Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Master Books The Genius of Ancient Man

Master Books The Genius of Ancient Man

Why have cultures developed similar strategies, architecture, and stories in different places across the globe? Author Don Landis presents a diffusionist model that traces the lines back to the Genesis creation account. Interpreting why Biblical Christian symbols such as mountains, rainbows, and the Sun (Son) have been used in "pagan" religious practices, discover how their use of such natural objects is part of Satan's "counterfeit" of God's plan. 108 pages, hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Genius of Ancient Man
Review 1 for The Genius of Ancient Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

From creation till now

Date:March 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Richard Boekley
Location:elk river, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An excellent book about God's perfect creation and the intelligence of Adam and Eve. It's unfortunate that in society today this book will not be used in our public schools. Not even as an alternative.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Genius of Ancient Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well researched, beautiful photos, great read!

Date:December 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ponder the Path
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the title, the premise of the book is that God created man perfect, including his intellect. From the very beginning of time, mankind has possessed many creative and intellectual abilities that far surpass even the most learned in our own time.
But this isn't what the evolutionists would have us believe. In order for their "theory" to hold true, man would have to evolve from an unintelligent ape into a supreme fount of knowledge. This isn't what we see when we examine ancient history.
The Genius of Ancient Man: Evolution's Nightmare is an extremely well-researched textbook on the intelligence and accomplishments of ancient man.
An important concept related to this intelligence, is the fact that it was there before man was dispersed at the Tower of Babel. We know this because the same abilities are seen all over the world in all different cultures. For instance, several cultures around the world have succeeded in building towers and structures that boggle the minds of present day scholars. These cultures didn't have Google to look up "how to build a ziggurat" and there were no YouTube videos to teach "construction methods of ancient pyramids." This was information that was passed down to the cultures from their ancestors...their common ancestors.
It was also at the Tower of Babel that Satan showed his desire to counterfeit the things of the Lord. One of the first counterfeits was the tower itself. But there have been many, many more counterfeits over time. The book names several of the counterfeits, including man-made mountains (towers), astrology (counterfeiting God's original purpose for the stars), human sacrifice (God made the ultimate human sacrifice with His perfect son, as a redemption for sinful man), and rainbows (very interesting discussion on Satan's attempts to pervert the rainbow)--and several others!
Other than the fact that there was so much research done to produce a book of this caliber, my favorite parts of the book were the beautiful images in the book and the well thought out charts and graphs. I am a visual learner and these two things helped me realize the extent of the similarities in cultures all over the world. The charts and graphs help to break down the information into bite-size digestible nuggets.
For instance, a pictorial map shows over 50 locations where pyramids, ziggurats, obelisks, mounds and henges are located. When it is put together in this way, the reader can really get a grasp of how widespread the intelligence needed to build these was dissipated. And because all of these monuments were built early in the history of mankind, we can see how profound mankind's knowledge was at this time!
No longer are we left with the primitive caveman grunting and pointing. Ancient men (and women) were truly geniuses!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Genius of Ancient Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superb!

