Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cinedigm Entertainment Holdings Hidden Places, DVD

Cinedigm Entertainment Holdings Hidden Places, DVD

Widow Eliza Wyatt is desperate. The bank is about to foreclose on Wyatt Orchard, and she must bring in the harvest before she loses everything. She's hoping for a miracle. Is down-on-his-luck veteran Gabe Harper the answer to her prayers? Based on Lynn Austin's award-winning novel, this powerful film stars Sydney Penny, Jason Gedrick, and Oscar-winner Shirley Jones. Special features includes discussion guide, and an excerpt from Lynn Austin's upcoming book—A Woman's Place. Approx. 86 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
10
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hidden Places, DVD
Review 1 for Hidden Places, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

DVD Blessings !!

Date:February 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
smiley 2
Location:Liverpool, New York
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My idea was to own this as I saw this DVD Hidden Places on Hallmark once and loved this story of life and things we go through in life . The up and downs of life but our Faith in Christ offers Hope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hidden Places, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
L Riddle
Such a good movie...destined to stand the test of time... In the face of multiple hardships, remaining relatives band together to try and gather the orange crop to pay the mortgage. A very special but sad traveling fellow shows up at just the right time to join the effort. Just how dependable he will be, they are not sure, but as they get to know him they see a lot of potential in him. This movie renews hope that through hard work and determination, one can overcome past sorrows and make the future good for oneself and others. Heart-warming characters abound. A unique and beautiful story that, unlike so many, could really happen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hidden Places, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dana Black
The book was Awesome! The movie needs a lot of work. It had barely anything to do with the book, and it had profanity in it as well, which makes it non-family friendly. Don't buy it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hidden Places, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
P.L.
Very nice movie. Reminds me of a Hallmark movie. Very good storyline. Grabs and keeps your attention all through. Would recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hidden Places, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
kathy
Like a previous reviewer, this BOOK was one of my all time favorites...and I read a lot! Hallmark produced a DVD of it a while back and I shut it off after about 20 minutes because the deep richness of the story was missing. I may be wrong, but I think this is another attempt at bringing the story to the screen. Because of what other reviewers have written, I will pass this by...and read the book again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hidden Places, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
CeAnn Sarver
While it was nice to watch a clean family friendly movie, I was very disappointed to find that the movie left out all the good stuff that was in the book. The book is one of my favorite books of all time, and the movie was just lame in comparison.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hidden Places, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Audrey Mcintosh
Perseverance and Patience coupled with kindness and compassion--this movie has it all. Fantastic movie from beginning to end! Loved it so much, I'll watch it over and over and share it with my family and friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hidden Places, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Della Holinski
Hidden PlacesThis is a beautiful movie. I enjoyed it so very much. It has great acting, a beautiful story and most of all it has values, faith, love helping each other and not expecting anything back The relationship that grows between the Sydney Penny and Jason Gedrock was beautiful. The ending is perfect. It is all together a well rounded story and performance. I love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hidden Places, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Hicks
I really liked this DVD. It is nice to find a movie without profanity and with Christian values.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hidden Places, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Eugene Arnold
Troubled times and the way it was. Greed, fear & the unknown overpowered by Faith, Hope and Love. Truly enriching.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hidden Places, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Callie
I hated this movie!!!!!! The book was like amazing and the movie was like the lamest of the lame. It left out all the good stuff in the book! There were so few parts of the book in the movie I can't believe that they say its based on the book. A total let down! I definitely reccomend the book however, as well as all the other Lynn Austin books I've read. The refiner's fire series is AWESOME!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hidden Places, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Barbara Hunter
I wish this five star movie was a series, I didn't want it to end. Good dvds are so valuable now for me, so I can purchase them for my Aunt Dora who loves to watch them and read your good Christian Books.I wish you had a book club so I could order and pay you by check---interest rates are so high, it is stopping me from ordering with my credit card, since I am retired. But thanks for all you have been in the past for our family enjoyment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hidden Places, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kathy Hastings
What a story of how God can take what seems to be the worst of circumstances for both characters & brings it about to make something good - a family that works together along with a community that cares to bring about what seems to be an impossible task.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hidden Places, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Alyson
I hate to give bad reviews, but this movie was awful. The book is beyond fabulous and the movie absolutely butchered it. I was so disappointed. What an insult to the wonderful book. I hope nobody doesn't read the book because of how bad the movie was. I highly recommend the book, but not the movie at all!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hidden Places, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anita Ocker
This movie was a good family film, but I was honestly a little disappointed with it. I read the book, and I guess I had greater expectations for movie than what was portrayed. The plot seemed slow and the characters seemed to be only sketches, not developed nearly enough for the viewer to really get a feel for their personalities and emotions compared to the book. Relationships just sort of happened instead of being developed. Maybe it's not fair to compare movie and book. I recommend to anyone who saw the movie to read the book to get the whole story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hidden Places, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Paul Redding
There are at least four reasons why this movie should not even be recommended by, sold at a store or on a site that purports itself to be Christian(or the definition of Christian has become so tainted that it doesn't apply any more)1.After funeral Peacher says "You'll be fine, God willing. Good luck" What does God have to do with luck, and what does luck have to do with God?2."Will Grandpa be in heaven? He was so angry..." "Oh, if a little temper now and then kept people out of heaven, even Saint Peter wouldn't be there." Matthew 5:22 should be screaming out a warning here.3.Gabe is angry and hurt about his past and the subject of forgiveness never came up. Matthew 6:14 says he will not be forgiven if he doesn't forgive.4.At the wedding, during the vows to each other, the preacher says "Eliza, repeat after me: 'With my body, I thee worship.....'" "and so she obediently repeats to her husband: "With my body I thee worship" Only God (not a fallable husband) is worthy of worship. Luke 4:8All of you that claim to be Christian and yet praise this movie should be ashamed of yourselves, for your testimony says you do not believe what the word of God says.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hidden Places, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Alden Thompson
This movie has so many teachings. One is that even though we have tragedies in our lives God is still working to bring about something good in our life. Another is that if we are in His word and are faithful in prayer God will take care of our needs in His time. This movie inspired me in may ways.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hidden Places, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Olivia
This movie was okay, but now that I've seen it, I probably wouldn't take the time to watch it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hidden Places, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Mumofthree
Loved every minute of this movie, great acting, great story, great ending. I felt God in it. Highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hidden Places, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Karen
I loved the book, but the movie was disappointing in comparison.I'd recommend you read the book and skip the movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>