Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Sisterchicks on the Loose, Sisterchicks Series #1

Multnomah Books Sisterchicks on the Loose, Sisterchicks Series #1

Penny was a motorcycle mama before she came to Christ. Sharon is a cautious peace-loving mom. Still, these best friends have much in common---including a penchant for zany adventures. When Penny goes in search of her Finnish relatives---and drags Sharon along---Scandinavia may never be the same again! 325 pages, softcover from Multnomah.
Average Customer Rating:
4.824 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sisterchicks on the Loose, Sisterchicks Series #1
Review 1 for Sisterchicks on the Loose, Sisterchicks Series #1
This review is fromSisterchicks on the Loose.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Adventure in Finland!

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Andrea Cox
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have you ever been surprised by the contents of a book?
Recently, I experienced that very thing.
Having previously loved RobinJones Gunn’s Clouds, I was eager to see what else she had written. When the first of her Sisterchicks books came up on my list of available books on Blogging for Books, I couldn’t resist the temptation to try another of her novels.
The surprises began with the cover. Blue sky and snow, with a bright orange strip of foreign buildings . . . just the hint of adventure I needed to sneak Sisterchickson the Loose! up my ever-growing list of books to read. Plus, the cute little chick in the top left corner with the snazzy sunglasses made me giggle with joy. *Note: When I was browsing at the book store over the weekend, I noticed this book had a different cover than the copy I had. Don’t let that stop you from taking on this adventure!
Upon opening the cover, I discovered the story was written in the first person. Quite startling, since the “norm” for fiction is currently third person writing. I’ve read a few first person fictions before, and they usually took me several chapters to get into the rhythm of them, if I ever did. Much to my delight, the story swiftly unfolded as if told by a dear friend. This negated the first person problems I’d had in the past. In fact, as I was reading, I felt as if I were reading the authors private, intimate thoughts on her own journey to Finland. I’m not sure how much of the tale was based on Ms. Gunn’s personal experiences, but she sure painted an enjoyable tale with plenty of adventure, misunderstandings, hilariousness and sweetly tender moments.
Finally, I was surprised to discover a deep character arc that could easily apply to so many women’s lives. (Men’s, too, for that matter.) Many of us struggle with identity issues at some point or another in our lives. This book provides hope and a bit of guidance where our identities are concerned. It’s nice to see such deep thoughts woven seamlessly into a whim of an adventure.
In Sisterchicks on the Loose!, Penny tells her best friend Sharon, “Pack your bags, girl! We’re finally going to run away from home!” They take off for far away Finland in hopes of reuniting with the aunt Penny’s always wanted to meet. Mishaps seem to appear from every direction, but they decide to trust God and let Him lead the way on this long-awaited journey. Both women have lessons to learn along the way, along with surprises to give and receive. The people they meet on the trip only add to the experience, enhancing the already enjoyable excursion across the globe. Will they miss home or wish they could travel indefinitely? After going on such an exciting trip, how can they ever go back to normal living? Make sure to pick up this Sisterchick novel if you have a bit of the wanderlust in you. It’ll get you itching to board a plane—but don’t forget your carry-on!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sisterchicks on the Loose, Sisterchicks Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cute Read

Date:September 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lukie
Location:Milford, NH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sisterchicks on the Loose! by Robin Jones Gunn reminds me so much of the relationship that I have with my best friend. Penny is willing to let her hair down in order to experience life and have a great time. Sharon is more like me, reserved and a home body.
When Penny thinks that her life might be coming to an end (because he mother died at a young age) she plans this trip to Finland in order to find her only living family - an aunt and few cousins. Little did she know that she would find a "real family".
This book is very cute and a nice light read. The characters are very likable, fun and well developed. I enjoyed the spiritualness that was written into the book. I would most definitely recommend this to all my readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sisterchicks on the Loose, Sisterchicks Series #1
This review is fromSisterchicks on the Loose.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE this series

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jackie in WA
Location:Maple Valley, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These were great books. Enjoyed them immensely. Very entertaining and contained fun situations, along with some great wisdom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sisterchicks on the Loose, Sisterchicks Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Don't miss out on this book!

Date:June 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jved267
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Whenever I see the word "chick" in a book title, I usually head in the opposite direction since I am truly a tomboy. (The last book I read was a Western about a Ladies Shooting Club by Susan Davis.) From many women, I've heard that Robin Jones Gunn is a good author, so I figured that I would check out a book by her from the library, to see if I liked it (before I would consider buying it). I was pleasantly surprised by this book.
Sharon is the quiet shy homemaker & mother while Penny is the out-going, adventurous real estate agent. Despite many mishap and detours along the way, Penny & Sharon head to Finland for the vacation of a lifetime. Penny's only surviving family lives in Finland and she wants to connect with them as well as visit the country of her ancestors. Penny brings her best friend Sharon along for the incredible ride. Don't miss out on their fabulous adventure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sisterchicks on the Loose, Sisterchicks Series #1
This review is fromSisterchicks on the Loose.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
kathy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book, enjoyable to read, didn't want to put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sisterchicks on the Loose, Sisterchicks Series #1
This review is fromSisterchicks on the Loose.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love these sisters.

