Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Waiting for Morning, Forever Faithful Series #1

Multnomah Books Waiting for Morning, Forever Faithful Series #1

Hannah Ryan has everything any woman could want: an amazing husband, two beautiful teenage daughters, and a warm and loving Christian home. But one warm evening, her perfect home is shattered by a tragic accident.

Hannah struggles in the days that follow the accident to find forgiveness and compassion for her youngest daughter. She struggles with her faith, and the burning feelings of sorrow and rage, believing that God has forsaken her and allowed this tragedy to happen. Her life becomes driven by one force: revenge against the drunk driver who destroyed everything. Can Hannah find forgiveness and her faith before her all-consuming bitterness destroys the rest of her life?

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Waiting for Morning, Forever Faithful Series #1
Review 1 for Waiting for Morning, Forever Faithful Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Series

Date:October 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hope
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Forever Faithful is a great Karen Kingsbury series.
You quickly become invested in the characters and easy to find yourself racing through each book in the series in order to find out how everything is going to play out and how things end and what happens with each character.
Again, a tear-jerker series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Waiting for Morning, Forever Faithful Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Life Lessons

Date:March 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie W
Location:The Villages, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book shows us that even as Christians we can go down the wrong pathway. Hannah Ryan is a wife and mom of 2 daughters. It seems as though they have the perfect family life, with Christ being the center of their family. So what went wrong? What could make God seem so far away?
Tom Ryan, husband of Hannah and father of their daughters, has taken their girls on a yearly camping trip right before school was to begin. They had the "perfect" trip. Then tragedy strikes. A man that is trying to stay sober had a crisis in his life and he made the choice to start drinking. Then he got behind the wheel of his car. Big mistake! He hits the Ryan car and Tom and one of the girls (Alicia) is killed. Jenny survives but is hospitalized for a short period of time.
Hannah had been praying for her family the entire time all of this was happening. So what made her turn against God after she received this tragic news? I believe Satan attacks us at our most vulnerable times. He convinced Hannah that God didn't hear her prayers or chose to ignore them. Everything goes downhill from there. Hannah turns away from God and from her surviving daughter, Jenny. Jenny is so upset when she hears her Mom ranting and raving about how that "drunk" man took everything. He ruined her life. She had nothing left. Wow. I can only imagine how Jenny felt. Her Mom is saying she has nothing now? What about Jenny? How devastating for her!
You will want to read this book to find out if or how Hannah gets her faith back. Will she let go of her hatred and revenge for the man that caused the accident and took part of her family? How does Jenny fare? Will Jenny and Hannah ever return to the relationship they once had?
God tests our faith in many ways. Hannah definitely had a trial to go through. God doesn't promise us an easy life, but He does promise to always be with us. But what happens when we turn away from God? We should not judge anyone that turns from God. God wants us to love them and nurture them back into his fold. None of us knows how we will react then we have a crisis in our life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Waiting for Morning, Forever Faithful Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book Review: WAITING FOR MORNING by KarenKingsbury

Date:March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are good books, and then there are really good books. Karen Kingsbury’s Waiting For Morning is one of those really good books.
Hannah Ryan’s husband and two daughters were on their way home from a camping trip when a drunk driver collided with their car, killing Hannah’s husband and oldest daughter.
Consumed with grief and hate for the man who destroyed her family, Hannah spends every minute pursuing the prosecution of the drunk driver to the fullest extent of the law, hoping that by putting him behind bars she will find peace again. Meanwhile, devastated by the loss of her dad and sister, Hannah’s surviving daughter Jenny battles depression and grief alone.
When a police officer remembers her husband’s dying message, will the letter he sends Hannah contain the truth that will set her free? And will Hannah realize that Jenny needs her love and support, before it’s too late?
Have tissues handy! Waiting For Morning is a story of hope and forgiveness that will touch your heart and stay with you for a long time. This book was excellent, well-written, and I would not hesitate to recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Waiting for Morning, Forever Faithful Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hits Close to Home

