Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Master Books The Tower Of Babel

Master Books The Tower Of Babel

Ever wonder about the similarities between different cultures' mythologies? About how of all humanity shares so much in common?

Learn how to link your family back to the original scattering point with this easy-to-read book. Read about how all languages came from Babel, the purpose of the tower of Babel, where people-groups scattered to, how ancient people lived long lives, and more. 263 pages, softcover.

Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 1995%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Tower Of Babel
Review 1 for The Tower Of Babel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tower of Babel

Date:May 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julie Campbell
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I was drawn in right away with the first chapter, How Do You Pronounce Babel, Anyway?. It seems like a rather unimportant topic to be worthy of a whole chapter, but it goes show that we are still affected by the language division that occurred at Babel. Hodge also uses it to show how hung up we get on the details and tend not to focus on the bigger picture of what led to the dispersion, sin and rebellion against God. If language roots are not as exciting for you, keep reading because it only gets better.
Using the Bible as the foundation for truth, Hodge goes on to address many of the controversies and criticisms of the biblical account of of Babel. I was amazed at the amount of research that went into this.
Some of the topics included in the book are:
What are the attacks on the biblical account and how are the truths revealed.
Disobedience
When and where did the scattering occur?
What did the tower look like, was it complete and what was its purpose?
Where did all of the people go and how did they get there?
He also discusses many questions about individuals pre and post flood including life span and ancestry.
Once I hit Chapter 17 I was astonished at the amount of information provided. He took the descendants of Noah, from the Table of Nations, and researched where each of them went after the dispersion. I will admit that I tend to skim over Genesis 10 and other areas where genealogies are listed in the Bible, but I lingered on this one chapter for much too long and I am sure I will go back to it again and again.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and highly recommend it. The amount of information contained within the pages was overwhelming, in a good way. There is so much to discuss, that I could never cover it all within a short review. It presents so much truth to God's Word, through external sources, that is makes Genesis and our history undeniable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Tower Of Babel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for Home School High-School!

Date:May 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first found Bodie Hodge's writing at Answers In Genesis, and his articles have helped me and been a blessing to many Creationists.
He has now written a new book "The Tower of Babel: The Cultural History of our Ancestors."
When I saw this book coming in the Spring review list for New Leaf Publishing Group I jumped at the chance, and I found that this is a very interesting, thorough, and clearly written book.
As Creationists, we know that Genesis One through Eleven is under attack. Evolutionary ideologies are infiltrating the church, and the historical events of Creation, the Fall, and the Flood are being reinterpreted or rejected. We understand that we need to teach and defend the account of Creation, the Fall and the Flood as recorded in Scripture. We also need to defend another key moment in Earth's history: the Tower of Babel.
Bodie Hodge has placed scientific discoveries in the context of the Biblical narrative, giving us Creationist models and theories to help us understand history in light of Scripture.
Bodie Hodge's book does an excellent job showing us how Babel unlocks the answers to many questions: about languages and the origin of writing, about Post-Flood civilizations, about tribes and nations, about post-Babel travel to other countries.
This book piqued my curiosity about all of these things, and Mr. Hodge has included notes and suggestions for further research so that we can keep studying, using this book as an introduction.
For example,
Did you know that off Japan's coast is an underwater step pyramid that sits on an area of land that was exposed during the after the flood ice age? It is believed that the descendants of Babel built that step pyramid as when they settled there on that land bridge for a time during their travels to other places. After reading this, I went online and looked up photos of the underwater step pyramid, my curiosity sparked by this book.
And there are many other things mentioned in The Tower of Babel to spark the imagination and a love of history, such as charts of all the flood legends worldwide and the different genealogies that trace back to Noah and his family.
Truly, when we study the history in Scripture, we are studying our ancestors. This will be a great high-school level study in Creation science, history and anthropology. Thank you so much to New Leaf Press Group and Bodie Hodge for my copy to review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Tower Of Babel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tower of Babel- by Bodie Hodge

