opens in such a way as you can unfold it or read it like a regular book. The Big Book of History is a wonderful addition to any home or homeschool library.
I received a complimentary copy of The Big Book of History from New Leaf Publications for the purpose of writing a fair and honest review. I received no other compensation
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Big Book of History
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angel
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This book is actually a giant fold out timeline. It is a really creative format and is visually awesome. It begins at the beginning of time (When God created the Earth) and goes all the way into the 2000s. There were two things I found presumptuous in early history (the day the Fall happened on, and the Ice Age) but other than that it is a great resource.
I received this complimentary copy from New Leaf Press for this review. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Big Book of History
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Gift Idea ~ Homeschooling, Sunday School, ++

Date:December 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What can I say about this neat book except you have to read it to appreciate it. It's truly one of a kind and is made for kids. Yes, we adults have been equally excited to get "our turn" to read through the pages of history as well. There's just something fun about reading a 15-foot time-line, right from creation through modern history. Folded accordian-style, you can keep the book compactly stored, open it up to individual time frames, or pull the whole thing across your living room floor. The only challenge might be in keeping your toddler from thinking it's a road to walk on.
We already own Adams' Chart of History, which is very detailed and such an awesome book to see from beginning to end up on a wall. However, from a child's perspective, The Big Book of History is the perfect timeline to begin with. We love this book and believe every family should own a copy. There's something to be said for "seeing" a timeline of history on paper where you can view how dates for events, inventions, discoveries, etc. line up. While it isn't intended to be a game, it feels like a version of trivial pursuit when our children (and us as their parents) find interesting facts to share with each other.
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review from Master Books. It is a book I will also be purchasing for gift-giving purposes. We love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Big Book of History
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Resource for Homeschoolers and Teachers

Date:December 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
SFaith
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The "Big Book Of History: A 15' Fold-Out Time-Line From Creation To Modern Computers"
by Laura Welch is a color coded mix of secular history with Biblical history that will enlivened both your Bible studies and history studies.
The kids really enjoyed pulling this out to see what all was happening at a certain point in history and with the, "Big Book Of History: A 15' Fold-Out Time-Line From Creation To Modern Computers", it really does help bring a visual look at history that will help not only have kids interested in history but bring history more to life.
Hard bounded to extend the life of the timeline and safe for little hands to play with, homeschoolers and even teachers, will find the, Big Book Of History: A 15' Fold-Out Time-Line From Creation To Modern Computers", really found to use and a great, quick reference guide.
I was surprised at the amount of information that was included and it really helped the kids developed a sense of idea at the achievements that were happening in different parts of the world and do what history should do, bring a sense of wonder at what civilization has accomplished.
"Big Book Of History: A 15' Fold-Out Time-Line From Creation To Modern Computers"
by Laura Welch is a definite and convenient timeline to have in the home!
****Thank you to New Leaf Publishing for the opportunity to read and review this book, in exchange for my honest opinion****
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Big Book of History
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing History Timeline

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jcole
Location:Malakoff, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have wanted to get a timeline for our school. I have looked at many, but never really found THE ONE. You know, the one you know your kids will enjoy. One that will grab their attention. Many are pretty, many have good info, but those have not been The One.
I found it though! I am so excited! My kids were excited! That was how I knew it was The One!!
{This would be a great Christmas present for any families who love to learn together!!}
The Big Book of History is amazing!!
This timeline starts with 4004 BC - creation. It highlights each day of creation and explains what God created that day - then moves on to Seth, then Noah, and so on. I loved that there is a color coded line for Biblical/Christianity, World Events, Inventions/Technology, and Civilizations/Empires, so you can see how they each overlap and relate to each other.
There are blurbs all along the timeline that have interesting facts. They are easy to read and quick to find. This is perfect for kids trying to learn bits and pieces that go along with the big concepts they are learning. Helps them to tie it together through the years.
I am planning to laminate this as soon as possible and then having it out to look at whenever we want. I suspect it will move back and forth from school to the living room. I suspect we will be in this book ALL THE TIME!!
It is long enough to lay across our living room floor (15 feet) and let everyone find a spot to start reading and investigating!
I know the boys are going to love having this resource in our home - they love stuff like this.
I think it would make a great Christmas gift for children of all ages - especially readers about 6 and up would love this! It would be a great resource to have at home for kids who are in public school - because it is very informative and it ties the World History with Biblical History - which we could always use more tools to help us to do that!!
Note : I received a copy of The Big Book of History in exchange for an honest review of the product, from New Leaf Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Big Book of History
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy, colorful,True: Bible with other history

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Redhead
Location:Upland, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is fun and has so much information.
It's the ultimate timeline for children (and most adults)!!
It is so neat that it can be used as a book or unfolded
to 15 feet long. It gets attention and is loved by all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Big Book of History
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BIG reading & learning fun!