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
OhioSarah
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Genius of Ancient Man: Evolution’s Nightmare is another of Master Book’s publishing successes. Don Landis, the general editor for the book in conjunction with Jackson Hole Bible College have put together a wonderful book in explaining facts about ancient man from a Biblical worldview, that some, even Christians may fail to realize or even know about. The book is hardcovered and case bound and measures 8 1/2 by 11 inches and has 112 pages that are full of factual information and scientific process that doesn’t debunk the Bible as merely a story. This isn’t a simple, read-through-in-a-day book this book must be relished, taking the time to read and understand it’s findings in light of Biblical historical accuracy.
Some of what you’ll read include:
Why structures echoing the Tower of Babel have been recreated on almost every continent and major culture
What artifacts and archaeology, technology and innovation really reveal about the origin of mankind
Why many biblical symbols (rainbows, human sacrifice, mountains, the Son/sun worship) were, and continue to be, distorted in pagan religious practices
What the historical record reveals about Satan’s “counterfeit” of God’s plan for humanity
I found it fascinating how well this book tied in with our current history and geography curriculum and find it fascinating to read more about the statues of Easter Island and that dragons really did roam the earth with humans (there is some speculation that there even may be some dragon-like creatures alive today, but I digress). I love it when a book that has been researched and can prove the Bible’s truth in God’s Creation and historical accuracy as well as prove to man how Satan can turn good and perfect things into evil things. I really enjoyed this book and it gives me a chance to delve deeper into our studies as well as giving my older children something more than milk – it gives them the meat that they’ll need to eventually stand for God’s Word in a world and even a Church that is diluting God’s Word.
**Disclaimer: I was provided a copy of this book from Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing, in exchange for posting my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Genius of Ancient Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
SC2424
Location:Vermont
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This schoolyear we are studying ancient history using MFW Creation to the Greeks for my 3 homeschooled kids. This book, The Genius of Ancient Man by Don Landis falls right along with what we've been learning about.
This book uses many ancient artifacts, construction feats, etc. to illustrate that ancient man was not any less cognitively developed. There's a great chapter on monuments, mounds, and pyramids that shows this style of construction all around the world. There is a chapter about Biblical truth and counterfeit (counterfeit religions, practices, etc.) There's a great timeline showing civilizations and central events from the beginning to the 1600's. There are discussions of such topics as the Tower of Babel and the Ice Age. There are wonderful photos of many ancient sites displaying ancient advanced technology, "mysterious" sites (such as Nazca Lines, Peru and Stonhenge, England for example), and Monuments around the world (such as different pyramids, the Terracota Army, some mounds, etc).
The book was great. I highly recommend it. My children enjoyed looking at the pictures, though they haven't read the text. We will be using it along with our studies this year!
I would definitely recommend this book. It's a great explanation of how non-simple ancient man was. Not the "caveman" type societies but rather well-developed societies with more advanced technology than they are usually credited with. On a superficial level, the book is very attractive, a great layout, wonderful pictures, and a compelling cover. Great book.
I received a copy of this book from Master Books, a segment of the New Leaf Publishing Group for the purpose of this review. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Genius of Ancient Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Important for all Christians......

Date:November 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You might be saying Why is this book about Ancient Man important for Christians at ALL? And I am too happy to tell you. Dr. Don Landis, President of Jackson Hole Bible College. together with his research team, is the author of this book, The Genius of Ancient Man., This book is a large hard bound book filled with history, archeology, color photographs while providing a glimpse of the way that History is His story, and truth can never be rewritten to the point that it completely hides God's works and ways, although the enemy will try. In the war against God, keeping people from seeing His hand in history is a major strategy. When God says that Man was made in His image, and that even after the Fall man was fantastically intelligent, the enemy trains our children to think ancient man could barely figure out how to tie a loin cloth on and sat in a cave trying to make fire all day. Cartoons like Barney Rubble gave us this, and I know older adults who had been given the idea that aliens built the impressive structures of the ancient world.
Once again, science and observation are on the Christians side. This is why I am so excited to read this book- clear writing, color photography, and it is big! Twelve by ten inches and 107 pages long, this book, like all sound Christian Books, never neglects the spiritual realities of a topic. The way we think about ancient man will depend on our beliefs about spiritual things, our presuppositions. And most disturbing, if God's Word is not our foundation, we will get our ideas from other places, and those ideas will determine how we view ancient man and everything else. There are MANY counterfeit views on ancient man. It is not enough to have evolutionists telling us that we are slightly refined old world monkeys, spinning about in a world devoid of meaning, we now have new age cultists telling us that we are cycling through history, with mankind reaching almost to the heavens and then being wiped out again and again- with the final wipeout coming this December, four days before Christmas. In the midst of all these voices, what does the Bible tell us? What does history tell us? What does the record that ancient man left behind tell us? What do the mathematically correct angles and artful masonry of their work testify to? This book shows us through 107 pages of full color photographs. These photographs, maps, and timelines lay out the history of ancient man, what he built, what technology he had, how he traveled, where he traveled to, and all of this ultimately testifies to which version of history is true. It is Scripture's account that is proved true again and again. Man was made in the image of God with full intelligence surpassing our intelligence today, and then he fell into rebellion and sin which perverted his intelligence and led him to serve false gods and idols with the mind God gave him.
Why does this matter to us as Christians right now? For at least two very good reasons. The first is that if we allow the naturalists or the new agers to tell us what ancient man was, we have accepted mans word over Scripture and History. Once we get our History right, we can get our Present right. We aren't worrying about the end of the world this Christmas, because we know that God who Created Man and the World told us no man knows the End of the World.
The second reason is surprising and disturbing. Most of those giant pyramids, monuments were built with religious significance. A counterfeit religion, a perversion of truth, is seen in almost every place, every ritual. And more and more, these same counterfeits, these same perversions, are being highlighted today. There are whole cult groups today, rearing their ugly heads, trying to breath life into the dead cults of thousands of years ago. When ever a "new" religion begins to lead people astray we as Christians need to know about it, so we can know how to witness against it. This book would be a very good history/ Creation Science book for those ages 13 and up. It would also be a great book to start a Creation conversation on, because how many people do you know who would immediately look at the cover and say "Oh, an APEMAN!"
I am grateful to New Leaf Press for giving us The Genius of Ancient Man to review. It provided hours of edification to our family, and was a reminder of our past and a warning to be careful of counterfeit religions in the present based on the counterfeits of the past.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Genius of Ancient Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Evolution's Nightmare - truly!