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mamakven
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This upcoming school year, we are back to year 1 history- Ancients in our 4 year cycle. I'd been planning the upcoming year and when hearing Master Books was looking for reviewers to review Bodie Hodge's new book "Tower of Babel, the cultural history of our ancestors" I was SUPER excited. Unlike Egyptian, Greek, Roman, Chinese, etc. times, the earliest history is a bit hard to cover, due to lack of written resources. This book is a big step in the direction of remedying that problem.
My thoughts on the book-- Author Bodie Hodge Did an amazing job bringing to life the history of the peoples of the tower of Babel. This book is engaging and informative, seeking to answer, and succeeding, the questions:
How do you pronounce Babel?
Is the Tower of Babel real, and does it MATTER?
When and where did the scattering of peoples occur? Where?
What did the Tower look like?
How can all the languages currently in existence be accounted for?
What was the origin of writing?
What was the original language?
"Tower of Babel answers these questions and many more in ways I didn't even realize possible. I just didn't realize all that information was "out there" it just isn't available in mainstream media. I love the use of visual aides like diagrams, charts, pictures, etc. For a visual person like me, this is very helpful for understanding complex information dense material. Nonetheless, i found the book to be tenable, and particularly informative. I plan to use it as a read aloud next year with all my school-agers, who will then be ranging from 2nd grade-9th.
Disclaimer- I received this book as a free review copy in exchange for posting a truthful review. The thoughts contained within this post are my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Tower Of Babel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wealth of Information

Date:May 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:AK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Master Books has never failed to disappoint in the books they publish. Author, Bodie Hodge, takes the reader through impeccable research and Biblical truths that reveal the hand of God that moved people across the globe after mass disobedience on the plains of Shinar (which means "between two rivers").
Bodie Hodge details how the true history of the Tower of Babel is being attacked: evolution-based racism, mythological ideologies, and the reinterpretation of historical events into philosophical ideas. Each attack is on the authenticity and authority of God's inspired Word and attempts to hold man's ideas higher than the almighty Creator God.
It's both fascinating and horrifying to read that the Tower of Babel began construction about 106 years after Noah's worldwide flood. To think that God's grace saved Noah's family, yet their descendents went right back to the sinfulness of their forefathers; the very sin that destroyed them. It reminds me that none of us are immune to sin and it's destruction on our lives and those around us.
Mr. Hodge expands on different areas that are quite interesting. He discusses (in detail) the difference between the continental shift that occurred during Noah's flood and the splitting up of people into various new lands, the possible location of the Tower of Babel (Iraq), how much of the tower was built, Babel's purpose in being built, who tore it down in years to come, where languages came from, genealogies back to Noah's time, the ice age (which peaked about 400 years after Babel) and migration, where various families/groups moved/settled, extra-Biblical supports for the Tower of Babel/dispersion of our ancestors, why people now don't live as long as they did pre-flood, the origin of written languages, dispersion at Babel to gathering of saints at Pentecost (to spread the gospel message), the ancient book of Job, and much more highly informative research.
If you have ever thought that the Tower of Babel is inconsequential to the world today or if you are the person who has always wanted to know more about Babel; I encourage you to read this book. It is full of illustrations, maps, and easy-to-follow genealogies that will keep you interested from beginning to end. I'll have to make time to read it again just to soak up all the information available. It's a wealth of research and Biblical truths, confirmed by both the Bible and sources outside God's Word.
I received this book from New Leaf Publishing in exchange for my honest review. I hope you will take the time to find/read Tower of Babel for yourself. A review could never come close to revealing the depth of knowledge contained in these pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Tower Of Babel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for Students and Teachers Alike!~

