Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus

Crossway Books & Bibles Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus

In Give Them Grace, parents will learn how to connect the benefits of the cross - especially regeneration, adoption, and justification - to their children's daily lives. Chapters address topics such as our inability to follow the law perfectly, God's forgiveness and love displayed at the cross, and what true heart obedience looks. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus
Review 1 for Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book. Down to earth and Biblical.

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
NW Mom
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found the authors perspective refreshing and down to earth. This is a great partner books to Shepherding a Child's Heart.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing book

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ashley
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book completely changed my approach to parenting. It's application of Bunlical principles empowers a parent to truly enjoy his/her children and trust God with the results. No book has ever had such an impact on my life, as well as my family. It is well worth the read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dean Mcalister
Location:Argyle, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Cannot say enough about this book! First parenting book we have ever read that gave us the tools to see that we were raising little moralists and not children that had heart changes and truly knew how to apply the Gospel to their everyday lives. Wish we would have had it years ago!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life changing

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
GBY60
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this book for parents and anyone wanting to reach the next generation for Christ. It is one of the best tools available to come against the "2nd generation Christian": children of believers. The stats are staggering, those brought up in a Christian home/church but leaving Christ and the church in mass exodus. It is also very hopeful and freeing to a parent's heart, no matter how old their children are.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gramma
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is a beautiful and Christ-honoring reminder of God's grace and our total dependence on Him for life eternal and everything else - including our parenting, which should constantly point our children to that grace.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not sure how I feel about this book!?

Date:February 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
dnevasquez
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I was really feeling like I needed to give my kids more grace, so when I found this book with this Title I thought it was gonna perfect. I haven't even been able to finish the book yet, because I'm not sure that I like it. I do like the overall concept of the book. That for our kids to obey us and do what is right, they need to be shown God's love and grace in our parenting. They should obey out of love and respect for the parents and for God and not out of fear. But I really don't like the dialogues they suggest having with your kids. They are impractical and chezzy. She tells a story of her daughter dealing with a situation with her 2 or 3 year old child. The child didn't want to leave the park and started throwing a fit in the parking lot. She proceeded to have a long conversation with the child about how the child was sinning against God and against her. And that she knew it was difficult for the child to express himself and control his anger. But that Jesus didn't always want to do what His Father asked Him to do....but He did it anyways. And that he wasn't the only one getting disciplined that day....Mommy was too, because of her pride and anger. Now all of this is true but you are not seriously going to have this super long conversation with your toddler while he is throwing himself down in the parking lot.
All of the conversations are like this.
But it does, however, speak of God always wanting whats best for your child, even when you don't know what that is. And He will show you the whens and hows of it all if you just trust Him. That your children belong to God and the importance of remembering that when you are disciplining and training them.
I will finish this book, and I hope to agree with more of it. We'll see!!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life Changing

Date:August 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amy D
Location:Waco, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The truths presented in this book have literally changed my life. I anticipate it will soon change my children's lives because of a greater level of love and grace I am now able to show them.
You will not regret reading this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
tpuck
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book! This book is a must read for not just parents but anyone. The Gospel is vital to everything we do as Believers. It should be woven through our marriages, our parenting, and all of our life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Parenting with Grace

Date:August 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ricky Kirk
Location:South Point, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Give them Grace, Elyse and her daughter share lessons learned in parenting with grace. Too often, we parents set rules for our children and give rewards for obedience and discipline for obedience. Then, as Christian parents, we teach biblical stories that come across as good lessons on obedience versus disobedience. While parents need to set boundaries for their children, and Christian parents need to teach biblical stories regarding obedience and disobedience, we are only reinforcing moralism in our children, teaching them to be good because God will be upset if they don't rather than teaching them about grace.
What is needed more than ever is a shift in parenting emphasis from 'goodness' to grace. The emphasis in parenting needs to center on Jesus Christ and his completed work on Calvary, not on our own behavior and goodness. Combining solid biblical references with personal examples this mother daughter duo bring a much needed 'call of grace' to the parenting table. Throughout the book parents will no doubt reflect on their failures as a parent, but be drawn to rest fully in the grace of Christ. When this happens, it equips them to parent by grace, instilling in their children the life-changing gospel of Christ rather than the failed system of moralism. A great reminder for all parents of the high call of parenting. I would also encourage anyone who works with children to read this book, for no doubt they will be reminded of the great importance of teaching children the gospel of grace!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Crossway as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grace saturated parenting

