Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Master Books Begin: A Journey Through Scriptures for Seekers and New Believers

Master Books Begin: A Journey Through Scriptures for Seekers and New Believers

The perfect starting point for any believer to begin a powerful journey through the Bible!

-Designed to help you quickly and easily understand the structure and context of the Bible
-Brings to light often difficult concepts through easy-tounderstand commentary
-Provides a quick overview to help you start developing a greater understanding and focus on God's Word.

Christ made you an offer and you chose to accept it! Start learning more about Him and His Word today! Discover His promises and the expectations that come with this powerful relationship. Enjoy a quick and concise presentation of core concepts that can help you cement your faith foundation. With insights from Genesis 1-11 (the foundation), Exodus 20:1-17 (the Ten Commandments), John (the Gospel), Romans (a letter from Paul to Christians), and Revelation 21 - 22 (the fulfillment in heaven), Begin presents a foundational overview that you can build your Bible study around. Get excited about God's Word and find yourself wanting to know more each day!
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Begin: A Journey Through Scriptures for Seekers and New Believers
Review 1 for Begin: A Journey Through Scriptures for Seekers and New Believers
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Introductory material

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Daniel Mount
Location:Avery's Creek, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The authors, Ken Ham and Bodie Hodge, note that just handing a seeker or new believer the Gospel of John alone would not lay the necessary groundwork to understand the Gospel message. We need to start with our need for a Savior - start with Creation, the Fall, and the Curse.
The core of Begin is John and Romans. They are preceded by Genesis 1-11 and Exodus 20, and followed by the final two chapters of Revelation. Between each section, Ham and Hodge provide brief summaries of the rest of Scripture. Given the authors' backgrounds, it's no surprise that a key cornerstone of the book is a defense of the authenticity and historicity of the opening chapters of Genesis. Beyond that, though, they skillfully navigate the treacherous waters of major theological disputes, encouraging readers to go to their church's doctrines for issues like dispensational theology vs. covenant theology.
For those who recognize the flaws of the modern/critical Greek text of the New Testament, the use of the English Standard Version (ESV) as the translation of choice may be a deal-breaker. Yet the introductory material and summaries do provide a well-phrased presentation of the Gospel message.
Disclosure of Material Connection (FTC 16 CFR, Part 255): Review copy provided by publisher. A positive review was not required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Begin: A Journey Through Scriptures for Seekers and New Believers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book to read and to give to others!

Date:January 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pursue and Recover
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Review: Begin by Ken Ham & Bodie Hodge
This book is designed as a journey through scriptures for seekers and new believers. The authors start with a foreword that gives insight on why this book is written. It states many Christians today are passing out copies of the New Testament (which often include the Psalms and Proverbs from the Old Testament) in their effort to share God’s Word with others. Of course, that is a wonderful idea, but I suggest there is now an increasing problem with this approach. You see, most people who receive these New Testaments have been trained by the secular world, which comes through the influence of the news media, movies, Internet, public schools and even many Christian Schools/colleges, to believe in evolution and millions of years.
They go on to say that because of the lack of information that is given by not having the entire Bible one is uninformed of the origin of human kind; where we began and where mankind fell from grace by sinning and the need of a Savior comes in.
This book is full of Biblical facts and thought provoking questions that encourage learning. There are spaces provided that will allow for notes. Creation is explained and as all other topics in this book is backed by scripture from the Old and New Testaments. The English Standard Version of the Bible is used.
Begin presents foundational and relevant portions of scripture along with a powerful mix of commentary, historical information, and helpful detail that gives you an overview of the scripture focus of the Bible.
I recommend this book for personal Bible learning as well as teaching or in a Bible study group. I found this to be a delightful book and a great addition to add to my library.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the New Leaf Publishing Group Book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Begin: A Journey Through Scriptures for Seekers and New Believers
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Little Shallow but a Good Beginning

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
BlossomB
Location:OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The book takes the `seeker' through specific books of the Bible: Genesis, Exodus, John, Romans and Revelation. Before each section of Bible being put in the book is a commentary relevant to the section. At the end of each chapter of the book of the Bible that is presented in ESV version of the Bible are questions geared to make one think about what is being said in the Bible. Some of the questions are quite simple (yes/no) but most are open-ended, requiring reflection.
The one thing I appreciated the most about this book is the option to `journal' through the study. On almost every page the margins are lined to allow for note taking. Also at the end of each chapter, where the questions are located, is ample room for writing down the answers. There are also footnotes for the scriptures in case a word or phrase may be confusing.
Some of the reasoning put forth to try to help explain an aspect, concept, situation, etc., in the Bible is not very clear in the author's words and personally I would find it to confuse more than enlighten. I did find it a little amusing where Paul wrote "brothers" the footnote says, "Or brothers and sisters..." I find that to be a little silly but do understand that some new believers may have trouble with the prominence of males in the Bible {or lack of prominence of women}. That is just one instance and just a personal view of it.
Another issue I have with the book is the focus of creation and a young earth. But again, I do understand that it is not a commonly held belief and coming into Christianity may challenge previously held beliefs. I just get tired of hearing about it, I guess.
I use the KJV Bible but I think that ESV may be my next choice of Bible so this book wasn't too difficult to adjust to in that respect. If you are adamant that one version of the Bible is the `correct' one then this book may not sit so well with you. Also, if you are adverse to Ken Ham's view points, you may not like this book either.
Overall, I found the book to be okay. It would be good to have beside your Bible while you read the chosen parts discussed in this book.
I received this book free in exchange for an honest review from New Leaf Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Begin: A Journey Through Scriptures for Seekers and New Believers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Giving Seekers/Believers a Biblical Worldview