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor David Green
Location:Mansfield OH
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently received a book entitled Tower of Babel: The Cultural History of Our Ancestors by Bodie Hodge. It is a new book, just published by Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing Group. I have always been a fan of Master Books, and am very interested in history, so was very excited to get the book and started reading it as soon as it arrived.
Wow! I only thought that I had done a thorough study of the Tower of Babel, until I started reading this book! Mr. Hodge does a very excellent job of defending the accuracy of Scripture. In the book, he covers everything from the pronunciation ("bay-bel" or "ba-bel") to Christ at Babel.
I particularly enjoyed the fact that in the book there are a lot of maps and charts detailing how the people of the world probably migrated from Babel. The book also details historical events and how they fit in with the tower of Babel. These events include the breaking up of the continents and the ice age, as well as the date for the book of Job and the ages of the patriarchs.
And, Mr. Hodge does not shy away from answering the attacks on Genesis 11, and showing the effects of these attacks. This book also gives the reader plenty of resources to counter those attacks and defend the truth.
The only thing I would really add to the book is a good index which makes it easier for reference.
The author very much takes the Bible literally, and defends the accuracy of the Scriptures. This book is a great addition to my library, and would work well for anyone who is interested in history. It is a great read for those who are involved in church work - whether pastor or teacher, and would work well as an addition to any homeschool curriculum. Get a copy for yourself, and another to give as a gift!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Tower Of Babel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Genealogy Extreme

Date:May 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
learningtable
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tower of Babel by Bodie Hodge is a comprehensive study of the events surrounding the building of the tower of Babel and the dispersion of the people afterwards. The author addresses the world's attacks on Genesis 1-11 and discusses the importance of studying the history and theology of the Biblical account in order to refute these attacks. Tower of Babel is extensively researched and includes photographs, charts, tables, and maps to support the author's points, as well as footnotes on every page. I was intrigued by this book when I read the description of it. The story of the Tower of Babel is my son's favorite, and he requests that I read it to him repeatedly. I was happy to receive this book to review so I can answer many of my son's questions and become more knowledgeable about this intriguing event from history.
Though this is not a children's book, educators and parents will find it to be a valuable resource for teaching. I shared the chapters on what the purpose of the tower was, what the tower looked like, and how the people traveled with my kids to supplement our history studies. They (and I) were fascinated with the information we learned. As a homeschool mom, I found Tower of Babel to be a wonderful discussion-starter.
The genealogy portion of the book is a thorough study, and it is neat to see the people on the maps to better understand how everyone dispersed. The author also touches on the subject of racism, "Race is often attributed to man's evolutionary origin, ignoring the effect the Babel dispersion had in leading to the ethnic and geographical concentration of people with various skin shades and features" (p. 17). When readers see how the genealogy points everyone back to Adam and Eve, how can anyone not see that we are all part of one race: the human race.
So, why is this book important? The author not only provides comprehensive facts and historical data, but he also points readers toward the bigger picture: the authority of God's Word.
{This book is available from New Leaf Publishing Group,
which provided me with a review copy in exchange for my honest opinions.}
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Tower Of Babel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great resource

Date:May 4, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In The Tower of Babel: The Cultural History of Our Ancestors, Bodie Hodge sets out to send the reader on a historical and biblical journey through ancient people, tracing the family line of Noah and his descendants the historical accuracy of the tower of Babel account and the history of languages, just to name a few.
The book is pretty academic and certainly is not a quick read, but it is loaded with information. Bodie answers many tough questions like:
- Isn't There a Contradiction Between Genesis 10 (World Having Multiple Languages) and 11 (World Having One Language)?
- What Was the Purpose of the Tower of Babel?
- Did All ~7000 Languages Today Come Out of Babel?
- Did the Continents Split in the Days of Peleg?
Perhaps my favorite section is on how 7,000 languages came out of Babel. Hodge shows the close similarities in many languages and how they varied over time from a root language to form a new language. This chapter is a very interesting read, especially in light of evolution's theory that we came from "grunting" ancestors ;-) .
The charts, graphs and pictures in this book are worth a purchase in themselves. The charts of the descendants of Noah and the overlapping lifelines of the people in the Bible are wonderful resources for teaching children. This book is a wonderful resource on the biblical account of the tower of Babel.
I highly recommend it.
I received a free copy of this book from Master Books/New Leaf Publishing in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Tower Of Babel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

True history of the world's cultures...revealed!

