Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Master Books Don't Miss the Boat: Facts to Keep Your Faith Afloat

Master Books Don't Miss the Boat: Facts to Keep Your Faith Afloat

Here is your comprehensive guide to creationist thinking on the Flood in an easy-to-understand style! Don't Miss the Boat provides various perspectives on the Great Flood based on technical and physical evidence seen around the world today. Perfect for the layman who wants an overview of the basic creationist facts about the flood! Theological considerations, historical essays, and scientific implications are included, as well as four fictional short stories that convey the emotional power of God's judgment on a wicked pre-Flood world.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Don't Miss the Boat: Facts to Keep Your Faith Afloat
Review 1 for Don't Miss the Boat: Facts to Keep Your Faith Afloat
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

“Don’t Miss the Boat” by Paul Taylor

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
tickmenot
Location:Kansas City
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has great information about the reality of the flood account given in the Bible. The author uses the Bible as the only completely accurate source for the incident. He makes the point that if the scriptural account of the flood doesn’t fit the scientific explanation, throw out the scientific model, and keep the Biblical description. Mr. Taylor states that when explaining the flood, the Bible is always the true source. If what we are discovering does not line-up with the Bible, then our hypothesis is wrong, or the data needed is incomplete.
The author gives an in-depth analysis of how the flood occurred, and his conjectures line-up with a literal interpretation of the Biblical flood. He covers many details. For the most part, the commentaries are understandable, although a scant amount of the information is complicated. Surprisingly, the author explains how carbon dating can have a place in a Biblical flood account. Mr. Taylor was very thorough in addressing objections that have been made against accepting the Biblical testimony.
I am very happy to have an intelligent book about the Biblical flood. It is refreshing to have the Bible placed as the highest authority on a subject. Obviously the author cares a great deal about the truth of the Bible, and spent a lot of work on this subject. However, I was put-off at the end of the book when the author talked about an individual obtaining salvation from God. Someone who wants to become a follower of Christ should be given the steps to do it. Verbatim words are not necessary. A general outline of what to do would not take away any “genuineness” on the part of the person seeking God. I give this book 4 stars.
The publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book through Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing for the purpose of review. All opinions expressed are my own, and I have not been compensated in any other manner. Despite my receiving the book free, it has not influenced my judgment, and I have given an honest opinion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Don't Miss the Boat: Facts to Keep Your Faith Afloat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good information on the flood

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Randy A Brown
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In his new book, Don’t Miss the Boat – Facts to Keep Your Faith Afloat, Paul Taylor looks at the flood of Noah from several standpoints including the Bible, history, and science. He gives many proofs to help build your faith in the Word of God and strengthen readers to defend this truth.
Taylor digs deep into Genesis chapter 6-8 He breaks the chapters down into sections a provides commentary, quoting from many writers such as John Calvin, John Gill, Matthew Henry, John Bunyon, and others. The topics he discusses include the world before the flood, the sons of God and the daughters of men, the flood prophesied, giants, wickedness of men, God’s wrath on man’s wickedness, what it means for God to repent and God’s grace, the ark, Noah’s faith, the flood itself, God’s activity during the flood and remembering Noah, the rainbow, God’s covenant with Noah, what the world was like after the flood, and more.
Taylor looks at the history of ancient civilizations and their flood legends and shows evidence from post-flood civilizations that the Bible is authentic. He also looks at the history of our society and shows why our society as a whole has stopped believing in the flood.
He covers many scientific points that support the flood and shows that study and position of Creation science is valid. He also discusses Creation scientists and their arguments and shows the positive and negative arguments. He discusses the design of the ark, radiometric dating, and the ice age.
The book concludes with some short stories and questions for personal or group study.
Taylor raises many good points about Creation and the flood. This is one of my favorite topics, so I’ve read many books on this topic. This is one of the better books on the subject. I like how he brings it all to the Bible and shows where and how it all fits in Scripture. He covers a lot of science in this book. It’s easy to read and follow and would make a great resource for the study of Creation science and the flood. Highly recommended.
Master Books provided this book free for review. I was not required to give a positive review- only an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Don't Miss the Boat: Facts to Keep Your Faith Afloat
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well researched book about the Biblical flood