Date:February 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Glowee
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read three of the sisterchick series, & am looking forward to reading what else these sisterchicks can get into. I also share these books with others where I volunteer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sisterchicks on the Loose, Sisterchicks Series #1
This review is fromSisterchicks on the Loose.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

perfact size for busy readers

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
sher1
Location:dayton wa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
it was great for little girls starting to read more grown up books with lots of humor they can relate to. lots of action with little lessons behind it. its easy to pack around and not to many pages to get easily bored.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sisterchicks on the Loose, Sisterchicks Series #1
This review is fromSisterchicks on the Loose.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is inspiring

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Weisey
I loved this book and the references it made to scripture and how they apply to my life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sisterchicks on the Loose, Sisterchicks Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diana Craft
Amazingly real book. Seven years ago I started a 'Monday Morning' ladies group called the Sister Chicks (I feel like I could have written this book). Even tho' we ladies are all in our 60's, we still think like young mothers. Pg 103, "You are gifted and capable beyond your wildest imagination; you have not yet begun to explore all the ways you can make your life count for eternity. Strengh and dignity are your clothing!" These are words and thoughts I'd tried to impress upon my 22 lovely SisterChicks who meet each 'Monday Morning'. This is my first Robin Jones Gunn book, but not my last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sisterchicks on the Loose, Sisterchicks Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Harbour Darlene
This book was worth the time, but didn't make the impact on my that Sister Chicks Do the Hula did. Robin Jones Gunn continues to be one of both mine and my 12 year old daughters favorite authors. She loves the Christie Miller series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sisterchicks on the Loose, Sisterchicks Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Hamilton
I am an avid romance fiction reader. I love this series but I could really relate to Penny and her problems with her mother-in-law in this particular book. I like these books also because they "fit" me. I am forty-something, married and a mom. Every one of these books have touched an area in my life. They are also hilarious! I tell friends about them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sisterchicks on the Loose, Sisterchicks Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2007
I wasn't sure if I'd be able to relate to this book since I'm neither middle-aged nor a mom, but I loved it. Sharon and Penny's friendship is sweet, but deep, and like true Sisterchicks, they do confront real issues and help each other overcome some big obstacles. I especially liked, and could thoroughly identify with, the way that Sharon needs Penny to help her spread her wings and be adventurous, because I am generally the Sharon type and not the Penny type. I could also identify and commiserate with Sharon's struggle to love Gloria, who is completely unlikeable but at the same time, not evil, just very human. Several of the scenes and dialog exchanges are humorous, and as one reviewer noted, setting the book in Finland and exploring Finnish culture was a great choice. My only criticism is that I don't quite see the need for the England side trip, but otherwise, this was a pleasant surprise and a great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sisterchicks on the Loose, Sisterchicks Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kristen
This book was one of the best fiction books I've read in a long time. I loved how Penny worked her PR skills at the hotel. The book all together was very good and I can't wait to read the next one. The only thing about it was sometimes it was a little hard to get through it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sisterchicks on the Loose, Sisterchicks Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2005
Customer Avatar
Wren
Liked it, didn't love it. It's fun, sweet, and imaginative. The location was a different choice, it made it hard to relate to, but interesting. You don't often hear too much about Finland. But I can't read any of these Sisterchick books without wanting chocolate. Thanks, Robin!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sisterchicks on the Loose, Sisterchicks Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2003
Customer Avatar
Pearl
One cold January, Penny decides it is time to head to Finland in search of her relatives. Sharon, her best friend, will be the perfect traveling companion.I knew I was going to like "Sisterchicks on the Loose" when I saw that Robin Jones Gunn was the author. Robin is gifted at making her readers laugh. Even better, there is depth to this story. Penny & Sharon grow in exciting and inspiring ways during their trip to Finland. Sharon determines to move beyond the role of facilitator and join Penny in the fun. Penny discovers defining truths about her late mother and is freed by them.Realistic details, a sprinkling of Finnish vocabulary and lots of entertaining surprises will delight those who join the adventure!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sisterchicks on the Loose, Sisterchicks Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2003
Customer Avatar
Sabrina O'Malone
"Sisterchicks on the Loose!" is the first novel ever recommended by us, workingmom.com. It's a refreshing, fun book...you won't want to put it down! Sisterchicks shows us how friendships function within the body of Christ. She beautifully depicts the adventures of a friendship between a stay at home mom and a workingmom--without belittling either one.Do yourself a favor by reading Sisterchicks, you'll be blessed by the adventure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sisterchicks on the Loose, Sisterchicks Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2003
Customer Avatar
Cathy Sexton
Fabulous! This book encourages and causes you to pause and analyze your own life. How God is so loving and guiding no matter what the circumstances are surrounding us. I laughed out loud and cried and thought...Our God is an AWESOME God! A great read! This would make an excellent woman's study on relationships. After all, that's why God created us!Can't wait for Sisterchicks #2 to be released!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.