Date:November 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent start for exactly who it is intended for: "seekers and new believers". I have thoroughly enjoyed the layout of this book and feel it will help answer some of the questions people have about the Bible, who God is, and why in the world they need to be saved -- saved from what?!
Growing up, the CSSM (Canadian Sunday School Mission) was warmly welcomed into the Canadian public school system. I remember those flannel graph stories, the songs, the love of those teachers,.....and the conviction of the law (the weight of sin) in my life. The law is a mirror of the sin in our lives and it shows us why we need a Saviour.
Today, more and more people know less and less of the foundations of God's Word. You can't just assume that everyone has heard what the Bible says. Not everyone has grown up in a Bible-preaching church, evolution is taught as fact in schools (books, tv, etc.), and the name of God in some circles is often heard more as a cuss word than the name of our Almighty Creator.
Begin is just that: it gives readers a foundation: a beginning. It is completely Scripture based and brings Creation through Redemption into focus. Most of the book is the Bible, with commentary like a study Bible would offer. It is giving readers a Biblical worldview, allowing you to see God's hand on and love for us right from His Creation of us.
From a personal perspective, I purchased a copy of this book before my "free preview" from Master Books even arrived. After reading it, I know that this is the book I will be giving to a dear person in my life who is a new believer. It gives Biblical answers for the questions evolution has attempted to distort.
"The grass withers, the flower fades, but the word of our God stands forever." Isaiah 40:8
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Begin: A Journey Through Scriptures for Seekers and New Believers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Introductory Book -- Highly Recommended

Date:October 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
RDrisk5150
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A wonderful introductory book for those who desire to understand the overarching biblical picture. It is a perfect resource for the new Christian, or anyone desiring an overview of the Bible.
The authors begin the book by telling the reader why the book is necessary. They say that, in history past, most everyone knew what the Bible said, whether or not they chose to trust in its teachings or not. However, in our present culture, many have no idea what is contained within the pages of the most sacred of books.
Even those who have read some of the Bible do not know what to make of it. They lack an understanding of how the Bible fits together as a unit. Many think that the Old Testament and the New Testament have nothing to do with each another. This book helps dissolve that misunderstanding by giving the reader a clear overview and explanation of the entire record of the Bible.
Presenting select portions of Scripture, and commentary to link the portions together into a cohesive unit, Ham and Hodge do seekers and new believers a great service with this offering.
The book presents Genesis, chapters 1-11, to show creation, the fall, and God’s promise of redemption. The Ten Commandments, the Gospel of John, the Book of Romans, and the book of Revelation follow, giving a well-rounded and solid knowledge of the main message of Scripture.
The writers have a gift for taking complex and confusing concepts and making them understandable and memorable. I have been studying the Bible for a couple of decades now and I still gleaned some truths from this work that I had not seen clearly.
The authors ask plenty of thought-provoking questions and leave plenty of room to jot down answers and thoughts the reader may have as he or she reads.
As one would expect from a book by Ken Ham, the issue of creation is center stage and is foundational to a correct understanding of the rest of the Bible. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the authors on this point, although I am aware, as are the authors, that there are sincere Christians who do not hold to a young earth view of creation. It still makes the most sense to me.
The book wraps up by presenting several helpful essays dealing with the most frequently used arguments against biblical truth. Always the evangelists, Ham and Hodge present the Gospel for anyone wishing to respond to the truth presented in the preceding portion of the book.
I rate this book very high due to the clarity with which it presents the material. I am also impressed with the amount of Scripture, and the choice of Scripture, dealt with in the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Begin: A Journey Through Scriptures for Seekers and New Believers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kristenph
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is the first book of the Bible a new believer should read?
I've always heard you should start with the Gospel of John. But in Begin, a new book from New Leaf Publishing Group, Ken Ham and Bodie Hodge suggest starting somewhere else: Genesis.
I agree with their logic.
In Genesis we learn the origin of the world. Genesis is where we learn how sin entered the world. We see in Genesis why we need a Savior!
But rather than starting in Genesis and reading straight through the Bible, Begin suggests a different Bible reading plan. After laying the foundation in Genesis 1-11 and Exodus 20 (the Ten Commandments), it then moves on to the entire Gospel of John, Romans, and finally Revelation 21-22. Included in the book is the English Standard Version (ESV) translation of the above scriptures. On each page there is also a fact or a cross reference or two. There is room along the edge of the pages for taking notes, and there are also thinking questions throughout the book.
In between the different sections of scripture are short summaries of what happened historically between the two portions of scripture. For example, between Genesis 11 and Exodus 20 there is "A Brief Review of History from Abram to Moses and the Ten Commandments". These summaries are brief, but would be especially helpful to someone who does not have much prior knowledge of the Bible.
At the end of the book are 2 additional sections that are very informative:
What Does It Mean to Be Saved?
Ten Basics to Boldly Proclaim a Biblical Worldview
I think this book provides an excellent start to studying the Bible. I appreciate the fact that this Bible Study is in fact studying the Bible. So many Bible studies contain very little Scripture, and have in its place man's opinions of Scripture. Begin would make a great gift for new believers, seekers, or anyone who wants to gain an understanding of the Gospel.
Disclosure: I received a copy of this book to review. I was not compensated for this review. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Begin: A Journey Through Scriptures for Seekers and New Believers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Essential reading for new believers