Date:October 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heather @ Marine Corps Nomads
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Taylor has done a wonderful job of combining technical and scientific evidence with interesting fictional stories about what could have happened in the pre-flood world. The information is presented in an easy to understand manner. He doesn't shy away from tackling some touchy theories within the young-earth creationist community in addition to old-earth creationist theories and evolutionary theories.
The book itself is laid out in a logical manner which allows the reader to flow from one topic to another. The first chapter is the only chapter that isn't quite as easy to follow as it's more of an overview chapter which gives an introduction to the various topics covered in the book. While the information presented is easy to understand, there were times that I needed to read over the information more than once to completely grasp what was being said.
I appreciated the fact that Taylor's arguments for and against certain theories were well thought out and researched. He also had no issue with admitting that at least one of the theories that he had held to in the past was no longer a valid theory, in his opinion. His presentation made me think more about some of the traditional theories that have been held by creationists and whether they were and were not correct.
Overall, Don't Miss the Boat is an interesting read filled with well-researched information about the world-wide flood.
Disclosure: I received a copy of this book to help facilitate the writing of a frank and honest review. A positive review is not required or guaranteed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Don't Miss the Boat: Facts to Keep Your Faith Afloat
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
SC2424
Location:Vermont
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've always been a biologist at heart, and believing in the Biblical God, I believe in the worldwide flood of Noah's time, as stated in the Bible. Along with these two points, I enjoy hearing explanations about how the world today was possibly/probably molded by this Flood.
I was happy to get the chance to review this book, "Don't Miss the Boat" by Paul Taylor, published by Master Books. It looked like a nonfiction book I'd be happy to read. When I began reading the book, though, I was not so sure. . .I got really bogged down, distracted, and overwhelmed in the introduction and chapter 1. Too many subjects were touched upon, kind of randomly seeming, rabbit-trail style--I thought this might be a tough book to complete.
Happily, upon reading more and more, the chapters to come were much more interesting and stuck to the topics they were supposedly about. Chapters were about many topics relating to the Flood, combining Scripture with scientific observations and explanations. Theories about what might have happened during and after the flood were explored, supposition and guesses, but backed up with information from different sources. Topics included such things as ice ages, re-population of the earth, carbon dating, how the animals got to the ark and which animals did, and the biggie -- uniformitarianism and problems with that.
The end part were stories (fictional) which were written about 4 different people as it could be imagined they were in the pre-flood world. This part was interesting in the sense that it made it easier to visualize some of the things/thoughts/emotions and look at it from a different viewpoint.
So -- I would say that I would recommend this book -- BUT don't get bogged down/discouraged/put off by the first chapter! Just skip it if you want!!
I received a copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review. I was not required to write a positive review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Don't Miss the Boat: Facts to Keep Your Faith Afloat
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Perfect for Church Groups to learn about the Flood

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cheri Fields
Location:Southwest Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Paul Taylor has pulled together a great overview of the history of Noah’s Flood. He covers both the science and the spiritual/moral implications of this seminal event in our history for ordinary people.
Although Mr. Taylor doesn’t bring the language down quite far enough to just pass this book to an eight year old, he does a great job accomplishing his goal of reaching everyday adults. There are a few points he brings up repeatedly, but that is because the book is designed for you to search for a topic rather than having to read straight through.
It was especially nice to see the last section is laid out to give a study group starter questions to work through. Paul Taylor planned his book with the goal of helping churches lead their entire congregations into a deeper understanding of the Flood.
Don’t Miss the Boat draws out aspects of the Bible’s account of the Flood that will be sure to interest people no matter what they most enjoy. There is science, yes, but also theology, history, and the picture of Jesus’ salvation the ark so clearly gives us.
Just before the wrap up bits of the book, Taylor plies his hand at some fiction writing. I won’t go into detail, but will tell you the snapshot accounts included are NOT from Noah’s perspective. They are gut wrenching views of what would inspire God to wipe the slate clean. It isn’t stuff for kids, but neither does Taylor revel in sinful gore. I found the stories hit home in a way I’d never experienced. They are powerful, and likely to make us wonder why Jesus hasn’t returned to wipe sinful humanity out again already.
Paul Taylor doesn’t load his book with bibliography, but he does mention enough to give you places to go if you want to learn more. There were at least two books I hadn’t heard of that are now on my list to check out ASAP!
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of Don't Miss The Boat from Master Books in exchange for my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Don't Miss the Boat: Facts to Keep Your Faith Afloat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent read because it is unlike any other book concerning the flood I have read. Most books I have read about the flood cover one of three things:
1. This exposition of the scriptural account.
2. The history
3. The science
It covers all of these areas and has a surprise at the end for fiction lovers! He has taken the facts added a dose of creative license and has come up with short stories written in the 1st person narrative from several different individuals involved in the biblical account. There really is something for everyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Don't Miss the Boat: Facts to Keep Your Faith Afloat
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy to read, fascinating facts!

