Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Master Books A is for Adam: The Gospel from Genesis

Master Books A is for Adam: The Gospel from Genesis

In a fun and informative way, this revised classic shares biblical insights to a new generation of families. Inside a parent or teacher finds all that's needed to share the basic truths of the Gospel from A-Z, and to expand that teaching through detailed instructional tips and structured learning. The humorous illustrations are filled with seek and find images, and the text shares God's Word in ways a child can truly understand.

The flip-top format is arranged so that the bright picture is facing the child; the back features a short scripted lesson with vocabulary lesson, questions, review, and narration exercises. 26 lessons included with a lesson for each letter of the alphabet. Perfect for homeschooling and Sunday School. 77 pages, flip-top spiral bound, hardcover. Fold-out bottom allows for the book to be stood up.

Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A is for Adam: The Gospel from Genesis
Review 1 for A is for Adam: The Gospel from Genesis
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Chronological, Rhyming, and Fun

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kari
Growing up under typical Sunday school fare, many children view the Bible as a bunch of disjointed stories with moral rules to obey. The aim of A Is for Adam is to introduce children to the theme of Scripture—the gospel—by displaying it from the very first book of the Bible. The historical account of Genesis explains how God created the world; how man is created in the image of God; how sin came into the world, bringing suffering and death; and how God promised to send a Savior, the only way of salvation.
Published by Master Books of New Leaf Publishing, this spiral flip-top book is designed so that the child can see the picture and rhyme, while the parent can view the teacher’s guide with a summary, biblical principles, discussion points, activity ideas, review questions, and more. The 26 lessons cover each letter of the alphabet. With the additional teacher’s resources at the end, the book is 77 pages.
Although likely not designed for such a young age, my one-year-old daughter loves this book with its colorful drawings and catchy rhymes. Here is an example:
“M is for Moan, what a mess sin did make.
Thorns, thistles and death, and cursed ground for man’s sake.
God had to judge sin. He’s so holy and pure,
But God is so good, He provided a cure.”
Don’t be surprised if you quickly memorize all the letter rhymes just through regular reading. My daughter likes to turn the pages, so the book has had some wear and tear, but it’s still holding up with some tape jobs. Covering Genesis 1–11, this book begins with the creation and Fall of man, continues with Noah’s Ark, and ends with the Tower of Babel and a flash forward to the Consummation of history.
“Z is for Zip, so quick it will be,
When Jesus comes back for you and for me.
If our name is found in the ‘Lamb’s Book of Life,’
We’ll sure live forever in a place with no strife.”
**I received a complimentary copy of this course from the publisher for the purpose of my impartial review.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A is for Adam: The Gospel from Genesis
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Devotions for Young Children!

Date:May 1, 2012
My Thoughts-
I really enjoyed doing these devotions with my husband and children. We would begin by reading the rhyme, then continue with the starting point, “Let’s Talk!” and “Always Remember”, “Stuff to Do”, and “Quick Review.” It took us about fifteen minutes each time and the kids couldn’t wait until the next time.
One thing I thought that was strange was the way Adam was drawn. He chest wasn’t anatomically correct. I did have a fun time looking at the rest of the illustrations.
I didn’t think it was necessary to continuously state that we are not animals. I think the kids realized that in a couple of lessons.
I would recommend A is for Adam for families with young children.
Disclosure- I received A is for Adam by Ken & Mally Ham for free from Master Books. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I’m disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A is for Adam: The Gospel from Genesis
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More Than Just a Picture Book!

Date:April 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Happy Homeschool Mom
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A is for Adam is more than just a child's picture book. It is a fun and interesting way to teach your children all about the truths in the book of Genesis. One truth is presented for each letter of the alphabet from A to Z using wonderful, truthful rhymes. "A is for Adam; God made him from dust. He wasn't a monkey, he looked just like us. Although some scientists don't think it was so, it was God who was there, and He ought to know." The illustrations that go along with the poems are delightful!
The rhymes and illustrations go a long way to teaching children about the book of Genesis, but the book has so much more! The book is designed as a hardcover flip book with a base that allows it to stand up on a table. The side with the rhyme and illustration points in one direction (the students) while on the other side is an entire page for the teacher (or parent.) The teacher page has the rhyme and a short lesson containing: The starting point, Bible Bits, Let's Talk, Always Remember, Stuff to Do, and Quick Review, which helps you the teacher reinforce what is being taught in the book in a fun and engaging way. To see a sample of the teacher's page click here. It goes even further to provide the teacher with a background page on each of the truths presented and how to direct the discussion with your students.
I love A is for Adam and would recommend it to parents, homeschoolers, and Sunday School Teachers. All ages can enjoy and appreciate the book and the lessons from it. My 15 year old thought it was really cute!! It would probable be best enjoyed by preschoolers through elementary aged students. Truly an awesome resource to have in the home!
"Z is for Zip, so quick it will be, when Jesus comes back for you and for me. If our name is found in the "Lambs Book of Life," We'll sure live forever in a place with no strife,"
I received a complimentary copy of A is for Adam from New Leaf Publishing Group for the purpose of writing a fair and honest review. I received no other compensation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A is for Adam: The Gospel from Genesis
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great resource... a few errors in my copy...