Date:November 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:AK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Evolution's nightmare, indeed. Jackson Hole Bible College and Don Landis have put together an engaging book that exposes the evolutionary discrepancies regarding ancient man. At over 100 pages, this hardcover book offers fabulous photographs/illustrations and is full of indisputable facts.
Evolution basically brings man from slime through animalistic behavior (and form) to a "highly intelligent" version of man by modern standards. God's creation of man is that of an originally-perfect human with great intelligence and the ability to gain/apply knowledge. After sin, the perfection was broken; death entered the world and life itself became difficult.
The Genius of Ancient Man is a book that should be handed out alongside school textbooks that teach evolution as "fact" versus "theory".
As pointed out in the book, "every person has a bias, whether they realize it or not; an assumption that influences everything they believe to be true." The starting point of this book is that God is the living, eternal Creator of all; the Bible and God are Truth. For someone who disagrees with this standpoint and considers tuning out, I would highly recommend taking the time to read this book to find out if your disagreements are legitimate or unfounded.
Important to take note of this fact: God is the ultimate Creator of all. Satan cannot create anything; he can only distort and pervert God's creation into something it wasn't intended to be.
As detailed throughout The Genius of Ancient Man, there is much that men and women accomplished and studied thousands of years ago that we don't understand today. Many ancient people groups had knowledge that we simply (no pun intended) don't have access to today. Their vast knowledge is displayed through elaborate building projects, artistic styles, structural celestial alignments, and in the very fact that they lived globally. Ancient man understood far more than evolution gives him/her/them credit for!
This book condenses information shared by ancient cultures from around the world into fact-packed chapters. When worldwide commonalities are laid out end-to-end, it's difficult (impossible?) to refute the astounding discoveries found around the globe. Such commonalities between people groups living in many different areas on Earth attest to there being a common background between all; said background being traced back to Babel. The Genius of Man goes into detail regarding similar building styles (including recreations of the tower of Babel), twisted but similar stories regarding a worldwide flood and creation itself, common distortions of Biblical symbols, shared interest in celestial movements/meanings of celestial bodies, and the parallels that echo God's plan for humankind that have been counterfeited by Satan.
Written and illustrated in layman's terms, this is a book that you could easily read through in a day or two....then come back to read again to sponge up even more information. I love that it's an oversized hardcover book that is equally intended for adults and children of about 10-years-old and up. Our 8-year-old son loves to read/listen to books like this. I love that even at a young age, he is giving reasons for why certain evolutionary events couldn't have happened, and backing up his reasons with facts he has gleaned from various AIG scientific evidences. These are the books we need to share with our children!
I was happy to review this book for New Leaf Publishing in exchange for my honest opinion. The Genius of Ancient Man ~ Evolution's Nightmare was published by Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Genius of Ancient Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book Review - The Genius Of Ancient Man by Don Lan