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rachel
Location:Tulsa, Oklahoma
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I periodically give an honest review of a book in exchange for a copy of the book. I must say, I was excited when I received the notification that the next book up for review was "Don't Miss the Boat: Facts to Keep Your Faith Afloat" by Paul Taylor, published by Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing Group. Almost anything Master Books publishes interests me as their books are usually full of fascinating facts and evidence.
"Don't Miss the Boat" proved to be a unique book. Broken up into four different section, the book presents various angles on the global flood. The first section is exposition with very little science. It explores the scripture and highlights typology found therein. For instance the salvation provided by the ark is a type of the salvation provided by Jesus. Taylor is careful to emphasize that types are based on real accounts, not allegory.
The next section covers history. It talks about the ancient world and ancient civilizations. Taylor sheds light on the reasons our society stopped believing in the global flood, and how the modern creationist movement was born.
The third section was my favorite: science. What most impressed me is the great amount of respect Taylor shows to evolutionary scientists. He goes out of his way to assure the reader that acceptance of the Modern Theory of Evolution does not mean a scientist is unintelligent, and we should not be quick to ridicule them. Their methods often are correct, they are simply based upon presuppositions that cannot be proven. Taylor identifies those presuppositions and contrasts them to the presuppositions made by creation scientists. He then sets to rest some common misunderstandings about radiometric dating and the geologic column.
The final section is a compilation of fictional monologues intended to draw the reader into the life of pre-flood persons. I wasn't a big fan of the monologues. They began rather abruptly and I felt I would probably have connected with the characters faster from a third person or omniscient point of view, but I appreciate what Taylor was trying to accomplish.
Overall, it was a pretty cool book. I would recommend it to those who have given their life to Jesus and accepted the true account of the Bible, it will build your faith and enlighten your mind.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Don't Miss the Boat: Facts to Keep Your Faith Afloat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting Reading from Creationist standpoint

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
RDrisk5150
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Many people think that science and Christianity are at war. They think that either science has proven Christianity false or the Bible says that science should be avoided or ignored. Neither of these positions is true, as Paul Taylor points out in his book Don't Miss The Boat. Mr. Taylor has a Master's Degree in Science Education and has been writing about creation issues for the last 30 years. I have also read another of his books, The Six Days of Genesis, which I enjoyed very much and from which I learned a lot.
In Don't Miss The Boat, published in 2013 by Master Books, Mr. Taylor addresses many interesting verses and passages in the Bible that theologians have wrestled with for a long time. While not necessarily the final word on these passages, Mr. Taylor's interpretation is both logical and biblical, two very important requirements for any interpretation of Scripture.
The identity of the “Sons of God” and the “Daughters of men”, found in Genesis 6:4, is but one of the interesting topics for which Mr. Taylor gives an explanation. The verse which says that man's days shall be “120 years” is also given a reasonable, and biblical, interpretation by Mr. Taylor.
Another biblical passage treated in the book is the passage that says that Jesus proclaimed the Gospel message to the 'spirits in prison'. This passage has always been somewhat mysterious to me and I have never heard an interpretation that really satisfied me...until now. Once again, his treatment of this passage is both logical and biblical.
Most of the book is dedicated to furthering one's understanding of creation science and showing how it, rather than an evolutionary view of history, makes more sense of the evidence we see around us. Mr. Taylor quite convincingly shows us that the physical evidence of the earth's features is better explained by looking to a one-time global flood than by attributing everything we see to slow processes taking millions or billions of years. He writes, “Modern, secular geologists make the mistake of assuming that everything they observe in this modern phase is applicable to the entire geological history of the earth” (p. 151). The correct viewpoint, he asserts later, when he writes, “What we need to do is to view that evidence through the correct, biblical paradigm, which in this case must make reference to the catastrophic events of the global flood” (p. 159).
While the book focuses on the creation/evolution debate, it also does something that I've always admired about books from Master Book publishing: the final chapter is actually a presentation of the Gospel. The folks at Master Books, and Mr. Taylor, realize that winning the argument concerning the beginnings of the earth matter little if one is left in his or her sins. Therefore, the writer makes the way of salvation clear in the final chapter of this book. I applaud this effort.
With discussions on 'species and kinds', the lack of fossil evidence, evidence for a global flood, and some very interesting information on the feasibility of Noah's ark, this book is a welcome addition to the creationist's library or a challenging piece of literature to the evolutionist.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Don't Miss the Boat: Facts to Keep Your Faith Afloat
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very imformative

