Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Master Books The Stargazer's Guide to the Night Sky

Master Books The Stargazer's Guide to the Night Sky

Staring up at the stars is an experience shared across time and space.

Designed for people without astronomy experience, The Stargazer's Guide to the Night Sky will help you discover the science of the stars, planets, moon, and sun. A mix of informative textbook chapters, star-charts to help you find your way around the sky, instructions on how to use a telescope, and helpful advice on learning to see in the dark, this guide will serve as a helpful introduction to the topic and activity of astronomy. 240 pages, hardcover, glossy pages with many full-color photographs.

ICR Item Number: BSGTTNS

Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Stargazer's Guide to the Night Sky
Review 1 for The Stargazer's Guide to the Night Sky
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For those Who Love the Night Sky!

Date:December 11, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought this book had wonderful pictures and information. My son and I had fun looking at the book together. We learned about the analema, Haley’s Comet, eclipses, sun dogs, and moon dogs. I know that we will use this book for many years to come.
My favorite chapter is the one about astronomy with the unaided eye. One of the best parts was all the diagrams of the night skies. I’m glad I live in the Northern Hemisphere, because the diagrams were geared towards those living at mid-northern latitudes.
There was a lot of great information in this entire book for an amateur astronomer. The chapter on astro-photography was one that I need to share with my sister, because she enjoys taking pictures of the night sky.
This book would be useful for homeschoolers and amateur astronomers. I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure- I received The Stargazer’s Guide to the Night Sky by Dr. Jason Lisle for free. All links were current when posted. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I’m disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Stargazer's Guide to the Night Sky
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Staring At The Sky

Date:October 8, 2012
Apple & Speedy are so interested in the solar system and sky right now. We went to a planetarium at the very beginning of this school year, and they have been "researching" the sky since. This is one of the things I love about homeschool the most. We have the freedom to follow a trail of interest at our leisure. I don't know many other K and 3rd graders that get to delve so deeply into the solar system. We have a nice planet poster up in our school room for a visual and we've been seeking information at the library, online, and now in this new fabulous resource we received. The Stargazer's Guide To The Night Sky by Dr. Jason Lisle is a great place for young children to start learning about God's creations in space.
"This book is written for the person who has no experience in astronomy, but wants to learn how to best enjoy the night sky." (pg 4) Doesn't that say everything you need to know? Honestly I don't know much about astronomy. This is one of those areas where I will learn beside my children. This book is a terrific place to start. Many of the heavenly bodies Dr. Lisle introduces you to can be viewed by the human eye, no telescope needed. There is even a whole chapter on the human eye to help you better understand how and why you see what you do. In case you are ready to continue your study of the sky, Dr. Listle also includes a chapter on telescopes to assist you in making the best purchase.
Apple and Speedy have basically devoured every beautiful image in the book. Many come from the Hubble Space telescope. Apple is completely intrigued by the galaxies, especially the beautiful pictures of the Whirlpool Galaxy. Speedy loves them all! He has really been studying the planets. I must admit I have sat and thumbed through the pages several times already. I am so in awe of God's magnificent creation! If you have children that are interested in the sky, the planets, the constellations, check out this guide! It would make a wonderful gift for an adult or a child, any novice sky gazer!
I received this book from New Leaf Publishing for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Stargazer's Guide to the Night Sky
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helpful for beginners wanting to search the stars.

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
BarbwireBob
Location:Coalinga, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gives views of night sky seasonally with both constellations and major stars named. Good comparison of different type of telescopes with their pros and cons. Easy reading and clear photos.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Stargazer's Guide to the Night Sky
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Comprehensive Guide to the Sky!