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Foundations Creation Club
Location:California, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Often times, when eating a meal with our extended family, the topic of of ancestry is brought up in discussion. We hear of a famous actor or sports player who was related to us in some distant way, or of a strange marriage arrangement which connects two related families, and so on. Oftentimes, the conclusion of such conversations is simply the old saying, "It's a small world!" However, the real conclusion should be that we are all one human family...and we all go back to Adam, and more recently, the Tower of Babel.
In this eye-opening volume, Tower of Babel: The Cultural History of Our Ancestors, biblical history buff, Bodie Hodge of Answers in Genesis, "maps it all out" (literally) from Babel to today, starting from the authoritative history found in the pages of Scripture. One thing that is particularly common with most literature written about the Tower of Babel today, is that it usually starts from a `traditionalist' reading of the Biblical text and not necessarily what the text actually says. Not so with this book, in which Hodge presents a case for the rebellion and dispersion at Babel based on what is clearly revealed in the Word of God, and uses it to explain the world's cultures, customs, legends, and languages. Perhaps one of the most fascinating things about this book is that it ties the ancient world with the modern world, showing how many of the Earth's geographical locations and cities are named after biblical patriarchs, how some of the pagan `deities` worshipped in ancient times are really the ancestors of these people groups who were dispersed from Babel, and how the languages of today would have developed from the language families given by God at Babel.
After having read much creationist work on the genealogy and ancient history of Europe, I was eager to learn more, but was saddened by the fact that there is very little work (much less reliable or biblical) on this intriguing topic. When I received notice that this book was being published, I immediately requested a copy to review. Having read through it now, I am looking forward to distributing this book in our creation club bookstore at our monthly meetings. Here are just a few of my thoughts on this fascinating title:
- Bodie Hodge has certainly done his homework, and has laid solid ground for further research in this important area.
- This is a very readable book; any preteen could pick up and fully understand this book.
- The chapters (with an exception of Chapter 17) are very short (4-8 pages) and meant for easy and timely reading; great for travel. (Note: I read the last 1/3 of the book in a the center aisle of an airplane.)
- Chapter 17, though a long read, has been thoroughly researched and includes priceless information on the whereabouts and travels of the biblical patriarchs, which are confirmed by the records of extra-biblical historians and culture experts.
- The whole of the book is truly challenging (in a good way, `as iron sharpens iron') for creationists, since a majority of the book is focused on refuting some of the formerly held (even by the author) misconceptions about the Tower of Babel event, and giving biblical creationists a wholly biblical understanding which stays loyal to the text of Genesis 10-11.
Conclusion: Everyone wants to know about their family tree. Many non-Christian religions and cults are entirely focused on knowing who their ancestors are. However, as Hodge concludes in this book, it is because we are all one human family through our ancestor Adam that we all need a Savior who is one of our relatives: Jesus Christ. The message of the Bible's trustworthiness inevitably leads one to the One who is the Way, the Truth, and the Life, which is the end-all message of this must-have, faith-building book. I highly recommend picking up a copy of Bodie Hodge's Tower of Babel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Tower Of Babel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent insight into Humanity’s Family Tree!

Date:May 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
JoeCortezII
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Several years ago, I embarked on a quest to build my family tree. I wanted to know where my family line led and what my roots were. In theory, this is an easy task; just look up documents from various resources including family interviews, Internet searches, and other places. Well, that research is not as easy as it sounds.
Bodie Hodge succeeds in this endeavor. The Tower of Babel: The Cultural History of Our Ancestors provides us with an insightful and revealing look into our human family tree. I was impressed with the level of detail given to describing family lines and the path from Noah and his family, through the Tower of Babel, and on through the ages. Of course, there is no way for this type of an exhaustive topic to be put into a one-volume presentation. However, The Tower of Babel is an excellent primer for those interested in our true ancestry.
There are nuggets of surprising truth that raised my eyebrows more than a few times. I love the way Bodie connects the names of current nations with the names mentioned in Genesis 10. As an example, in the chapter discussing Japheth’s grandson, Ashkenaz, Bodie shows us that there is a lake in Turkey that may reflect Ashkenaz’s name. Lake Askania is in a region known to have been populated by the descendants of Ashkenaz according to Jeremiah 51:27. The connections made in The Tower of Babel are faith-building and Bible-affirming. Those who read this introduction to our ancestry will appreciate the connections all of us have to God’s revealed truth in Genesis.
Bodie Hodge brings age-old history into a fresh and insightful presentation that is sure to build up your faith with historical and geographical insight and evidence!
The Tower of Babel: The Cultural History of Our Ancestors is published by Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Tower Of Babel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tower of Babel Explained