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone who has waited for the familiar roll of wheels in a driveway, who has paced the floor sure that calamity has struck, who has prayed for the particular care of their loved ones, will understand the opening moments of this book. It is that time in-between when they should have been home and when their familiar feet pound up the front steps, those eternal minutes between what actually is and what could be. Those moments are agonizing, they tremble with all kinds of possibility, and they mutely stand by with your heart in their hands, careless with it, unrelenting in their unknowing.
If, at the end of the in-between, you believed your concern silly or unwarranted because the headlights once again washed the windows and your laughing people slammed the car doors before they trooped off to bed, then you came through that tunnel of time unscathed. Many have ended that period with the tears that come with notifications that are unbearable and crushing. For both the relieved and tormented, Karen Kingsbury writes a tale of wrenching loss and immense forgiveness. There is much pain and heartache in this book, but there is also hope. When the incomprehensible happens, when the fantasies you wondered about in the in-between are much less terrible than the truth, how do you move on? How do you keep your faith?
The wonder of God is that he knows our names, feels our pain, and understands our questions. He would not leave us in our misery and grief, but he would allow us to feel them as deeply as necessary. He recognizes the depths of our sorrow – not just because he is our creator, but because his own runs just as deep. Kingsbury’s novel takes us all the way to the bottom of that ocean of pain, and then shows us how the love of God can redeem even the most painful and incomprehensible tragedy.
As I read Waiting for Morning, I was struck not just by how much it moved me, but how much I related to the characters. There are instances in all of our lives when we feel betrayed and hurt by others. When we weigh the wanting in all our own hearts, it’s hard to justify our inability to forgive. Yet, there it is. As I read, I recognized some I needed to forgive. I had been carrying some weighty bitterness, some heavy differences, and in the end, these chains were forged by me, carried by me, and scarring me – not them. If Waiting for Morning helps no one else, I appreciate the way in which it moved me closer to the cross, returning the grace Christ gave me to someone else. That definitely makes it worthy of attention. Just keep a box of tissues close at hand. This one hits close to home.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Waiting for Morning, Forever Faithful Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Make the Most of Every Moment

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
listlady
Location:MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Waiting for morning is an incredibly emotional text! Once the tragedy hits (very early on in the story) you will not want to put the book down until you know there is some sort of healing for Hannah Ryan – which makes this a quick read.
While this story is fiction the circumstances and emotions are very true to life. Kingsbury is known for making her characters seem like your next door neighbor, your sister, or your best friend. It is likely that as you read about Hannah Ryan you will hurt for her as if you really know her. It is just as likely that you know someone who has lived a similar tragedy.
Each chapter of the book is prefaced by a verse from the Book of Lametations. The verses mirror Hannah's journey to healing and set the tone for each new chapter. I enjoyed this detail.
I appreciate that Kingsbury does not shy away from writing about sadness, anger, hurt, and tradegy in the Christian life. This book is not exception. We know that being a Christ follower does not give us a free ticket to avoid all pain. Sometimes I find it obnoxious when Christian authors spin things to be overly perfect and warm fuzzy. I also recognize that while Kingsbury brings restoration to the events she writes about in her books, the outcomes aren't always as predictable as the reader may assume.
I would recommend Waiting for Morning. The story is another great reminder for all of us to Make the Most of Every Moment.
Multhomah Publishing Group provided me with a copy of this book for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Waiting for Morning, Forever Faithful Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Forgiveness??

Date:October 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hannah has a loving Husband and two beautiful talented daughter's! Her Husband has taken Alicia and Jenny for their annual end of Summer fishing trip. As her day progress Hannah becomes more and more uneasy.
As Tom and the girls are finally headed home after their wonderful trip, they are hit by a drunk driver. Brian, was driving drunk, had just lost his job, and ended up running a red light. Next thing he new a young girl was lying dead and her Dad was in horrible pain and dying.
This is the story of harboring hate...wonder how I would react under such circumstances? Hannah has even giving up God, she blames him for taking her loved ones. She becomes obsessed with making Brian pay for killing her family, to the point of neglecting the daughter she has left.
Deputy District Attorney Matthew J Bronzan has been assigned the case against Brian Wesley. He has decided to make a point and proceeds to go after a conviction of First Degree Murder. Hannah Ryan is more than willing to do all that she can to make Brian go to jail and rot in Hell.
This is so very very hard, and even those these are just characters in a book, you know that this happens. Hannah is so filled with Hate, you wonder through all of this if she will ever find her way back?
The book is a very fast mind effecting read. I do recommend this read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Waiting for Morning, Forever Faithful Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very emotional story