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
LivingAndLearningAtHome
Location:Michigan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This year we are studying ancient history. This is actually our first year studying history, and since we school using the classical model we start at the beginning of time. Also keeping with the classical model, we try to integrate as many subjects together as possible, giving everything meaning and relevance. For ancient history, that would mean studying sciences like life science and astronomy.
Just this week we began at the beginning..."In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth." (Genesis 1:1) so I couldn't think of anything better to start thinking about than the heavens! (I guess the earth would have worked too =) Luckily for me, I had recently received a review copy of The Stargazer's Guide to the Night Sky by Dr. Jason Lisle. This hardcover, full color book is amazing and brimming with so much information! It is a very advanced book, so by no means will I be reading it with my 4 year old, but it opened my eyes to a new realm of study.
As I read through this book, I took notes of concepts I would like to integrate with our study of history this year. I wrote down things mostly about the sun and the moon...things that I could easily observe and discuss with my young children. This book is an incredible resource that I can see myself going back to time and time again. It can equip any parent with great knowledge needed to instruct their children about things in the sky.
If you have an older child, especially one who has taken an interest to astronomy, I highly recommend this as a resource for them. The book is filled with incredible detail and beautiful pictures. It covers everything from how our eyes work (with really interesting ideas for how to make your eyes work better in the dark!) to when to see meteor showers, and even how to take pictures of the beautiful sky! It details everything you would ever want to know about the sun, moon, and how everything moves in the sky (like where and when to look for stars). If you have an interest in any of these things, this book is for you!
This book has made me want to grab a blanket, go lay in my yard, and just watch the sky above. Want to join me?
I received this book from New Leaf Publishing for the purpose of this review. I was not required to give a positive review and all opinions are my own.
Happy Stargazing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Stargazer's Guide to the Night Sky
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Makes you want to invest in a telescope

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:AK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is just the book I've been looking for; something down-to-earth enough for beginners yet technical enough that we will continue to advance in our learning and understanding. We love gazing at stars and searching for common constellations, stars, and visible planets like Mars and Venus.
Chapters cover Motions in the Sky (basic & advanced), Understanding the Eye, Astronomy with the Unaided Eye, Celestial Events, Telescope Basics, Telescope Observing Sessions, The Moon and the Sun, The Planets, Star Classification and Telescope Viewing, Deep Sky Objects, and Astrophotography.
How thrilled I was to read that the best annual meteor shower occurs August 12-13 in the Northern Hemisphere. That's only a few weeks away! As I was laying in bed last night, thinking about it, I wondered how plausible it is that we will see anything or be awake enough to haul ourselves out of bed when it gets a little bit dark (here in Alaska) to go watch. For those fortunate enough to live somewhere where it actually gets dark at night - enjoy! We may just have to wait for the second best annual showing that peaks on December 14; the Geminid meteor shower. By then, I sure hope we see our fair share of the northern lights too!
Reading about everything we can't see with the naked eye and the detail you can see up close with a good telescope has me wishing that we had access to someone's expensive piece of equipment! Amazing photos are found throughout the book so even without that telescope, you're given a wealth of visual stimulation. Just laying out in a field, on a beach, or in your backyard away from city lights is a delight as you gaze at God's canvas.
We had the added benefit of visiting the Creation Museum in Kentucky last year. If you have the opportunity to visit, be sure to view any (ie. all) of their planetarium productions that happen to be playing at that time. What a blessing to watch and listen to a non-evolutionary based teaching of Astronomy.
Dr. Lisle's book has multiple star charts towards the end for reference. Star Walk is a great additional resource (app) to have on hand. Just hold your iPad up to the sky and it will show you in live-time what you are looking at. You can zoom in to see cosmic sites even further into the vastness of space. Just as Star Walk will make you more familiar with the sky around you, The Stargazer's Guide to the Night Sky will increase your knowledge about the where's, how's, and why's of your stargazing adventures and add to the print format star charts.
What a creative God to create everything from microscopic single-celled organisms to the unimaginable grandness of space and all it contains. Yet, in all of it...He chose us. Created in His own image. He commands the galaxies to obey Him but won't force us to love Him. He is our ever-forgiving Father who desires our love not because we have to love Him, but because we want to. No wonder the stars worship Him in their beauty.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Stargazer's Guide to the Night Sky
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awesome photos!