Date:November 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Haelie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"So, son, what is your favorite thing about this BIG Book of History?"
"It's FIFTEEN-FOOT FOLD-OUT!!! That's longer than my bed! Awesome!"
Yep, straight out of the little horse's mouth. You heard it here first!
Seriously, though, there are several other things my son, Mystery Ranger Buster, and I like about this unique book published by Master Books.
Why is it fifteen-feet long? Well, it has not just one timeline but four parallel timelines of our history from creation to our current day. You'll have to check it out for yourself to see what exactly those four timelines show, but I will tell you that the subject of each one is as follows: Biblical / Christianity, World Events, Inventions / Technology, and Civilizations / Empires.
Additionally, it has several colorful, interesting pictures (both drawings and photographs) that visually depict the time period and specific people and / or objects of interest from that time period. One of my favorites is the literal key ring from around 750 B.C. which is an example of the "metal keys (that) were fashioned to be worn as rings - which made them much harder to lose and steal." Wow! I wonder why we ever got away from that. Would have saved me much grief at times.
It was also interesting to learn that there were flush toilets as far back as over 2000 years B.C. My plumber father-in-law could have worked in the same career back then as he does today. Whoulda thunk it?!
My son & his grandmother looking at the BIG Book of History together.
My son loves to open this timeline up after we have read a portion of the Bible together. He likes to try to find the time frame he just read about in the Bible on the timeline. The timeline offers a neat perspective of what was going on in the world in addition to what we just read in the Bible. It helps a child (and an adult) put the scripture into perspective and understand its context better. (Helps to recognize what major world events, empires, etc. were going on at that time.)
My son also loves to look over the list of potential answers to the question, "How will you make history?" on the last page of the book. He has several picked out including Space Exploration, Public Leadership, Missionary, Ocean Exploration, Author, Musician, Pastor, & Military Service (yes, trust me there are more he has picked out on the list, too...the boy will have to make some decisions, no doubt!). BUT...the one thing he wants to be the most lately is not on the list---a D.E.A. Agent! Go figure! Maybe it will make the list in a future revised version.
And finally, when I asked him what his favorite picture or fact IN the book is, well, you can probably guess from his response to the other question...
Yep...he says he likes "ALL of it!"
So, I think that about sums up our review of Master Books' BIG Book of History. Any questions?
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from New Leaf Publishing Group. No other compensation was received. The fact that I received a complimentary product does not guarantee a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Big Book of History
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Colorful, exciting, timeline of history!

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
April E
Location:KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a sucker for history books, and I love timelines. Big Book of History is a unique expandable timeline, with a colorful format. I received the panels-only cardstock version that doesn't have a book-like cover. It can still be viewed as a book, flipping pages, but I prefer laying it out on the living room floor with several panels open at once. Each individual panel is 8.5 inches x 14 inches, and folds into a "book" that is almost an inch thick. If fully extended, the timeline is fifteen feet long.
I have another expandable time-line, but this one is much more user-friendly. Big Book of History isn't as comprehensive as the other one I own, but that is actually a good thing. It is easier to follow this timeline through history, and find what you're looking for. The colorful illustrations and photographs help bring history to life, and help you quickly find your location on the timeline itself. This Big Book of History timeline is much more appealing to my children! Every single one of them prefers it.
I love that there are small mini-charts of related events on some of the panels, and there are little rabbit trails that show the aftermath of certain events. We're currently studying the Reformation and Renaissance in history, and the Big Book of History includes a chart of the People and Events of the Reformation, as well as a mini-track that includes important world explorers. These helpful tidbits of information can inspire further study and exploration. We will be using this timeline extensively in our homeschool.
Big Book of History is a wonderful resource for classroom use, home use, or to satisfy the curiosity of a junior history buff. I highly recommend it!
**This product was provided free, for review purposes. This is my honest review.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Big Book of History
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

15 ft of historical information folded into a book

Date:October 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisa K
Location:Ctrl, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love time-lines! Unfortunately due to limited space, we cannot put one up on our wall. That's why this 15 paged, fold-out time-line contained in The Big Book of History is so wonderful!!!
It's eye-catching, informative and 100% portable. It can be enjoyed anywhere!
Covering Creation to the present, The Big Book of History is broken down into four categories:
* Biblical/Christianity
* World Events
* Inventions/Technology
* Civilizations/Empires
We really enjoyed:
Details on the Great Flood
7 wonders of the World
First Olympics
Apostles and their fates
Persecution of Christians by Roman Emperors
Great Awakening
Space Exploration
My ONLY problem with this timeline is the 2010 statement that President Obama declared that The United States was not a Christian Nation. I thought that was pretty shocking and regardless of my personal opinion of the President, I checked it out for myself. The President was taken out of context and the statement SHOULD read: "We do not consider ourselves a Christian nation, or a Jewish Nation or a Muslim Nation."
I received this book free of charge in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Big Book of History
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful timeline for Christians

