Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Disappointment with God: Three Questions No One Asks Aloud

Zondervan Disappointment with God: Three Questions No One Asks Aloud

In Disappointment with God, Yancey tackles the questions caused by a God who doesn't always do what we think he's supposed to do. Insightful and deeply personal, Yancey points to the odd disparity between our concept of God and the realities of life. Why, if God is so hungry for relationship with us, does he seem so distant? Why, if he cares for us, do bad things happen? What can we expect from him after all? Yancey answers these questions with clarity, richness, and biblical assurance.

A Gold Medallion Award Winner, Disappointment with God has had an overwhelming impact on many lives. If you're struggling through difficult questions about God, you'll find this volume indispensable.

Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Disappointment with God: Three Questions No One Asks Aloud
Review 1 for Disappointment with God: Three Questions No One Asks Aloud
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good price, easy to buy and download.

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Paul
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buying ebooks from Christianbooks.com is very easy and the price is right. It was very easy to download, and the reader on my iPad works well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Disappointment with God: Three Questions No One Asks Aloud
This review is fromDisappointment with God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
grateful
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book that deals with the hard questions in an honest
way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Disappointment with God: Three Questions No One Asks Aloud
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not what I expected

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rosa Gay
I expected more of a focus on how to overcome being disappointed when we feel God isn't answering our prayers. This is not what the book is about.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Disappointment with God: Three Questions No One Asks Aloud
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Takpikker
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have enjoyed and appreciated all that I have read of Philip Yancey and this did not disappoint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Disappointment with God: Three Questions No One Asks Aloud
This review is fromDisappointment with God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Will cause one to rethink suffering