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
SoaringEagle
Location:USA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Stargazer's Guide to the Night Sky by Dr. Jason Lisle
Hardcover edition; 240 pages
Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing
ISBN # 978-0-89051-641-6
Do you know someone who loves astronomy and wants to learn more about it? This is a very comprehensive book about our night sky. Good for the beginner, the author does a great job explaining how we can admire the night sky. It does look a bit intimidating and some time wordy, but if you take your time in reading this book, then you will learn a lot. I enjoyed looking at all of the amazing photos of space. Looking at it all, it leads me to think how awesome God is to have made it all. Dr. Lisle explains how we can adapt to the darkness. He also tells us what telescope style is best for an amateur and how to use it.
I enjoyed reading the chapter on astronomy with the unaided eye. The author explains about constellations, shows us photos of what it looks like during the spring, summer, fall, winter and at what times.
It's a great book for older teens and up. The younger children would enjoy looking at the pictures of starts, moon, and planets. Good for home school and/or reference book.
I received this book for free from the publisher in return for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Stargazer's Guide to the Night Sky
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Practical and Awe-Inspiring

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kari
“The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament shows His handiwork” (Psalm 19:1). This stargazer’s guide will fill you with a sense of wonder—a wonder that should lead you to praise the Creator.
Published by Master Books of New Leaf Publishing, this hardbound book is 240 pages. Every page glitters with full color images from galaxies and planets to telescope equipment and star charts. The beginning stargazer will learn through a conversational approach how to understand the basic motions of objects in the night sky, how to discern the best times for viewing depending on the different months and seasons, and how to optimize observation through a simple understanding of the human eye and equipment like telescopes. Although written for newbies, even the seasoned astronomer will benefit from this informative and enjoyable guide.
While many of Dr. Lisle’s writings are weighty with apologetics (and worth the read), this book is down to earth and practical. It would be a refreshing guide for a creationist who is tired of hearing about astronomy from a naturalistic billions-of-years worldview, but it would also be a suitable gift for unbelieving friends and family. The book ends with an afterword explaining why only the biblical worldview can make sense of this orderly universe. (For an example of this line of apologetics, see Dr. Lisle’s article on the Answers in Genesis website: http://www.answersingenesis.org/articles/aid/v3/n1/evolution-anti-science.) “The fool has said in his heart, ‘There is no God’” (Psalm 14:1; cf. Romans 1:18–32).
**I received a complimentary copy of this course from the publisher for the purpose of my impartial review.**
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Stargazer's Guide to the Night Sky
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Gorgeous Book!!!

Date:June 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Homeschooling6
Location:TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family and I enjoy looking to the heavens at night. Especially my children. Although it's hard to see much from our vantage point. This is why I chose to be one of the reviewers for Dr. Jason Lisle's book, 'The Stargazer's Guide to the Night Sky'.
This book has absolutely stunning pictures of what God has created. It's amazing how God's work is captured on camera.
When I first received the book it was a bit overwhelming because there's so much information. I finally decided that first I was going to go through and look at all the photos because every time I'd start to read a chapter, I found myself flipping through the book instead. By going through the book and looking at all the gorgeous photos, I was better able to concentrate on the reading.
What do you get with this hardbound, 240, full~color page book? A remarkable amount of information about astronomy, science, God's Word, vocabulary, charts and much more.
There are twelve chapters:
•Motions in the Sky~Basic
•Motions in the Sky~Advanced
•Understanding the Eye
•Astronomy with the Unaided Eye
•Celestial Events
•Telescope Basics
•Telescope Observing Se4ssions
•The Moon and the Sun
•The Planets
•Star Classification and Telescope Viewing
•Deep Sky Objects
•Astrophotography
On one of my dates with my husband I was happy to inform him about 'The Moon Illusion', and how our eyes play tricks on us. When the moon is near the horizon it seems larger but it's not. It is the same size as when the moon is higher. The reason being is, the way the mind interprets the shape of the sky. The brain pictures a flattened dome instead of its hemisphere shape, and it sees it as not very high but wide. When the moon is high in the sky, the mind perceives that it is close and very small. When the moon is near the horizon, there are usually other objects (trees for instance) for comparison. The moon is behind all these objects and the mind perceives that the moon must be a great distance and very large. To read more about "The Moon Illusion" one can refer to chapter 8, 'The Moon and Sun'. My husband was pretty impressed and learned something new on our date!
The Stargazer's Guide to the Night Sky, would be a great addition to any library.
I received this book at no cost to me, in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Stargazer's Guide to the Night Sky
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful and Well Done but a Bit Intimidating