Date:May 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Happy Campers
Location:Kansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The events detailed in Genesis 10-11 are often quickly glanced over during many Bible studies today. Sons of Noah…blah blah blah…Tower of Babel…blah blah blah. Bodie Hodge in Tower of Babel:The Cultural History of Our Ancestors brings us back and asks us to consider the true implications of the events that immediately followed The Flood.
With a combination of sources Hodge lays out a very probable hypothesis for the paths that the founders of human civilizations took. If you love history and the Bible, you will enjoy reading this book. Although the defense of the events in Genesis are very important today, and Hodge takes this very seriously throughout the book, he presents his ideas in easy to read and understand ways. I never found myself lost in his presentations or having to go back and re-read things.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Tower Of Babel
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Reference material

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
SC2424
Location:Vermont
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tower of Babel by Bodie Hodge is a collection of essays, each addressing a different question/topic related to the subject of the Tower of Babel. I was very interested to get this book to read, especially since this year in homeschooling my kids we have been learning about ancient history. These topics are on the forefront of our conversations these days, and having learned all about the ancient peoples (yes, I learn it too, not just the kids!), I was familiar with some good background information.
The book addresses a huge amount of questions. Interesting questions. Some that the average person would come up with and others more in-depth. Each is answered with a Biblical and historical basis. The content was good. A lot of information, but good information. It's not an easy read, pretty academic. It started out an interesting read, but it took me so looooooooooong to read it--I kind of felt like I was just slogging through when it got further into the second half of the book.
One thing that annoyed me as I was reading is the immense amount of footnotes on EACH PAGE!!! (rather than at the end of the essay). For some reason this distracted me and it was not until a few essays in that I was able to read through without being distracted by them. :) Maybe just my own quirk.
My constructive criticism is that I believe this book would be a LOT more effective as a reference if it had a detailed index. There was no index, just the chapter title listing in the beginning of the book. I think the book could be used in many more applications if it had a good index. I cannot imagine WHY they didn't include one!
So -- would I recommend this book? Unless you are really into ancient history and ancient geneologies and family group migration, etc. you may find it a bit long and dry. It would, however, serve nicely as a reference book. In the reference book niche I would be more apt to recommend it.
More info on this book can be found here as well as on the publisher's site here.
I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Tower Of Babel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One Stop shop for Babel and our First Genealogies

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cheri Fields
Location:Southwest Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you've ever had questions about how the tower of Babel fits into world history, this is the book for you. Ever wondered how to pronounce the word "babel" or if it was round or square? How 'bout if they finished it before being scattered?
There are also controversial topics like whether Nimrod led the rebellion at Babel or if the continents didn't split until the time of Peleg. Mr. Hodge is fair and detailed on why and what each side believes. He isn't afraid to share what he believes, but you know he would still like you if you disagree.
The largest section breaks down all the names mentioned in Genesis 10. There are general "they headed this way" maps for each, but it can get rather dull.
The section does make some things clear:
Interesting mixes of blood lines happened everywhere. (Just wait til you find out whom Japan is named for!)
All people are valuable. This is not a Euro-centric book.
We may not know exactly where far-flung groups fit in, but the Bible makes a lot of sense of our ancestry.
Many people groups carried memories of their early founders, and the more you study, the more you find the names at the beginning match what the Bible states.
Plus, like Noah's Flood, many people around the world remember Babel.
I enjoyed the explanation of common elements of early beliefs and false religions. He addresses ancestor worship, legendary heroes, demigods, and other interesting phenomena. All of this in a God-centered, Jesus honoring format safe to leave around the house.
PS I did notice the book could have used more editing. There were redundancies and other minor issues a polish would have fixed. There was only one place it seemed to contradict itself, the rest of them just made for odd reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Tower Of Babel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Supplement for History Education

