Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone, Midnight, Flame Design

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone, Midnight, Flame Design

The English Standard Version (ESV) Value Thinline edition is ideal for travel—at a great price. A midnight, flame design cover creates a contemporary, attractive look.

Features
  • Concordance with over 12,000 references
  • Easy-to-read 8.2-point type
  • Double-column format
  • Gold page edges
  • Durable TruTone cover, Midnight Flame design
  • 8.75" X 5.75" X 1.00"
  • Free ESV Bible software resources available
Average Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
29 out of 29100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone, Midnight, Flame Design
Review 1 for ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone, Midnight, Flame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Margie
Location:Moultonboro, NH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bible for my husband to bring to church and to Sunday school classes. I thought he would like it, as it is very light weight, slim, not too bulky and easy to read and use. He was delighted to get it on Christmas morning and has used it regularly since. We are both very pleased.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone, Midnight, Flame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth every penny!!!

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nick
Location:Saint Michael, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good bible for the price. Can't believe this bible is so cheap for as nice as it is. I needed a ESV bible cause the church I've been going to the past couple months preach from the ESV bible so I praise God for blessing me in being able to find such a nice bible for $10!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone, Midnight, Flame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New ESV Bible

Date:June 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sandcity49
Location:Sand City, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My church is moving to ESV Bibles for preaching, pew bibles, and gift bibles. I thought I should have one of my own for personal use. I'm very happy with my new ESV bible!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone, Midnight, Flame Design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice size

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
supermama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was a gift for a friend. Nice size for carrying around.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone, Midnight, Flame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for daily reading!

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Justin Crosby
Location:Tampa, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Bible to go along with my Grant Horner reading program. I have been using it and carrying it daily since January and it has held up great! The text size is PERFECT for daily reading, large enough to easily see and not so large that t makes the Bible thick. And speaking of size, this Bible is very thin for being so readable. I HIGHLY recommend this Bible. Great translation, very readable, durable, and a great value!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone, Midnight, Flame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than met my expectations!

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
jellojoy
Location:Upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this bible. I like the text, the sturdy binding, the feel of the cover, the thickness of the pages (text doesn't show through as much as some Bibles), the font size. The version is awesome. It really makes the Bible come alive!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone, Midnight, Flame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
nursebob
Location:el cajon, ca
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
compact, fairly easy to read even for an older guy like myself, small concordance, some footnotes....overall, exactly what I wanted
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone, Midnight, Flame Design
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good value for money

Date:March 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Graham
Location:New Zealand
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
They could have included a bookmark ribbon but otherwise product fully met my expectations
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone, Midnight, Flame Design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent bargain.

Date:January 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Big Bob
Location:Tahlequah, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bible is perfect size. Cover is soft (but does curl up). Readability is excellent. A great buy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone, Midnight, Flame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kurt Pommerening
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wonderful bible - Thin, good font size, concordance - all for only $7.99 - Can't beat it for taking it with you - or @ home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone, Midnight, Flame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product had the features I was looking for.

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimmy
Location:South Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bible as a gift. What I was looking for was a bible that was easy to read and understand and this product meet my expectations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone, Midnight, Flame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alice Binford
Location:Caldwell, ID
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We ordered this Bible in bulk for our congregation. This is the version that our Pastor uses to teach out of.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone, Midnight, Flame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to carry

Date:November 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Richard Driver
Location:Bowdon, Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very portable and affordable. Great value for a great product. Very compact and easy to carry with you.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone, Midnight, Flame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent Bible for travelers

Date:September 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
revroy
Location:Elliottsburg, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bible for my mother because she travels a lot and reads the Guideposts daily meditations each day.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone, Midnight, Flame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a FANTASTIC value!

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stone
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This ESV bible was exactly what I was hoping for and more. I've been warming up to the ESV translation on my electronic book reader, but being the true bibliophile that I am, I wanted an ESV bible in print. I was not ready to invest in a higher end ESV with all the bells and whistles yet so I was looking for something inexpensive but with a readable type size to use for a while so I can see if this translation continues to grow on me. I was pleased to see this offering and the choice of the two covers were both nice looking. I went ahead and bought one in brown. Since the price was so reasonable I wasn't expecting much in the quality department, of course, but boy was I surprised. This bible is just lovely and the print is nicely readable indeed. I expected the paper to be very low quality but it's quite nice actually. It's just what I needed and far better than I dared to expect. It was only slightly disappointing that there was no ribbon marker in it, since I can't recall ever seeing a bible with gilded page edges in a leather or imitation leather binding without one. But no matter, I simply cut a length of brown ribbon I happened to have and it looks just great so I attached a second ribbon for good measure. I'm planning to buy a few more of these as gifts since anyone would welcome a charming bible such as this. I like how it practically begs you to pick it up and it's such an attractive bible that it looks like it actually belongs on whatever table I happen to leave it. You can't go wrong for this price, really, but don't forget to buy a nice book mark for it, too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone, Midnight, Flame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value - worth the price

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Psallo
Location:MIddletown, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was unsure of the quality of this Bible because the price was so good. I have learned many times that "you get what you pay for." But in this case you get much more than you pay for.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone, Midnight, Flame Design
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Larger than advertised. Did not fit in the Bible cover I ordered for it. If the dimensions on the website were corrected, then it would have an excellent review from me.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone, Midnight, Flame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Value for the Money!

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
JTS2
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are very pleased with the ESV Thinline Bibles. We purchased these as gifts for our guests at our annual Friends Day & were delighted with both the service & the product itself. A very similar Bible is sold at a retail outlet near here for almost twice the price, so we knew this was a good b
Thanks!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone, Midnight, Flame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
ConsumerReview
Location:Philadelphia
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone line is the best value in a quality bible with a literal modern translation.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ESV Thinline Value Edition, TruTone, Midnight, Flame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Bible

Date:May 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
AmyS
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to read font and not too large to carry every Sunday
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>