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lefty
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karen Kingsbury is an excellent writer. The charaters are made to seem like somebody the reader knows. Their lives are a mix of happiness and sadness, ups and downs as real life is.
Once I started reading and got involved in the story it was hard to put down. The entire story could have happened. I have since read the sequels and they are just as good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Waiting for Morning, Forever Faithful Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Waiting for Morning - Blog Tour

Date:September 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lukie
Location:Milford, NH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never been a Karen Kingsbury fan. I am the type of person that shuns things that seem to be overly popular. I also steer clear of authors that mass produce, Kingsbury seems to have a new book out every few months. I am about quality not quantity.
Waiting for Morning was a very plesant surprise and has caused me rethink my theory. One of the biggest turn-offs for me in regards to books is to know what the ending will be before you hit chapter three. This was not the case with this book. It was fantastic from beginning to end. The topic was fresh and exciting and not typical by any means.
Hannah Ryan had her life destroyed one late summer day. Brain Wesley was at fault but Hannah was determined that it was all God's fault. In her attempt to obtain "justice" Hannah came very close to destroying the only family she had left, her daughter!
I recommend this book to any of my reader's who enjoy fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Waiting for Morning, Forever Faithful Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Emotional Story

Date:August 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
michorose
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Emotional Story
"Waiting for Morning" by Karen Kingsbury had me in tears by the 3rd chapter. It's easy to relate to the main characters in this book. We've all suffered loss, but when it comes so quickly and tragically we experience so much more than just sorrow. There's anger, there's sadness, and there's that sense of how to seek revenge. We ask God, why? How could He let this happen? If we aren't relying on God fully, we can very well find ourselves moving further and further away from the arms of Christ. That is not a good place to be.
When Tom and his 2 teenage daughters are returning home from their weekend camping trip they are hit by a drunk driver who ran a red light. Brian, the drunk driver, had been sober for 3 weeks. He was trying to be a better father for his new baby and a better husband to Carla. His father was an alcoholic and it killed him. Brian didn't want to be like his father.
Brian was not injured very much and he crossed the street to see about the victims in the other vehicle. A young girl was laying on the ground surrounded by people helping her. She doesn't make it. Paramedics and fire crew were using the Jaws of Life to get the father out. An officer was close by talking to him to keep him alert. Tom gives the officer a message for his wife and daughters. He dies on the way to the hospital. Jenny was taken to the hospital and did not suffer any life threatening injuries.
Hannah was waiting for her family to return. She was very anxious and wondering what was taking so long. When she sees the squad car pull up she freezes. They give her the message and she immediately goes in to denial about everything that is happening. When she arrives at the hospital it all starts to sink in. From that day forward Hannah's goal is to get the drunk driver convicted of murder so she can move on.
Hannah and her family were Christians. They attended church, they were a praying family. She started missing church and started denying there was even a God. She didn't want to pray anymore. How could God not be there for her and her family when in need? He's not real. That was her only explanation for things. In the midst of all the craziness God placed all these people in her life that were also believers. The MADD coordinator, the officer on the case, and the prosecutor. They all offered prayer and biblical passages to help her.
While Hannah is busy with all the court appointments and MADD meetings, her only surviving daughter Jenny is feeling neglected. She still believes in God, but doesn't think her mother loves her. Alicia was her favorite. She has been searching online about easy ways to commit suicide and things like that. There is a division in their home, and they aren't making it easy to be around each other.
If you've read my other reviews you know I don't like to tell the whole story. It's more enjoyable to read it yourself. I picked this book up Friday and finished it by Sunday. This is so real! This can happen to anyone you know. I just pray that if anything tragic like this were to happen to me or someone I know that they would not grow bitter towards God. There are people in this world who do bad things and we need to rely on the awesome power of God to get us through tough times. THERE IS POWER IN FORGIVENESS! I've never read the book of Lamentations until I read this novel. Thank you Mrs. Kingsbury for this emotional and powerful novel!
I received this book from Multnomah Publishers for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Waiting for Morning, Forever Faithful Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Forgiveness