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jeff Randleman
Location:Spring Hill, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was fascinated as I read The Genius Of Ancient Man.
I was sitting at a new coffee shop in town, trying them out. I had decided to read some of this book while I was there. A couple of hours and several cups of coffee later, I closed the book, having finished it completely.
Needless to say, I was completely engrossed in it, from start to finish.
Don Landis, along with a team from Jackson Hole Bible College, has done an excellent job creating a concise account detailing some of the magnificent findings from around the world that do not fit the evolutionary premise that early man was primitive. In fact, artifacts and structures from around the world indicate that mankind was much more advanced than we give them credit for, possibly more advanced than we are today!
The Genius Of Ancient Man begins where any book about early history should, with a discussion of worldviews. Many of these artifacts are unexplainable by evolutionary premises. But a biblical worldview encompasses them nicely.
The Genius Of Ancient Man is an excellent resource, filled with extensively researched information, and lots of fascinating photos, charts, and diagrams.
Landis and his team examine dozens of different examples, such as the importance of mountains to mankind, how it fits within a biblical framework, and how mankind attempted to duplicate them with towering structures all over the world, from the pyramids of Giza to Chichen Itza to Machu Picchu.
They look at the evidence that suggests mankind was extremely technologically advanced at the time of the dispersion from the tower of Babel. Exploring such topics as building methods, astronomy, and ancient artifacts discovered all around the world, Landis and his team show how mankind was able to accomplish significant feats that defy explanation in an evolutionary worldview.
With other chapters looking at the similarities in religious stories and legends, worldwide travel, music and art, and more, The Genius Of Ancient Man is full of astonishing findings that describe the potential that ancient man may have been able to reach.
Finally, the end of the book contains a list of biblical axioms; truths that should be understood universally, laying the foundation for a deeper understanding of God's Word. That list, in itself, can be instrumental in educating people how to defend their faith. I know these concise principles will find their way into my teaching ministry.
Already, this book has become a frequently used resource for my personal study, and an excellent teaching resource for my family and ministry.
I suggest that you grab a copy today, and be prepared to spend the evening devouring it. I guarantee you won't be able to put it down.
The Genius Of Ancient Man is truly evolution's nightmare!
Disclosure of Material Connection:
I received this book free from New Leaf Press/Master Books as part of their Blogger Review Program, called Creation Conversations. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Genius of Ancient Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book on ancient man

Date:November 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Randy A Brown
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Evolutionists teach that ancient man was an ignorant animal and slowly over millions of years we’ve become smarter. The Genius of Ancient Man – Evolution’s Nightmare from Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing, by Don Landis and Jackson Hole Bible College provides beautiful photographic evidence for the genius of ancient man; showing through archaeology a high level of intelligence throughout the globe that disproves the monkey-to-caveman ideology and validates the accuracy of the Bible.
This book deals with the historical mystery of similarities in ancient architecture, religion, government, astronomy, and technology. It covers various creation accounts, flood legends, and pagan practices.
The book starts by laying a foundation for Biblical apologetics, which covers the authorship and authority of the Bible, man created in God’s image, and that counterfeits began at Babel. There is a timeline of man from creation (which is labeled 4004 BC) up the discovery of the law of gravity (1666 AD). Several chapters are devoted to the counterfeits and how Satan uses them for his purpose. Ancient man built pyramids, worshiped the stars, performed human sacrifices, and turned symbols from God into symbols of paganism.
A chapter on pre-flood man discusses what it was like before the flood. It includes information about the technologies that man had before the flood including forging iron and brass, and what could be accomplished during the longer lives they lived.
My favorite part of the book is the chapter on advanced technology. The same higher level of math and science is found around the globe including astronomy, architecture, sanitation, and irrigation. World travel of ancient man reveals maps of what the world looked like including Antarctica (which was discovered in 1820), and boats from thousands of years ago.
Monuments, mounds, and pyramids have been found all around the world. The book contains maps of these structures and many pictures of sites that show ancient technology.
Other proofs include ancient music, art, religions, and legends. Legends include creation, the flood, babel, and the ice age. There is a chart to show the legends and cultures that believed them, and what Scriptures the legends correspond with. Other information includes dragons, the Chinese language, stars, flight, and interesting archaeological finds including out-of-place artifacts (OOPArts).
The book concludes with 21 axioms that help lay a foundation to better understand God’s Word. I found the axioms interesting. Each axiom makes a basic point, and then gives a Scripture that substantiates the point. This is followed by a detailed explanation of the point with further proofs. The axioms can be used for personal or group study, or even as a devotional.
I find the subject of ancient man intriguing. It is interesting to see the archaeological finds and technologies that were used in ancient times. I found it especially interesting that similar structures have been found across the globe.
This is a beautiful book filled with charts and color photos, and many archaeological proofs that the Bible is true and ancient man was intelligent- far more intelligent than many want to realize or admit. The book kept me interested. I can tell a lot of hard work has gone into this book. I really appreciate the hard work and information that’s provided.
I highly recommend The Genius of Ancient Man Evolution’s Nightmare. It’s a well-written book that would make a great addition to your library.
Master Books provided this book free for review. I was not required to give a positive review- only an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Genius of Ancient Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

