Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ - eBook

Thomas Nelson Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.511 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ - eBook
Review 1 for Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Compelling message.

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Longmeadow, MA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peeling away the onion of time encrusted traditions and teachings about Jesus to get to the inner life source of the person. This is a much needed book for 21st Century Christianity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Starts off so well-intended, but misses the mark

Date:December 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
A Cluttered Mind
Location:Rochester, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a review long overdue. I received this book, perhaps a year ago. I read through it quickly, as is my practice when I receive books to review. I want to get a sense, "Should I invest more time with this book?" I did give it a second, slightly less rapid read. Did I believe there was something more here? Were there nuggets I'd missed in my cursory first glance? Or was something else "nagging" at me?
Sweet & Viola present a clear call to Jesus Christ as THE way to God. In a pluralistic culture that seeks to be tolerant of all faiths (an illogical act if there ever was one), this book will step on a lot of toes and cut off many a conversation by insisting that Jesus is the only true way to have a relationship with God. In that, I can commend them.
However, something kept niggling at the back of my mind about this book; something seemed to be missing, or at least, just overlooked? This is why I gave the book just a bit more time. And I think I figured out what it was––the cross.
Sweet and Viola don't go off the rails blatantly nor directly, but I wonder if what they say about the cross, or more accurately, what they don't say, is part of a bigger problem in so many evangelical churches today. I'm not convinced that the cross is held up in the way in which Scripture intended. Oh sure, the cross is mentioned early on in this book, but not as the offense to modern, sinful man, not as the cure for our sin-sickness, not as the truth that we are saved from something as much as we are saved to something.
I think, in so many teacher/preacher/writer's attempt to be winsome with the gospel, to appear to be friendly to the "seeker", we set aside the offense of the cross. The "Sally Fields Syndrome," as I call it, settles in and we're overjoyed at the reality of the experience––"You like me! You really, really like me!" It's a heady thing. It's also dangerous to the power of the gospel. It's a completely different book, but the title of Ed Welch's latest offering hits too many of us evangelical preachers right between the eyes: "What Do You Think of Me? And Why Do I Care?"
This is a book a really can't recommend. I can't say I'm against it, in the sense that I'm against Rob Bell's "Love Wins." Yet, I simply can't recommend it. There are too many other good books on the cross of Christ (John Stott's book by that very title, for one example) to be had out there that one should read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is an eye-opener,

Date:November 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ron Neeley
Location:Huachuca City, Arizona
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the past, I have been reluctant to read material of this kind, fearing it to be "out there." I thank God I finally purchased this book. Viola & Sweet have done a masterful job putting the emphasis back where it is supposed to be...on Jesus Christ. If you, like me, have been wondering for years where the worship & glorification of Him has gone in order to serve some "agenda", i.e. "we're too busy working for the Lord to follow Him," than this is the book to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book I have seen in years!