Date:April 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
trucker
Location:Altoona, IA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have you ever wondered about your ancestry? Who are you related too? Where did you get your habits? Well, maybe you don’t wonder about such things. But what about the language you speak or the architecture of buildings we see and use every day? A lot of people fail to consider is evidence will be greatly influenced by our worldview. Christians are accused of the same thing. Christians interpret the same evidence through the lens of their worldview. The difference is, Christians view the evidence through the lens of Scripture, which is God’s Word and it is unchanging through time.
Evolutionists will attempt to use languages and how the different dialects have changed over time to prove that evolution is true. They make convincing arguments and persuade many people. However, what is not presented by the evolutionist is their has been no connection found across languages as they pertain to the rules of grammar involved in each language and dialect.
Many skeptics will also point to the table of nations as presented in Genesis 11 as having no historical validity at all. What they fail to present in their arguments is the fact that many secular historians that are not even Christians are in complete agreement with the Biblical record of Genesis 11.
These are just two of the examples presented in Bodie Hodge’s recent book, “The Tower of Babel.” This book would be a great addition to supplement a child’s history education. History is true. It happened and therefore, cannot be changed. When people begin to disagree on what once happened, the safest place to turn for true needs to always be Scripture. Bodie Hodge does just that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Tower Of Babel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A 'Towering' Addition To Creation Worldviews

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
RDrisk5150
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Tower of Babel" by Bodie Hodge is a new book that traces the ancestry of modern humans back to the dispersion of mankind at the Tower of Babel". I found that Mr. Hodge's research was very in-depth and thorough. At times, I was actually overwhelmed by the amount, and the detail, of his findings.
For anyone who believes that the Biblical record is true, this is a faith-building book. Mr. Hodge treats the account of the global flood, and of the language-confusing dispersion of the people at Babel, as fact and then proceeds to trace lineages of the dispersed people through time to us. For those who deny the biblical record, this book will challenge your belief system.
As Mr. Hodge lays out lineages for the reader, he also touches on several other subjects that I found both fascinating and informative. Mr. Hodge begins the book by looking at how the word “Babel” is pronounced, citing some etymological background. He also explains some of the attacks on the account of Babel from secular, and Christian, groups. Mr. Hodge rightly (in my opinion) says that the denial of the account of Babel is tied into a denial of the authority of God’s Word overall.
Mr. Hodge tackles supposed contradictions associated with the Babel account. He goes on to present his well-researched viewpoints as to why the people were dispersed at Babel, where Babel was located, what was the purpose of the Tower of Babel, and what kind of tower it was. Mr. Hodge has obviously done much research on this subject.
The question of just what is meant in Genesis 10:25 concerning the, “…days the earth was divided”. Mr. Hodge lays out a convincing view that this refers to the division of the people not the division of land masses which he says, and I agree, happened during and after the Flood. The false belief that dark-skinned people resulted from the “Curse of Ham” (found in Genesis 9:25) is addressed and shown to be unfounded.
The long ages lived by early humans is also explained quite handily by Mr. Hodge, as is the cause of our ever-decreasing longevity. I found the chapter on the origin of writing to be especially interesting as it is something in which I am very interested. Although, I don’t believe there is a lot to investigate concerning the origin of writing. My viewpoint, and Mr. Hodges, is that God gave Adam and Eve the ability to speak, there is no reason for Him not to give them the ability to write also.
When one takes the Word of God at face value, instead of trying to make everything we see fit an evolutionary (or even an old-earth) model, one sees history in a completely different way. We have never been apes, fish, or any other lower form of life which developed over great amounts of time into what we are today. We were created by an almighty loving God to whom we owe everything. Mr. Hodge’s book “Tower of Babel” approaches history with this presupposition…and he delivers a book that powerfully upholds the authority of God and His Word.
One quote that stood out to me concerns those who think that they must have every question answered in order for them to believe the Bible. Mr. Hodge writes, “Remember, the Bible gives us sufficient information, not all information” (p. 196, italics his). God has answered, in His Word, all the questions that we need answered in order to love, worship, obey, and have a saving relationship with Him. All we have to do is read His Word to know these things.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Tower Of Babel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
RH2778
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book will blow your mind----It was an absolutely fascinating read! I thought at first that it would be a bit dry, but within two chapters, author Bodie Hodge had captured my attention, and kept it for the duration of the book. I had to slow my reading down when I hit the various people groups and their dispersion, and there's no doubt that new information could be gleaned if one read the book several times.
Chapter 17 is definitely the longest chapter as it comes in at 70 pages. Entitled "Where Did All the People Go Initially" it was the only chapter in which I found myself to be a bit lost! Bodie Hodge did a fine job of keeping it simple, for which I was grateful, because there was an absolute avalanche of data presented. Towards the end of that chapter, he did state, "This book is intended to be a diving point for further research." When I read that, I understood better why the information was presented in the fast paced manner that it was. Truly, the book would have probably been three or four times as long if he gone into greater detail on the various people groups! Bodie Hodge himself said several times throughout that there could be enough research done to fill several books. Several in our family are very interested in ancestry, and anyone else who finds themselves to be taken with such things will soon find themselves engrossed in the many charts, tables, and maps trying to find out where their particular people group came from originally.
One of my favorite chapters was number 12, "Did All ~7,000 Languages Today Come Out of Babel?" Here the author explains that the answer is no; looking at the English language first he explores the many kinds of "English" spoken today, from British English, to American English, and even dives into the difference between dialects spoken in America, including his own western Illinois dialect, to those who live in the South and speak a unique American English. He also dives into Old English, Middle English, Early Modern English, and Late Modern English. Perhaps the most interesting of all was the explanation of the Chinese language and how it is built on images. Bodie Hodge says, "Many of the characters of an ancient Chinese dialect are built directly on Genesis. The character for 'boat' was made of up three other characters-a vessel, eight, and mouth. Interestingly in Genesis 6-8, the ark was a large vessel that had eight people aboard and only eight human mouths to speak and feed." Reading many, many, such paragraphs throughout the book caused me to want research further!
Bodie Hodge also covers the term Aryan and where that people group comes from. "The Medes, Parthians, Persians, and some others who spoke the same language in Bactria, and combined were deemed the Aryan people." Ironically enough, although the term Aryan was used by Hitler and Nazis as a term for the only "pure" people group, their ancestors "were one of the most famous groups of people who were of mixed descent." Most of this was new data for me, and I found it both interesting and informative.
Beautifully written in laymen's terms, "Tower of Babel" will be a research tool that you will find yourself turning to again and again. For those desire to hone in on their biblical world view, or help their children form a worldview, this book will be found a valuable aid. Five stars.
*Thanks to Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing Group for providing a free copy to me in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Tower Of Babel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting Information!