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
OhioSarah
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy studying history and since we’ve been using our current history curriculum these past two years the children have also been enjoying the study of history. We’re currently working through the events through Creation up through the Resurrection of Christ and it’s been neat to see how it all fits, but sometimes we can forget how things go together – such as how secular history coincides with Biblical/Christian history.
Enter Master Books Publishing and their Big Book of History, this is an amazing book and I know my words are not suffice to totally tell you how amazing this book actually is. With 15 feet of timeline you and your children will easily be able to see how Biblical/Christianity, World Events, Civilizations/Empires, and Inventions/Technology were all fitting together at the same time. What makes this time line unique, to me, is the fact that all these history areas are color coded for easy sequential learning.
If you want to know what Biblical history was happening at say, 135 A.D. you would look at the yellow line and see that the Jews were forced to leave Jerusalem, while at the same time seeing that in 100 A.D. the invention of paper was developed in China by looking at the green line. World events is labeled in orange and civilizations/empires is in red. While this is geared for ages 7 to 12 year old children my 5 year old is really enjoying it as well, although he does need some supervision to make sure he doesn’t mess it up.
There are beautiful, historical illustrations as well like a picture of the first chocolate bar, the Dead Sea Scrolls, and lots more. Since this is based on the Christian worldview the history is going to come from that point of view, so for example, in 2010 A.D. it is noted that President Obama declared that the United States of America is no longer a Christian nation. I like the fact that the information is presented in light of our Christian history and there is no compromising. If you purchase the book you can also download a free study guide to go along with this book, which is an excellent resource for such a great book.
**I was given a copy of this book from Master Books/New Leaf Publishing in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Big Book of History
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

History Timeline

Date:October 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
michorose
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son was amazed that kids his age most likely played with yo-yos in 500 B.C. They have found disks made of terra cota, skins, wood, and metal. We are learning so much about history in the "BIG Book of History." You can read this book like a regular old book, or you can unfold all the pages to reveal the 15 ft timeline. This book is loaded with great pictures and important historical events. My son said, "This book has Christian stuff in it too!" That opened it up for conversation. Christianity is a BIG part of our history. Who knew they had their own type of batteries back in 248 B.C.? Some facts I found interesting, in 1947 President Harry Truman declared the U.S. a Christian Nation and 60 years later our new president, Obama, declares the U.S. is no longer a Christian Nation. Boy, are times a changin'. We are going to learn so much and I am excited about teaching all this great stuff to my kids for their homeschooling lessons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Big Book of History
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A valuable history resource

Date:October 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did you know:
• That Adam and Methuselah BOTH knew Noah?
• That China was using kites and dictionaries at the same time that Solomon became king?
• The first Olympics occurred about the same time that Isaiah prophesied about the virgin birth?
• Christians gained religious freedom through Constantine about the same time that the Mayans began developing accurate calendars?
• Archbishop James Ussher published the history of the world during the Golden Age of Piracy?
• That Thomas Edison invented a battery for an electric car?
You will find out all of these things and many more when you peruse the Big Book of History—a 15 foot fold-out timeline that shows just where Biblical history lines up with world events. Aimed at the 7-12 year old crowd, this fully illustrated timeline is a wonderful teaching tool that will be great for Sunday School, Children’s Church and homeschools. Young and old alike will be mesmerized by the illustrations, photographs and information that really let you see just where the major (and not so major) events in history happened in relation to each other. This book is large: 14.00 X 8.50 inches and can be kept stored in the binding and unfolded when needed or taken out and used as a very attractive wall chart. Either way, this non-evolutionary chart will make history come alive while keeping God at the center where He belongs!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Big Book of History
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not just for little kids!

Date:October 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
SC2424
Location:Vermont
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Timelines! My children love looking at timelines and seeing progressions and innovations. This book, the Big Book of History, is a wonderful timeline, full of an amazing amount of information.
First of all, let me tell you about the format. It looks like an oversized book, with heavy card-stock pages, but they’re more than pages! The “pages” which you can flip through book-style, also fold out into a fifteen foot timeline, so you can visually see the passage of time through the important dates/events highlighted in this edition.
The pages are bright with color, several different timelines moving through each era: Biblical/Christianity themed events, World events, Civilizations/Empires, and Inventions/Technology. The color coding makes it easy to pick out the events in each category.
Along with all this color is an enormous amount of pictures and text illustrating events from different segments of time (for example: when was bookbinding developed, info about King Arthur, the first modern bicycle, and so important—the first chocolate bar). There are also paragraphs on topics of interest sprinkled throughout, such as mummies, the Olympics, Homer, the Flood/Ice Age, the Holocaust, and so many more.
In case you were wondering about the extent of the timeline, it begins with Creation and goes up until 2010. Of course, it is not all-inclusive, but it does a good job of hitting many high-points and items of interest.
I would certainly recommend this book/timeline. It is very entertaining and educational to look through. The colors and illustrations, as well as the way the pages are set up are very appealing and just beg you to look one more time and notice one more thing. I think the creators of this book did a wonderful job and I appreciate their inclusion of Biblical events. It says on the back of the book that it is for 7 to 12 year olds, but I believe that many people outside of that age range will read and enjoy this timeline!
I received a copy of this book for free from the publishers in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>