From The Beginning

Date:November 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
dwgodby
Location:Somerset, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don Landis, general editor along with Jackson Hole Bible College, does an awesome job in dealing with the creation of man in their book entitled; "The Genius of Ancient Man Evolution's Nightmare." Found within the pages of this book, is Biblical based answers for the beginning of the earth and how man has evolved. There are additionally terrific charts as well as pictures to make this book come alive with more than just the printed word.
Listed within the pages of this book are also counterfeits that the author feels are in direct opposition to what God intended for this earth and mankind. There is great detail in how what God made for good has been corrupted and caused man to follow that which is counterfeit. There are details concerning the ice age, pyramids, ancient art as well as axioms that are listed to prove the writer's view of the material which has been written.
I found this to be a very insightful book and certainly deserves to be used in Christian schools and in libraries everywhere. I feel if someone is looking for more detailed answers of how man evolved and came to be at the point we are today, this would be a great resource to use to help one determine their own beliefs.
5 of 5 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Genius of Ancient Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AMAZING book- a must for every family's library!

Date:November 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mazzou
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Myth, Legend or Truth? Using wholesomely Biblical viewpoints, Don Landis and the Jackson Hole Bible College Ancient Man research team bring to light dozens of interesting geographical and historical facts. Prepare to be astonished as marvelous and never-before heard truths about ancient civilizations are carefully unearthed.
''...The Church has for the most part, been content to sit back and take no stand on the issue of [history]...But they don't have to be weak; the Church can stand firm on the Biblical record if only they will step up and learn the facts.'' (from the preface- page 5)
It is time for Christians to wake up and be instructed. What if mankind is not as ancient as ''science'' claims? What if man did not evolve slowly out of slime, completely ignorant and brutish, but rather was created in God's image with a likeness of His intellect?...'' (from the preface)
Instead of being confused about supposedly complicated topic ancient history and the character of ancient man, Christians, as people standing on the truths which the Bible presents and using presuppositions based on the Word of God, can see ancient history come alive!
Captivated by the Biblical approach to geography and history and amazed by the incredibly explanations brought forth, I found it difficult to put the book down, and finished reading it in three days.
I heartily and enthusiastically recommend this book to anyone!
The Genius of Ancient Man is not only a must for every homeschooling family's library- but also for ever Christian's bookshelf.
Since it so powerfully explains the true history of man versus unbiblical evolution theories, I would also hope that not only Bible-believing Christians, but non-believers as well would come across a copy of this book, since God could use it mightily to bring them to faith in Him.
I don't dare reveal to much of the rich truth in this book, since I want you to discover it for yourself, but here is just a sampling:
''The apparent backwardness of some modern native cultures and the extreme simplicity of the tools and artifacts of Paleolithic Man are not, in either case, evidence of inferior intelligence but more probably due to a historical circumstance which is well worth examining.'' (page 45)
Read more in the chapters of the book which include ''Perspectives''; ''Priority of God in Sequence and Time'', ''Pre-flood Man''; ''Worldwide Travel''; ''Religions and Legends''; ''Babel is not gone''....and more!
Hours of researching, trips to various sites around North and Central America, visits to museums, and meetings with experts have provided the team with an overwhelming amount of evidence for the intelligence of these early innovators. A jumble of anomalies and magnificent structures continue to confound archaeology and anthropology today, yet as the dots are connected, one finds history as described in the biblical record.
I was thrilled to receive this book free through the New Leaf Publishers Book Reviewers program.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Genius of Ancient Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fascinating book about ancient times!