Date:July 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Grace - the one thing most of us struggle with. After all what does this word actually entail? How do we show grace? Have we really accepted fully the grace God has bestowed on us - or do we understand the depth of that grace in its fullness?
This is a radical approach on parenting as it presents the idea to parent with the gospel of grace of legalistic rules. A home dominated by the telling of "the Story" instead of the implementing of rules and regulations.
The over-arching view is that as parents each of us is imperfect however we can live and parent with extreme grace. I am a big believer in "teachable moments". In fact our home has scripture posted on the walls (thanks to the new vinyl cling lettering that looks hand-painted), we have scriptural art work on the walls and shelves - all constant reminders of whom we serve. In fact above the archway in the living room our family theme verse (Joshua 24:15) is posted. My children even memorize a verse for every letter of the alphabet along with other theme verses for their schoolwork. I also love to use moments of life to teach a life lesson based on scripture. However, I found some of the sample conversation in this book to lesson the effect of the gospel and Christ and to even diminish the power of certain scriptures.
For instance I do not apologize when have to discipline my children with spankings by saying "I am sorry to cause you pain...." This quote goes on to diminish the suffering and power of the cross. A more applicable scriptural reference to use is that like God punishes His children out of love so too must we as parents, for if we love our children we will not spare the rod but will chasten them when they are disobedient.
All in all the book is an excellent parenting book in that it is not a list of rules for christian parents to take not of and apply. The danger though is that the sample conversations will become a list of conversation and instead of prayerfully asking that God reveal "teachable moments" the parent might try overly hard to apply scripture everywhere and by default becoming a pharisee of sorts.
Parenting must be done in grace - for this there is no argument. But it must also be approached prayerfully. It must never diminish the gospel or power of the Word of God. And we must all be careful not to use scripture to beat up our children - for in this they will become bitter and revel against the very thing you are trying to teach them to embrace.
My advice: parent with grace by living grace. All the scripted conversations in the world - all the scripture memory that can be done in a life time is null and void if it is not demonstrated in your daily walk. After all what makes God's grace so appealing to us? It is the fact that Jesus Christ demonstrated grace daily - not by repeating the scripture of the day, but by living and walking it.
This is worth the read and may inspire you to live with grace.
I received this review copy from Crossway in exchange for an honest review of the book.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Tremendous Parenting Resource

Date:July 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bookmoms
Location:Middlefield, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Today I am departing from my normal format and reviewing a book for parents, not children. I am a big fan of Elyse Fitzpatrick and when I was given the opportunity to review this book I was very excited. I also thought the subject would be of interest to many of our readers. Hope you find this helpful!
From the Introduction to the final page of this book you are confronted with the gospel of grace. The authors use stories, anecdotes, probing questions and lots of Scripture as they point you away from the constraints of the law and toward grace. While they offer advice, they careful to point out that there is no formula for raising kids.
"Giving grace to our children is not another formula that guarantees their salvation or obedience...Our children will be saved only through the faithfulness of the Holy Spirit, who works at the direction of our faithful heavenly Father. He's the faithful, powerful, soul-transforming One."
Positives: There are so many things I liked about this book, I will try to focus on a couple of the highlights here. One of the aspects I most appreciated was how the authors teach that no parent can change the heart of their child. All of our efforts to be good parents do not produce salvation, only Jesus can save them and transform their heart. To drive this home the authors wrote:
"Spanking doesn't transform the soul, only Jesus Christ does."
This truth should drive us to pray. It should also cause us to teach our children (and ourselves) to cry out to God for mercy, forgiveness and the strength to fight the stronghold of sin. While I believe that spanking is a tool that parents should use as they raise their children, we need to understand that spanking alone will not save them.
Another aspect I really enjoyed was toward the end of the book when the authors were talking about a "successful" family and how we define if we have been good parents. Here is what they say:
"But what if we're measuring success in the wrong way? Could it be that our perception of success isn't God's plan for us or for our family? What if he's going to use our failure and our children's rebellion to make us humble comforters of other sufferers for his glory?...[D]on't we have to be willing to say that the chief end of our parenting is not our own glorification as great parents but rather that we glorify God and enjoy him forever, whatever that means?"
This book is a tremendous resource for parents as they seek to raise children who love Jesus and live under the power of His grace.
Negatives: None
Talking Points: There are questions at the end of each chapter which would be great to use if you wanted to read this book with a friend or Bible Study group. If you are reading it on your own, I would still recommend you take the time to answer the questions too!!
I received a free copy of this book from Crossway Publishers for this review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it. Great biblical framework for parenting.

