Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Premium Calfskin Leather, Black

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Premium Calfskin Leather, Black

For years, the spiritual lives of countless men and women all over the world have been strengthened with the help of The MacArthur Study Bible. This all-in-one spiritual library contains Dr. MacArthur’s personal study notes below the full-length Bible text. Virtually every Scripture has a matching study note with detailed information, explanation, and helpful insight. The notes are based on Dr. MacArthur’s verse-by-verse approach to the Bible and nearly forty years of careful study. His goal is to let the Bible speak for itself—nothing more, nothing less.

For the first time, The MacArthur Study Bible will be available in the English Standard Version (ESV). An "essentially literal" translation, the ESV Bible combines “word-for-word” accuracy with readability, literary excellence, and depth of meaning. More than 100 of the world’s leading Bible scholars and teachers were involved in its creation. Timeless, trustworthy, and relevant, the ESV has become the fastest-growing Bible translation and the trusted choice of millions of Bible readers, students, teachers, and preachers worldwide.

The ESV MacArthur Study Bible is an essential resource for growing Christians. It can transform your personal time in God’s Word by clarifying difficult passages, bringing unseen cultural and historical details to life, and helping you understand and apply biblical truth.

Features
  • Complete ESV Bible text
  • Nearly 25,000 explanatory notes from Dr. John MacArthur
  • Bible text in 8.7 point type, 7.6 point study notes
  • More than 140 two-color maps, charts, timelines, and illustrations
  • Complete introductions to each Bible book
  • Concise articles on How We Got the Bible, How to Study the Bible, and Introduction to the Bible
  • 80,000 cross-references
  • An extensive concordance
  • Bible reading plans
  • Index to Key Bible Doctrines
  • Outline of Systematic Theology
  • Presentation Page & Family Record Section
  • Center-Column References
  • Timeline of Old Testament Kings and Prophets
  • Timeline of New Testament Chronology
  • Harmony of the Gospels
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(183 Reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (183 reviews)
5 stars
152
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
4
160 out of 17194%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Premium Calfskin Leather, Black
Review 1 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Premium Calfskin Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Corners separated

Date:May 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
hchc
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love this Bible but the corners of the leather cover separated - all 4 of them. This has never happened on any of the many other Bibles I've owned.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Premium Calfskin Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Value, Great Reading

Date:May 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Katrin Thompson
Location:Cascade, Idaho
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the past, I have loved the KJV, NIV and NAS, but now I have loved the English Standard Version. John MacArthur's notes in each of those Bibles have really helped me when I am studying. Everyone in my Bible Study thought I was smart...until they started getting the MacArthur Study Bible! Now we all really enjoy learning equally, together. This particular Bible's cover is beautiful, protective yet has a soft touch to it. I love my new Bible and hope to pass this marked up & underlined Bible on to my kids when I'm gone to heaven.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Premium Calfskin Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible for serious study!

Date:March 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
JairLiss13
Location:Long Beach, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have gone through several MacArthur Bible Studies, and decided it was time to get the MacArthur Study Bible because I loved how informative the bible studies were. This bible is absolutely beautiful. The black calfskin cover is soft, flexible, and very high quality. If you are looking for a study Bible that will help you fully understand the word of God, and grow deeper in your faith, then this is the perfect bible for you. I have several study Bibles, and it seems like a lot of them have personnel opinion scattered throughout the notes, but Macarthur's notes are straight forward and easy to understand with plenty of references to back up his notes. The price is a little steep for the premium leather edition, but it's worth it for the content you get.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Premium Calfskin Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is just what was wanted by my son

Date:January 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
BobW
Location:Watertown, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great looking and great feel to this Bible. Wouldn't mind having it for myself!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Premium Calfskin Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great commentaries!