Date:October 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
LivingAndLearningAtHome
Location:Michigan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just spent hours today pouring over The Genius of Ancient Man by Don Landis. The subject matter is just fascinating! This books sets out to support the Biblical position of man being created intelligently, and of Babel being the origin from where people spread out across the earth.
People with an evolutionary mindset believe that man started out simple and has progressively gotten smarter and more advanced. Even Christians typically assume that we are the most advanced that any civilization has been since the beginning of time. Mr. Landis sets out to change our mind on the subject.
He explains how Adam and Eve were the smartest people ever on the earth because they were created first, perfectly, in God's image, and with no mutations or sickness like we have now. They also had communion with God, so they probably had access to infinitely more knowledge than we do. After they sinned,
man's abilities and intellect slowly decreased as the fallen world took a toll on their bodies and minds. Mr. Landis speculates that by the time of the flood, ancient man may have been very, very advanced (there was about 1500 years between creation and the flood, after all, and think about all that we have been able to accomplish in just the past couple of hundred years!) There is no way to prove this, because everything was wiped out in the flood and then Noah and his family had to start from scratch again.
Mr. Landis goes on to show example after example of how ancient civilizations in different areas of the world shared similarities early on, pointing to a common starting place (Babel). He also shows many examples of advanced things that researchers have found, but cannot explain because they do not think that ancient man was very advanced or intelligent.
This book is filled with interesting information and great pictures. One of my favorite parts is a six page timeline showing advances attributed to different civilizations. I cannot recommend this book to you enough! If you have a high schooler who is studying ancient times, this would make a great read for them. If you have younger children you are teaching about ancient times, this would be a great book for you to read before you begin. If you are an adult just looking for an interesting read, this is for you too!
I was given this book for free to review by Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing. I was not required to give a positive review. All opinions are honest and my own!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Genius of Ancient Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ancient Man Was A Genius

Date:October 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
brigonia
Location:albuquerque, NM
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Genius of Ancient Man by Don Landis is published by Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing Group. This book looks at ancient man as an intelligent being as opposed to the evolutionary view that man evolved into an intelligent human slowly over millions of years. You will look at the evidence ancient man left through three presuppositions:
1. Authorship and authority of the Bible
2. Man created intelligently in God's image
3. Babel as the origin of similarities, counterfeits
Some of the fascinating topics you will study through this text are Worldwide Travel, Monuments, Mounds, Pyramids, Religions and Legends and Music and Art. The book is full of photographs to illustrate each topic. You will find many photos that display advanced technology, monuments from around the world and charts. A list of axioms are given at the back of the book to help you develop a more fluent understanding of God's word as well as a plea to take the age of the earth from the Bible and why this is important to understanding salvation.
I enjoy archaeology and learning more about how ancient man lived so I knew I would like this book. It met my expectations and then some! Looking at some of the monuments man created and the technology he had mastery of through a biblical perspective was enlightening. I already knew that when man was dispersed from Babel each people group took their knowledge with them and therefore many ancient religions have common stories. I enjoyed learning more about the other similarities they shared. It fascinates me to wonder how much ancient man knew and how much of that knowledge was lost throughout time.
The Genius of Ancient Man would be a good book to read to help you understand more about ancient man from a biblical perspective. There is a caution in the book to think carefully about the topics raised as connections can be made to the occult, so I think this book is better left to the more mature Christian than the new believer(unless studied with a mature Christian). I didn't find anything to be objectionable but I have read and thought about most of those connections already and to me they just strengthen the authenticity of the Bible. This book would be helpful not only to further your knowledge of the Bible but also to understand History in light of ancient man's great intelligence. History and Archeology is fascinating and this book will have your imagination working about the past.
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from Master Books in order to write this review and have shared my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Genius of Ancient Man
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Book for Quick Apologetics