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amy B
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Name: A is for Adam
Author: Ken and Mally Ham
Publisher: Master Books
Genre: Children Nonfiction, Children Bible Study, Creation
Ages: 3-11
Page Count: 80
Format: Hardcover, stand-up
What a neat resource! This book A is for Adam, is a series of rhymes taking you from (obviously) “A” is for “Adam” all the way to “Z” is for “Zip” while portraying the gospel in a simple, colorful, and child-friendly manner. Each verse has it's own color illustration with an entire page of discussion points, questions, and simple activities to do. For you (as the parent or older sibling :-) ) there are more in-depth notes in the back.
I loved the points that were made in the book- how it was all tied back to the gospel- down to when God “made” clothes for Adam and Eve from animal skins, that was the first “sacrifice” to cover their sin, how the ark portrayed salvation, and more! How wonderful that we can plant seeds like these into little minds to get them thinking- I love it.
Is it Informative? Definitely
Overall child friendly? Five stars
-Simple to understand? Definitely
-Capture Attention? OK
-Clean? Yes
Faith Building? Definitely
Accuracy? Excellent
Illustrations? Three stars
{Simple, colorful, and child-friendly}
Writing Style: Average
Blasphemy/Profanity? No
Worldview: Thoroughly Christian
Quality of cover, binding: Average
Gospel Message? Yes
Good Repute Rating: Five stars
Final Thoughts or Comments: This is a great book for what it is intended. However, in the printing that I received I noticed quite a few typos/grammatical errors. I hope that in future editions that these can be corrected- other than that it is an excellent resource!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A is for Adam: The Gospel from Genesis
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A is for Adam

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ihopeyoudance
Location:Kansas
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A is for Adam
When I was little my family had a little library in one of our spare rooms. This is where I discovered books and that I love to read. As I was browsing New Leaf Publishing to see what books they were offering in their blogging for books program, I came across a title I recognized from my childhood. A is for Adam the Gospel from Genesis by Ken and Mally Ham is a children's book that is mainly pictures about Adam and Eve. I used to love reading it and discovered the one that I requested is different than the older version. This version is hardback and can be propped up and then you can flip through the pages and read the story on one side and review what that page said on the other side. It is more of an interactive book that is way cool for younger kids!
The book says that it is a "multipurpose family book" on the back and I would agree! It's really neat to see how an ordinary book can be changed into something more interactive.
Anyway for those of you who have young ins I suggest you check this book out!
Here is a link to a website that has it-A is for Adam the Gospel from Genesis
"I received this book for free from New Leaf Publishing"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A is for Adam: The Gospel from Genesis
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Educational tool

Date:January 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
michorose
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A is For Adam is another great educational tool from Ken and Mally Ham. Being a homeschooling mom I love anything that will help my children learn and understand the Word of God. This wonderful flip chart style book is so helpful!
This book has great illustrations and goes from A to Z with biblical truths. There are a few different sections for each letter of the alphabet. First you will read what the letter stands for in this particular book. Then there's the Starting Point section. This section tells you a little about a specific biblical occurrence. Then there is the Bible Bits section. There are a handful of little points that you would have the children repeat after you. The Let's Talk section is next with a few questions to get your kids thinking and participating. There are some extra activities and another quick review. I will be using this book with our kids at our bible study group as well. There are even printable color pages to go along with the studies. I really, really love this book!
I received this book from MasterBooks, a division of NLP for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A is for Adam: The Gospel from Genesis
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Engaging book for young children