Date:November 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pastor
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have waited for a long time for a book on this topic with the right focus to come out. This should be required reading for anyone in ministry if they wish to remain true to the call and purpose of the Christian church. I have said for many years now that this is the missing key in American Christianity. No one who is a Christian will be disapointed with this book, it is all about their Jesus and how great he is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lane Reese
"Jesus Manifesto" challenged and enriched me as I read it and reflected further on the Bible verses, quotes and text. Thus captivated, I began sharing "high points" with my wife Brenda and others who are now reading and realizing more of Jesus! The points from Colossians particularly touched me -- Jesus is my lighthouse!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2010
Am inceput sa citesc manifestul lui Frank Viola si Leonard Sweet (Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ) cu gandul ca voi gasi accentul pus pe centralitatea lui Isus in viata de credinta.Cam asa a fost. Provocarea pe care autorii o adreseaza lumii vestice suprasaturata de metode, scheme si programe, este o persoana: Isus Christos.Intrebarea de la care autorii pleaca, ce e crestinsumul? are un raspun scurt, percutant: Isus si nimic altceva. Alaturi de El nu pot sta nici Legea, nici explicatiiel al Apocalips sau cele 10 porunci, nici darurile speciale, nici diplome, nici cladiriIsus. Atat. E greu? Aparent nu; real da!Concentrarea pe slujirea si cuvintele lui Isus Christos vor sa scuture intr-un fel crestinismul de haina ideological sau filosifica. Prea multa ideologie si folosofie azi in cresitinsm si prea putin din spiritul lui Christos.Vestea buna, Evnaghelia este ca putem sa ne legam de o Persoana, Christos si nu de un system sau de o ideologie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2010
What I got from reading this book was just the simple fact that the Jesus who is preached so often today is so shallow, so small, and so uncaptivating that countless believers are enthralled with countless other things. (page 20)What I liked so much about this book wasnt so much the problems with the church (which seem to be all the rave in publishing right now) but the challenging of popularly held ideas by modern Christians.For instance: the mantra what would Jesus do. The authors here would argue that the question is in of itself flawed. A disciple of Jesus should understand that our lives are a result of being attached to the vine of Christ. So a better question is, What is Christ doing through me. (page 68)So the Christian life should not about trying to imitate Christ but about having Christ indwell within the believer and allowing Christ to work through them. The gospel is not the imitation of Christ; it is the implantation and impartation of Christ. (page 72)Much of the Christian walk becomes head knowledge. We try to learn and absorb the bible and facts about the bible. Because so much of the bible is taught like school from teachers we treat our salvation story like school and American learning. But Jesus taught in a mentor-style way, not a classroom style way. He didnt conduct lectures and test his disciples knowledge no, Jesus lived and modeled a way of living and asked his disciples to follow him.I loved this book and felt it was a great companion to Andrew Farleys Naked Gospel. I dont think there is anything more important for the Christian to grasp than their identity in Christ and the nature of His message.Or as pastor Mark Driscoll is so fond of saying, Its about Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
A.H.L.
The two authors have penned a masterpiece. The book unveils a glorious Christ! While reading my heart was burning with a deeper desire to know the Lord. Chapter after chapter Christ is revealed from different angles. I was especially drawn to the chapter the House of Figs. May the Lord not be a guest but the master of His own domain. Is He not looking for a Bethany where He can rest His head, where He is Lord and Christ? After reading the book I felt like one of the disciples on the Emmaus road when the Lord was revealed in the breaking of bread. My heart burned with a greater appreciation of Him. So if you venture in reading Jesus Manifesto come with an open heart with no presumption or bias or ulterior motive. Approach the book in seeing Him and you will not be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Trent Cotton
This is a particularly interesting book as it explores the current state of Christianity today. It explores if Christians today have made the gospel of Christ everything but what it was meant to be. In a day with megachurches, complex conferences, super Christian programs, has the church as a whole diluted the the true beauty and simplicity of the Gospel? This question is explored extensively in this book.Perhaps the chapter I enjoyed most was Chapter 5, A Ditch on Either Side. It begins with a quote from Karl Barth that the truth walks the razor edge of heresy. Going further, it looks at two popular approaches to following Jesus: (1) theological rationalism and (2) theological ethics.Theological rationalism, as explained by the authors, holds that Christianity is the life application of the correct description of God, found in the right doctrinal system, believing that the correct belief system is at the heart of authentic Christianity. Theological ethics, on the other hand, holds that the center of Christianity is a rule of ethical behavior, insinuating that Christians are followers of the greatest moral teacher of all time. Each of these approaches are explored in great detail Biblically. The authors do a great job highlighting the errors in each of these approaches.Overall, the book was a great read, however, it would be one for those readers who enjoy deep theological studies. Although I enjoyed the book, I would have to say it is an acquired taste. I enjoyed the particulars it explored into todays Christianity and there were several thought provoking chapters leading me to question my own beliefs and convictions.If you are looking for an in depth, challenging look at church today, I would suggest reading Jesus Manifesto. It definitely left me with a lot of questions needing prayerful contemplation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Max Stewart
This is an amazing book! It's destined to be a classic. If you're a Christian and you're not on life-support spiritually, you'll be blown away by it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Faithful Reader
In keeping with their premise, the authors reveal who Christ is on every page, either through their own writing or through a magnificent selection of quotations about Christ from authors, theologians, philosophers, preachers, hymn writers, church leaders, poets, and of course, the Bible. Their own writing is so filled with apt metaphors, striking imagery, and such a rare measure of eloquence that to read the book and not see Christ with greater clarity seems utterly impossible. There's little question that JESUS MANIFESTO is on its way to becoming a classic work on Jesus Christ --- and on the sheer foolishness of trying to live as a Christian rather than allowing Him to live through you. By restoring the headship of Christ as a living experience in the life of those who claim to follow Christ, the authors write, Christians can become the "living epistles" (or "Jesus Manifestos") through which the grace, truth and love of Christ will be manifested to the world. For those who have trouble with that concept --- those who cannot imagine that they could ever reflect even the slightest glimmer of who Jesus is --- Sweet and Viola offer an elegant and powerful argument to the contrary in a chapter titled "If God Wrote Your Biography." Read it and savor the reality of Christ in you, the hope of glory.Breathtaking, awe-inspiring, worshipful, life-changing, delightful --- all are characteristics of the book itself and of the love for Jesus that the authors have and want their readers to have. If you suffer from what Sweet and Viola call JDD (Jesus Deficit Disorder), if you long for that "first love" for Jesus that you've lost over the years, if you realize it's time to shove everything else aside --- even those virtuous "churchy" things --- for the sake of knowing Christ, then JESUS MANIFESTO is the book for you. And very likely, the book for a good many people you know.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melissa