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
BlossomB
Location:OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you have ever looked up into the night sky and wanted to know more about what you are seeing, this book might be for you…I say ‘might’ because it is a little intimidating!
This book has great images and photographs but it sure has a lot of words. It is not a ‘picture book’. I did not say that was a bad thing! But it is overwhelming at times if one doesn’t know much (or really anything) about astronomy. That would be me. I’d recently reviewed a homeschool ebook that was specifically geared toward astronomy during specific months of the year and I really appreciated that particular resource. It is what drove me to request this book for review. Not all astronomy books are created equally user friendly.
The images and photographs are quite impressive. With the many sky labeled diagrams (which I am hard pressed to say aren’t actual photographs) it is quite easy to step outside at night and point out different constellations. But if it were just based on the first chapter, I probably wouldn’t read it any further. I was confused by much of what was written (he talks about figuring out what time it is by the position of sun, moon and stars based on the knowledge of the time it takes the Earth to rotate). If you get this book, or might be thinking about getting it, don’t stop at the first chapter. I skimmed through the second chapter which is more of the first chapter only advanced (if I didn’t get the basic, I wasn’t going to chance the advanced). I have not read the entire book (but have skimmed most of it numerous times).
My kids like the book- to look at. Neither have taken the time to actually read much of it. It is intimidating. But it has a lot of information in this book.Since I am not very versed in astronomy, I couldn’t tell if this is a good astronomy book or not. This isn’t a book that I would just pick up to ‘read’- to look at definitely; to find when/where a certain constellation or eclipse is best viewed from, you bet. Perhaps we will use it for the spine of an astronomy class in the coming years. It appears to be a solid book on the topic.
I received this book free in exchange for an honest review from New Leaf Publishing Group. All opinions are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Stargazer's Guide to the Night Sky
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing resource to study the night skies

Date:April 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
RollTideGirl
Location:Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
There is something about the night sky that captures our imagination and evokes a sense of awe and wonder. And our appreciation of the magnificence of creation is enhanced as we learn more about the cosmos. But what many people do not realize is that many of the celestial wonders are within the range of a small telescope. You just have to know where to look.....Even without an optical aid, there are countless celestial treasures that can be seen with the eye -- if you know where and how to look for them.
Jason Lisle has written a wonderful book entitled "The Stargazer's Guide to the Night Sky" that is designed for everyone from students to amateur astronomers. Lisle earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Physics and Astronomy from Ohio Wesleyan University as well as a Master's and PhD in Astrophysics from the University of Colorado in Boulder. He has taken his vast knowledge and understanding of our universe and written a book that is not only a wonderful resource for families but a great educational resource as well.
This 240 page full-color book is filled with amazing facts about astronomy, creation, Science, the Bible, constellations, astronomy vocabulary and definitions and much more. Containing over 150 beautiful photographs of our universe, full-color star charts and easy to use illustrations this book is captivating just from the pictures and charts alone. There are also videos links for expert advice for those who like to dig a little deeper into the world of astronomy and physics. Our family has enjoyed reading this book and even taking it outside at night to try to identify stars and constellations that we can see with our naked eye. We also have a telescope and have been amazed by what all we can see from learning how to use the telescope appropriately through Dr. Lisle's easy to understand writings. This book has also taught the kids some about Geography as they learn about the different spheres, lines of latitude/longitude, altitude, etc. We often have found the kids curled up in a chair just reading this book or coming to us all excited wanting to go out at night to see if they could find a particular star or constellation that they had read about in this book.
This book and its contents have inspired our soon-to-be 4th grader to want to study about space and Astronomy in Science next year. We purchased the Apologia Astronomy set for her to study in homeschool and The Stargazer's Guide to the Night Sky is going to be an awesome resource to use throughout this study as well. Not only would this be a beautiful coffee table book, it would be a great gift for anyone who teaches school, a great gift for a local library or your child's school library or for those who homeschool. The possibilities of how to use this book are endless and even as an adult, I love reading this book and have learned so much from it already. No matter where you live, whether you have a telescope or not, you will be blessed by this book as it teaches you how you can marvel at God's amazing beauty in the night time skies using just what you have where you are right now.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.