Date:April 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jimmy Reagan
Location:West Union, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How would you like a book that addresses parts of the Bible that you have always found difficult to get anything out if? How about, for example, genealogies? How about questions on the races and languages of our world and how exactly the Tower of Babel episode really played out and shaped the world we know today? Then you might really enjoy The Tower of Babel by Bodie Hodge and published by Master Books.
I’ll confess some of the material may be too narrow in its appeal your taste. Discussing how to pronounce “Babel” may not be a question you have had a burning desire to have answered, but I assure your other parts like chapter 13 entitled ” What about Extra-Biblical Tables of Nations and Genealogies That Go Back to Noah?” are riveting. Finding the names of the Biblical genealogy is exciting. I didn’t that discussion to believe myself, but that doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy reading it.
Mr. Hodge is good at seeing what is really at stake. The authority of God’s Word is, as always, the heart of the issue for these type discussions. When he shares what might at best be esoteric knowledge at least he confesses when he is speculating and he faithfully brings us back to core issues.
He may at times revisit subjects that we thought we had a handle on, like the division of the continents being in Peleg’s day or the dating of the Book of Job, but whether you agree with him or not, you will be given substantial food for thought. There may also be places that are too detailed, like an in-depth analysis of the genealogy as it relates to today, but it still makes a wonderful reference to pull off the shelf. Too bad there isn’t an index.
The last chapter is short but ends where it should: Christ. In other words how does this fit in the big picture? How does it fit in me? Put this down as a fun read.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Tower Of Babel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Don't Skip the Genealogies!

