Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kevin Downes Productions Lay It Down, DVD

Kevin Downes Productions Lay It Down, DVD

From the producers of Mercy Streets comes a heart-pounding drama set against the world of illegal street racing! Ben and Pete Destin are extreme-living brothers on a collision course with eternity. When Ben chooses the narrow road, will Pete follow---or take a terribly wrong turn? Terrific for outreach. Includes bonus short The Light of Darkness. 50 minutes. Closed-captioned.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lay It Down, DVD
Review 1 for Lay It Down, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful movie for all youth

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie Pollock
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie is outstanding! My 8 year old grandson has already watched it 2x and is watching it again. He even told me "BeBe, this movie doesn't have anything bad in it(words, etc...). Thank you for this movie. We need a lot more like it, especially with the plan of salvation so clearly explained!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lay It Down, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Real Life

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
LinDawn
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Lay it Down" can be a convicting and educational tool to reach young people or anyone about the dangers of illegal car racing and the reality of forever living-after you die-in Hell or Heaven.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lay It Down, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A+ Movie!

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carly
Location:Boston Area, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lay It Down is a wonderful movie. I think that it shows how a young man's life totally changes from one aspect of living (life of sin) to another (trying to live for the Lord). I thought the acting is very good.
I thought the movie (the music, everything about it) was great. There are so many ministries today who minister to skateboarders, etc.. & this is where different types of film types might be needed. And as where the Pastor has an earring?? Half of the world does. LOL I think maybe he works more with the kids, thinks maybe he'll fit in more? Who knows.
Anyhooooo, excellent film! A+ I recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lay It Down, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marie Quinn
It was a great movie but it was one of those that could have been so much better if it was longer. It seems to have a weak start but it ends very powerful. I have already watched it twice and will continue to watch it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lay It Down, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jeremy Gardiner
Good watch. 50 minutes long. Low Budget. My main problems was the Arminian view pushed and also the weak witnessing encounters which really didn't show what sin was. Judgement was pushed though. I recommend it for a watch.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lay It Down, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2006
Customer Avatar
Susan Schuler
The only redeeming point is that salvation and a changed life are clearly presented. The music was loud and obnoxious. The pastor had an earring. But worst of all, the storyline appealed to people with the IQ and class of a rusty doorknob.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lay It Down, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
C
This is and excellent boys movie, and the salvation message is very clear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lay It Down, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2006
Customer Avatar
Angie Castellaw
This is an excellent movie!It is professionally done, so it can be shown to teens of all walks of life. The Christian mother and youth pastor in the movie are very credible and very appealing to young people. The lines are clearly drawn: after you are saved there is a difference in your life, you are not the same person any more. But at the same time the Christian mother is very inviting and has an open ear for the teens in her life. She is a friend to them and does not condemn them, but at the same time does not condone the sin in their lives. I wish every Christian adult could live his life the way it is presented here!Great movie for evangelistic outreach to teens - I can only recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.