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
trucker
Location:Altoona, IA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"If made in God's image, then he was created intelligent. If intelligent, then there should be evidence of this intelligence." (p11)
Have you ever stopped and considered why we have some of the structures we have today? Where did the idea for the Mayan structures come from? How did makeup originate? Who really invented the first clock? Or, what about skyscrapers? These questions are just some to consider when speaking of the intelligence of mankind. Satan has been very busy lately in creating a "fast paced" environment for us to live in. Why? Because he knows that if we took the chance to slow down and think about some things like this, we would discover that we are not as smart as we think we are today. The history of mankind gives us many proofs that display our Creator. Ideas, structures, and civilizations of past compared to today will yield evidence that just does not fit with the evolutionary model.
Don Landis and the folks of Jackson Hole Bible College have released The Genius of Ancient Man: Evolution's Nightmare, outlining the intelligence of ancient man. From the beginning it is made clear that a presuppositional apologetic and a literal hermeneutic is the method that underlies the research put into this book. With a presuppositional approach, there are three foundational presuppositions held to; 1) Authorship and authority of the Bible, 2) Man created intelligently in God's image and, 3) Babel as the origin of similarities and counterfeits.
I, like you, wondered at first why Babel was chosen as such a specific event to be included in the foundational presuppositions outlined. I became quickly convinced of the reason as reading through this book. A detailed research on the structures we see and reside in today can be traced back to the architecture used in the Tower of Babel. When considering where the descendants of Noah's children and grandchildren relocated to, it becomes hard to ignore the connection to the Tower of Babel.
The book does include much more than just making a connection to the Tower of Babel. The advanced technology many early civilizations had is, quite honestly, a little humbling. For example, the symmetry of Ramses II is something many today would only see possible with use of a computer or some form of our modern technology we have become slaves to. Many would see the computer today as a modern marvel. In reading this book and seeing the examples of architecture, methods of travel, music and art, and more; I am inclined to wonder, where did our ability to think and invent on our own go to. Ken Ham is quoted in the book, "Consider that we have suffered through 6,000 years of sin in order to invent the computer, which does nothing more than compensate for our natural decline in mental performance and discipline." The fact that there were once people that were able to build, think, and develop many things without the use of computers, heavy equipment, etc. as we have today seems to put a "kink" in the whole idea of evolution. If we are evolving from a simple creature to a more advanced "animal" then why does the archeological evidence presented in this book seem to point to a regression of intellect?
This is a very concise book that gets right to the point on each topic. It gives appropriate detail in order to make the proper explanations without going overboard. It is very easy to understand; however, I do wonder how much detail had to be left out prior to print. God bless this author and his team for the tough decisions they must have faced in determining what to include and what to exclude.
My biggest appreciation by far is the underlying rational argument this book makes for Scripture. Pages 105-107 present a logical argument against an "old earth." In making an argument for a literal Genesis, a connection can then be made to any one of the four Gospels and the need for a Savior. If we make the mistake of abandoning a literal Genesis, the only logical connection for Jesus would be, why? Landis and team point our thoughts back to the authority of Scripture and the effect sin has been having on us for the past 6,000 years.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Genius of Ancient Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"The Genius of Ancient Man"

Date:October 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
RDrisk5150
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Current evolutionary theory tells us that humanity evolved from some initial simple life form. It tells us that humans evolved through a series of stages; improving from ignorant brute beasts to what we are today. A new book, The Genius of Ancient Man, published by Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing Group, challenges that presupposition by offering an alternate scenario. Genius challenges current evolutionist theory by advocating that the facts of history, geology, and archeology fit the biblical record of humanity’s history better than they fit the evolutionist theory.
Secular scientists believe they are operating without any preconceived ideas. They claim that they are doing scientific research with the attitude that they are simply following the evidence wherever it leads. They claim to let the facts speak for themselves. They are being disingenuous. They actually begin with the presupposition that everything can be, must be, explained in purely naturalistic terms. In other words, everything can be explained without acknowledging God’s existence or participation.
Pastor Don Landis, and a team from Jackson Hole Bible College, holds a different presupposition. They believe that the Bible is the authoritative Word of God and every fact must conform to biblical truth. As it states in the book, “By starting with God, one discovers with great satisfaction that the physical world confirms the truth of His Word” (p. 15). The Genius of Ancient Man is the fruit of their research into how evidence of the true biblical account of Creation, and the Flood, is found all over the world and in all civilizations.
The Genius of Ancient Man presents evidence that the Bible’s account of Creation and the Flood is seen in most cultures of the world all throughout history. The biblical account shows up in the advanced technology of ancient man; in the ability ancient man had to travel the world; in monuments, mounds, pyramids, and such found all over the world. Traces of the biblical Creation/Flood account even show up in the world’s religions, legends, music, and art.
As I have been a student of the Bible for quite some time, I have often pondered how different ancient history would look if we evaluated it from a biblical view instead of the evolutionist viewpoint I was fed all through my years in public education. The Genius of Ancient Man goes a long way in showing that the actual physical evidence supports the biblical record far more consistently than the evolutionists’ fantasy.
Near the end of the book there are twenty-one axioms (“…a fact that ought to be a widely held and understood truth” p. 98) that are foundational to the theological stance of Jackson Hole Bible College. These axioms, and their explanations, are almost worth the price of the book by themselves.
For anyone who holds to the historical interpretation of Genesis, and those not satisfied with the evolutionist description of ancient man, this is a must-have book.
[I was given a copy of this book for review by the publisher]
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.