Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Foundation Publications Inc NASB Updated Bible, Paperback

Foundation Publications Inc NASB Updated Bible, Paperback

An evangelism-friendly price is just one reason to stock up on this Bible! Words such as "thou" and "thy" are replaced by "you" and "your," making Scripture even more accessible to the people you're trying to reach. Other updates in vocabulary, grammar, and sentence structure make for easier reading.

Features
  • Concordance
  • 10 black and white full page maps
  • Double-column format
  • Translation and textual notes
  • Literal, word-for-word translation
  • 8-point text size
  • 8.00" x 5.75" x 0.75"
Average Customer Rating:
4.542 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for NASB Updated Bible, Paperback
Review 1 for NASB Updated Bible, Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has been of good quality and price

Date:January 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Juha
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has been of good quality and price.
That product arrived for me, very fast.
My native language is Finnish and I don't quite understand in English,yet.
But I think, I try learn in English, and I like that version(NASB), for example words and language are easy and clear.
Thank you
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NASB Updated Bible, Paperback
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product has great freatures.

Date:December 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Raye
Location:Flint, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Bible for myself as a study Bible. I love it. Everyone who study the Bible should invest in a copy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NASB Updated Bible, Paperback
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good for the price

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
tommyb
Location:New York, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed an NASB version to go along with all the other versions I had an this one was very affordable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NASB Updated Bible, Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Idea for hand outs

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Deb W
Location:Elkton, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We ordered these for the VBS program at our church.
Excellent Bible-hand outs!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NASB Updated Bible, Paperback
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not impressed with this bible

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
ilovetigers
Location:Marietta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not impressed with this bible. It summarized too much - cut a lot of stuff out.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NASB Updated Bible, Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brett Chaffins
It was very good for the price. Usually Bibles can get pretty expensive but this book is good quality for being paperback.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NASB Updated Bible, Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kent Jones
This is an easy reading and very accurate translation. The price and the quality are excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NASB Updated Bible, Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cherise
This product is excellent. I would say this is the best and most accurate Bible. I'm very satisfied with this purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NASB Updated Bible, Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joshua Searcy
For the price you can not beat this Bible. Very readable and good size print. If only it were a red letter edition it would be the best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NASB Updated Bible, Paperback
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chris A
I have noted some professional reviews on the Updated NASB. I thought it interesting that it still claims to be the most literal translation used commonly in churches. I will have to disagree. I compared the UNASB with the NKJV, the latter being, in my opinion, more literal than the UNASB, though not maybe moreso than the NASB of the 60's and 70's. Both the UNASB and NKJV provide column referencing for more literal translation when the translators were less formal in the actual text. But what I found is that the UNASB had to do this far more often than the NKJV (I became fatigued with having to look over at the reference column). And I found that in more cases, the less literal translation was less supported by the original language and more interpreted by the translators. If I was to return to NASB use, it would have to be the earlier version. I never found it difficult to read or stilted in its flow. In fact, back in the 70's and 80's when I and many believers were using the NASB, I never heard a complaint about it being a stiff translation (I think the issue points more accurately to a lessening of literacy in our country). I felt the update was not justified, for readability and certainly not for accuracy. And the earlier was certainly more accurate. For translations using Greek outside of the Received Text or Majority Text, certainly the UNASB would be the most literal, 2nd to its predecessor. But compared translation for translation, the NKJV is more literal and less interpreted in the text itself. Finally, when my pastor reads from the UNASB, it sometimes takes on the words and phrasing of the NIV, which is dynamic equivalence (i.e., interpreted, not translated) in a high percentage of passages.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NASB Updated Bible, Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
OakBankChristianChurch
Handy easy to use bible in an accurate translation [not a paraphrase or amplification] so that concordance references to original Greek text are easier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NASB Updated Bible, Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
OakBankChristianChurch
Great congregational supply bible for those who come to church without one or who are used to another version as there study reference. Half a star is missing from perfect because the font size is a little small for some folks over 40.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NASB Updated Bible, Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda F Bryant
This product was just what I needed for a bible study class which was based on the NAS Bible. The typeface was very easy to read, and the price was certainly right.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NASB Updated Bible, Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharon Gatewood
GREAT BIBLE. Easy to read and handy to keep near when studying. Would recommend any Christian have a copy of NAS Bible close at hand. This Bible ideal size.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NASB Updated Bible, Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Peter Gilliland
An excellent low-cost accurate translation of the Bible for distribution. This meets the requirements in a cost-effective, let attractive, form.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NASB Updated Bible, Paperback
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christian Proano
This Bible is easy to read, easy to carry, and if you like personal evangelism as a way and style of life, this Bible is suitable as a gift to those who just accepted Christ and need a Bible to start the walk with the Lord, the only downhill is that this economical Bible should have column references, or references in the bottom of the pages. Besides that it is a good translation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NASB Updated Bible, Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
John
An amazing give away bible or personal use bible. Literal text, great maps, and an outstanding concordance better then many study bibles. The only thing it lacks is references. You can't do much better than this bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NASB Updated Bible, Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ruth Mccoskey
Lightweight and small. Print is very readable. Good for those who prefer a black letter edition of the NASB. Perfect for giving away or personal study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NASB Updated Bible, Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
Michele Dubes
I use this Bible in my 5th grade class at our Christian School. It is an inexpensive Bible that is great for classroom use. NASB is the version used by Precept Ministries--easy to understand and accurate.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NASB Updated Bible, Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Craig Bagley
I can go through about 20 of these little guys for the price of some other Bibles! Laminate 'em and they'll last you well over a year. Plus, when I share Christ with someone, I can leave them with something they know I've poured my life into- something that's valuable to me. And it doesn't have those flashy gold leaf pages that make you awkward to sit by in airports!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>