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heidi
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this book free in exchange for sharing my honest opinion!
I was really excited to dig into this book as soon as I received it. I often am talking to someone about the flood and want to share my opinions and beliefs but have a hard time explaining them. This book really gives you the details and specifics you need to share! This is an amazing text that covers so many aspects of The Flood and the details surrounding it. This book covers the history of the flood, the science behind it and even finished with a powerful exposition.
I think the author does an amazing job of presenting facts for a very large topic and making them understandable. It does read a bit like a text book at times and to me isn't a book you sit down and read in one sitting. It is a book to be studied. It is also a book to check references in your own bible.
I would highly recommend this book for anyone wanting to dig a little deeper into the Flood and all it represents. It would be a terrific Sunday School text or youth group study.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Don't Miss the Boat: Facts to Keep Your Faith Afloat
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Get in Deep

Date:September 26, 2013
Every once in awhile I pick up a book and suddenly feel like I should be getting college credit just for reading it. Don't Miss the Boat by Paul Taylor published by Master Books is one of those books. Evidently my brain has been lulled into complacency by all the kids books I read. "Facts to keep Your Faith Afloat" sounded simple enough but from the beginning this book is thick and heavy with information about Genesis. Don't get me wrong, this isn't a bad thing! It is in fact FANTASTIC to have all this information at my fingertips but I want you to know that this is a book that will take some time to digest.
Taylor has done extensive research on the Bible and on scientific evidence from the Flood. This is the grown up version of all those Noah Justice DVDs that we love so much! All of this information is broken down into 5 sections with 17 chapters. The sections include: exposition, history, science, fiction, and exposition. The fiction section includes 4 short stories to give an idea of how Taylor feels some of the people may have felt during that period. They are fictional and are intended to be read as such. The remainder of the book is a compilation of textbook quality facts, pictures, charts, and more.
This book is a must have for any adult wanting to delve deep into the available information about the Flood and the impact it has had on Earth. I'd also encourage anyone that is open to sharing their faith to spend some time in this book. So often unbelievers use "science" to refute the Bible, it is important that we have scientific information to back up our beliefs. Not only is this information helpful in explaining faith but it is interesting too. And as a homeschool mom this gives me some fantastic extra info to share with my kids as we study!
I received a free copy of this book from Master Books for the purpose of review. All opinions are my own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Don't Miss the Boat: Facts to Keep Your Faith Afloat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Truth About the Flood

Date:September 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Erin
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are anything like me, you may at times find it difficult to explain the complexities of the Bible. This can be especially true when you are trying to convince someone who is set again "being convinced" in the first place. This is one area where I really want to improve myself.
Don't Miss the Boat: Facts to Keep Your Faith Afloat is a book that has really given me a new perspective on how to defend the story of the flood. This book goes through all of the complexities of science vs. religion, and explains how the flood actually occurred and is not just a fairy tale Bible story.
Paul Taylor gives some very compelling bits of evidence to use when we defend the flood. He goes through different aspects that people question about the flood. Some of these include: what the pre-flood world was like, how the flood started, how the flood can be explained with science, how fossils are not a sign that the world is millions of years old, how the ark was designed, how animals got on the ark, and also the idea of a post-flood ice age.
One of my favorite parts was the section of short fictional stories written by a few pre-flood humans (including Jubal, Tubal-Cain, Jabal, and Naamah). These stories really made these people come alive for me in a way that they never have before!
Another great part of this book is the study questions that are written at the end of the book. There are several questions for each chapter. This would make a great Bible study!
I have learned so much about the flood and the history behind it through this book! My plans are to read through this again and take notes so that I can build my confidence in defending one of the most scientifically controversial events in Biblical history. I know more about fossils now than I ever learned in any science class. If you have any doubts about the reality of the flood, then check this book out and you will be convinced that it truly was real!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.