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot begin to count the number of times that I have heard preachers tell new converts:
“Get yourself a Bible and begin to read in the Gospels—don’t bother with the Old Testament—it will only confuse you.” That has never made any sense to me. If you want a person to understand the Bible and the plan of salvation, they need to understand the whole book. Begin—the new book by Ken Ham and Bodie Hodge—helps people understand the Bible and its message.
Starting with Genesis chapters 1-11, then to the Ten Commandments, on through the book of John, then to Paul’s letters to the Romans, and finally ending with the Revelation to John; this study book takes the reader on a journey through scriptures that will reveal the big picture and allow him to understand what the Bible is all about. This book is great for new converts as well as seasoned Christians so that they can examine what God’s word says and understand just how relevant Genesis and Creation are to our understanding of a Christian World View. Every family needs a copy of this book.
I received this complimentary copy from New Leaf Press for this review. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Begin: A Journey Through Scriptures for Seekers and New Believers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Big Picture of the Bible for New Believers!

Date:August 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sirius Knott
Location:Charleston, WV
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well-meaning Christians have this tendency to give new believers and seekers those darling little copies of the New Testament (usually with Psalms and Proverbs attached), with the common instruction to start with the gospel of John (for theology’s sake) or Mark’s gospel (for brevity’s sake). This well-meaning custom is something of a relic from an era when America was a Christian nation, where the average person knew what we meant we we spoke of sin and salvation, because we had a basic foundation of Biblical knowledge. As the years have passed, America has increasingly become a secular nation and ignorance of the Bible and basic Christian doctrine is the norm rather than the exception – even in the pew!
To remedy this situation, Ken Ham and Bodie Hodge set out to create a “simple road map to follow that sets the stage, creates the context, and helps you effectively navigate the scope and relevance of God’s Word.” Or to put it more simply, Begin wants to give you the Big Picture of what the Bible’s about, from beginning to end. Since they’ve tailored this work for new believers and seekers who often have a hard time with the Middle English wording of the beloved King James, they chose the English Standard Version (ESV) of the Scriptures for readability’s sake.
Their road map consists of five sections of the Bible:
•Genesis 1-11 (The Foundation)
•Exodus 20:1-17 (The Ten Commandments)
•John (The Gospel)
•Romans (An Epistle or Letter from Paul to Christians)
•Revelation 21-22 (The Fulfillment in Heaven)
Begin isn’t just a Bible; it’s also filled with commentary that fills the reader in on the relevant history that occured between each section, short articles on basics every Christian needs to know, what it means to be saved, why we can trust our Bible, and more. Within the Scripture sections themselves are questions for the reader to ponder, Biblical cross-references and quick facts to give the reader perspective.
Better still, the seeker or new believer can use Begin as a Bible study. You see, in addition to lined space in the margins of each page for personal thoughts and notes, there are reflective questions and ample note space at the end of passages of Scripture. For example, after reading John 1-3, the reader is given the following challenge:
“Notice the big picture. God made a perfect world and we messed it up. In the same way the Lord sought after Adam and Eve in Genesis 3, so the Lord sought after us. God is indeed a loving, merciful, and gracious God. How much more should we love God?”
I would definitely recommend this resource to seekers and new believers. I might even suggest that Christians who’ve been in the church a bit longer also go through as a Bible study. It makes an excellent refresher course on the big picture of the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.