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Blurb:
“I’m afraid there’s been a car accident...”
As Hannah Ryan waits for her family to return home from a camping trip, she realizes she has everything going for her—a husband other women admire, two charming teenage daughters, and a loving Christian home. As the sunny afternoon turns into twilight, her uneasiness grows along with the shadows. Then a car pulls into Hannah’s driveway, bringing two police officers...and devastating news that shatters her life forever.
In the days that follow, Hannah struggles with unspeakable feelings of sorrow and rage—feelings that fuse into one chilling purpose for living: revenge against Brian Wesley, the drunk driver who has caused all her pain.
In her fury, Hannah shuts the Lord out of her life. She’s determined not to forgive Wesley or the God who allowed this tragedy to happen. Can two caring people help Hannah rediscover her faith...before bitterness destroys her?
My Review:
Karen Kingsbury wrote a realistic story that could reflect my family or yours, if we were placed in a similar situation. As Waiting of Morning unfolds the reader understand why God addresses anger and admonishes us not to let it take root in His Word the Bible.
I liked the use of verses from the Book of Lamentations at the beginning of each chapter and how they set the tone of each chapter. The verses also reflected Hannah’s walk through her grief.
I recommend Waiting For Morning by Karen Kingsbury which is the first book in the Forever Faithful series. I have ordered, A Moment of Weakness, the second book in this series.
** Waiting for Morning by Karen Kingsbury was provided for me free by Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Waiting for Morning, Forever Faithful Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lisa Minnich
Incredible series. Loved it! Highly recommended. We read the series for our church book club, there are wonderful discussion questions at the end of each book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Waiting for Morning, Forever Faithful Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lori Alexander
This is the first time I have ever read books by Karen Kingsbury! She writes from the heart about everyday life. This book touches your heart and keeps you turning page after page!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Waiting for Morning, Forever Faithful Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth
Karen Kingsbury did an awesome job writing this!! I felt like i was part of the family and when they cried i cried( which doesn't happen much) and when they laughed i laughed!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Waiting for Morning, Forever Faithful Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Alice Jones
This was a wonderful down to earth truthful faith readin, I will rate this very high as it is worth the money and the time to read this most inspiring book, Karen Kingsbury is a wonderful christian author and you will feel very close to God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Waiting for Morning, Forever Faithful Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Mary Taylor
Karen Kingsbury is an excellent writer. She makes you feel like you are a part of the Baxter Family. I love the way she brings her characters to life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Waiting for Morning, Forever Faithful Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rose52
This book was really good!! I didn't know it was going to be so sad. It helped reminded me to treasure everyday, cause it could be the last. It also helped me realize the power of forgiveness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Waiting for Morning, Forever Faithful Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
I loved this book!! I couldn't put it down!! It is very sad and I cried a lot!! This book really reminds you to forgive!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Waiting for Morning, Forever Faithful Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kim
This was a great book. I couldn't put it down. I went straight to the next book in this series and then to the third! Loved them all!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Waiting for Morning, Forever Faithful Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jenny
This is a wonderful book! I read it last year, and I was amazed. I cried through about half of it. It's definitely the saddest book I've ever read, but it has such a great message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Waiting for Morning, Forever Faithful Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2002
Customer Avatar
Lis
The thing I love about Karen Kingsbury is that she isn't afraid of the truth. I hate reading Christian fiction from la-la land where everything is wonderful. I loved that Hannah did not all at once get over the bitterness in her life. The fact that it came in stages made it so believable. At times I wanted to cry for Hannah; at times I wanted to strangle her for being so clueless, but I was fully caught up in this chapter of her life and it convicted me of the times when I am so caught up in myself and my circumstances that I don't look around at others. This book paints a beautiful picture of why we should forgive and demonstrates how much bitterness can destroy our families and our relationship with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>