Date:June 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Katie Orr
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Here are ten reasons why I loved Give Them Grace:
1. This is not another book full of parenting rules to follow. Instead, it focuses on grace-filled interactions with our children and a greater dependance on the Holy Spirit to guide our parenting.
2. It is full of grace-filled truths for the weary parent. God is in control. Through our best (yet still insufficient) efforts, as well as through our failures. Only God can bring heart change.
3. It brings biblical clarity to our ultimate purpose as parents.
4. There are practical sample conversations peppered throughout the book, which help put feet to what this might look like with my own children.
5. There is an emphasis on the role of prayer in our parenting, including a look at some biblical models for shaping our prayers.
6. It addresses gray areas such as how our kids dress, who we allow them to be friends with, and what movies to let them watch. It provides us with biblical principles to help guide our decisions.
7. Give them Grace offers continual reminders that our own walk with the Lord matters. How we relate to Jesus will affect our parenting and ability to give our children grace.
8. It tackles the balance of God's sovereignty and our own role as parents.
9. Chapter 4: Jesus Loves All His Little Prodigal and Pharisees. This chapter is amazingly good. It looks at the hearts of both the "good little girl" and the little rebel, and well as the role our own confession of sin has to play in how we parent both types of child.
10. There are great application questions at the end of each chapter, which have an emphasis on listening for what the Holy Spirit might be trying to do in our lives.
Give Them Grace helps us look at how to parent, if all we had was the Bible. Only God's grace can change the hearts of our children. Only through Jesus' righteousness can our children be right in God's eyes. When they disobey, point them to Jesus. When they obey, celebrate with them that they were able to obey, because of Jesus.
"Parenting with grace isn't another set of rules for you to follow. It's a story that you're to rejoice in. Share the story with your children. Show them the Savior. Show them Jesus. Dazzle them with his love."
Disclosure: I am a reviewer for Crossway books. I was given a copy of Give Them Grace in exchange for my review of the book. All opinions here are my own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

When Rules Aren't Enough

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lewjeffrey
Location:Washington DC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With some parenting books, it is hard to read them cover to cover. Often times when reading a parenting book I'll go to the table of contents and flip to the section that covers the age range of my child. "Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids With The Love of Jesus" by Elyse Fitzpatrick and Jessica Thompson is different, you will not only read it cover to cover, but also find yourself reading it again and again. This book will help you to see that your child's biggest problem isn't their sinful action, but their sinful hearts. When reading this book you will see that your parenting can never be good enough, but only God's grace can make your parenting sufficient to transform your child.
This book is written without being divided into practical application for the age range of children. The reason for this is because when dealing with toddlers, teenagers and even adults there is no difference with the root of issues that come up. Kids, just like adults, don't need more rules to make them good and bring them closer to God. "Give Them Grace" does not ignore the need for rules, training and discipline but it gives the crucial reminder that all of that is meant to lead to kids to Jesus. "We are commanded to give them the law so that they will be crushed by it and see their need for a Savior. The law won't make them good. It will make them despair of ever being good enough and in that way it will make them open to the love, sacrifice and welcome of their Savior, Jesus Christ."
It isn't just kids who need Jesus, but also parents. The task of parenting is impossible without God's grace. Our best effort at parenting might produce "good kids" but it won't change their hearts. "Raising good kids is utterly impossible unless they are drawn by the Holy Spirit to put their faith in the goodness of another. You cannot raise good kids, because you're not a good parent. There is only one good Parent, and he had one good Son. Together, this Father and Son accomplished everything that needed to be done to rescue us and our children from certain destruction." One of the things I appreciated about this book is the humility of the authors. They don't claim to have it down or be good parents. They are in the same boat as all of us and write with humility as they proclaim their own need for grace.
I wish Crossway would allow me to give out one free chapter of this book for you to read because by just reading one chapter I know you'd be convinced to buy the whole book. Even if Crossway would allow me to give away one free chapter to convince readers to buy the book, it would be hard for me to pick just one that I think people should read because they are all so good. If you want to apply the gospel to parenting and have your parenting be saturated in the gospel then I could not encourage you enough to buy this book.
A quick note to the men: this is the first Elyse Fitzpatrick book I have ever read. My wife has read me selections of "Because He Loved Me" and I thought that book sounds good, but the cover is to feminine for me, maybe I'll read it when an edition comes out with a camouflage cover. Next my wife shared portions of "Comforts From The Cross," the cover was less girly, but I feared losing man points because this wasn't "Strength From The Cross." Please don't make the mistake that Elyse Fitzpatrick only writes for a female audience. This book isn't just for mom's, but also for dad's.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Parenting Book ever

