Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fox Faith The List, DVD

Fox Faith The List, DVD

Shaken by his father's mysterious death, attorney Renny Jacobson is puzzled by the conditions of the will. In his quest to learn the truth, Renny discovers that his life---and the life of the woman he loves---depends on his fulfilling a prophecy spoken in 1863. What will it take to deliver him from the curse of "the list"? (PG.) 107 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.444 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The List, DVD
Review 1 for The List, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very good movie, enjoy Malcom Mcdowell, seen him in a couple of Movies lately is he a professed Christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The List, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Prince
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suspenseful! Just like a good book that you can't put down, this movie you can't just stop and walk away.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The List, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Becky Sue Ray
"The List" surprised us; filmed around Charleston, SC, the scenery was beautiful. The emphasis on prayer was more in-depth because it demonstrated intercessory prayer and standing in the gap. I haven't read this particular book, but this DVD is one we have kept (we do toss DVDs that do not pass the "sniff" test). Good suspenseful movie with prayer application.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The List, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ellen
This movie is slow moving, rather confusing, and lacks the Biblical substance necessary to be considered a Christian film. The ultimate climax bids the viewer understanding that prayer brings forth results; however, as it is a cheesy B-rated suspense-thriller, it relies too much on satanic undertones to keep the viewer engaged - and not enough on the Truth in the Word. This is definitely not a movie for young viewers. Unfortunately, I found that out too late. We watched it on the recommendation of a teen from our church and had to send my 8 year old promptly from the room. My older children and I kept thinking -since it was supposed to be a Christian film- that it would produce in the end, so we kept watching. It so did not. What a waste of time!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The List, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Richard Corwin
Very suspenseful. A clear slap at New Age secret societies. Shows the power of evil, but the greater power of God who delivers us.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The List, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donald Wells
Very rarely is a film better than the novel upon which it is based. We are big fans of Robert Whitlow's novels (The Trial is our favorite) and we felt this at least matched the novel.No... it is not as evangelical as the novel but it is both a GOOD film and has a great message about the power of choices.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The List, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Peter Dodge
Loved the novel and really loved the film too. Thought that the production quality and acting was far superior to most "Christian" films.Great message about the power of prayer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The List, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Anne Piaget
It was a disappointing film that could have carried a powerful message about the power of prayer, but fell through. The actors were good, except for the missionary. The plot was too weak and the message just didn't come across. It's too bad, as it had potential.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The List, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Alyson
I was really confused throughout the whole movie and did not understand what was going on. I think that they could have made things a little more clear. Kind of strange.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The List, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2009
Not at all like the book. Boring, poorly done, hard to follow, too supernatural and very little reference to anything spiritual. Having read the book I was eager to watch this. What a waste of money!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The List, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rose Moyer
It was great, because the son showed that he did not want to follow in his fathers footsteps. Even if he would not get any money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The List, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jason Taylor
This is a great film. I got the opportunity to see it on the big screen and also bought a copy when it first came out. The film looks fantastic and has an incredible cast. There is a good amount of scripture, a CLEAR biblical worldview and a final message about the power of prayer. This 2 for $20 deal is fantastic! I would recommend it and am buying several copies!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The List, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ellen
Those interested in supernatural thrillers will enjoy THE LIST; however, those seeking a Christian film promising hopes of redemption for loved ones through its viewing will be sorrowfully disappointed. While the acting is quite good and the storyline somewhat compelling, it lacks in evidencing that deliverance and redemption are through Christ alone. Although there is prayer included in its dialogue, the occult is promoted more heavily. Good wins over evil, yes; one can find that on ABC family. This does not a Christian film make.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The List, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brenda K Jenkins
Those interested in supernatural thrillers will enjoy "The List." Edge of the seat thrills and action. You will not be disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The List, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jonathan Miller
I thought the movie was well done: good acting and filming; however, I thought the story (at least in this movie version) was anticlimactic. The conflict builds as the tension and spiritual warfare mount, then with the drawing of a cross on a window and an angry declaration, the conflict is over and everyone lives happily ever after. I had more lofty imaginations that included the demise of the cult and a more resounding, spiritually-powerful victory that focused on personal redemption and the blood of Christ overcoming the blood covenant of this cult. In summary, it was interesting, but disappointing. There are much better, more satisfying Christian films out there.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The List, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cay Heath
I was very disappointed in the movie. The book is much better. The book left me encouraged to pray! The movie didn't bring the guilty to justice or vindicate the redeemed. And who ever heard of making a cross on a window to cast out a demon?!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The List, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharill Clark
For those interested in thrillers, this is a good one from my perspective: not too creepy or gory. It does touch on issues of occult practices but lightly enough so it is not too disturbing to watch. It contains good Christian messages about salvation and pursuit of worldly things. There are some identified Christians in the movie who are favorably portrayed, and well acted. I only gave 4 stars because I personally am uncomfortable watching things that reference the occult, as toned down as it was.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The List, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Diane Falkenberg
The movie is very good along with the acting. Of course, the book is better; but isn't that always the case. I was very pleased that they did so well with this Whitlow book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.