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christian parents need to build a library for their children complete with secular stories but also books that teach the child of God, Christ, and eternity. Ken Ham has certainly been an advocate of strong, Christian literature that teaches the truth in Genesis and the truth in our Bible.
I received a beautiful, yet complete with delightful illustrations, flip book that takes the parent and child through the alphabet beginning with "A is for Adam." The book has cute rhyme that helps to grab his/her attention and engage the mind for solid memory of the information. Example:
J is for Jovial, as Satan must have been,
The Devil was gleeful with all he had seen.
He was able to trick poor Eve with a lie,
"Obey all my words, and you'll surely not die."
and then after that dire episode.....
M is for Moan, what a mess sin did make,
Thorns, thistles and death, and cursed ground for man's sake.
God had to judge sin. He's so holy and pure,
But God is so good, He provided a cure.
For the Parent: Each page has another correlated page in the back of the book with Overview, Directed Discussion, Core Truth Takeaway, and Quick Review to aid in the instruction of the child.
I highly recommend this book for homeschools, Christian Schools, and private homes.
Bio: Ken Ham is the founder and executive director of Answers in Genesis in the USA and one of the most sought-after Christian speakers in North America. Ken is the author or co-author of many books, including The Lie: Evolution, The Genesis Solution, Genesis and the Decay of the Nations, What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs?, A is for Adam, D is for Dinosaur, Creation Evangelism for the New Millennium (now called Why Won't They Listen?), and One Blood: The Biblical Answer to Racism. He is heard daily on the radio program, “Answers...with Ken Ham,” on more than 300 stations worldwide. Ken is also featured in various videos including the series, “Answers in Genesis with Dr. Gary Parker,” and the 12-part series of 28-minute videos, “Answers...with Ken Ham.” Ken's teaching is clear, true to the Bible, engaging, and challenging. Many have found salvation and others have been encouraged and equipped to reach others with the gospel through Ken's ministry.
I received a complimentary review copy of "A is for Adam" from New Leaf Publishing Group for Master Books and was not required to render a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A is for Adam: The Gospel from Genesis
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for parents and teachers

Date:January 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
SC2424
Location:Vermont
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A is for Adam is a multi-purpose book. It has a neat format, a stand-up "easel" style book with spiral binding, which enables the parent/teacher to look at/read the information from one side while the child/children view the pictures on the other side. There are lessons all through the alphabet, from A to Z, teaching the Gospel based on lessons from the book of Genesis. The parent side of the page lists things about what to teach on that topic, what to discuss, what the child needs to remember from that page, extra activities/stuff to do (related things to do that will enhance/expand the topic), and "quick review" questions at the end.
After all of the letters of the alphabet have been moved through, the second section in the book is a more in-depth investigation of the topics. More teaching, discussion starters, and a "core truth takeaway" which summarizes what the child/children should be learning/retaining from this lesson.
I can see many uses for this book. When I first saw it, my thought was to use it in a Sunday School/children's church setting. The different depths of coverage would allow it to be used with a wide range of ages. The pictures are colorful and eye-catching and certainly are appropriate for each topic. After going through it further I can see its use as a homeschool tool, or even just as a reading/talking tool to use with your kids. How about an after-dinner read/discuss? Lots of possibilities.
As I had this book sitting out waiting for me to read it, my 7 year old picked it up and started reading through it (looking at the pictures and the text too) and she asked if we could use it for devotions--another great way to use it!
This book is creation-oriented, full of Biblical truth. Lots of Scripture references for reinforcement and further study. I think it is a great addition to any family with children; it would also be a great purchase for a Sunday School or Children's Church curriculum coordinator--either to use as a series or just as an easy option for a substitute teacher (it's that user-friendly!)
I'd recommend this book for sure!
I received a free copy of this book to review from New Leaf Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A is for Adam: The Gospel from Genesis
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A classic in a new format!

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lisa K
Location:Ctrl, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A is for Adam; God made him from dust. He wasn't a monkey, he looked just like us. Although some scientists don't think it was so, it was God who was there, and He ought to know."
A is for Adam is in a new format - a flip book with a stand!
While your child is looking at one side of the book, you can be reading: The Letter of the Alphabet, Corresponding Rhyme, Bible Bits, Let's Talk, Always Remember, Visual Vocabulary, Stuff to Do and Quick Review on the opposite side.
We own the original version of A is for Adam. I LOVE this new format. Everything you need to present each letter (and plan corresponding discussion with activities) is right at your finger tips. For a busy mom, this is WONDERFUL!
The picture page is large, colorful and eye catching. The explanations and details are age appropriate and easy to understand.
After the initial alphabet pages are more detailed suggestions for each letter of the alphabet. The Core Takeaway sections seem to be geared toward older children and parents to help cement the truth of a literal Biblical Creation.
Also included is the biblical model for marriage, holiness, armor of God, sin, Noah's Flood, and Jesus (Salvation).
Great for Sunday School or devotionals, this book will not only teach youngsters, but help parents and educators understand biblical truths as well.
I received a copy of this book free of charge in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A is for Adam: The Gospel from Genesis
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helping Children Understand the Gospel