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Todd
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book on parenting! This book came to me at a great point in my life, just as I prepare to celebrate the birth of my first born. I am so thankful for the radical grace filled approach to parenting that Fitzpatrick advocates in this book. She says to not fill your children with rules and laws and regulations but to instead give them grace. I hope I can remain faithful to the truth this shows as I grow as a parent. Anyone with kids or grandkids should read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Give Them Grace

Date:July 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Aaron Fenlason
Location:Wichita, KS
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are a parent; if you are a grandparent; if you think you might ever become a parent, buy and read this book. When I first received the book from Crossway, I thought that it would be another one of those “Here’s the five things that you need to do to be a successful parent” books. I was wrong.
This is no ordinary parenting book. In fact, I would argue that it isn’t even primarily about parenting. This book is about the gospel. The gospel is articulated so clearly and so powerfully, that you might take parenting out of the equation, plug in anything else, and still have a superb book. I suppose, then, that I should have added a phrase in my first sentence: “Even if you don’t plan on ever having any children, buy and read this book.”
I understand that these kinds of statements tend to make idols out of books and authors. That is not my intention. Give Them Grace is a unique book, but it’s not because of the eloquence and genius of Fitzpatrick and Thompson. It is by no means a perfect book. The examples of conversations with children are often unrealistic. None of my children are going to sit and listen to me talk about the gospel for four paragraphs when they are furious with me for grounding them from the Xbox. The language sounds more maternal and so some men may get weary with the book. Yet I speak so highly of Give Them Grace because it is built on the glorious and praiseworthy gospel.
There is no shortage of Christian books on parenting. Aren’t they all built on the gospel? Isn’t that why they’re called “Christian”? What sets this one apart?
Many books on parenting only give a part of the message; they fail to communicate the whole gospel. What they end up accomplishing is to obscure it. Here is how Fitzpatrick and Thompson diagnose the problem:
“How could a Christian book on parenting obscure the message of the gospel of grace? It could do so if it falsely claims that parents are able to manufacture their child’s ultimate success by a sheer force of will. Of course, in these books, this sheer force of will won’t be called “your force of will.” Rather, it will be called other, more spiritual-sounding names like ‘meeting their deepest needs’ or ‘consistent’ or ‘devoted’ parenting” (p.160).
These books send the message that the child’s success and happiness depends ultimately on the parents’ ability to use the correct methods.
“This is the message of every book about parenting that is not rooted in the grace of God demonstrated in the gospel. Just as a book on prayer would not be an essentially Christian book if it never mentioned Jesus’s high priestly mediation or the deep assurance that forgiveness of sins brings, so “Christian” parenting books are not Christian if their primary message is law. If their message isn’t rooted and grounded in the truth that you and your children are deeply sinful yet deeply loved, in reality it’s nothing more than a glorification of the will and work of the parent” (p. 161).
Although these paragraphs are near the end of Give Them Grace, they sum up the heart of its message. As Christian parents, our parenting must be essentially Christian; which means that it will be fundamentally different from the way Muslim or Jewish parents raise their children. It must be built on the gospel, reflect the gospel, and be a testimony to the gospel.
(To continue reading, visit http://www.hopeofrighteousness.com/2011/07/review-of-give-them-grace-dazzling-your.html)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.