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Phronsie Howell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I knew the genealogies were in the Bible for a reason but I never understood just how important they really are. No wonder they call it the Table of Nations, because it is! After Babel the people split up and some founded well-known nations (Greece, Assyria, etc.).
Bodie Hodge did a great job doing research for "Tower of Babel". He also uses the Bible as the foundation which is great! Learning about where people went and the languages that ended up coming from those areas was really neat. It was also really interesting to learn about how some of the mythological beings were actually based on real people (whose lives were a bit embellished through the years).
Fairly easy to read but Chapter 17 is long. "Nerdy" but not to the point of the average person not understanding it.
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was received. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Tower Of Babel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent, accurate read!

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As I read I felt as if I were myself digging in the desert to uncover the truth of ancient history. I learned why the biblical account is clearly the source of all the other accounts found in other cultures. I already knew this was true, but now I'm equipped with the reasons why it is true beyond simply my understanding of the truth of Scripture. Now I can answer the questions of unbelievers who care nothing about the Bible in an informed way.
I had two favorite parts as I studied. One was learning of how the names in various cultures related back to Noah and his sons. Even accounts of the flood in China have similar names. The other was learning how people would have been able to disperse more quickly than I was taught. When you have been taught history from a millions-of-years-old perspective these thing are taught very differently.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Tower Of Babel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tower of Babel

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
homeschoolmom24
Location:Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About the Book:
The Tower of Babel: The Cultural History of Our Ancestors reveals our shared ancestry as never before! Many are familiar with the Biblical account of Babel, but after the dispersal, there was a void beyond Biblical history until empires like Rome and Greece arose. Now, discover the truth of these people groups and their civilizations that spread across the earth and trace their roots back to Babel as well as to the sons and grandsons of Noah.
Many of today’s scholars write off what occurred at the Tower of Babel as mythology and deny that it was a historical event. Beginning with the Biblical accounts, author Bodie Hodge researched ancient texts, critical clues, and rare historic records to help solve the mystery of what became of the failed builders of Babel. For the purpose of defending the Bible, Hodge presents these and other vital historical facts surrounding this much-debated event. Teens and older can use this layman’s reference for Biblical classes, ancient history, apologetics training, and to realize their own cultural connection to the Bible.
A speaker and researcher for Answers in Genesis, Bodie Hodge is known for his contribution to and authoring of other Christian apologetics titles including:
Begin
Fall of Satan
Answers Books Series
How Do We Know the Bible is True Vol 1 & 2
Demolishing Supposed Bible Contradictions Series
About the Author:
Mr. Bodie Hodge attended Southern Illinois University at Carbondale and received a B.S. and M.S. in mechanical engineering. His specialty was a subset of mechanical engineering based in advanced materials processing, particularly starting powders. Currently, Bodie is a speaker, writer, and researcher for Answers in Genesis–USA. He is the author of The Fall of Satan and co-author of Dragons: Legends & Lore of Dinosaurs.
My Review:
I was not aware until reading this book that there are many people out there that either don't believe the Tower of Babel existed or they believe that it is just an example or metaphor that is alive and well in today's culture. I believe whatever the Bible states so to me existed and I believe that it shows what God did to some that were trying real hard to work against Him. The author in this book has provided an in depth study of the Tower of Babel study and I found it to be quite interesting. He begins with racism and how any good and Bible believing Christian should completely stand against it. Which I have always explained to my children when questioned as to why there are different races or where did everyone come from? We would go to the Bible and discuss this story.
If you are like most of us and have decided to read the Bible from cover to cover or even just read the sections that contain the genealogies. You would probably just sweetly and indiscreetly skip over those. After all that is ALOT of begetting, but I digress. Well in this book the author takes you through them and helps you to understand them better. Not only will the tracings reveal the founders of some of the earliest civilizations known to history. But you may also locate and find your own families heritage.
If you would like any more information on this book or to purchase this book you can do so here
**Disclosure** This book was provided to me at no charge for my honest review from Master Books/New Leaf Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.