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
chickadee
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Other than the Bible this book has made the biggest impact on my faith & the lies & misinformation I had believed about why God allowed suffering. Phillip completely flipped my view on the book of Job. For me this is Phillip's best work. It changed my life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Disappointment with God: Three Questions No One Asks Aloud
This review is fromDisappointment with God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Virine Moulin
The best Christian book I've ever read for its honesty. Philip Yancey saved my faith. His arguments are at the same time theologically sound, sensible, rational and profoundly humane. Should be compulsory in seminars !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Disappointment with God: Three Questions No One Asks Aloud
This review is fromDisappointment with God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michael Bellisario
Great book deals with this subject in an insightful manner. Really gave me a different perspective on Job etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Disappointment with God: Three Questions No One Asks Aloud
This review is fromDisappointment with God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Levi A
The strengths of this book that I have found are many, whereas the weaknesses of this book are few. God doesn't always do what we think he's supposed to do. Yanceys book is very insightful and deeply personally. It connects with the reader, or personally with me, in such a way as though it feels like Yancey knows you personally and knows your problems. Of course Yancey may not know you personally, but he uses the concept of God and the truths that make up His character, and then speaks directly to how every human deals with the realities of life.This book contains no complete, exhaustive, satisfactory answer to every one of lifes problems. It hits the reader where home is. It connects with simple truths and simple statements. One problem that may arise to a reader who is currently dealing with a situation or feeling disappointment with God, is that it may not answer all of their questions. I intend to conclude with a simple truth that I discovered in this book that will help anyone in any situation, even those currently in a state of disappointment with God, be able to deal with disappointment and be able to push that aside. This book makes it clear that we cannot know everything nor be able to settle everything. God doesnt always reveal Himself to us because there is simply no need to do so. We need to have faith when in situations of disappointment.There are many strengths to this book but the only weakness that I could find is that Yancey does not answer all of the questions or satisfy the reader completely. But in this simple truth we find the ultimate disappointment that Yancey was trying to get across to the reader. We are incapable of knowing all of the truths and all of the answers to all of lifes problems or mysteries. Yancey is unable to answer all of the questions because he simply cannot. Yancey cannot satisfy the reader completely. The only weakness of the book is the greatest truth it intends to display.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Disappointment with God: Three Questions No One Asks Aloud
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Greg Williamson
In "Disappointment with God," Philip Yancey does a masterful job of dealing with the subject at hand, among other things aptly demonstrating that the miracle-on-demand faith of so many professing Christians is actually very counterproductive to the genuine faith that God desires for and from his children. If anything, God has far more reason to be disappointed with us instead of the other way around.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Disappointment with God: Three Questions No One Asks Aloud
This review is fromDisappointment with God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tim Dawson
I love this book, We are using it for our young adult Sunday School class. It prompts so many wonderful conversations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Disappointment with God: Three Questions No One Asks Aloud
This review is fromDisappointment with God.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ingrid Segarra
Dissapoint with God by Pastor Yancey was a book that helped me see certain realities of life from the bible's perspectives and to possibly see God's point of view of things. That helped me feel better, but it did not completely satisfy me. Perhaps the most important point I found in the book is that everybody who suffered tremendously, included Christ, is or was dissapointed with God at least at one point in their lives. Christ told God on the cross "My father, my father, why have you forsaken me?" That is one point Pastor Yancey makes. But none really result in a deeply satisfactory answer that make us feel that God is there to save us from horrible events in our lives. Neither it tells us why God does not always respond to our prayers when we pray for healing or salvation from any horrible situation. Pastor Yancey made me feel that at least even though God was not answering that he was there with me. I myself meditated and got to the following conclusion: If anybody ever does something really wrong to us the Lord will always be grieving just as much as we grieve. Pastor Yancey did not quoted this but the Lord reveiled this to me on my meditation and prayer: Jesus said that whatever people do to others (his little ones) they do to himself. I came out of reading that book with a more hopeful view of how much God loved me. I think it can be helpful but I am not sure it will answer all your questions with success. However, he indeed answers a few of them with good success.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Disappointment with God: Three Questions No One Asks Aloud
This review is fromDisappointment with God.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
Ben
This book had some really great stuff in it, but on the whole I felt let down. I am in the state which this book addresses: Disappointment with God. In the first half of the book, the initial chapters, especially those dealing with Richard, nailed me directly on the head. However, it seemed to lose focus. While some of the material would be interesting to debate in a theological context, it did nothing to help me address the issues with which I was dealing. I found the second half of the book to be far more on target. However, it left me with no resolution besides: Ultimately, God is unfathomable and unknowable.Perhaps I had set the expectations a little to high to begin with. Yancey is an excellent author and has many excellent books. I just found that it really didn't help me all that much.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Disappointment with God: Three Questions No One Asks Aloud
This review is fromDisappointment with God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2005
Customer Avatar
Lovely Lady
Perfect - this book made me think... and think more... and then think some more. I'm a new Christian and this book not only approached the questions that I have had (that most Christians were telling me to pray about, but refused to discuss them with me), Philip Yancey spoke plainly about his experiences and gave some friendly advice. I really felt like the book was more like a letter to me personally, the way he wrote it, instead of some textbook for overcoming something. In the end, he was human and real, saying that disappointment with God is a normal thing that everyone feels at one point or another, and burying it deep inside is not going to make you any more Christian or saved than approaching God with it. I loved everything about this book - read it in like 3 days - couldn't put it down - have notes all over the margins and will pass it to a friend. I highly (obviously) recommend it to anyone who wants to have a real experience :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Disappointment with God: Three Questions No One Asks Aloud
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2003
Customer Avatar
Sabina Koenigs
I beleive that the subject of the reality of suffering, depsite the goodness of God is one of the most difficult subjects to write about. I think Mr. Yancey has covered this subject masterfully. I have read numerous books on this subject, by varied authors for the last ten years. But I have never come across a book so insightful. Most of what I read has been stabs in the dark and attempts at awkward rationalizatons. The profoundness of Mr. Yancey's book is that he uses perspective to deal with the subject of adversity. Until reading this book, I missed the obvious and that is, to understand this complicated subject I need to try to see it from God's viewpoint. When understood by man's point of view there will never be any complete sucess at understanding. That is the genius of this book; that idea alone makes it a fascinating read. The writing is also excellent. He makes a complicated subject and creates an explanation that seems effortless. He writes with much forthrightness and honesty, but also with sensitivity.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Disappointment with God: Three Questions No One Asks Aloud
This review is fromDisappointment with God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2002
Customer Avatar
Charlotte Walls
The only reason I gave this book a 4.5 instead of a 5.0 is because of the title. While the book was inspired as a result of disappointment with God, the content is more reflective of getting to know God. I learned things about God in this book that answered questions that have plagued me as a Chrisian for decades. Example: The answer to predestination through the concept of God being the same yesterday, today & tomorrow.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Disappointment with God: Three Questions No One Asks Aloud
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 29, 2000
Customer Avatar
Christopher Cotter
The title of this book should be the "Disappointment OF God". Yancey turns the title around and Biblically demonstrates that we and all of humanity have been the ones who have disappointed God, time, and time, and time again. Yancey does not shy from the hard questions we demand of God, and presents the Biblical perspective. Thorough, well-written, and easy to read, as are all of his books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.