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For a year now, our recently-turned 5-years-old's favourite bedtime book has been A is for Adam. We've owned the previous edition of this book for several years and were excited to receive a copy of this new edition to review. It arrived just in time for Christmas!
First reactions were bittersweet. We knew from the cover that the illustrations would be different but my daughter (the 5-year-old) was more disappointed than I anticipated. She was the one of our four children who had favourite illustrations from the original book. However, after reading the book with her, we are happy to report that the text remains the same and she now requests to be read to from both books!
Ken and Mally Ham bring the message of the gospel to children through this beginning-in-Genesis account. It's important for people to understand why Jesus had to die on the cross and that begins in Genesis, when He created man in His own image. A is for Adam takes you through the "7 C's of History", chronologically beginning with Adam having been just created. It's written in appealing language for children and it is through the reading of A is for Adam that our daughter wanted to find out if her name was written in the Lamb's Book of Life. Is there any greater joy for a parent than to hear your child's desire and prayer to trust Jesus as their Saviour?
There are a few differences to note between the previous and new editions of A is for Adam. As far as the illustrations go, I can't say that I prefer one set of cartoons over the other. However, the new edition is updated and has more traditional vs silly illustrative art. The previous edition was a hard cover book and the new edition is a table top flip-over book. Due to the flip-over style, it is a wonderful asset for taking this book beyond the rhyming story. The previous edition had extra content at the end of the book, but this flip-over book has a lot of discussion points and activities printed on the opposing side of the page facing the parent/teacher. Similar to the previous edition, there is a good amount of detailed discussion, overview, and review at the end of this book.
For those of you who have the previous edition, you'll be happy to know that you can now download the colouring pages for this book to print/colour. Although, if you have a child like mine, you'll still be photocopying the colouring pages out of the original book; particularly the "V" page from Noah's flood. What can I say; they love that page!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A is for Adam: The Gospel from Genesis
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Biblical A-Z for Littles

Date:December 27, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is nothing better to get a preschooler or kindergartner's attention than a big colorful flip board! I was so excited when I saw A is for Adam! It is a homeschooler's dream! This colorful BIG flip board book covers the alphabet from A to Z using the book of Genesis to correlate a story to each letter. Of course it begins with Adam and it goes all the way through "Z is for Zip, so quick will it be, When Jesus comes back for you and for me." Each letter is given a full size colorful illustration and a "quick guide" for discussion, verses, questions, activities, etc. If you want to expand this beyond PreK or K, there is an additional page of discussion and more for each letter.
The more I explore this teaching tool, the more excited I get! The possibilities for using this to learn are endless. This resource is perfect for homeschool, Sunday school, before bedtime devos, and more! If your child isn't quite ready to learn letters yet, use this to introduce the beautiful illustrations and stories from Genesis. With all the activities, discussion ideas, and more, this book will last you a long time. Once Speedy is reading, I will use it for daily short readings for him since the wording on the pictures is only a sentence or two.
Master Books brings us so many great homeschool resources and this is just another fine example!
I received this book for the purpose of review. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinons are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A is for Adam: The Gospel from Genesis
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than ever!

Date:December 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A is for Adam
By Ken & Mally Ham
Calling all home school moms, Sunday school teachers, Children’s Church Directors & VBS workers—the new A is for Adam flip book is awesome! Years ago when I needed something like this for my Children’s Church class I had my husband (who is an artist) draw it off on a large flip drawing pad. That worked but it wasn’t very durable. Now we have access to this wonderful resource that is made to last and be durable as well as very user friendly.
As someone who owns a copy of the original A is for Adam book I have been able to compare the two products and see what is alike and what is different. The original was a full color hard cover story book that featured engaging artwork and a lively rhyme that incorporated each letter of the alphabet into an entertaining teaching resource that not only helped a child study their alphabet but also taught solid Biblical truths from the creation to the resurrection. It included detailed parent/teacher lesson plans and study notes along with reproducible coloring pages from the book. I have personal experience with using this book for Children’s Church and it is a valuable resource.
The new version is even better. It has an updated look in a handy new flip book format that is really beneficial in showing to one or more children and teaching the lessons. The rhyme is the same and it still includes extensive teaching tips and plans but they have been revised and updated into an even easier format and include even more information than before.
I like the flip book design with the artwork and rhyme on one page facing the child and the teaching notes on the back for the parent/teacher to have easy access to—no flipping back and forth in the book as you teach. I also like the extra content that includes an overview of the lesson, directed discussion, and a core truth for each topic. The new version does not contain coloring pages in the book but they are available for download to your computer which enables you to easily print them directly from there instead of having to scan and copy as in the old format. With this one book you can easily teach an entire unit study on creation as the work has all been done for you. The Hams have provided a very valuable and exciting product for parents and teachers alike who want to introduce creation concepts to the children in their lives. Definitely one of the best books I have reviewed in 2011.
I received this complimentary copy from New Leaf Press for this review. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A is for Adam: The Gospel from Genesis
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A is for Amazing