"Who do you say that I am?"I received Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ by Leonard Sweet and Frank Viola several months back. The authors do a good job using Scriptures to explain who Jesus is and how the Church in America is missing out on what Christ truly wants us to be and do. Basically we have lost our first love by making Christianity into many different things when it should be all about Christ. It took me almost a month to finish the book. I didn't just "love it" or find it an easy read, but I did gain some insight from what the authors had to say. Maybe it was too scholarly for me? I have read books on the same topic I would recommend before this one, but if you are truly searching for direction in your walk with Christ and want to be reminded of his sovereignty and glory, I would recommend this book to you. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Jesus Manifesto by Leonard Sweet and Frank Viola is a message of revolution to the Western church. The authors, well known for their many books, want to change the focus of our faith. As a church, we often pick and choose the aspects of Jesus we want to focus on like social justice or loving shepherd, and we forget about his more difficult sides, but in doing so, we lose the truth of who he is and what it means to follow him. We've turned faith into an being all about ourselves. Being better people, being successful or wealthy, being nicer to others, but all of those things are irrelevant if our focus isn't directly on Christ. The authors do their best to remind readers who Jesus really is, and that's not an easy task, but by using his relationship to the village of Bethany as well as other examples, they do a wonderful job of redirecting our focus to him. Christianity has become very vain and prideful, but Sweet and Viola dispel that illusion. It's not an easy book to read, but it's a necessary one for our times. If you are sick and tired of rudderless faith and watered down churches, this book will inspire you to worship the man in whom and for whom all things were created: Jesus. That alone is our purpose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sam Johnson
This book is a masterpiece in writing and substance. Breathtaking, compelling, and the style soars. It's a 5 star book all the way. I don't know how anyone can read it and think any less unless they aren't a Christian. Amazing book. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kerr Howell
Rethinking JESUS: JESUS MANIFESTO book reviewJESUS is the centerpiece to existence and to everything that exists."The LORD JESUS is written in the bloodstream of the universe" is a phrase in this book that is true, and most of us never realize it. The church and we individual Christians have dropped the ball with presenting Christ to the earth. The book JESUS MANIFESTO by Leonard Sweet and Frank Viola is all about rethinking JESUS. This books helps one see that JESUS CHRIST is more than just a fad and more than just a philosophical guru. This Manifesto helps new and old Christians see that there is more to their Savior and Lord then they may realize, and for non-believers to see who this JESUS, that is so talked about and debated, really is. JESUS MANIFESTO is a good book to read if you need to reboot your mind about the JESUS you fell in love with, if you need to renew your mind about the JESUS that is so different in different churches, and to reborn your life if you are searching for the one that LOVES the world. We dont need any more manifestos that talk or display what we believe, we need a JESUS MANIFESTO because JESUS is what we believe. Christians get this book and Non-Christians get this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dorothy Douglas
This will transform your life. One of the best i've read lately. You will know your Lord & let him mold you into something wonderful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jim Wallice
A masterpiece! This is a must read. If you need a spark to get your relationship with the Lord back on spot, or just want to be awed and enjoy a beautifully crafted piece of Christian writing, this is the book for you. Jesus Manifesto is a masterpiece. It's powerfully written, yet simple, honest and written with humility and passion. The authors do an incredible job describing the greatness of the Lord. As I read through this 200 page book, I kept underscoring sections that spoke to me. There is also a website set up to enhance your reading of the book that has a lot of interaction with the authors. If you have one book to read this summer, make it this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Peachtree
Amazing! This book is a must read for anyone who wants to be challenged in their walk with Christ. I've been given a new perspective after reading it. It's one of those rare "wow" books. The authors do an amazing job showing readers of the depth of their Savior. They communicate life-changing truths with power, passion, imagination, and creativity. I couldn't put the book down. The writing style is beautiful, it holds your attention from beginning to end. It's an incredible book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alida
The foundation of our faith is found, not in tradition or doctrine, but in a Person namely Jesus Christ.Jesus Manifesto is a call, in the midst of a western Christianity that espouses success and prosperity or a social-gospel above the Godhead of Jesus Christ, to return to the foundation of all we are and believe Jesus. Sweet and Viola argue that the western Church is desperately in need of revival and that what we lack is not a greater social conscience or stronger theological base but rather, a groundbreaking revelation of Christ that boggles the mind and enraptures the heart.At first I was bit skeptical, thinking that the book would end up arguing on behalf of a Christianity that is largely ascetic and against a social-gospel. Im glad I was wrong. Jesus has never been a social activist or moral philosopher. To pitch Him that way is to drain His glory and dilute His excellence. Justice is important, but justice apart from Christ is a dead thing. The only battering ram that can storm the gates of hell is not the cry of justice, but the name of Jesus. Jesus Christ is the embodiment of justice, peace, holiness, righteousness, and every other virtue. (p. 105)"When Christ is not central and supreme in our lives, everything about life shifts out of orbit and moves out of kilter. So for Christians, our first task is to know Jesus. And out of that knowing, we will come to love Him, adore Him, proclaim Him, and manifest Him" (p. 2)Christianity is not an allegiance to a complex doctrinal or ethical system, but a passionate love for a way of living in the world thats rooted in living by Jesus, the way, the truth, and the life. Our theologies, doctrines, and subjective experiences are designed to flow organically from our loving relationship to Christ, but they are never to substitute for it. (p. 91)Jesus Manifesto is worthwhile read. It presents a vision that is worth catching on to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tony Romano
This book is amazing. Reads beautifully, holds your attention, and the message is powerful! We need more books like this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.