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
bmmodlin
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a Christmas present for my wife and she loves it! My expectations were exceeded in the quality and the resources within the bible. I would recommend this bible to anyone who wants/needs a new study bible and wants one that maintains most of the depth that is lost in newer translations.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Premium Calfskin Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My third Macarthur Study Bible purchase

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
JHOFF79
Location:Chicago,IL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A couple of years ago I bought a MacArthur Study Bible for myself after listening to his expository teaching for over a year. This Bible is the absolute best that I own in the way of background information of books and verse by verse expository. I, having liked it so much, Bought my wife and mother their own as well. After buying the first two outside of Christianbook.com and paying full price with tax at almost $80 each time I found this site and regretted buying the first two elsewhere. For my future purchases I plan on going through these guys for everything. They shipped fast and the product had no flaws.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Premium Calfskin Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
st mel
Location:chicago, il
Age:Over 65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is easy to read and understand and very informative.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Premium Calfskin Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

beautiful bible

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
winnie
Location:colorado
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave it to my husband for Christmas…..he loves it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Premium Calfskin Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Study workhorse

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heleadsme
Location:Layton, UT
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John MacArthur has insightful explanations and consistently tackles tricky issues in the commentary. This Bible is packed with solid information about every aspect of Christian life and the God we worship. Crossway has produced an excellent Bible that will last for many, many years. This particular cover is understated feminine, very attractive, not girly or garish. Paper is high quality and pages are well laid out. It does not include the words of Christ in Red nor book tabs. Thank you Crossway and John MacArthur.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Premium Calfskin Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:September 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
zzclancy
Location:Northglenn, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy transition from NASB to the ESV. Very high quality leather. Impressed with the quality of Crossway Bibles! If I could own only one bible this would be the one. Extensive charts, maps, timelines and illustrations. Excellent and sound commentary by John MacArthur. Very pleased!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Premium Calfskin Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Charlie
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a teacher in Sunday School for the past 40 years I find this Bible to be extraordinary. The foot notes and the references are outstanding. However I wish I had purchased a giant print rather than the standard. My eye site is not what it use to be. That said a magnifying glass seems to solve most of the problem.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Premium Calfskin Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this Bible!

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
mrron
Location:Conway, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great Bible and has great features. I love the introduction to each book and how each verse is explained. I only wish that the words of Jesus were printed in red as in traditional Bibles. Other than that, I highly recommend this Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Premium Calfskin Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

PAINFULLY HARD TO USE

Date:September 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Florida Librarian
Location:South FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very difficult to get to or remain on a passage or an item chosen. Return from note or comment to text is apparently only by way of the table of contents: hyperlinks for the most part simply don't work. Did the publisher do ANY testing?
Cannot get to maps, for example, from the table of contents. For four minutes of study, expect to spend twenty minutes of sheer frustration.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Premium Calfskin Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tony
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed this Bible translation to help me better understand the Word of God.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Premium Calfskin Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
sallymae
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It did not work on my Kobo reader. I could not access any of the book.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Premium Calfskin Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This study bible is beyond my expectations.

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shar
Location:Stockton CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
More information then I expected, easy to follow and easy to rrad
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Premium Calfskin Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

useless on a Samsung Galaxy 10.1.

Date:July 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
ingosan
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As of today I haven't found an application to use to navigate the Bible on my Samsung Galaxy 10.1 Tablet.
The Reader is good only for a PC or Laptop.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Premium Calfskin Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perhaps the best Study Notes Ever

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Todd Zulick
Location:Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The John MacArthur Study Bible in any version, but here in the (ESV) is an easy to read accurate translation. Not only will you enjoy the ESV, But you will be enriched with the Sound Doctrine and Verse by Verse notes in Biblical context. John MacArthur preached 40 YEARS Verse by Verse to his congregation and this Bible is the result of Biblical Integrity in his study. You will LOVE this Bible.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Premium Calfskin Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bobby
Location:Leominster,MA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love the study notes. John MacArthur really helps me under stand what I read easier.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Premium Calfskin Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Dissatisfied

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lowell
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SLOW! I was unable to navigate through the Bible and its features in a logical way. When I refer to a note for a verse, I find no direct way to get back to the verse - I have to go back to the table of contents. I have the MacArthur Study Bible loaded on my Kindle Fire and it is necessary to "touch and hold" because the program processes so slow.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
12345 ...10Next >>>