Date:December 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
MamaHall
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love the way this book is spiral bound and designed with a built-in tent to stand up like a flip-chart. it was just natural for me to sit across our school table from my children (ages 3 and 6) and read the gospel with him chronologically in this rhyming, alphabetical form. the book presents biblical truths in a way that is simple, entertaining, and memorable. it's very thorough, and yet we could spend as much or as little time on each page as needed, keeping it simple enough for my 3-year-old son or going into further detail with my 2nd grade daughter. i can see using this book with the free downloadable coloring pages with both of my children, focusing on one letter and one part of Genesis at a time, week by week.
A is for Adam is a fun way to teach the gospel to young children at home or in a Sunday school setting. i am looking forward to incorporating this into our homeschool curriculum for both my preschooler and my 2nd grader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A is for Adam: The Gospel from Genesis
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome interactive way to teach/learn gospel!

Date:December 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Haelie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
A whole new twist to the ABCs!
A is for Adam by Ken & Mally Ham quite creatively facilitates a parent (or grandparent) helping a child learn the gospel in a way that they can actually comprehend it.
I must say, I am quite impressed with how well my six-year-old son grasps and even teaches back to me the truth of why Jesus had to come and die in our place---many thanks to this well-formatted book.
Ken and Mally Ham have structured this book to tell the true Gospel as it is initiated in the book of Genesis. Each letter of the alphabet corresponds with a word that is used in a rhyming sentence displayed on a colorful cartoon picture that illustrates the content of the sentence. Additionally, on the "adult's" side of the flip-chart, tent-like book, there is a simple but thorough guide for discussing that specific, important Gospel content with your child.
There are even FREE downloadable coloring versions of the artwork from this book for you child's enjoyment!
The sections on the discussion side of the book include:
- Let's Read (a verbatim copy of the sentence the child is seeing and reading on their picture)
- The Starting Point (a concise discussion-starter statement which further introduces the point of this page)
- Bible Bits (a bulleted list of short truthful statements for the child to repeat after the adult)
- Let's Talk! (a bulleted list of short discussion points and questions to help the child further comprehend)
- Always Remember (a brief, truth-filled recap phrase for the child to repeat back)
- Visual Vocabulary (a guide for having the child find things in the picture that begin with the letter of the page and identify other specific things from the picture)
- Stuff To Do (a section of suggestions of how to further learn/teach about this content in tangible ways including more discussion points as well as craft projects)
- Quick Review (a short bulleted list of questions to ask the child to help them further grasp the content)
My son actually begs me to read this with him! He loves to sit on his side to look at the main pictures and read the sentences that are on those pictures while I sit on my side of the book and lead him in a discussion about that specific picture.
Again, I love to hear the responses he shares in the discussions. So much so, I think I will let you in on a bit of our conversations as we were going through A is for Adam together.
Question from "Stuff To Do" section of D is for Dinosaurs page was "What do you do when you feel lonely?"
- My son's answer, "Just go on top of the roof and sleep and spend the night until I can find a family."
- WHAT?! Where in the WORLD did He get that from?! LOL! He has never been on our roof, nor does he have any way to get there. And, yes, he does have a family...a very close and loving family, I might add. ;)
When discussing Satan the serpent on the G is for Ghastly page, my son says, "Sometimes I listen to Satan."
- I ask, "What does he say to you?"
- He responds, "He tells me that my mom and dad are lying to me, but I enore (ignore) him and I fight him in my heart. And, I call him a 'Liar, Liar, Pants on Fire.'"
So, if you have a child in your life or the life of a loved one whom you think would benefit from understanding more about the Gospel, then I highly suggest you get your hands on a copy of A is for Adam!
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from New Leaf Publishing Group - Master Books. No other compensation was received. The fact that I received a complimentary product does not guarantee a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.